Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Serendipity - eBook

Bethany House Serendipity - eBook

Todd Valmer should have known better. A farmer who's been through several disasters, he travels to Virginia to fetch his widowed mother to cook and help him around his Texas farm... or that was the plan until she keels over on the train and they get kicked off. Maggie Rose barters for a living and also makes soaps, lotions, and perfumes with a special rose recipe passed down from mother to daughter for generations. She hasn't wanted to marry... until that handsome Texan shows up. Her heart skips a beat, and when he proposes, a hasty marriage follows.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Serendipity - eBook
Review 1 for Serendipity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoyed it

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
love2read
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book seemed a little different from the other ones of the same series, but I sure did love the story and the well crafted characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Serendipity - eBook
This review is fromSerendipity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joanne Rinker
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy reading her books
Thought this book would end differently than it did Maybe she is going to write another book using these same characters
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Serendipity - eBook
This review is fromSerendipity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brilliant and funny!

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maggie is a captivating heroine and Todd is the perfect befuddled love interest. Their romance is toe-curling funny, if you can imagine such a combination.
There are so many great lines – delivered amidst smoldering looks. Hake’s pacing and delivery is superb and this is the kind of feel-good book that will put a smile on your face for a long time after you finish reading.
Lovely cameos of some of my favourite characters from Gooding, Texas are thrown in for an added bonus. This is an all-round rollicking good read and one you won’t want to miss.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Serendipity - eBook
This review is fromSerendipity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leagirl
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutly loved this book. couldn't put it down. Maggie is so sincere and kind she just warmed my heart.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Serendipity - eBook
This review is fromSerendipity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Loved the book ... I Love the Author!

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Teryle Milbury
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really loved the book! I look forward to Cathy Marie Hake's books coming out. Funny and thoughtful, it is a great read! I am sure I will read it more than once!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Serendipity - eBook
This review is fromSerendipity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book - A joy to read

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Frank Gotch
Location:Austin, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well written; the characters in the book do (and don't do) what real people would or would not do. Easy to read and fits real life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Serendipity - eBook
This review is fromSerendipity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I liked it a lot!

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I loved this book. Great characters, Maggie Rose is someone you will find quirky and amusing and delightful, Todd is a strong, upright, moral man that is endearing, his mother is annoying, obnoxious, bitter and resentful... mix that all up and you have a fun book. The premise of the book is wonderfully charming and as Maggie Rose has to make up her mind whether to stay the only female in her little village of old men or to go with Todd after his spur of the moment marriage proposal as he passes through town because of his sick mother. Prompting from her uncle leads her to believe that this may be God's will after all, that remains to be seen as she settles into a new town, new home and new surroundings taking care of his sick mother. The journey to the end of this book is fantastic and I encourage you to take it for yourself!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Serendipity - eBook
This review is fromSerendipity.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

In-Laws

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
This light-hearted novel comes with instructions for dealing with a difficult in-law.
The plot involves a sharp-tongued, mother-in-law, who suffers a stroke, and her tough cookie daughter-in-law as they struggle to settle into their new home in Texas. Todd, the son/husband works hard to hang on to his heavily mortgaged land, but like most men, doesn't see his world crumbling. Miscommunication and misunderstandings abound as these three learn to adjust--in a one-room house.
Hake is adapt with dialogue; she peppers the novel with metaphors and similes. Reading Maggie's mountain dialect often caused me to chuckle aloud. For example, when discussing her plan for bartering, Maggie says, "Ma, he's going to be slicker 'n snot on a glass doorknob. But he tried cheating us, and... I'm agoina teach him a lesson" (229).
The end is a bit choppy. Transition is lacking between Chapters twenty and twenty-one, but overall, the book is well worth the time spent reading it.
Thank you to Bonnie at CFBA and Bethany House for my copy.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Serendipity - eBook
This review is fromSerendipity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'm A CMH Fan For Life!!!

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
BookReviewsbyMolly
Location:Willow Spring, NC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a devoted fan to Cathy Marie Hake now! I only read her work in the multi-authored book, Virginia Brides, and loved her work then. But, now that I have read Serendipity and I've seen the blessedly tender characters she created along with the amazing, God filled plot line, I am, forever more, a Cathy Marie Hake fan!
I loved reading Maggie Rose's story. She was a "take me as I am" kinda gal, and walking along side her, her man Todd, and her mother-law-law Helga, was truly a magnificent experience. Traveling from the Ozarks to Texas was wonderful fun! Not only did Cathy Marie Hake create these lovable characters (even with stubborn ol' Ma Helga!), she incorporated God's love and messages through out. Seeing the way Maggie was selfless and always trying to do right by others, thinking of them first before herself, really pulled at my heart! But, her man, Todd.....now THAT is a man that made me peeved a time or two. His marrying Maggie for convenience was one that happened quite often in those days, so that wasn't a surprise. What was a surprise was all the events that happened after the marriage. His following God's will to do right by the marriage.....THAT is tender!
Mixed with just the right about of sweet humor and wholesome messages (not to mention the fun loving trip back into History!), this is an unforgettable sweet 5 star novel, that I recommend to EVERYONE with the highest of praises. I am officially hooked on Cathy's books and will be looking for her past works, along with all her future works, too. Well done, Cathy!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Serendipity - eBook
This review is fromSerendipity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A FUNNY, HEARTFELT READ.

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tink
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is typical Cathy and she did not disappoint. I enjoyed this one as much as I have all her others. The way she throws the humor in, is just what you need when things seem too serious in the story. These characters are wonderful too. I think Maggie had to have had the patience of Job with that mother-in-law. She was a pistol. And just when you thought Todd was never going to stand up to her for Maggie's sake , he stands up to her without any disrespect to her. I hope everyone who reads this book enjoys it as I have and I'm waiting on Cathy's next one. And I hope it's soon. Also Cathy if you read these things. Your in my prayers and may God keep you from breaking any more bones. God Bless!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Serendipity - eBook
This review is fromSerendipity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joan Kimlin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cathy has done it again ! This book is funny, pulls at your heartstrings and keeps you moving right along. Good triumphs and faith stays strong. A wonderful book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Serendipity - eBook
This review is fromSerendipity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Engaging Novel

Date:December 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sena Sims
Location:Jackson, TN
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a big fan of Cathy Marie Hake so I jumped at the chance to read one of her books. It has characters from previous novels but you don't lose anything if you have not read the previous books. I always like to catch up on old friends. This book shows the struggle of a married couple trying to become one, of honoring the definition of love without thinking about feelings. Maggie is the kind of person that inspires me, she is strong, loving and kind. Todd is an honorable man and it was great to watch them grow together.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.