Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

NavPress Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook
Review 1 for Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A simple, practical plan for disciple-making.

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peggy
Location:CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is based on a plan developed and successfully implemented by a young church seeking to follow Jesus' command to make disciples.
It has practical ideas for doing similar work in local churches.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Paradigm Shift for Most Church People

Date:March 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Steve Laughman
Location:Thomaston, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jim Putman understands real discipleship. I was given this book before going on a retreat where our leader was Jim Putman. I then purchased some to use in a study for pastors in our area. Jim points out that we are quick to defend wholeheartedly the teachings of Jesus, but also quick to disregard His methods. Jesus taught discipleship by modeling it for a few men. He not only taught them how to be disciples, but He also taught them how to make disciples. If we would put the biblical principles found in this book into practice, it would radically change the way we do church and do life together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

pracitcal, biblical and reproducable

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Daniel Shultz
Location:MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are wanting to lead a group or church into real discipleship that affects not just the head (knowledge), but the heart (spiritual formation) and hands (living it out daily) this is the book for you. No grand theological treaties; just practical (from a coaches perspective), biblically grounded while replicating the teachings of Jesus, the master disciple maker, in the 21st century.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
RevGS
Location:Morristown, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must read for every pastor. However, please do not read this book if you have no plans to change the way you make disciples. Very eye-opening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent information, concise and to the point

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Valencia, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was very direct and to the point. It had short concise illustrations and was a very easy read which provided quick, accurate, and reliable information.
I highly recommend this book to all Christians desiring to fulfill the great commission
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent book with very pragmatic approach

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Orisi
Location:New York
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very realistic and pragmatic approach to discipleship. Has encouraged me in identifying and being real about my responsibilities as a disciple of Christ.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Don Peake
Location:SC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great book to help lead your church into intentional discipleship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Basic Discipleship

Date:July 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rich Noble
Location:New Castle, PA
If you are a follower of Jesus and are part of a local church, have you ever looked around and wondered if things were the way they were supposed to be? Have you ever considered that maybe something was missing or that your church has focused on the wrong things at least some of the time? Have you ever thought that the spiritual maturity level of some folks seems a bit shallow? Have you ever asked why there aren’t more leaders in the church? All of these things have crossed my mind as a local church pastor (and even when I was not serving as a pastor), and they have crossed the mind of Jim Putman, the founder and senior pastor of Real Life Ministries in Post Falls, Idaho. With these concerns in mind, Jim realized – as many have – that many of our churches simply need to get back to the basics of discipleship and making disciples, or as he puts it in the introduction to Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples (NavPress, 2010), “The solution…is to create a clear and uncomplicated way to train disciples to make disciples.”
Essentially, this book is a handbook for local churches to use for guidance in establishing a well-rounded, intentional, relational and strategic ministry of making disciples who spiritually reproduce themselves – a task that is intended for all followers of Jesus, not just clergy or those who are “professional” ministers. As this occurs, Putman rightly suggests, not only will people mature in their faith, but leaders will develop and emerge and our churches will remain healthy and focused on living obedience to Jesus’ command to make disciples.
After some definition work in Part One, Putman lays out a simple plan for “mastering the discipleship process” in Part Two as he details the characteristics and needs of people who are in various stages of spiritual development, which he illustrates with a “spiritual growth wheel” – spiritually dead, spiritual infant, spiritual child, spiritual young adult and spiritual parents. He also provides some good suggestions for effective ministry to people in these various stages. He concludes the book with two chapters (which constitute Part Three) about recognizing and developing leaders.
Overall, I find this book to be very helpful for the following reasons. First, it is basic material that is presented in a simple, easy-to-follow format. This is a big plus for busy people looking for some help in this kind of needed ministry. Second, the breakdown of the stages of spiritual development, which form the meat of the book, and how to minister effectively to people in each stage, is an extremely beneficial summary of insights for anyone involved in ministry – and the first appendix puts it all in chart form for quick reference. For those familiar with various spiritual life measurement tools, the “spiritual growth wheel” is a great complement to the Engel Scale and Sonlife’s Ministry Scale (those not familiar with these tools should investigate further). Third, the book is practical and full of insights that can be used by anyone – it’s not just for pastors. Fourth, I think the principles (not the applications) are easily transferable from church to church around the globe.
While helpful, though, it does have its drawbacks. I feel that for many readers, it may be too simplistic in its approach. While some would see its simplicity as a strength, others would prefer to see a little more meat with the material presented. Another downside is that the book often seems like a commercial for Real Life Ministries. Of course, the author is careful to indicate in the introduction that that is not the intent of the book and that he is simply providing principles for people to apply in their own unique situations. With such a goal, it is hard not to share the stories from one’s own context and it is appropriate to do so. Some would feel, though, that perhaps a fine line may have been crossed. One other critique I would mention here is that this material, while helpful, may seem a bit repetitive and not very groundbreaking if the reader has already been exposed to such things as Sonlife’s Growing a Healthy Church (GHC) approach to ministry. Many times it almost seemed identical. I don’t necessarily see this as a bad thing, but rather complementary to some level; however, for those exposed to GHC, you may get quickly bored with the book and dismiss it as not helpful.
In the end, I would recommend Real-Life Discipleship to anyone in the local church who is interested in living the Great Commission (or missional) lifestyle, especially pastors, elders, ministry leaders (particularly those involved with disciplemaking ministries).
You can read an excerpt from Real-Life Discipleship here: http://www.navpress.com/images/pdfs/9781615215607.pdf.
I received this book for free through a promotion in Mission Frontiers (www.MissionFrontiers.org) for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practicality for Biblical Disciplship

