Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Three - eBook

Thomas Nelson Three - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.18 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
5
2 out of 450%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Three - eBook
Review 1 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThree.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently became a Dekker fan, but this was a difficult book to get through because it wasn't easy to follow. When it seemed as though you understood who were the major players, it appeared as though a "red herring" was thrown in, only to be discarded. Rather than being challenging and interesting, I became frustrated with the story line. Its not until the very end that you see the picture clearly, but then there's still a thread left dangling from another case. Not a satisfying conclusion to the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThree.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Masterpiece!

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
MariahB
Location:Plaster Rock, NB
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ted Dekker has gone and done it again...wrote a complete masterpiece. It leaves you hanging, wondering, guessing...A true model of near perfection in that special book! Dekker has carefully planned and plotted perfectly! An additional "thumbs up" on the audio version!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThr3e.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointing Ending

Date:January 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abby
Location:Clymer NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I absolutely love Ted Dekker's books, but i was very disappointed in Thr3e. The first half of the book is good and suspenseful but the second half falls apart. I was so disappointed in the ending. I probably wouldn't recommend this book to anyone but the rest of Ted Dekker's books are excellent. If you are in need of a book to read from him I would recommend "Skin."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThree.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Surprising Conclusion

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THR3E is an unusual book, to say the least. While it begins like many movie-style plot lines – man gets a phone call, do something or something will blow up – nothing is quite as it seems in this mysterious story that explores the connections between good and evil in the life of each fallen human being. I see that the book actually has been made into a film (no wonder I kept imagining it as a movie!), but I haven’t seen it myself.
Originally released in 2003, the mass-market paperback is now hitting shelves in bookstores. This is a ‘clean’ mystery/suspense read; there isn’t any cursing or explicit sensuality, though there is violence, darkness, and a disturbing history of a warped childhood. Still, it isn’t explicit or TOO scary in my opinion.
There are some faith-based themes here obviously, with the struggle between good and evil being the obvious one. There are also explorations of adoption with God as a father, personal vs. abstract faith, and others. However, this isn’t mainly an exploration of personal faith, and when Dekker does attempt to pull that into focus momentarily it quickly slips into the background and doesn’t weave through the rest of the novel.
Due to the surprising plot twists it’s difficult to go deeply into the plot of THR3E without revealing spoilers, but it certainly is a mind-bending read that will have you wanting to go back and read it through again once you’re finished. I will say though, that the focus on action and suspense does leave a little something to be desired in the realm of character development. I never truly saw Kevin’s genius (our threatened hero) though it was repeatedly referred to, nor did I find Jennifer’s (the lead FBI agent) closing responses believable.
THR3E will definitely have you looking at the world through a different set of lenses for days to come after you finish reading it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThr3e.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katie
This was one of my first Ted Dekker books, and let me tell you this, I fell in love with it from the very first page. This was an amazing story, full of suspense and action. This is one that will keep you up until midnight reading it.Ted Dekker is an amazing author, I am a huge fan of his books and I would most definitely recommend this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThr3e.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeanine Hodges
All of Ted Dekker books are great including this one. They are very interesting, but have a good christian theme to them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThr3e.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
M. Lewis
Thr3e was a GREAT read and was my first Dekker book. I could not put this book down at all. Someone said this wasn't suspenseful... I disagree, because this book was ALL suspense! Starts off with a bang within the first 8 pages and continues at a neck-breaking pace from then on. I'll admit that this was a little disturbing, but it all came together very well with an ending I would never have suspected, but beware that it IS a little weird... Left me thinking about it for days, and I would definitely recommend this to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThr3e.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diana Elias
I was hooked by the story early on. I came to the point where I couldn't stand the suspense in the story, so I read the last third of the book without putting it down. I was dismayed to find such a disturbing ending. If the book is any indication of Mr. Dekker's beliefs regarding the nature of man, then his beliefs are unbiblical. His portrayal of the battle between good and evil is void of a strong reference to Christ, the conqueror of all that is evil. I found this very distressing as well. I would not recommend this book to anyone else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThr3e.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rose V.B.
