Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print Captivating, Large print

Christian Large Print Captivating, Large print

You are captivating! When you were a little girl did you love to dress up in twirling skirts and pretend you were a princess? If you've lost some of your dreams on the way to adulthood, you are not alone. In Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, John & Stasi Eldredge encourage women to reconnect with their feminine desires and dreams that are God-given. God has come to ransom and restore you today. LARGE PRINT EDITION.
Average Customer Rating:
4.366 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Captivating, Large print
Review 1 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is so encouraging!

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
kaitlin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Captivating informs women of their irreplaceable role in the world. It explains why women are made the way they are. John and Stasi Eldredge point out that most women are relational beings. Most women care more about relationships than anything else. Women’s desire and capacity for intimate relationships is similar to God’s desire for intimate relationships with us. Women have a captivating beauty to unveil, a beauty that comes from unveiling the feminine heart. When women reveal their hearts, they show love. Often, women become concerned about other people’s hearts and bring them to know God. In the past and even today, women have been poorly treated. This has a lot to do with Satan seeing women as a threat. He sees women as a threat because they are what he cannot be. Women are hated because of the beauty and power they possess. Captivating gives an encouraging and refreshing outlook on women. God put women in this world to uniquely carry his glory to the world. Men are not meant to be alone they need women. I strongly recommend this book to all women who are at least sixteen years old and above. I suggest this age range in order that the women are more mature and able to fully absorb and apply this book to their lives. Men could read this book as well as a way of further understanding women and to get a clearer understanding on the differences between men and women. This book caused me to reflect on my own life, causing me to grow in my relationship with Christ. This book is definitely worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This book has good insights.

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Katie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although this book had many insights into the minds of women and would be helpful for many women and men, the use of stereotypes was overwhelming. The author’s (John and Stasi Eldredge) intent for this book was to help women understand why they feel and think the way that they do in order that they may believe that they are captivating. Taking the approach that most women don’t understand why they feel and think the way that they do, they made three assumptions about women. In this book the authors stated, “We think you’ll find that every woman in her heart of hearts longs for these three things: to be romanced, to play an irreplaceable role in a great adventure, and to unveil beauty” (p.8). Even though the insights that these three statements gave were very helpful to understanding many women’s minds, they were also very stereotypical. Assumptions much like the previous quote were made throughout the book as well. This was very distracting. Using assumptions and stereotypes about women can cause readers to lose respect for the authors and thus give them less credibility to the reader.
Despite the fact that stereotypes are used frequently, this book would be very beneficial for both women and men to read. The style of writing is very clear, easy to understand, and includes many people’s testimonies to help prove the authors’ points. Even if the reader does not fit into the stereotypes used by the authors, they probably know many women who do. The book was written for women, but could also give men awareness of how many women think and feel. In conclusion, I would recommend this book to both men and women with the stipulation that they should be aware of the assumptions made about women within the book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Extremely insightful/encouraging!

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fiore
Location:Texas
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really loved this book. It has helped me learn to love God all over again, although I wasn't wild about the CONSTANT references to secular media to prove an already understood point. There are better examples out there than Steel Magnolias. I also didn't think that enough emphasis was put on the fact that while God loves us and desperately wants us to love Him (we are acursed if we aren't following this 'first and greatest commandment' - see Matthew 22: 37-38 & 1 Corinthians 16:22), and has gone to great lengths to prove His love, we are in no way needed by Him. He sustains Himself. He is Love. That's the beauty of it. We have nothing He could want, but He wants to rescue us anyway. But I do recommend this book to others, especially those struggling with their identity, and how God has made them. Feminity is under attack, and it's important for women to embrace it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rhae
Location:Iowa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best book I've read...so far! A must read for all women. I wish I would've read it years ago when it was first recommended to me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Touches your heart

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valley Cub
Location:Alexandria, Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book explains what so many do not want to talk about. An abusive father, an aloof mother and how this can affect a woman's heart. This book explains that letting your guard down and letting God flow through you can make you beautiful, captivating!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent book for all women

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
mamadukesw
Location:Buffalo, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first read this book about 5 years ago and couldn't stop talking about it. The approach is unique and does not add to the guilt so many Christian women feel. I am now teaching a study on the book at church and went from 2 women the first week to 9 the third....they are all very excited about it. The group is very mixed...divorced, widowed, single mothers, young mothers, and empty nesters and we all relate to what Stasi and John say.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful! Such a blessing to all women!

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mrs Em
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved, loved, LOVED this book, so pardon while I gush about it for a moment.
Captivating speaks to the heart, to the true inner essence of every woman who longs for great passion in life. That's almost everybody, yes? The summary of the book over-simplifies the matter. This is a book about A) learning how much God loves you and B) because of that, learning to better love yourself so that C) you can give a better quality of love to others. It is a wonderful, emotional, highly cathartic experience, and I wholeheartedly recommend it to all women, but particularly to women who are suffering. It is a balm to the soul.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:ashland,va
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am still reading the book but it has revived some insight into my views on how women fit into the church and how God has a huge hug ansd shoulder for every woman.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book is wonderful for a women's support group.