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
rybcorea
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hello,
I recently recieved this book through Missions Frontiers on the condition that we post a book review somewhere online. I wanted to send on my review as it is one of the best books I've ever read and an excellent book for practical disciplship.
The first thing I must say about "Real Life Discipleship" by Jim Putman is that I have probably highlighted more than I left not highlighted. I have yet to read a more kingdom productive book.
We as the church need to be reminded of Jesus' purpose with His disciples - bringing about His Kingdom here on earth! There is no other way around around it, His Kingdom is built on disciples who are the church, not by building churches to fill with disciples. Any other way will result in the condition we find the American church is in today. It is full of attendees who lack conviction, commitment or spiritual depth. We don't need another "Mega Method" for creating more of what we are discouraged with in Christianity today. Every believer needs to know our Lord's commission. Every church leader needs to be reminded of our Lords commission to His people in order to share it, spread it and fulfill it! "Real Life Discipleship" by Jim Putman brings us back to our "Cornerstone" and His good, pleasing and perfect will for His Body. Doing anything else is not His will.
"Real Life Discipleship" has helped me to see what works (simply because it's biblical - Gods perfect way) and what I've been missing. Through "Real Life Discipleship" I have realized so much about my own personal development and where those I am discipling are in their spiritual development too. It has helped me not only to identify what stages of development exist but also how to help keep a disciple growing towards maturity and then preparing them to parent spiritually. Though I am not a church leader, this book has helped me to be the disciple Jesus meant for me to be and to produce the type of disciples that carry out His commission. I wish everyone in church leadership could read this book. It would unify each church in the goal of fulfilling Jesus commission, and brings practicality as to how to fulfill it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent Basic Manual for Discipleship

