Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Educators Publishing Service Explode the Code, Book 4

Educators Publishing Service Explode the Code, Book 4

Explode the Code will quickly have your child reading through the basic phonics concepts proven necessary for successful early reading. Lessons are approximately 8 pages in length and follow a consistent format designed to reinforce phonetic patterns in a sequential manner. Within each lesson children have extensive practice in matching, reading, copying, spelling, and writing sounds and words. Amusing illustrations, drawn by children, highlight the lesson exercise while the simple directions and consistent format allow students to progress independently. The workbooks provide teachers and students with an instructive and entertaining program to supplement any reading and spelling program.

Book 4 covers compound words: common endings -ful, -ing, -ist, -ed, -ness; and rules for syllable division between double and different consonants, with open and closed syllables, with syllables ending in -y and -le, dipthong syllables, and three-syllable words. Grade 2.

Average Customer Rating:
4.826 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Explode the Code, Book 4
Review 1 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Casey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AS a bilingual, my kids need extra practice on vocabularies. This book is great to serve this function. We love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
lisa
Location:al
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I is what I was looking for, great colors not overbearing or distracting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

product has worked great for all my children

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
melrn30
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy using the Explode the Code series with all my children. They like the simple layout and the activities in the workbooks. I like that they are getting good review of the phonics sounds and rules.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Nice

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kryssy
Location:Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased Explode the Code 4 for my 8 year old daughter. She's very unsure with her reading, and wants to improve her speed and fluency.
I was a little worried that I was buying something aimed at a slightly younger child, but I shouldn't have worried! The easy to understand lessons, that cover in this book compound words, common endings (-ing, -ed, etc), and multi-syllable words, work well for her. This book breaks down the reading rules for longer words and has done great things for my daughter's reading fluency and confidence even though she's just a little under half way through it.
One thing I love (especially because I homeschool six children) is the fact that she doesn't really want or need any help to work her way through it and the lessons seem to stick really well without my supervision! I don't know that this would be the case for all parents or children but I think it really gives her a sense of pride and accomplishment that she doesn't have to ask me to read her instructions or help her sound out words in this book- the instructions are easy to understand and the rules are laid out with common sense.
Overall, I'd definitely recommend that if you have a struggling reader, you need to purchase these books! Don't feel like you have to start at the beginning... just read the overviews and see what your children need to work on.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product!

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie Burnett
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This is the one book they ask for daily! For my seven year old, this is a great review and something she can work on independently. My five year old boy loves it too! I will continue with Explode the Code.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful product

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michele
Location:Streetsboro, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this series with both of my children, and they have have blossomed into amazing readers. We use these workbooks as our "fun" pages. The children enjoy the silly pictures and sentences. This is the book they ask to do!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:ohio
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been using these books for years. I have several children, and they have all used them. We love the funny pictures which are fun to color.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good books - my kids enjoy doing these books.

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
MSorrell
Location:Rolla, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Both of my kids have used the Explode the Code books in the process of learning to read and sound words out. It has been a good addition to the curriculum we currently use.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

These books truely work

Date:March 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin
Location:Williston, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson whom I homeschool, is Autistic and for him these books have helped with his reading abilities as well as sentence structure and creativity in making a sentence on his own. We have accomplished this in Books 1, 1 1/2, 2 , 2 1/2, 3, and 3 1/2. He can't wait to continue to the next book. It is only now that he is doing a chapter a day on his own..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
rachael
Location:michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The books meet my expectations I would reccomend it to others
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FUN!

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
So Cal mother of 6
Location:CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children LOVE these!! A real confidence builder!! They find these to be fun!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
ccbc
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use and fun. Children can work independently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We love Explode the Code!

Date:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
momto5athome
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have always used Sing, Spell, Read, and Write , and I wish we would have tried this series sooner. My first grader started with #1 and has been working steadily through with almost no help from me. We have used this along with Beyond the Code and I am greatly impressed at how his reading skills have progressed. It feels almost effortless.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Mcdonald
I find these books fun for adults and children. The children love the funny pictures and sentences. They are easy to work with and you can take as much time as you want with them. Children can do them with little adult prompting or with a lot of adult additional help. They are fun and very helpful, especially with children who need more time with phonics than a usual curriculum.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Becky
Love ETC! It continues to be a great phonics program for my kids, and I love that I can give them pages and don't have to hover. I appreciate that it gives the reinforcement in each lesson, and the additional help in the "1/2" books. CBD has the best price that I've found - including the home school book fairs that I've attended. Highly recommend the whole series!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2009
Big book but well worth it. Plain and easy to follow. Builds the child up as you go.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristin Kile
Love Explode the Code series...it's a great introduction in the early years and wonderful review as the child progresses. My daughter loves the fun drawings and is very "at home" with Explode the Code!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tonya Calvert
these are great! i have a reluctant reader who loves these. they are super easy to use and there is no prep at all. my son is retaining the information well. he has learned to read using these simple, fun books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lauri Robbins
I have used Explode the Code books for thepast 4 years. My children and I love them. I highly recommend the books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Explode the Code, Book 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
MommaBear5
We have used this product for several years in our homeschooling, and I have found the entire line of Explode the Code to be easy to use and very effective, with just the right amount of challenge at each level. Fun, without being distracting. Teaches each sound clearly and completely, but uses light humor and keeps their attention through each lesson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>