Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers The Trouble with Tulip, A Smart Chick Mystery #1

Harvest House Publishers The Trouble with Tulip, A Smart Chick Mystery #1

It seems wherever advice columnist Josephine Tulip goes, trouble follows. When a body is found next door and her neighbor is arrested for murder, Jo and her photographer friend Danny investigate. Will they untangle the mystery before the killer strikes again? Can Danny muster the courage to tell Jo how he feels about her? 300 pages, softcover from Harvest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Trouble with Tulip, A Smart Chick Mystery #1
Review 1 for The Trouble with Tulip, A Smart Chick Mystery #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the book!

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the ebook version of this book even though i already own a paper copy. There are a few formatting issues, such as the type in the photos of emails is too small to read and the chapter breaks often won't let you read the last page of the chapter if the page is short. For the most part, the book worked fine and so did the CBDreader app on my iPad.
I love Mindy Starns Clark's books and this series is no exception. I re-read it every year because it is so good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Trouble with Tulip, A Smart Chick Mystery #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wissy
Location:Lithia, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the book, like the love story, the mystery and just enjoy reading her books
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Trouble with Tulip, A Smart Chick Mystery #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marie Waters
I have enjoyed every Mindy Starns Clark book that she has written. I am a big mystery fan and have loved them since I was a young child. The greatest thing about this book and her others is that she can write a great mystery without lots of gross violence and profanity. So many books now a days are filled with both. I ordered this book to complete the Tulip series since I already had books two and three. So if you like "cozy" mysteries that are entertaining I would definitely recommend this book and the remaining part of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Trouble with Tulip, A Smart Chick Mystery #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tracey Tillson
Most so-called Christian chick-lit is junk. This is actually an excellent book.Good plot, good character development, funny and intriguing. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Trouble with Tulip, A Smart Chick Mystery #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Yvonne Williams
I loved this book! The author did a great job with character development, humor & lots of drama. I would recommend it to anyone who loves mysteries & likes to laugh.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Trouble with Tulip, A Smart Chick Mystery #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
G.S.
I loved this book! It was a fun read that kept me intrigued without being too heavy and suspenseful. I love mysteries, but I don't want them to be dark. This one was perfect. In fact, after I finished it I promptly ordered and read the other two books in the series. All were great! My one regret is that she stopped at only three books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Trouble with Tulip, A Smart Chick Mystery #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Pandora
I wasn't sure what to expect, and the first chapter or two didn't really "grab me." But it soon did as the plot developed; enough that I want to get book Two in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Trouble with Tulip, A Smart Chick Mystery #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Hickey
Mindy Starns Clark has delivered a funny, witty story with an unforgettable character.Josephine Tulip struggles to keep her grandmother's hint column alive, dealing with issues of the modern woman. When a neighbor winds up dead, confusing the police with the abundance of shower caps, tomato juice and cucumber paste, Jo is called in to advise. Reeling from the shock of being stood up at the altar, Jo dives in to solve the case with her bestfriend, Danny.Eternal life, empty promises, the search for love, a dog who loves throw pillows...all these and more make up this delightful and suspenseful read. I recommend Mindy's books to anyone who enjoys a quirky heroine and a sweet love story. Cynthia Hickey, author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Trouble with Tulip, A Smart Chick Mystery #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
rachel somers
I am only 13 and this book kept me sooooo intrestead even after reading all day in school. It keeps you spiritually involved and intrigued as well. please read this book!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Trouble with Tulip, A Smart Chick Mystery #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2006
Jo Tulip has just been jilted at the altar and been involved in murder investigation, all in the same day. Her best friend Danny (who's secretly in love with her) gets Jo to come to the crime scene of an elderly woman who turns up mysteriously dead in her own home. The police rule it as an accident but with Jo's knack for household tips, she discovers it to be a murder. Theft, fraud, the deceiving of old ladies, and alchemy all come into play to as Jo and Danny try to discover the truth about really happened.This was my first Mindy Starns Clark book and I really got a kick out of it. I loved all the household advice spread throughout the novel. Very interesting techniques given how to combat any home problem. I have yet to try out any but I may do so in the future. The murder investigation was really gutsy of Jo to do it mostly by herself. There were a lot of twists I wasn't expecting. I really Jo's character. I do hope we get a full confrontation with Bradford. The guy is a jerk. She should be happy she didn't marry him, what a wimp. I also hope Jo can work out her relationship with her parents. It'll also be interesting to see how Jo's and Danny's future will work itself out.I really liked the letters from the advice column. I found it funny that the writers of the letters always seemed to be clueless about the situations they were writing about. I guess housewives from back then really were in the dark? Great book, great mystery, and good fun read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Trouble with Tulip, A Smart Chick Mystery #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Claire
Enjoyable read! Light suspense keep me turning pages. Can't wait for #2!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Trouble with Tulip, A Smart Chick Mystery #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2005
Customer Avatar
Kate
This is a really exciting and interesting book. It kept me going and wanting to see who the murderer was.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.