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christin
Location:Tarpon Springs, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Real-Life Discipleship by Jim Putnam is an excellent basic manual for the Christian desiring to disciple others. Though this book is written specifically for church leaders, it is a valuable resource for all believers. Real-Life Discipleship emphasizes the biblical mandate for all Christians to make disciples (the Great Commission) and gives a biblical and practical strategy for how to make it happen.
One of the things I found most helpful in this book was the way Putnam defined the spiritual stages in the life of a Christian and how to minister to believers in each stage. I have witnessed first-hand the various spiritual stages (dead, infant, child, young adult, parent), but I was at a loss for how to minister according to the stage a person is in and how to move them forward in their spiritual maturity. I have read some reviews of Real-Life Discipleship that said the spiritual stages were presented in too strict a manner, verging on legalism. I don't think this is the way it was intended. The descriptions of the spiritual stages are only generalizations and a person may be between stages at any given time. They are given only as an aid to finding where a believer is at in their walk with Christ and how to minister to them right where they are.
The discipleship "game plan" laid out in Real-Life Discipleship is one that has been tried and proven effective at Real Life Ministries in Post Falls, Idaho - one of the top 100 most influential churches in America. But this is not a manual on how to turn your church into Real Life Ministries. Rather it is a book about discipleship the way Jesus did it. I highly recommend this book.
*I received Real-Life Discipleship by Jim Putnam by request for review from a Mission Frontiers promotion (www.MissionFrontiers.org).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EVERY CHRISTIAN should read!

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amydeanne
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though Real-Life Discipleship seems to be mainly for church staff, it is not! It also has great value for those of us who attend church - it is a book that I think EVERY CHRISTIAN should read! Jim explains in his intro that "Discipleship is every believer's privilege and responsibility. It is my hope that this book will give you a vision for how Jesus intended to win the world one person at a time and for how He wants to use you to bring change in the lives of people you know." Jim really works at using Jesus' example of discipleship and how the church should be using it as well.
There is so much in this book. I think regardless of your role in the church you will find this book motivating in your walk with Christ. This will be one of those books that will be kept for a long time and used for reference for many years to come. As a caregroup leader I was totally thrilled with this book - I think I knew most of the information in the book, but being a Christian for so long, we sometimes forget how to do it, and to do it with the love we used to do it with! I found myself in this book in many of the examples (and not in a good way LOL) that made me go "Ouch! I've got lots to work on! I was encouraged by it though - it gave me the tools I needed to take a deeper look at my walk and understand what was happening. For example, chapter 9 is on guiding spiritual children - it is full of scripture and steps to walk people through in their relationship with Christ - it makes you question where you fit in the whole relation to your own spiritual walk.
*review copy provided my opinion
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real Life Discipleship - Just as Jesus modeled

Date:January 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Russell
Location:Canton, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Go and make disciples and teach them to obey” are words that are very common in the world of the Church. Yet I am convinced that what we are making is not necessarily what Jesus had in mind. If it was I believe our world would be radically changed by the power of Jesus Christ as he works through His followers to transform lives. Instead, I believe churches all across America are developing spiritually immature believers that live and move - powerless. Making disciples involves work and commitment all done in the context of relationship as I was reminded in a great book I just finished reading.
"Real-Life Discipleship" by Jim Putman was a God send. I believe within its pages we rediscover the model that Jesus gave us to follow. This is not a statistical book, and it is not another attempt to "do" discipleship outside of the model that was given by Jesus. Jim clearly engages the Biblical truths and then builds a process that is not only rock solid but very practical and reproducible. This book defines a disciples as one who is following Christ (Head), being changed by Jesus (Heart), and is committed to Jesus' mission to save people from their sin. (Hands). Our head knowledge moves to our heart where we are transformed by the sanctifying power of God's Word, and then moved to action with our hands. Therefore, we serve because we are changed.
Real-Life Discipleship is not only a process on paper but an active life changing basis for the work of Real Life Ministries in Post Falls, Idaho. Being from the Northwest, I am excited to hear the stories that are told in this book about how Christ honors us as we follow His divine model to make disciples and change the world around us.
I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Love the Simplicity

Date:December 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
SCMD - Share, Connect, Minister, Disciple. Such a simple strategy and yet so many fail to do it. I really enjoyed this book and the simple plan for discipleship laid out in its pages. I admire the work that Pastor Jim Putman put into this. After reviewing this book I am interested in purchasing the training manual and taking our youth group through it. We all need to be discipled and it is a sad fact brought out in this book and evident in our churches that many people are left undescipled. We are comfortable sharing the gospel but when it comes to training a young christian or helping them as they grow we are often sadly equiped and unsure of ourselves. This book serves to encourage those who are saved to grow to a point of being able to disciple others so that those they disciple can in turn disciple. We are in troublesome times, our battle is for eternity. It would be absurd to recruit a man to the military, hand him a gun and set him out on the battle field. Yet this is what is happening when a new christian is not discipled - we have set them up for death or capture by the enemy. Let us take more seriously this thing we call christianity - making it our lifestyle not simply a religion or denomination. This book will encourage you and equip you for the task of discipling.
Thank you NavPress for this review copy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Is your church a disciple-making factory?

