Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Love on Assignment - eBook

Thomas Nelson Love on Assignment - eBook

During the summer of 1900 Charlotte Hale, a native Newporter and secretary for the Rhode Island Reporter, accepts an undercover assignment as temporary governess to Daniel Wilmont's children in order to secretly gather evidence against him. As he helps her rediscover God, Charlotte learns that Daniel is an honorable man. They unexpectedly fall in love despite their different backgrounds and social positions. Charlotte soon realizes she must defend Daniel against the forces set against him-a willful student with a romantic crush and the newspaper editor determined to destroy his reputation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love on Assignment - eBook
Review 1 for Love on Assignment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my favorite out out of the three. I really enjoyed the story of Charlotte trying to get "the dirt" on a professor of religion and regaining her faith in the process. I also appreciated the fact that while Charlotte deceived the professor about who she was, the deception was dealt with and just not sweep under the rug as it is in so many christian novels. Worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love on Assignment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting series.

Date:February 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon Turner
Location:Joplin, MO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Ladies of Summerhill are notorious for getting in over their heads. The 2nd of the series wasn't quite as good as #1.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love on Assignment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Brunswick, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read Love on a Dime, so I naturally had to have the next book in the series. The story line was excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love on Assignment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2011
I really enjoyed Love on a Dime by Cara Lynn James, so I was excited to read Love on Assignment, the next book in the series. I loved diving back into the Gilded Age with Charlotte. Her dream of becoming a news reporter seem attainable when she is given the chance to go undercover as a governess for a wealthy professor. As she gets to know the professor, though, she doubts whether or not he is actually guilty of what the newspaper's owner is accusing him of.
The story was intriguing and enjoyable. The characters were wonderful. Charlotte and the Professor were as likable as Mrs. Wilmont was detestable. The author did a great job of explaining the underlying currents that made the characters who they were ... back story without going into all the gory details. At times, though, the book dragged a little and there were a few places where the story seemed to jump a bit from one thing to the next. It just wasn't as good as the first book in the series.
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers and Net Galley in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love on Assignment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming romance

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandra Lee Smith
Location:Tempe, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cara Lynn James has written another winner. Love On A Dime, her debut novel and first in the Ladies of Summerhill Series was wonderful. I am thrilled that book 2, Love on Assignment is as well written and as delightful a read. Her characters are well developed and she brings to life the era of the early 1900's. I love how her heroine explores new territory for a woman of her day and finds love on the way. Another great read and I'm waiting expectantly for book 3 in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love on Assignment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AN STORY OF LOVE AND KEEPING TO YOUR CONVICTIONS!

Date:March 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
LOVE ON ASSIGNMENT by Cara Lynn James is an interesting inspirational historical romance set in 1900 Newport,Rhode Island. It is the second in the "Ladies of Summerhill series" and can be read as a stand alone. Book One,"Love on a Dime".It is written with depth and details. It has romance, love, faith, hope, forgiveness,making
decisions to do the right thing,sticking to your convictions,religious beliefs,finding renew faith and love.This is a story with Christian values,beliefs doing what is right instead of what is expected and keeping your convictions. It shows the contrast between the
wealthy and the working class. It is the story of a young secretary,(Charlotte)who works for a local newspaper and has big dreams of becoming a newspaper reporter. And
a young widowed religious professor(Daniel),who is seeking a governess for his two young children. Charlotte is sent to Daniel's residence,by her editor in hopes of finding a scandal or something to discredit him.Daniel writes a controversial column with a rival newspaper.
What transpires is a renewal of Charlotte's faith and her finding love enough to make a decision that would effect her hold family.This is an inspiring story of faith,love, forgiveness and keeping to your convictions through everything.This book was received for the purpose of review from Net Galley and details can be found at Nelson,Thomas Publishing and My Book Addiction and More.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love on Assignment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A touching story of romance in the Gilded Age

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Myra Johnson
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cara Lynn James has written another faith-filled story of romance in the Gilded Age, contrasting the life of the working class with that of the privileged, and with a dash of intrigue for good measure. Secretary Charlotte Hale only wants to provide well for her sister and aunt, so when her boss at the newspaper office offers her a plum assignment to spy on a columnist writing for a competing publication, she jumps at the chance. The one thing she never expected was to fall in love with the object of her investigation, upstanding professor of religion Daniel Wilmont. Ms. James deftly weaves the characters' spiritual and emotional conflicts with the obstacles confronting them in their careers and personal lives while anchoring the story firmly and in vivid detail in her Newport, Rhode Island, setting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love on Assignment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Lovely, Relaxing Read

