Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Double Shot: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

NavPress Double Shot: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook

Now that Maya is engaged to Jack, the love of her life, everything should be perfect, but actually, it's the opposite. Maya must trust that God is in control even when things seem to be a disastrous mess.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Double Shot: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Double Shot: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromDouble Shot: A Maya Davis Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Orla
Location:Ireland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of a three part series this book is excellent. Light hearted, romantic, funny - in a laugh out loud way, at times - and very easy to read in a few days. The whole series is worth the read.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Double Shot: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Read

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lynn
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a cute story about real people. Quite good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Double Shot: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromDouble Shot: A Maya Davis Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Double shots of coffee, fun, and LUV

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cookie703
Location:Marksville,LA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cried at the end because this book was so beautifully written. Erynn just keeps getting better and better! Makes me want to check out her latest and become her biggest fan! I hope she never stops writing. Her work is crazy funny and I could just laugh forever! And I totally loved the ending...it was so true...And I kind of just realized that...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Double Shot: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromDouble Shot: A Maya Davis Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Series Ending!

Date:April 19, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great ending to the Maya Davis series. I have so much in common with her, and I was sorry to see her story end! I loved the theme of trusting God with every area of your life, especially those big, difficult decisions. I could easily relate to what Maya was going through. And Jack is such a sweetheart! I love him, and all of Maya’s family and friends. As usual, this was a funny, heartwarming, uplifting read, and I can’t wait for whatever Erynn comes up with next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Double Shot: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromDouble Shot: A Maya Davis Novel.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A nice conclusion

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Classicsmiley Wife
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Double Shot is a fun, yet thought-provoking, read. While it flows nicely from Latte Daze, I think this book can stand on its own as well. It’s one downfall is that the language is sometimes repetitious or unnecessary.
Erynn Mangum has a gift for writing stories that will engage you entirely. I’ve laughed, cried, and pondered while reading her books. I love the fact that she can weave the Bible & its teachings so naturally into the story. Double Shot is no different in displaying her gift.
My one disappointment with this book is the language. As a 30-something who is trying to watch her language after not doing so for years, I am greatly disappointed that my favorite author has resorted to using adjectives and expressions that really were not necessary. I understand that the word used is unfortunately deemed acceptable in today’s society, but honestly, rather than adding to Maya Davis’ adorable character, I believe it took away from her.
Overall, the story is a great conclusion to the Maya Davis series, most storylines wrapping up well. You can come away content that Maya has learned a thing or two in preparing for marriage, and who knows, maybe you will learn a thing or two yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Double Shot: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromDouble Shot: A Maya Davis Novel.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Refreshing Story on Relationships

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michell
Location:Metro Manila, Philippines
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Double Shot by Erynn Mangum is the last of the Maya Davis Novel series published by NavPress. Maya Davis, who is now engaged to the love of her life, Jack, believes that all will go well from then on. Little did she know that planning their wedding is a complicated matter by itself. Add to that the prospect of a major life change brought on by getting married. But when Jack is offered a better job which entails a transfer to another city, Maya begins to doubt if marrying Jack is God’s will for her. She is resistant to the thought of having to leave her family, her job and her church family. What will she do?
Double Shot is a feel-good story that is appropriate for the older teens and the mature singles. The manner in which Jack and Maya carried on in their relationship is very refreshing. Jack and Maya have promised to each other that they will wait until getting married to be intimate. So they spend their time working hard, getting to know each other better, caring for their family and ministering to others in their church.
MY THOUGHTS
I have not read the other books in this series, but I believe that each book can stand on its own. There are no parts where I have wondered what happened in the past books, and I think that’s a good thing. It is good to read a book about Christian singles who have made loving and serving God a vital part of their lives. I love the family dynamics shown in this book where love flows in and through the whole family. The relationships with their friends and churchmates are a joy to read about. I would highly recommend this book for parents to get for their growing teens and for Christian singles.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Double Shot: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromDouble Shot: A Maya Davis Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Double Shot was AWESOME!

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
RedHead
Location:Billings, MT
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Double shot has great and funny characters that are charming and fun to read about! I am so glad I purchased it! I highly recommend it! Eryyn Mangum is a fantastic author that is funny and full of faith!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Double Shot: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromDouble Shot: A Maya Davis Novel.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet, easy read

Date:January 10, 2011
Double Shot by Erynn Mangum is the third book in the Maya Davis series. I was looking for a light, easy read for my impending snow day and this was a perfect choice! Double Shot seems to pick up right where Cool Beans and Latte Daze (the first two books in the series) left off. However, the novel definitely stands alone if you haven't read the first two.
Maya, recently engaged to her long-time friend Jack, is in the midst of planning her wedding. With the help of her mom, best friend Jen, and sister-in-law Kate, all the details start coming together.
The story is sweet and an easy read. Maya, Jack, Jen, and the other characters are very likable. I appreciated that Maya constantly struggles with not letting the wedding plans take over her life. She still seeks out opportunities to share the gospel with her non-Christian friends from work and reaches out to new people in her small group. She also battles with anxiety and fear as circumstances threaten to interrupt this happy time. Friendship, family, and faith in God are obvious themes in this book. The book is fairly predictable and doesn't develop the plot or the characters too deeply. But it was enjoyable and I would recommend it if you're looking for a quick read.
I think that this book is technically billed as young adult fiction. However, I would recommend this book for adults and older teenagers (mature, upper level high school students). There aren't any controversial topics in the book; I just feel like books about adults (vs. teenagers) are better suited for older age groups.
I received a free copy of this book from NavPress in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Double Shot: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromDouble Shot: A Maya Davis Novel.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A great book for teens

