Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Latte Daze: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

NavPress Latte Daze: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Latte Daze: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Latte Daze: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromLatte Daze.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Latte Daze was fantastic!

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
RedHead
Location:Billings, MT
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If I were to suggest Latte Daze to someone else, I would do it in a heartbeat! The author is fabulous, funny and full of faith! I am so glad I purchased it! I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latte Daze: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromLatte Daze.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angela Winters
Maya Davis is a twenty-something, single Christian who enjoys life. However, life is changing, and Maya is not so good at dealing with change. There is the relationship with her friend and fellow barista Jack, her roommate Jens engagement (to Mayas ex-boyfriend), and her brother and sister-in-laws pregnancy announcement. Mayas world is beginning to feel a little upside down. When Jack takes a new job and she is no longer with him every day at Cool Beans, her true feelings for him slowly begin to unfold. Then, when Jens hateful, mean-spirited mom moves in to help plan the wedding, Maya wonders just how much worse things can get.Although Latte Daze is targeted to a young adult audience, I still enjoyed this book. There are no deep plots and very little in the way of surprise, yet I found it interesting enough that I picked it up every chance I got. The writer incorporates plenty of scripture to back up the Christian principles she is conveying through Mayas character. I highly recommend Latte Daze for anyone looking for inspiring, clean fiction for their teenage daughter. Maya Davis is a wonderful role model for young ladies. Plenty of reference to current pop culture will help girls relate to Maya on a personal level. This is part of a series, which begins with Cool Beans. I did not read Cool Beans, but had no trouble following Latte Daze. However, I would recommend that girls begin with the first book just because Latte Daze was such a fun read. A third book in the series, Double Shot, will be available in October.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latte Daze: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromLatte Daze.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2010
Maya is experiencing a lot of changes in her life right now. She is handling them with prayer along with copious amounts of coffee, ice cream, and just sugar in general. I love how Maya is such a real person! She isnt perfect, but with Gods help she is trying. It reminds me that God is bigger than my problems AND my character flaws. We all need that reminder sometimes. I cant wait to see what happens next in the Maya Davis series!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latte Daze: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromLatte Daze.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2010
First off, let me say I'm not a fan of chick lit and I'm past the age of girlfriends getting married and the whole dating nightmare. With that said I must admit I thoroughly enjoyed this story. You get a little bit of everything with this story. You have the insecure Maya, you have the "perfect" (but sweet) girl living the almost perfect life, with Jen, you have the wicked mother with Ms. Mitchell and then the guys. Travis, Maya's ex who's dating Jen, Ethan the computer geek, co-worker and then there's Jack, Maya's longtime friend. I could write pages about Jack. I enjoyed not only the characters but the story, they come across as real people with real issues. I love how we see Maya search for God's help in her daily life. I loved the sticky notes.This book had a lot of great reminders for me. First it reminded me how grateful I am that my parents were supportive of my marriage and who I was marrying. It reminded me that God wants a daily relationship with His children. Maya demonstrates the struggles that we all face and how we can look to God's Word for our guidance.If you want something that is an easy read with fun characters that will make you laugh and cry that offers some good biblical principles about life then pick up this book.If you don't like books that are overtly Christian then you will want to take a pass.If you want to learn more about the author check out her website: www.erynnmangum.comThank You to NavPress for the opportunity to review this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latte Daze: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromLatte Daze.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle
"Latte Daze" by Erynn Mangum is the follow up to "Cool Beans" in her Maya Davis novels. I'd have to say I'm a big fan of Mangum's writing style and am hooked. Love is in the air in this book as both Maya and her roommate Jen are in committed relationships with their boyfriends and both taking big steps forward in each respective relationship as the book progresses. You hope that it all works out for both of them but there is a slight air of uncertainity that lingers. There are a few bumps in the road and many changes swirling around for Maya, someone who does not like change. I liked how Mangum is able to interject applicable scripture versus throughout whether it was through Maya's devotions, church or Bible study. I've not read another Christian fiction writer who has built so much of the story around multiple scripture before and found this very refreshing. It's a great light, enjoyable read and I look forward to the next book in this series. I'm maybe even more so curious about a few of the secondary characters of this book, like Jen's Mom and how Maya's relationship and witness to them might change them in upcoming books. I received a free copy of this book from Navpress's book review program. The opinions expressed in this review are my own and I was not required to provide a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latte Daze: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromLatte Daze.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Missy
Erynn Mangum is an excellent author and I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Erynn's writing style is hard to resist. Her characters are well thought out and reflect both the beauty and the difficulty of relationships. Erynn writes from the heart. You will read this and want to go back and read every other book she has written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latte Daze: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromLatte Daze.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
debs
Fun, Fun, Fun! This is the second book in the Maya Davis series. I didnt read the first book and it didnt matter. Mayas adventure starts when her roommate Jen announces that she is marrying Travis, (Mayas ex-boyfriend ). The date is set and the planning begins. Jens mother moves into the apartment to make sure everything is set for the big day. Maya deals with her best friends wedding, Jens mother moving in with them and then Jack, Mayas boyfriend who has accepted a new job offer at a zoo. Maya deals with the changes in a humorous way making you laugh out loud. I would recommend this book for anyone that wants to just have a fun read. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latte Daze: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromLatte Daze.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Godspoetic1
Latte Daze is a fun-filled, lighthearted fiction novel for young adults, with a mix of strong characters, humor, and a quiet-like faith to promote love and trust in God.You know how the saying goes, you cant read a book by its cover, and that is certainly true here with this book, Latte Daze. I was very pleasantly surprised with this story and how it all played out. I loved how keeping morals here, were held highly, and that it was okay and acceptable to be a Christian. I applaud the author for doing this for our teen readers! Teens need to read more about the acceptance of Christianity and having morals in todays society is more of the norm, than not. Teen girls especially, need to have the confidence, faith, and love from their family and friends. Latte Daze is a wonderful example of just that, and I recommend it as a wonderful read for them! I was tuly delighted with Latte Daze, and look forward to reading the next book in the series! Even though this was the second book in the series, I was able to delve right into this one and really enjoy it thoroughly! I may just have to back track and read the first book now though, while I await the third books release!As per FTC guidelines, I must state that I was given a complimentary copy of Latte Daze from Nav Press Publishers in exchange for my review. My opinions are my own, and are never influenced in any way, due to receiving this copy of the book from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latte Daze: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromLatte Daze.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Maya Davis is back and this time her life is even more complicated! In Latte Daze (the follow up title to Cool Beans), Mayas best friend and roommate Jen, is dating Mayas ex-boyfriend, Travis. Just when Maya thinks she has adjusted to the awkward situation, they become engaged and Mayas world is turned upside down again! Almost twenty-five years old and working as a barista at the Cool Beans coffee shop, Maya begins to feel unsettled, restless and a little depressed about her life that never seems to go anywhere. Maya feels like everywhere she turns, life seems to be going perfect for everyone but her. Her successful brother and his wife are having their first baby, her best friend is planning a wedding and Maya comes home from the same job, to the same apartment and the same dog, every single night.The turbulent waters of Mayas life are muddied further when she tries to factor in Jack, her former co-worker turned boyfriend who is funny, lovable and sweet - and perplexes Mayas emotions even more. I am normally not a huge chick-lit fan but I was interested in this book because like the author, I am a devoted coffee admirer and loved the idea of the whole coffee shop / barista setting. This is a perfect book to curl up with when you want a light hearted, enjoyable read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.