Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing How Did We Get the Bible? - eBook

Barbour Publishing How Did We Get the Bible? - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for How Did We Get the Bible? - eBook
Review 1 for How Did We Get the Bible? - eBook
This review is fromHow Did We Get the Bible?.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
cleo
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The information in this book is clear and simple, easy to understand. It's also relevant to our days. Great purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for How Did We Get the Bible? - eBook
This review is fromHow Did We Get the Bible?.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Has been great reading.

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
melissa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was was I expected, and more. It is very interesting. I liked how the author compared some the biblical time frame, with events that happened in history.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for How Did We Get the Bible? - eBook
This review is fromHow Did We Get the Bible?.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A fast read

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
S Hills
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is not a scholarly work but a kind of overview of key figures.
It reads fast but it won't give you enough information to know where the Bible came from.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for How Did We Get the Bible? - eBook
This review is fromHow Did We Get the Bible?.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mark Fleener
I was looking for a bit more. It's okay, I was looking for a more depth. A good basic overview.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for How Did We Get the Bible? - eBook
This review is fromHow Did We Get the Bible?.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
This is a very good short, quick read but also clear and concise. I enjoy reading this more than once.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for How Did We Get the Bible? - eBook
This review is fromHow Did We Get the Bible?.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sylvia Ray
If all you know about the bible is who the authors were for each of the books that were wrote, then school is in session for you. It give great detail on other contributions not only how we got the bible, but it speaks on books that did not make it into the bible with reasonings. I found out that not all bibles consist of the same books, depending on denomination, some bibles have more historical books included than other denominations. What a great read and insight! Very informative.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for How Did We Get the Bible? - eBook
This review is fromHow Did We Get the Bible?.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richard Freeman
As a Pastor, I found this to be an excellent primer for thoe skeptics we welcome to our church and and very good tool for the development of believers. It is quite pithy, leading to more advanced inquiry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for How Did We Get the Bible? - eBook
This review is fromHow Did We Get the Bible?.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nora Larrabee
I found the book very easy to understand and quick reading. I could hardly put it down. It tells the TRUTH of what heroic men went through to preserve the precious Word of God. It makes one truly aware of how fortunate we are to have the Bible so readily available to us but far too many Christians don't even read it! Maybe after reading this little jewel one may pick up their Bible with a new appreciation for what we have taken for granted far too long. The day may come when we might not have that freedom!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for How Did We Get the Bible? - eBook
This review is fromHow Did We Get the Bible?.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nate Matthews
This book briefly covers what the author feels are the salient points of how the Bible was preserved for us today. The author has obvious issues with the RC Church and some chapters are devoted almost exclusively to detractions against the RC Church.This is a very basic book, but it loses its credibility with its obvious bias. I think this is unfortunate as this could have been a good starting point for younger students or adults getting interested in the subject.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for How Did We Get the Bible? - eBook
This review is fromHow Did We Get the Bible?.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shanna Raper
This is a great pocket guide. I've read more extensive books, and I like how this quick read focuses on the main points of how the Bible came to be. For a summary type of book, it explains the progression of the Hebrew and Greek texts quite well. I would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for How Did We Get the Bible? - eBook
This review is fromHow Did We Get the Bible?.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Simplest Thing Ministries
My wife and I liked it very much and found it very enlighting I thought it is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.