Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Genesis: NIV Application Commentary [NIVAC] -eBook

Zondervan Genesis: NIV Application Commentary [NIVAC] -eBook

Genesis, the newest in the NIV Application Commentary series, traces God's mastery in creation, covenant, and history. The initial chapters of Genesis show his mastery in bringing order out of chaos. The development of the covenant brought order to his relationship with his people-through revelation and the overcoming of obstacles. Finally,God brought order to the world through his people - by battling the chaos of famine and providing food. In the beginning, as today, God loves the people he created and it is his intention to bless them in spite of rebellion and sin. Noted scholar John Walton follows the three-tiered NIV Application format (Original Meaning, Bridging Contexts, andContemporary Significance) to reveal how this first book of the Bible applies to us today.
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Genesis: NIV Application Commentary [NIVAC] -eBook
Review 1 for Genesis: NIV Application Commentary [NIVAC] -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carlos Cosendey
Location:Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent! The book is informative, detailed and very apropriate for those wich like study commentaries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Genesis: NIV Application Commentary [NIVAC] -eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not the "indispensible tool" it claims to be

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
CBDrocks
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this commentary on my shelf for about 9 years now. Of all the commentaries I use in sermon preparation and study of Genesis, this is frankly my least favorite and least helpful resource. Here's why:
1) The format is NOT user-friendly. If one is looking for a verse-by-verse exposition of Genesis, this commentary is not for you. That's because the NIVAC tries to be all things to all people with its "original meaning," "bridging contexts" and "contemporary significance" sections, and as a result ends up being weak on all three, especially original meaning. A pastor would be far better off going with the 2-volume New American Commentary on Genesis by Kenneth Matthews, along with "Creation & Blessing: A Guide to the Exposition of Genesis" by Allen P. Ross and "The Pentateuch as Narrative" by John Sailhamer.
2) Walton does NOT follow the text of Genesis very well. He's far too busy delving into ANE backgrounds and hypothesizing how he thinks ancients understood their world. Walton pushes his unique view that the seven days of Genesis 1 have nothing to do with the development of the material world (that happened long, long, long before). Rather, Genesis 1 describes the inauguration of the world as a fully-functioning "cosmic temple." So, for example, Genesis 1:9 is not about dry land appearing for the first time in the material world, but God causing the dry land that already existed to "function" as a room within His cosmic temple. This artificial dichotomy between the material and functional world continues at great length, often at the expense of getting to the point of the passage under review.
3) The endorsement by Billy Graham on the back cover was NOT for this commentary. It was for the NIVAC on Philippians by Frank Thielman whom Billy Graham has known since childhood. I point this out because I find it bothersome that the publisher would use snippets out of context to make buyers think this volume in the NIVAC is on equal footing with the likes of Wilson (Psalms), Bock (Luke) and Blomberg (1 Corinthians). It is not.
As a pastor, I have not found John Walton's commentary the "indispensible tool" it claims to be. Rather, it is a soapbox for novel interpretations that essentially reduces the book of Genesis to another form of ANE mythology. In my opinion, Walton's commentary on Genesis is a source of confusion that will not prove helpful or useful to most pastors and expositors.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Genesis: NIV Application Commentary [NIVAC] -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent source of in formation on Genesis

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dave Kilpatrick
Location:North Syracuse, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have Genesis commentaries by Wenham (WBC) and Hamilton (NICOT). Both are excellent. Walton provides much more information to help understand the Ancient Near Eastern Background of the book of Genesis. He provides sensible interpretations to some of the trickier portions of Genesis, particularly in the earlier chapters.
This is my first volume in this series, and I read it cover to cover. I found the "Original Meaning" sections EXTREMELY helpful. The "Bridging Contexts" sections were mixed, sometimes bringing out more significance of the original meaning, and for this reason, I'd recommend not skipping these sections. However, the "Contemporary Significance" section, while intelligently written, seemed quite remote from the text.
HOWEVER, because the Original Meaning and (often) the Bridging Contexts sections are so valuable, I recommend this commentary highly, even if you don't read the "Contemporary Significance" parts.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Genesis: NIV Application Commentary [NIVAC] -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazingly Valuable

