Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print Twelve Ordinary Men

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Christian Large Print Twelve Ordinary Men

What is most amazing about the disciples is that Jesus selected them at all. They seemed like a pretty unlikely group: among them fishermen, a tax collector, and a zealot. The men the Savior chose were pretty ordinary working men. However, they were available and obedient to the Master's call, and under Jesus' teaching they became a force that forever changed the world. In John MacArthur's "Twelve Ordinary Men" you'll see the disciples as you never have before, and hear Jesus' words in a whole new way. Large Print Edition.
Average Customer Rating:
4.763 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 out of 2195%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Twelve Ordinary Men
Review 1 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Howard Ward
Location:Ponchatoula, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This well-written book lives up to it's title with as much background information as possible found in the bible. It lets us know that "ordinary" people have a chance to serve our Savior in a profound way just as the disciples did with their human frailties as long as we depend on our Savior and not ourselves.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good stuff to know

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rabbi Gary
Location:Mount Vernon, Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So you think you know the disciples because you attended Sunday School as a kid? You'll probably be amazed by this book. MacArthur mostly refers to scripture (which is good). But he also adds findings from historical research that both add to the testimony of these historic 12 men, and add to our understanding of them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Read

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Donny
Location:Medford, Wi
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book definetly meet my expectations and then some, you learn alot about the disciples even more, i found myself being very similar to one of them. That is exciting fo me anyway, to have something in common with one of the disciples, a very good read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Amazing work of fantasy

Date:March 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
ricky
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I went though this book with the workbook in a men's group, and all of us were rolling our eyes at the end. MacArthur makes great leaps of fantasy that are not in scripture, then paints pathetic pictures of the the 12 apostles.
This book might be applicable to those who are unsaved - but certainly not to Christians. The characteristics MacArthur describes in this book belong to men who were not saved, and certainly not indwelt with the Spirit.
Throughout the book MacArthur seems to imply that he would have done better than the disciples. It was my first introduction to MacArthur, and I was appalled that a man who supposedly is a teacher would take such artistic license.
MacArthur makes an assumption about one of the apostles, then proceeds to write as though the assumption were fact, and creates an entire personality around a series of assumptions, most of them derogatory of the disciples.
MacArthur wrote and entire chapter on Nathan's character, and who he was, all from one sentence in the Bible.
It seems that McArthur is appealing to today's watered down world where the bar is set so high for following Christ that you need to be careful not to trip on it.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A VERY enlightening and interesting study:>)

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rev Ken
Location:Wake Forest,NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jesus Christ Himself is the CHIEF cornerstone of the book and the Apostles he describes fit into God's structural plan for His Kingdom. John MacArthur clarifies the role the Apostles played in cementing Christ's position as the Son of God and the Son of Man.
I to am "aggramatoi idiotai" and appreciate Twelve Ordinary Men helping me more deeply appreciate the revelations of the Apostles lives in excellent literature!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very well written.

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
DigitalDante
Location:Troy, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A nicely done book. John MacArthur uses both his scriptural knowledge and commentary from years of biblical and theological study to bring the twelve to light for the reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
bobs
Location:St. Louis, Mo.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even if the Author may embelish a little I am enjoying this book. It still opens the eyes and mind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
John
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the way it has been present serving the purpose for which it was written. The fact as much as Jesus loved his 12 disciples so does he love us and he has also called us to continue the work which began years ago.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful meaty look our Lords Apostles.

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We read this fine meaty book with our KJV and NIV open our our laps, my Mother and I. It was a great way to meet the Apostles, in all their Humanness and yet touched by Gods hand and used to mightily to serve Him.
A lot of us never knew why each Gospel lists the Twelve men with slightly different names and this book was really helpful in understanding that some of the men had two different names, Like Matthew was also called Levi.
We had to make notes in our Bible as to who was who!!! The thing dearest to me about Dr. MacArthurs book is the Rich Tapestry of Scripture he weaves. He hunts throughout the whole Bible for every things that he needs to explain a difficult passage in context. For example, Why Did James and John want to Call down fire on the people in Luke 9 verse Fifty Four? When Dr. MacArthur points out that they were remembering how Elijah as recorded for us in Two Kings Chapter One, had called down fire upon the arrogant pagan army captain (who was coming to arrest him) and his men in the same area hundreds of years before and they wanted to do the same, then we understand.
I really love the way Dr. MacArthur does this, bringing Scripture from all the Bible together to illuminate the text he is working on. Dear Peter, the brash, bold young man who chopped an ear off the man who was going to arrest and hurt his Lord. This same Peter would write the wonderful letters of One and Two Peter!!! And then, according to tradition, he would die by Crucifixion, crucified upside down because he was unworthy of His Lords Death. The Way that each mans story ended with his death was perfect- I always think that it is perfect when a Christians story ends in Death, because for Us that is the Step into Gods Presence. As Doctor MacArthur said, Thomas was speared to death in India. How Fitting was this Death for the Man who had not Believed His Lord was Risen until he Touched the Spear mark in JESUS side, and it was a Fitting death for a Man who longed to be back with His Lord again. This Book is going to my 16 year old cousin this Christmas, because I want Him to know that God uses young, Bold, Brave, Immature men. God wants those years of their life. Do not present the years of your youth to idleness or idols. Give them to God and He will use you now, and God will make you conformed into the Image of Christ. God Bless you!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good, but not beyond other books on the 12

