Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook The Reluctant Prophet - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

David C. Cook The Reluctant Prophet - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Reluctant Prophet - eBook
Review 1 for The Reluctant Prophet - eBook
This review is fromThe Reluctant Prophet.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book

Date:February 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
DutchEreader
Location:Brownsville, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't know what to expect when I started this book. I'm totally not into biking, but descided to give it a try, to discover that it's not really about bikes but about how God can guide you in your life when you're willing to listen. It's a great read, humorous, sad, intense....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Reluctant Prophet - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeded Expectations

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
KouponKait
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know what I was expecting when I started reading this book, but it surprised me in so many ways. I do not enjoy reading books in first person but this book had me so intrigued that it never bothered me once. The spiritual insight and developments of the book were challenging in a very real way. And the character's were nowhere close to mundane or ordinary, keeping my interest with every page. A great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Reluctant Prophet - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book had me laughing and crying! Great read!

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dino
Location:Austria
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a motorcycle rider, I enjoyed the detailed descriptions of Allison's motorcycle lessons and was moved by the obvious love she had for the different ladies and child she collected.
Very readable and challenging.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Reluctant Prophet - eBook
This review is fromThe Reluctant Prophet.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extraordinary Obedience

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you think that on the morning Isaiah received instruction to walk around in his altogether he had a flicker of doubt? Or when Hosea is sent to get his wife from among the prostitutes do you suppose he thought that there could be an easier way? Suppose instead of walking around naked for three years or marrying a faithless woman, God asked you to buy a motorcycle. That nearly sounds laughably easy in comparison! Having no knowledge of such machines may make it seem a little more challenging, and certainly the idea of following Christ into the unknown can sometimes seem as unprecedented as spending time in public nude or having children with a woman of questionable virtue.
In this witty and poignant story, God calls an ordinary Christian woman, Allison Chamberlain, to a life of adventure and powerful impact through one simple instruction – “Buy a Harley”. As Allison obeys this radical call, her life is changed and ultimately she starts to change everyone around her. That is what a prophet does, after all, they change the lives of others through obedience to God. Along the way there are, of course, detractors and dissuaders who believe that the things God calls the modern Christian to are much less, well, extraordinary. Sometimes these are people outside the church, but too often, sadly, they are from within. Obedience to God can seem a lonely task, but those who willingly listen to his voice are never far from his heart.
This story definitely packs a punch – if a Christian walks away from it without seeing the power and imagination of a God whose love for every sinner is enormous, they would seem unwilling to see those things at all. Nancy Rue does a great job of writing a story that impacts the reader with humor, wisdom, and beauty. God calls all of us to something. If we ask him he will show us what that is for us. When he does, be ready. It may not be what you expected, but if you are obedient, he will show you more than you can possibly imagine.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Reluctant Prophet - eBook
This review is fromThe Reluctant Prophet.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Expect an ab-workout & a grab for Kleenex

Date:December 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My abs may never recover.
Nancy Rue has created one of my favourite characters of the year, 42-yr-old Allison Chamberlain, a character who had me laughing out loud many times throughout this fabulous book.
Allison has been a Christian for seven years, trying to figure out exactly what following Jesus looks like. One Sunday she is sitting restlessly in her pew when she receives a divine nudge - literally - and hears God telling her to go buy a Harley. When she decides to follow this bizarre calling, she soon finds herself well out of her comfort zone, learning to handle a hog, and encountering God's people in a challenging but eternally satisfying way.
This first book in the Reluctant Prophet Trilogy will make you smile, laugh, maybe even cry, as you contemplate this wonderful journey of life that God is guiding us through. Despite the gender difference, I found myself really relating to Allison, especially in her reluctance to acknowledge God's voice (He's not actually asking me to do that is he?). Not only was I thoroughly entertained by this novel, but I was challenged as well, to step outside of myself and what I'm comfortable with, and to follow God's leading, no matter how strange (and no doubt wonderful!) that will be.
The book absolutely flew by, and I struggled to even be able to put it down. Nancy Rue is a highly skilled author, and has delivered an amazing read that engaged me on all levels. I absolutely cannot wait to find out what happens in the next book in the series.
I highly recommend this book and give it 5 out of 5 stars.
An egalley of this book was provided from the publisher via Netgalley, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Reluctant Prophet - eBook
This review is fromThe Reluctant Prophet.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling!