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
AbigailMatthewsWrites
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reading Double Shot spun me back in time to another dimension--the one I inhabited while a single, recent college grad. The main character of the story, Maya, is funny, cute, and engaged to her best friend, Jack, and a barista at the local coffee shop. The bulk of the story is spent on her trying to figure out what she wants her wedding to look like, while managing expectations of friends, family and work. The twist arrives rather late in the tale when Jack's offered a job in Seattle (they live in SoCal) throwing Maya into a tailspin as she faces two life-altering changes back to back.
Personally, I love chic lit and enjoy reminiscing about my post-college years, but Double Shot was strong on syrup and light on caffeine--not quite the cup for me and at times I struggled to maintain interest in the story. It's possible that the writing style didn't draw me in as I had hoped it would. While the closing book of a trilogy, Double Shot contained enough backstory that it worked fine as a standalone and I didn't feel that I missed anything by not having read it's predecessors. One thing I did appreciate about the storyline was that Maya was not a bridezilla, nor did she feel like she needed months (or years!) to plan her wedding. Also, I'm thrilled to see Mangum as an author continuing to write. She writes with a lot of humor and was first published at a rather young age, a definite inspiration to younger aspiring authors. A follow up book or a new series about her previous characters as newlyweds or new parents definitely holds a lot of potential. I give Double Shot 3 stars out of 5. Recommended for teens, twenty-somethings who enjoy happy, light reading or current Erynn Mangum fans. Kudos to NavPress for adding Double Shot as a solid addition to the tiny, albeit growing Christian YA market.
I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Double Shot: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromDouble Shot: A Maya Davis Novel.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Enjoyable Read

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
‘Double Shot’ by Erynn Mangum is the third book in her Maya Davis series. After reading the 2nd book of this series, ‘Latte Daze’ I was very excited to have the opportunity to review this new book. This book picked up at Maya's roommate Jennifer's wedding and concludes with her own. But from wedding to wedding is not an easy time. Maya's resistance to change is pushed to its near limits. It was an enjoyable read and I had a hard time putting it down. There were some changes from ‘Latte Daze’ though. I found this book not as filled with scripture and Bible truths which I had found surprising, different and refreshing in ‘Latte Daze’. ‘Double Shot’ was more storyline focused with some scripture referenced more typical to other Christian fiction novels I’ve read. This book also focused primarily on Maya with very little character development of secondary characters which lead to a minutia of detail in Maya's day to day that got to be overwhelming at times. All and all it's a great light read with a good message. I look forward to following along as Maya embraces the upcoming big changes in her life.
I received a free copy of this book from NavPress blogger review program for the purpose of this review. The opinions expressed in this review are my own and I was not required to provide a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Double Shot: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromDouble Shot: A Maya Davis Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Caffeine Please?

Date:December 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Miriam
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maya Davis is preparing to marry the man of her dreams, so why is she postponing the preparations and stalling in making decisions? She is surrounded my caffeine in her job, but even that cannot simulate her to get going on the preparations. We are taken into the life of Maya and her fiancé Jack, in “Double Shot” by Erynn Mangum. Maya learns who is truly in control of making the decisions of her life. She and Jack are following God in their lives but are they truly allowing him to make all decisions? I think you will find this a pleasant story to read and will learn from Maya’s experiences. The characters are likable and draw you into their little town of Hudson, where many life choices and decisions are being made, weddings are taking place, babies are being born, and families are spending time together on Sunday afternoons. This is book three in the Maya Davis Novel series. I have not read this first two but I found that this one stood alone quite well and I had no difficulty fitting into the story.
I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to provide a positive review. The opinions I expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Double Shot: A Maya Davis Novel - eBook
This review is fromDouble Shot: A Maya Davis Novel.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Double Shot Book Review

Date:December 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ruth Kaup
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Double Shot by Erynn Mangum is the third book in the Maya Davis Series. It is a light-hearted contemporary story set in the present.
The story begins at the wedding of Maya’s best friend. In the personal ups and downs, in this fast paced book, Maya learns to trust God through a premature birth of a nephew, planning her wedding, and discovering that Jack, her fiance will possibly accept a job in Seattle. To learn the conclusion, you will need to read this book.
There were many references, throughout this book, to today’s television characters, shows, and movies. Double Shot will be enjoyed by those who stay current in the entertainment industry. While it is categorized Fiction/Young Adults, it has an appeal to anyone looking for a lighthearted read.
It was encouraging to read a fiction story where the main character consistently turned to God and His Word for her answers to life’s problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.