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
brolynn
Location:DeRidder, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good, but does not give much beyond other books on the 12
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resource on the twelve decipls

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doug
Location:Southfield, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We're using this book in conjunction with the companion workbook as a study guide for our Adult Bible Fellowship. The material Dr. MacArthur provides is very thorough and rock solid. Using the combination of books along with God's Word gives our ABF participants a chance to thoroughly prepare ahead of time and contribute to the class discussion from an informed perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The men our Lord chose

Date:March 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Gough
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
John MacArthur has provided insightful looks into the lives of the twelve men chosen by the Christ to be His closest disciples. The key word is "ordinary," because Jesus did not select those of unique ability or special privilege to follow Him for three-plus years and to whom He would hand over the task of establishing His Church. The largest group of the twelve were fishermen and they covered a spectrum of backgrounds and personalities. To imagine this group being gelled harmoniously into a unit seems difficult at best, and yet that is precisely what our Lord patiently did with them. MacArthur does an excellent job of describing these men by searching the biblical text. Where the Bible is silent, he draws from other historical sources (notably Josephus and Eusebius), although more complete referencing and annotation would have been helpful for the student seeking to dig still deeper into the lives of the disciples. Early in the book, the author suggests that there were three sub-groupings of four disciples each, a plausible but unprovable hypothesis. The chapters move along smoothly and freely, beginning most naturally with Peter and ending with Judas. I was somewhat disappointed that a chapter was not devoted to every disciple. For example, Matthew and Thomas rather awkwardly share a chapter, as do James the Less, Simon the Zealot, and Judas (not Iscariot), although an equally less-known Nathanael has a chapter of his own. The concluding chapter on Judas Iscariot is a fitting ending, although a brief summary chapter with personal challenge ("with which disciple do you most readily identify and why?") would have been even more effective. I recommend this book for both personal and small group study. A very helpful read.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Energy4Him
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Studying this book as a small group and the men in my group and have found this book to be excellent. We've had many great conversations arising out of the text. While I've enjoyed each of John MacArthur's books that I've read, I've found this book to be an easier read that his other offerings and so more suitable to read for enjoyment rather than as an academic/theological exercise.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
bdawn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book speaks to both men and women and is appropriate for each generation. MacArthur writes in such a way that it isn't too academic and lofty, and neither is it too dumbed down. The insight to personalities using Scripture references regarding the apostles speaks to the variety of people in this world. In small groups it is great fodder for discussion to pick out who you feel you are most like in comparison or in attempting to analyze each other.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book.

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
sg ldr
Location:Bryan, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book. We plan to use it with our Small Groups.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Twelve Ordinary Men
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gives new insight into the disciples.

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
jeanh
Location:Austin, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to read and understand. This author has written a number of books about people of the Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Author

Date:October 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Less
Location:Yunam AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The knowledgeable and easy reading of MacAuthor is one of the reasons I selected this study. After a quick perusal I am not disappointed. The study group will befit greatly with this study direction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read, I read thru it in a couple of days

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jerry Fray
Location:Connersville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was about to give up on teaching my bible study class, until one of my students loaned me her copy of Twelve Ordinary Men. What an eye opening, touching story that shows the disciples as what they truly were... twelve ordinary men. Read this book you will not be sorry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Twelve Ordinary Men
This review is fromTwelve Ordinary Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book helped bring me hope

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
dusty
Location:Manheim, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always been told that the disciples were just like us..."ordinary men". Until I read this book I did not really grasp the truth of that statement nor did I fully understand how much like us they were. MacArthur lays it all out and brings hope to my soul that the Lord can finish what He has started. If He could do it with them...He can do it with us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Twelve Ordinary Men
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:March 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Butch
Location:Liberty MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Helps me to understand that our Jesus used common people to spread His Word - just like me. Easy to understand and down to earth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>