Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Hot - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

NavPress Hot - eBook

Lindsey feels alone, like no one truly understands her. That is, until she meets Noah, who possesses a calm self-confidence that Lindsey craves. But what price will she pay to escape to the comfort of Noah's soft words and strong arms?

This novel uses the power of story to challenge teens to discover the relevance of faith. Young adults will identify with Lindsey's feelings of insecurity and uncertainty. Promoting a personal trust in God, this story awakens the imagination through personal discovery, dynamic characters, and unexpected plot twists.

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hot - eBook
Review 1 for Hot - eBook
This review is fromHot.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gives girls lots to think about

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lindsay would really like a boyfriend, but she is sick of boys who only want one thing. Then Lindsay meets Noah, a hockey player, who is handsome and kind and really seems to like her. But when she’s around Noah, she can hardly think, he's so cute. He’s unlike any other boy she’s ever known. And he’s a Christian too. While Lindsay had always planned to wait until she was married to have sex, she and Noah are so attracted to each other, that things are so much more complicated than she ever thought they’d be.
I enjoyed this book. It was very realistic. Many girls don’t have trouble staying away from boys who are so obviously interested in sex and sex alone. It’s the boys who are more patient and persistent, who invest time in a girl that are the ones who are the most tempting. And that’s where Lindsay got lost. Girls tend to think that Christian boys will be safe, but that’s not always the case. I wish that Lindsay’s mom would have thought to teach her daughter some boundaries for dating. It might have made things a little less confusing for her. And I would have liked a little more of an ending. We were sort of left hanging as to what Noah said. Still, this book was well written, entertaining, and gives girls lots to think about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hot - eBook
This review is fromHot.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too HOT!

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
tanderson
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I know the author is trying to communicate the struggle of teens to stay pure, but this book was way too much for me to pass along to a teenager to read. The book spends most of the time positively portraying the main characters being "in love" and how right everything feels. Even after they have sex, it focuses little on remorse or consequences, but on how close the characters have become and how good it really feels, so after all "God, could it really be so wrong?" In all fairness, it briefly address the possibility of pregnancy and STDs, and the conclusion does come back toward choosing purity, but after a young person reads about how good and how right sex feels, I'm not sure if the message about the rightness of being pure makes it through. This is one I will not be passing on to others or recommending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hot - eBook
This review is fromHot.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Straight to the point!

Date:August 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laura Smith did not beat around the bush in this novel! She spoke so much truth from a teen's perspective during that situation! A must read for every teen! Was truly blessed by this novel in that the author wrote from the heart!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hot - eBook
This review is fromHot.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book!

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennie
Location:Manila, Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book talks about primarily what teenagers face – the need to belong, problems with the family, school and friends. The book reinforces the importance of having good parents and even church family for support system.
Read more: http://www.marriageandbeyond.com/2010/09/21/book-review-hot-by-laura-smith/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hot - eBook
This review is fromHot.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Hot is the story of Lindsey Kraus, a high school sophomore who struggles like so many other girls her age, with self-esteem issues. Insecure about everything from her home life to her physical appearance, Lindsey faces the temptation of going too far when she falls in love for the very first time. Although Lindsey has a good heart and loves God, she also loves Noah and finds herself on the fence about her convictions and personal beliefs. Planning to wait until shes married to have sex may prove to be too lofty of a goal, as Lindsey and Noah grow more attracted to each other. Overall, Hot shares an important message and I think that this book could be a good tool for parents to use as a means of opening up dialogue with their teens about this sensitive topic - however parental discretion should be used first. I would suggest that any parent who is thinking of having their teen read this, read it first themselves to make sure the content is appropriate for their own personal tastes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hot - eBook
This review is fromHot.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
CTF Devourer
This book is intense, but real in its portrayal of a young girls struggle to choose purity in the midst of conflicting emotions. Staying pure was truly something she thought she had chosen, but staying strong and standing by her decisions when feelings conflicted was not an easy thing to do. The spiritual element is definitely present. At the risk of ruining an ending, the best way to describe the spiritual element is to quote the last line of the book: And I trust with all my soul that God will be here to hold me tomorrow, even if Noah cant. (And really it isnt spoiling the ending because the story leaves you hanging, not knowing for sure what will happen!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hot - eBook
This review is fromHot.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
The book is about a girl named Lindsey and she is trying to find out who she truly is inside and where she belongs. She meets Noah who seems to have all the answers she craves. When things get out of control between them~ she is forced to make the hardest decision of her life whether to choose God or Noah. I liked how realistic it is and how it put a sense of what teenage girls go through everyday. I liked how Lindsey stood up for herself in the end of the book. This book drew me in and I was not able to put it down.I think this would be a great book for people who are trying to find themselves and trying to get answers from God. If you have teens or are a teen this might be a good book for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hot - eBook
This review is fromHot.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Parker
In Hot, Laura Smith coolly addresses the issue of that three-letter word in a way thats current, applicable, and authentic. Every teenage girl must read this book. (Or theyll look back and wish they had.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.