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
jeannebeth
Location:Solvang, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our group of young mothers (I am a co-facilitator.) has been meeting weekly for over a year. Having started as a Bible Study Group, we have found ourselves becoming more and more of a support group, discussing areas of our lives that are hurtful and praying for one another, never losing sight or use of the Scriptures and never being without a study. This book, "Captivating", is leading us even closer to what God will have us be for Him and for us in this world. We look forward to discussing each chapter and finding what each one holds for us. It will be a wonderful summer of reading and discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this is very enlightening to my soul

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lil J
Location:Chesapeake,Va
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has been an pleasurable journey to read the book and makes you feel absolutely valuable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I highly recomment this book.

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carebear34
Location:Nappanee, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great read. It gets to the heart, uplifts, and encourages. A definate read for all women.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

it made me feel precious.

Date:March 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
mrsthesun
Location:federal way, wa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book was given to me as a gift and it spoke so beautifully to my heart. it deepened my relationship with God. so, one Christmas i bought it for several friends. i just wanted to share it. i recently gave away my own copy again and now i'm replacing that one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Smith
Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul by John and Stasi Eldredge sets out to give women a vision for their lives that is all at once romantic, adventurous and meaningful with themselves as the star princesses. Drawing upon a vast array of illustrations from classic literature and contemporary movies, the Eldredges weave a delightful picture of all this and more--all in imaginative, vibrant language. This book does speak to a woman's heart, passions and her innermost desires. Captivating's strength lies in its romantic vision of the many facets of womanhood.Yet, although the Eldredges contend that a woman's inner beauty is released by God and through her intimate relationship with Him, I discovered some troubling undertones to their theology as expressed within this book. I do agree that God does love His children intimately and even passionately, yet I respectfully disagree that God longs to be loved by us. God is complete in Himself and does not need us to complete Him. When I turned the final page, I certainly had some interesting thoughts to mull over, yet I found Captivating more fairy tale fantasy than I did scripturally sound discourse.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Wikstrom
I loved this book! At first I didn't think I was going to like it since I am not a romance novel reader and this book is wrote with a romantic tone. After the first few chapters I fell in love. I recommend this book to any and all women (even non-believers)"Every woman I've ever met feels it --- something deeper than just the sense of failing at what she does. An underlying, gut feeling of failing at who she is. I am not enough and I am too much at the same time. Not pretty enough, not thin enough, not kind enough, not gracious enough, not disciplined enough. But too emotional, too needy, too sensitive, too strong, too opinionated, too messy. The result is Shame, the universal companion of women. It haunts us, nipping at our heels, feeing on our deepest fear that we will end up abandoned and alone," writes Stasi. That quote spoke to me, it made me think and re-think. If you can relate to that quote there, then please go pick up this book and continue reading it. If you dont relate, then check your pulse are you still alive?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
I'm sorry to be a downer, but this book is full of shallow theology! The Eldredges completely take the focus away from God, the Creator of a woman's soul, and place far too much emphasis on satisfying your desires apart from God. I was very disappointed and finished the book with the same emptiness I started with. It's because the book hardly EVER talks about the true way to find fulfillment...through earnestly seeking God's purpose for our lives.If you want a book with some substance, check out Leslie Ludy.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristy
This book has meant so much to me. I finally finished it but I was sad to put it down. I am reading another book right now but I plan on getting the study guide that goes with Captivating & reading it again. There is so much in it to digest that it should definitely be read & reread.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dee Harper
I found it interesting and helpful. My 19 yr old daughter truly LOVES this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debby
I would strongly recommend this book to single women, especially those whose heart struggles with desires for a soul mate. To be able to see how we as women were created to be, using examples from scripture, and how God pursues and desires us, helps us see ourselves and God in a new light. Though the author uses scripture as basis for the premise of the book, my one criticism is the use of non-biblical quotes by the author as additional sources.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Liz Storey
This book has taken me on a journey I never anticipated! I have cried my heart out, literally. This book was written to speak to our hearts and souls and that it does. But it's much more than that. It moves you into action. Into becoming the woman God always intended. And allowing our beauty to be unveiled.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Captivating, Large print
This review is fromCaptivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Terri Politi
Over the last year I have purchased, and given away, at least eight copies of Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul. This book is one that every woman should find the time to read as there is something that will touch everyone's heart and soul. We hear so much about the reasons God created Adam but Staci and John Eldredge paint a picture that is so wonderful about how and why he created Eve, and in turn all women. According to the Eldredge's book, in the creation plan, woman was "the crescendo, the final astonishing work of God." This book also touches on mother-daughter-sister relationships. Having lost my mother, I found this chapter very helpful, a comfort of sorts. But I have to say, I also found that with the whole book. Before all is said and done, I will probably be buying several more copies for someone else special in my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.