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
In The Hammock Blog
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a really nice, sweet book, nothing to heavy, nothing too sad, and "Love on Assignment" really delivered. It was a really relaxing read!
I really liked Daniel, and I wanted to know even more about him. Even thought the book was written from both Charlotte and Daniel's points of view, it was definitely skewed more towards Charlotte's inner thoughts and feelings. I find this happens quite a bit in Christian historical romance. But I think Daniel had a lot more to say than what we knew. For instance, how did he really feel about his late wife? What were some of the many trinkets he hoarded in his attic along with his feelings of guilt and anger towards his failed marriage? These are just a few of the questions that I thought were really interesting about Daniel, but I didn't feel like they were resolved.
I love reading about the Gilded Age, and it was great to see both a middle class and an upper class point of view. In books, we often see the riches of the rich and the poorest of the poor. Here it was really nice to see more of the middle. Charlotte had to work hard to support her aunt and sister, but they had a comfortable home. Daniel was very well off, with servants and a mansion, but we also saw him working, and he wasn't a socialite like the characters we usually see in this era. The class differences between Daniel and Charlotte was shown but they didn't see it as an obstacle, they had bigger challenges to overcome.
I recommend this book if you've been doing too much heavy reading and need a relaxing break!! This book is much like falling onto a huge fluffy cushion to read and relax.
book sent by publisher in exchange for honest review
reviewed for http://inthehammockblog.blogspot.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love on Assignment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

tender romance

Date:January 27, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The story is a 1900's romance between two journalists of opposing newspapers. The one is godly and striving to bring God's word to the masses, the other is undercover and posing as a governess trying to discover a scandal in the others ones life, with the purpose of shutting him up forever.
I liked this book, whose storyline resembled classic novels such as Jane Eyre, and God was there, although He was more preached about than lived about. The characters fell a little flat for me, as if they didn't belong to this era but were more modern, although this was a time of great changes and would perhaps justify their contradictory behaviour.
There wasn't much action in this book, but that was one of its charms. It gave out a feeling of peace, of calm and of romance. The hero was very romantic, and his children who were main characters in the book were cute and not annoying as they ofter are in this kind of novel.
I understand that there is a previous book in the series, and I think I will try to find it and read it. There are some recurring characters from that book, but nothing that would prevent the understanding and enjoyment of this book. I think this book could stand alone.
It was not my favourite, but it was sweet and beautiful, and I totally recommend you read it.
I also read this book via the NetGalley. NetGalley rocks!!!!!
http://bookshelfstories.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love on Assignment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Enjoyable historical romance

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Karin
Location:Northern Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Book Two of the Ladies of Summerhill series, Love on Assignment is a charming story about love and discovery. While the story is enjoyable, I found the book to be quite predictable (which made the plot drag). However, it was still fun to read - a nice distraction from the day.
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest opinion (part of the Thomas Nelson Book Sneeze program).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love on Assignment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love on Assignment

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
cindy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love on Assignment, a book by Cara Lynn James, was a great read over the Christmas Holiday Break! It focuses on Charlotte Hale, who is a secretary for the Rhode Island Reporter with dreams of becoming a real reporter. Her employer places her within a family under the guise of being a governess in order to have her act as a spy; she thinks this is the perfect opportunity to show her reporting skills and move up within the business. Little does Charlotte Hale know, the family she is living with is not what she was told by her employer. Throughout the book, she struggles with her deceit and tries to justify her lies as necessary since she is doing what she must to keep her family going during difficult times.
I really enjoyed this book and the focus of forgiveness it shows. I also liked how, although it was the second book in a series, you did not need to read the first book to follow the story. I will definitely be reading more books in the series, and I cannot wait to learn more about the families who spend their time at Summerhill.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 [...] : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love on Assignment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love on Assignment by Cara Lynn James
The second in the Ladies of Summerhill series, Cara Lynn James has given us a story set in Rhode Island in the early 1900s. The main character, Charlotte, finds herself in a job situation that many will identify with today. During the trials and successes of her day to day life, she learns the meaning of a relationship with God and how He guides her.
I found to be Love on Assignment superior to many of the usual Christian romance novels. A true romance novel, the reader is kept in suspense until close to the end. There is no figuring out the source of some of Charlotte’s challenges ahead of time. The story line was lively, full of twists and turns that kept the reader reading. A difficult book to put down. Cara Lynn James does not disappoint her readers.
I read Love on a Dime prior to reading this book and look forward to the third book of the series. The setting remains in the Rhode Island area, though the time frames are different. There was a brief mention of some of the characters from Love on a Dime, but that did not hinder the story. In fact it provided continuity between the two books.
I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading good books.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love on Assignment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Assignment that brings love!!