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicki Bylin
Location:Lexington, KY
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Reluctant Prophet" is thought-provoking, emotionally authentic and spiritually challenging. I laughed, I cried. I was inspired to live a bigger life. A book doesn't get any better than that. Or maybe it does . . . The story is utterly compelling, a real page-turner!
Highly recommended for Book Clubs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Reluctant Prophet - eBook
This review is fromThe Reluctant Prophet.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read for anyone who dares

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
CTF Devourer
Location:CTF Devourer
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful story of someone choosing to follow God and do extreme things for Him! Allison is a prophet, someone who speaks the words of God and challenges others to follow Him as well. Her Church Bible study group does not look at all with favor on what she is doing and gets the most challenge. She challenges them to stop making converts that can contribute to the Church offering plate and add to their tallies of people saved, but rather to go out and love people and treat them the way Christ would. They dare to say the government has programs for people like this but it doesn’t stop Allison from following Christ herself instead of dumping that job on the government. Allison faces life-threatening and heart breaking situations and keeps doing what it takes to follow Christ. I highly recommend this book to anyone who dares open themselves up to what following Christ really means.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Reluctant Prophet - eBook
This review is fromThe Reluctant Prophet.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Nugde from God :) Buy this Book

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: The Reluctant Prophet - The Reluctant Prophet Series #1 - Nancy Rue - October 2010
Family and doing unto others for Alison Chamberlain has never been very high on her list as Alison had a hard life , being disowned by her wealthy parents at 18 and going to live with her Nanny Sylvia , just to have her parents a few years later die via the hands of a disgruntled employee in the form of a car bomb, and then her Nanny died. All Alison has got is a house , her job at the stables as a carriage tour driver and her involvement for the last seven years in church. Now at the age of 42, Alison is about to recieve a nugde from the Almighty and a Joan of Arcadia God moment where God will tell Alison to buy a motorbike and not just any motorbike but a Harley. When things start to fall in place, Alison starts to wonder what she has been called to do as her divine interventions take her down streets, roads and corners of St Augustine that people know to stay away from. It is here she meets addict Geneveve and her 12yr old son Desmond aka Clarence and Alison opens her home to them , as the novel starts to build up a momentum and rhythm , we see Alison buying a house and opening up a home for women who want to get off the streets. A novel that represents the image of the modern day Mary Magadelene's of God's time and for those who enjoyed Karen Kingsbury's book "Divine".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Reluctant Prophet - eBook
This review is fromThe Reluctant Prophet.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding story of listening to God

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Reluctant Prophet by Nancy Rue is an inspiring story of learning to listen to God. Allison Chamberlain is settled into her life at forty-two as a horse-drawn carriage driver in St. Augustine, Florida. She attends church regularly, enjoys a good relationship with the members of her Bible study, and living alone, until she gets a very distinct message from God to buy a Harley-Davidson motorcycle. This begins a rapid change in her life as she continues to listen to "Nudges" from the Lord. She buys the bike, takes lessons to ride it, becomes involved in the local owners group, HOG, and then feels drawn toward King Street, the red-light district in town. Chief, one of the HOG leaders, introduces her to a man dying in a nursing home whose only request is to see his crack-addicted prostitute daughter Geneveve before he dies. Allison answers that request, so when he gives another, to take care of Geneveve and her son Desmond, she can't say no to the dying man. Soon Allison has two more prostitutes living in her home, along with Geneveve and charming yet troubled Desmond, and she is ministering to them however God calls her to, which turns her Bible study friends and pastor against her. But Allison has been given a mission from God, and life has just gotten very interesting. I'm a big fan of Rue's Sullivan Crisp series with Stephen Arterburn. Her fiction has an unexpected depth and some of the most three-dimensional characters I've ever encountered. Reluctant Prophet is even better than my expectations. Allison has a very complex history, and she is a bit off-putting at first, but once readers fall in love with her, the pages begin to really fly. Rue brings up some difficult issues about American Christianity: salvation is for only the right people, if a person isn't living the life we approve of they aren't saved, and what does Jesus' life tell us to do about those in need? Allison's disillusionment with her church and pastor is, I think, very symptomatic of what is going on in with Gens X and Y in their relationship with the church. Rue somehow manages to do it all with both a sense of humor and a unshakable sense of righteousness. I don't think that Allison's story is over yet, there are some storylines open with Troy and her family history. I hope that Rue writes another book using this amazing cast of characters again soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Reluctant Prophet - eBook
This review is fromThe Reluctant Prophet.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow.....hard to put down, then you want more!

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
DustBunniesAndBooks
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a GREAT read! I like books that make you think...re-evaluate: What more could I be doing for God. If you like the Yada Yada Prayer Group/House of Hope books, then you'll probably like this one as well. The main character, Allison aka "Big Al," is hard to NOT like...she's so real, she's trying to figure out what God wants from her, she's funny, and she gets it wrong sometimes. I can't wait for the next book in the series......they are definitely on my "buy before they are even released" list!
Two thumbs up!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Reluctant Prophet - eBook
This review is fromThe Reluctant Prophet.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must have for your library

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ane Mulligan
Location:Suwanee, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Following Jesus launches Allison Chamberlain onto new roads, and to make it even more of a "ride of faith" the Lord told her to buy a Harley. While the story delves into the grittier side of life where drug addiction and prostitution is the norm, it's Allison's outlook on life that added humor to the story. While some of her friends prefer to let others dirty their hands of life's outcasts, Allison can't do that. As God keeps nudging her, you'll cheer "Big Al" on, as she attempts to obey.
Fast paced, this is one story I didn't want to end. Nancy Rue has just joined my Top 10 Favorite Author list and I can't wait for the next in the series. Novel Journey and I give it our highest recommendation. A definite keeper in my permanent library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.