Having heard great things about Ted Dekker's works, I was highly disappointed with this one. The writing was so bad, I couldn't read past the first two chapters. It was so full of cliches and corny phrases, I couldn't pay attention to what was happenning. The characters were shallow and stereotypical. I seriously could not go on. I wonder if all of Dekker's writing is this bad; I seriously hope not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThr3e.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Lewis
I usually read fiction as a mental distraction from my work on my lunchbreak. I had no idea,when I picked up Thr3e, that I was about to get a front row seat, into a world where spiritual warfare with all it's tenticles was going to take me for a mind-blowing adventure. This was my first Ted Dekker book, and I'm hooked. Great to meet you Ted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThr3e.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bill Benz
Awesome, I was totally surprised at the end and somewhat disappointed because I was rooting for Kevin and was so shocked at the outcome. I kept saying to myself this cannot be real. I really could relate with the three personalities since I see myself in a similar but not so extreme situation as we all are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThr3e.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gabreale
This book is wonderful!!! I highly recommend it! Now below someone said it was awful that Mr. Dekker has a dark mind and does not (think) like a Christian should. I beg to disagree. He is definitely a Christian. His writing focus on the battle between good and evil not just around you but inside you. He write from the characters angle the characters beliefs and you are able to watch their faith grow from learning to trust in God. A very good book this is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThr3e.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Steph
This was the first book I ever read of Ted's and now I'm a die hard fan!!!!!!! This book does a great job at keeping your attention and this book seriously has the BEST ending EVER!! It was so surprising. I never could have guessed it. But I won't spoil anything. Ted is my all time favorite author. I like unusual stories and he is perfect for that. Some of my friends are obsessed with like western love stories. That bugs me. Those can be good stories sometimes, but honestly, I'd rather spend time reading a story that really makes me think. And its really hard to find good suspense/mystery/scary stories that keeps a christian focus. Ted Dekker does a perfect job of that. He's the best!! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThr3e.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2008
Horrible! If this man is a Christian then his mind is warped to come up with a story like this. I will never read another one of his books.It is DARK, EVIL, FORBODING, DISTURBING AND DEPRRESSING. It seems to come of "another spirit".God's word instructs us to think on things from above. I would put this in a class with a Stephen King novel.I have read suspense novels written by Christian authors and never felt a dark spirit like I did when reading this man's book. It makes you wonder who is really influencing his mind; God or Satan.Adding a few Bible verses at the end does not compensate for the darkness of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThr3e.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2008
This was the second book I read by Ted Dekker, and it blew me away. It kept me reading well into the night because I just had to see what happened next. At first, I admit I was unsatisfied with the ending. But the more I thought about it, the more I realized it was the right way to go, as it raises some interesting questions and topics about good and evil. Overall, a thrilling, engaging read....I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThr3e.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donna Hoffman
This book grabbed my attention from the start with several explosive situations that had me yearning for more. This fast pace book kept me on the edge of my chair reading as fast as I could. The conclusion was one that I never could have imagined, and according to my co-workers who have read this, neither could they. Ted Dekkar has me yearning to read more of his books. If this is any example of his work, he has a new fan base.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThr3e.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
jaime'
I have read many of Tedd Dekker's books and my favorite is the Circle Trilogy. I was very disappointed with Three. I did not like it at all and unfortunately I saw the movie version and it left me with nightmares. If three is the first Tedd Dekker book you have read don't give up hope he has other really good novels to choose from. Sorry Tedd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThr3e.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Caldwell
It started strange in the beginning but got to be a very interesting read, but toward the end, well, it ended strange. It was my first Ted Dekker book that I had read. It just disappointed me on the ending, that's the reason for me only giving it 3 1/2 stars. Otherwise it was an interesting read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThr3e.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chloe
This was the first book I ever read by Ted Dekker. I was totally engulfed in the story line and just when I thought I had things figured out, another twist in the story would pop up. This was one book I could barely lay down. The theological ideas presented were very thought provoking as well. I have since bought the movie, Three, though I have not watched it yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Three - eBook
This review is fromThr3e.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Melissa
This was the first book by Ted Dekker that I have read. It kept me on the edge of my seat. I was totally shocked by the ending!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>