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a lovely historical/romance Love on Assignment is. This lovely book takes place in Newport, Rhode Island during the 1900's. This is the second book of A Ladies of Summerhill Novels. The first is Love on a Dime, which I enjoyed just as much. This is an easy read that just seems to flow and has many nuggets to take a way. Charlotte Hale is a young girl with a dream. She wants to be a journalist. A real reporter and she is willing to do whatever to make her dream come true. She is competing in a man's world. Although Charlotte is wise in many ways, her decision to spy on, Daniel Wilmont, a professor, at the college, was not a wise choice. Her boss at the local paper thinks Daniel is reporting blasphemy. He wants Charlotte to prove him wrong. What Charlotte is about to find out is Daniel is not at all the man her boss suggests. He is a good man, a decent man, one that Charlotte soon falls for. As Daniel is widowed, he has two children, and his mother living with him. His mother is not so fond of Miss Charlotte. Does she see something? Is she jealous? Charlotte is in over her head as she becomes the governess and not only finds herself in a quandary, but Daniel's reputation is at stake as well. What will happen if and when Daniel finds out? Daniel is a Christian man, and rather than Charlotte coming to find him to be unworthy, she soon finds herself seeking the very faith Daniel is living. Daniel too comes with a past. He doesn't seem to really know his children and Charlotte teaches him much about reaching out and taking time with those he loves. I love the characters in this book. They are real and easy to love. Cara Lynn James brings much detail into the story and the history comes alive. Charlotte's assignment brings her more than a good story, but a new life. You do not have to read the first book to connect with Love on Assignment, but it would be an added blessing. This one is a keeper!
This book was a gift from Thomas Nelson for it's review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love on Assignment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner for Cara Lynn James

Date:December 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mommiebethers
Location:Milwaukee, Wi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received Love on Assignment from booksneeze.com for my honest review of this book.
Book Description:
While Charlotte is focusing on uncovering sordid information on columnist Daniel Wilmot, her heart leads her into uncharted territory.
During the summer of 1900 Charlotte Hale, a native Newporter and secretary for the Rhode Island Reporter, accepts an undercover assignment as temporary governess to Daniel Wilmont’s children in order to secretly gather evidence against him. As he helps her rediscover God, Charlotte learns that Daniel is an honorable man. They unexpectedly fall in love despite their different backgrounds and social positions. Charlotte soon realizes she must defend Daniel against the forces set against him—a willful student with a romantic crush and the newspaper editor determined to destroy his reputation.
I had the privledge to read Cara James’s first book Love on a Dime and loved it. Love on Assignment did not disappoint. The book takes place in 1900 about a working class woman, Charlotte Hale, who dreams of being a journalist. Her boss gives her an assignment to become a governess for another coumnist at a rival paper to find dirt on him to discredit him and make him stop writing his articles. Charlotte took the assignment knowing she needed to support her Aunt and Sister and knew this was the only opportunity her boss would give her to be a journalist. Daniel Wilmot, columnist and bible teacher at a college in Newport gives Charlotte the job, but first asks her “Are you a Christian?” Charlotte answered “yes”. She felt she was. As she stays with the Wilmots and looks into Daniel’s life she realizes she had lots to learn about being a Christian. Cara Lynn James takes us through Charlottes journey of surrending to God and having faith. Charlotte grows so much in her faith and realizes her actions are not that of a Christian. We see her faith grow and Daniel Wilmot’s faith also grow along with her. Its a beautiful story of following God’s perfect plan, a story of true forgiveness, and a story of how love opens people up to so much.
Cara Lynn James is a wonderful author whose characters who jump off the pages of her books. The story is well researched and such a detailed, descriptive story. I look forward to reading more of Cara Lynn James’s books. They are truly Christian Fiction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.