Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pure Flix Entertainment, LLC One Hit from Home, DVD

Pure Flix Entertainment, LLC One Hit from Home, DVD

When professional baseball star Jimmy Easton suffers a career-ending injury, he returns home---and to the memories of the tragic childhood he left behind. He reluctantly stays in the game by coaching an underachieving college team and its troubled best player, Brandon Elliot. Can Jimmy's road to recovery create a path for Brandon to follow, too? Dove approved (12+). 98 minutes. Closed-captioned.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
9 out of 1182%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for One Hit from Home, DVD
Review 1 for One Hit from Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was very well done and the story was excellent

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
dubbie
Location:Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy all my movies I get and I mostly enjoy watching them with my friends. we have a few movie nites and the last one was One Hit from Home and it was well received by all that watched with me. we will probably watch it again in the next couple of weeks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for One Hit from Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Preacher84
Location:Ga
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great deal on a very good movie! Would recommend it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for One Hit from Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

disappointing to us

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Denninger
Location:Surrey, BC, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The story was "choppy" although the main reason we were disappointed is that the other reviews, including the one on the back of the case, did not specify that the main character's girlfriend is divorced. That part of the story seemed very out of place because before he left home, it indicated that she was so faithful to him but within a year she was married to someone else and within two years of that, she was divorced and ready to go back into a serious relationship with the main character. Not only that, but she was always portrayed as a person who was steadfastly faithful to her commitment to Jesus Christ. How is a life like that a good witness? It's no different from the world.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for One Hit from Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best movie I've seen this year!

Date:August 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shelly
Location:Durand, Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband has attended our church's CR class for a year now. Recently I realized that I also needed the same spiritual assistance to help me cope and recover from my own issues of life happenings. My CR class is in a neighboring town on a different night so that our little ones have a parent home to be cared for and it gives our marriage a Godly glow, admiration and understanding. We love this movie and all of the Celebrate Recovery family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for One Hit from Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gave to my grandson in NY to inspire him.

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pat Alexander
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The acting was not top-notch but the quality of the theme was the truth. Very inspiring to me and hopefully to my grandson.
It made me cry with joy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for One Hit from Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Decent Movie, but Falls Short

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
kscssmm
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I appreciate the good reviews this movie has received. I watched the movie with high hopes, but came out disappointed. The movie promoted itself with the phrase, "Faith changes the game." It showed me a story about a man whose life did not go as he had planned. He had a wonderful father, uncle, and ex-girlfriend who were faithful Christians and who gave him a strong witness through their lives. He, however demonstrated or indicated no such relationship with God through his life or conversation. In the end, he did find a way to put aside his bad attitude and self-centeredness, but never clearly prayed or sought God, or demonstrated a "Faith" journey. Movies like "Faith Like Potatoes" and "Facing the Giants" portrayed that excellently. This movie did not seem to even try. It is not a movie about Faith changing anything. It is not even really a movie about a journey in or through Faith. If you are looking for a movie, however, that portrays the benefits of adopting a selfless, servant attitude (this guy finally decides to care about his team and be a real coach), then you will enjoy the movie. Just don't expect great acting or a spiritually grounded movie about Christian faith.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for One Hit from Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Juvencio
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This meets my expectations.
1. Good clean family movie.
2. I always love movies with good values.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for One Hit from Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well worth watching.

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Farmboy
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Movie is good for all age groups junior high and up. How can you not like baseball? Baseball is a game you can play, watch, and even talk while watching. It also gives you breaks and it is also about life; great times and not so great times.
EnJOY the movie and God bless!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for One Hit from Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story!!!

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjackson
Location:Clinton, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this was a great story. A wonderful account of lives transformed by the healing power of love, and forgiveness. A good example of laying down our own lives for others, finding freedom from the past, and discovering the hope for a better future. If you're like me and love watching the underdog rise to the top, then you'll love this film.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for One Hit from Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
kevin b
Location:north carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good story line. I think many people can relate to this story
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for One Hit from Home, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not full gospel; Why?

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
RiverJordan
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The gospel message was confusing and the characters were not giving God the glory. A knee injury that took away my professional baseball career and made it painful to walk would be very serious. If I was healed, every person that I knew and people that I did not know would be made aware of it. I would give Jesus all of the glory. Since I was a celebrity the word would get out to the national media. Being a Christian is about giving God the glory. If "Courageous" was successful utilizing a full Gospel message than a Pure Flix movie should do the same. I can purchase a hundred family movies without a gospel message, Pure Flix should be out there like the "Courageous" group. To Jesus be all the glory, Amen
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.