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dan Parker
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly read this book and found it to be the most authoritative and well written research I have ever read on the ancient world of Genesis. John Walton brings that prehistoric world and its practices into focus revealing what people may have understood in that era, and thereby shining light on the significance of what God was doing - for example regarding the Tower of Babel. With my comfortable chair in the highly privileged western world, I am led on a pilgrimage into another time, far removed from what I could even consider until reading this. Many seem to prefer a Sunday School approach that simply relates to and highlights the wonderfully familiar stories of the patriarchs that my parents and teachers taught me in early childhood. I am grateful to those faithful ones who gave me a basic understanding, even though that led me to many questions about meanings and practices of those early times. This book is not for those who simply want comments and expansion on that with which they are already familiar. This one-of-a-kind book reveals significant research and findings that I would not otherwise have at my disposal. If it’s a Sunday School commentary you want that simply expands upon your favorite characters and happenings, buy some of the other plentiful volumes out there. If you want a valuable journey into ancient realities that lie beyond anything we may have imagined, buy this priceless commentary and enjoy what is revealed through the sacred research of a true scholar.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Genesis: NIV Application Commentary [NIVAC] -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bill Sebastian
I read through this commentary slowly, and in detail since I had to teach for 6 months on Genesis. It clearly shows how Genesis is the foundation of God revealing Himself to mankind. If you are a serious student of Scripture, a Bible teacher, or preacher, I think this book is critical for your library.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Genesis: NIV Application Commentary [NIVAC] -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Min. Harry Allen
The rate I give here on the Book is excellent, indept, very easy to understand. I am very well pleased with The NIV Commentary series, Yes I would recommend it for your Libray.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Genesis: NIV Application Commentary [NIVAC] -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bill Wade
Reading this commentary has left me with mixed reactions. It does an excellent job of giving the reader an appreciation of early Jewish culture and the way people of that day viewed the writings of Genesis. Personally, I find this information invaluable. However, I find the book lacking in good solid practical application of the text to the reader in our day and time. At the same time, this volume serves as a very good supplement to the works of other commentaries on the book of Genesis.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Genesis: NIV Application Commentary [NIVAC] -eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Gustavsen
For the first time, I am disappointed with a volume in this series. Normally, the NIV Application series can be counted on to help identify the core theological ideas in a passage, and then offer some solid applicational ideas in the "Contemporary Significance" section. But in this volume, although the "Original Meaning" section is solid, I have consistently found Walton's "Bridging Contexts" and "Contemporary Significance" sections to be a stretch. His ideas just don't seem to capture the essense of the passage.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Genesis: NIV Application Commentary [NIVAC] -eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kelley
I was extremely disappointed in this commentary. I used it along with 2 others in my recent studies. It gets caught up in creation and eastern gods, and then it flies past Jacob and Joseph. I really got little to nothing from this book. Had this been my first commentary to use studying, I would have never picked up another one.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Genesis: NIV Application Commentary [NIVAC] -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
James L.
This is an utterly amazing book! I've been studying for the ministry for years now and have had to read several commentaries on Genesis. This one is the best, hands down. Walton deals with the text as it was written over 3000 years ago and does an excellent job at remaining loyal to the text without putting in his own bias. The other commentaries seemed too interested in defending the young earth view and didn't deal with the book through the eyes of Moses when he wrote it.If you want a book that gets you away from thinking as a 21st century westerner, then this is the book to invest in. You'll get the background material, the historical context, and the original language that you'll need to get a better understanding of the first book of the Bible.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Genesis: NIV Application Commentary [NIVAC] -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ken Runyon
Absolutely the BEST work on Genesis I've ever read! His attention to cultural context is incredible.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Genesis: NIV Application Commentary [NIVAC] -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2001
Customer Avatar
Bruce Wallace
This commentary is a great addition to the other works available on Genesis. Walton has put some thinking into his work and produced a help for us which reflects what Genesis might have meant to it's original readers. It has helped shape my view of this important book and also offers many practical insights at each chapters end.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.