Date:November 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeff LeMaster
Location:Glens Falls, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why do most churches have such a hard time accomplishing their primary mission, their reason for existence – to make disciples? Why are so few marked by the intentionality and passion that radiated from that first group of believers in the book of Acts? Is the driving goal of your church to make every believer a disciple who disciples others, or is discipleship more or less occurring by accident? Is your church a disciple making factory?
Real Life Church in Idaho is known for discipleship, and it is the driving passion of its lead pastor, Jim Putman. In this book, he shares the story of his church and how it became such a strong discipleship center.
Putman finds his definition of discipleship in the words of Jesus from Matthew 4:19 – “Follow Me, and I will make you fishers of men.” A true disciple:
1. Knows and follows Christ (“Follow Me”)
2. Is being changed by Christ (“and I will make you”)
3. Is committed to the mission of Christ (“fishers of men”)
The machinery of discipleship at Real Life Church is their small groups. Putnam points out how much time the early church spent together, worshiping, praying, sharing life and sharing Christ. “Without true relationship, discipleship is not possible.” The small group leaders are shepherds who create a safe, transparent and nurturing environment where growth and accountability can occur.
One of the key insights in this book is viewing discipleship as a growth cycle: birth, infant, adolescent, spiritual parent. The author has compiled an extensive list of characteristics and phrases that help to identify and assess each person’s growth stage.
Another valuable resource is a concise list of the basic concepts every new believer should know and understand. The list, found on pages 115-122, forms a framework that any discipler can follow.
SO WHAT?
It is noteworthy that this book on discipleship was published by one of the foremost discipleship groups – the Navigators. I highly recommend this resource as a lifeline to every church caught in the doldrums of stagnant church growth. It will rekindle the fires of discipleship and return the church to its primary mission until Jesus returns for His bride.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Real-Life Discipleship: Building Churches That Make Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Useful and practical

Date:November 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
donaldmurdo
Location:Isle of Lewis
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a book that is subtitled ‘building churches that make disciples’ for a good reason. Supported by real-life examples that many will identify with and effective and practical strategies and tools to engage people in the church to find their best role, it is a valuable book in reflecting on what we do in churches at the moment, what we could do and what we must do to spread the Gospel.
It is impossible to contain current thinking about encouraging gifted leaders or building and strengthening churches within around 200 pages. So what this book does well is outlining in three parts, a mission to identify leaders or disciples, a process to equip disciples and supporting these leaders in their evangelical work. It is practical, Biblically warranted and is well illustrated with experiences the author has had and has had passed to him.
In terms of evangelism, any message and method must highlight the holiness of God. It is the prescribed way, the biblical way that pleases and honours God and brings blessing on our efforts. This is a book which supports these criteria and supports the true meaning of ‘church’ and the true meaning of ‘disciple’, piety and godliness in a very practical sense.
I liked this book because of the emphasis it gave to a practical and involved faith. Many books look at the conceptual stages of spiritual growth and seem detached from where churches find themselves. But this is a practical manual and alongside an accompanying training resource is immersed in what people can do and contribute at different stages of their spiritual journey. The examples used in the book are excellent and it is refreshing to see different age groups used throughout the book to illustrate points.
This is a book that increases understanding and is a book that I will return to again. It sets its process out well, takes its warrant from very well selected biblical texts and is an excellent resource for leaders looking to identify others to strengthen and grow their churches – whether in spiritual growth in the membership or by helping people lead others to a saving knowledge.
Recommended Highly.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.