Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Workman Publishing The Story of Christmas: Story Book Set & Advent Calendar

Workman Publishing The Story of Christmas: Story Book Set & Advent Calendar

Wonderfully illustrated and brimming with holiday spirit, The Story of Christmas advent calendar features 24 jewel-like miniature board books nestled in a three-paneled, stand-alone backer. The books are numbered 1 through 24, and, like the peek-a-boo windows on an Advent calendar, are meant to be opened one per day from December 1st through Christmas Eve. Read in sequence, they capture the magic of the first Christmas, from Gabriel's visit to Mary (Book 4) to the Three Wise Men gazing at the star (Book 9) to Jesus' birth (Book 24). Each book is one of four different trim sizes and features a gold thread loop so it can be hung on the Christmas tree
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
2 out of 450%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Story of Christmas: Story Book Set & Advent Calendar
Review 1 for The Story of Christmas: Story Book Set & Advent Calendar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

wonderful tool

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Applemom
Purchased this product several years ago and have enjoyed using it as a tool to get our "focus" on the true gift of Christmas. We have friends, and/or family, over and pass out each book to those attending. We then read the books in order, thus everyone has a part in the telling of Jesus coming to earth for our salvation. It is a special time together followed by blowing out the candle on Jesus' birthday cake.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Story of Christmas: Story Book Set & Advent Calendar
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product does have great features; but,

Date:November 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judy Bogie
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had expected Biblical verses and their reference chapter/verse from Matthew, Mark, Luke or John rather than the ad libbing---sadly sent them all back. Just not what I had really wanted. Sorry----
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Story of Christmas: Story Book Set & Advent Calendar
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lori
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very excited to get this book set / advent calendar. I ordered one for me, one for my sister and one for my brother-in-law's family. As soon as they came, I eagerly read each book and then promptly repacked them for a return. I will not spend time reading books to my children that tell an inaccurate or embellished account of Jesus' birth. I don't know why anyone would. I certainly wish that I had noticed the one review that calls the books historical fiction. I never would have purchased them.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Story of Christmas: Story Book Set & Advent Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:November 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
3dogsmom
Location:Denver, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gift or for your own children. Bought one several years ago and have been looking for them ever since. What a great surprise to find it back in print.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Story of Christmas: Story Book Set & Advent Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Lewis
I received this calendar as a gift 18 years ago when my son was born. I used it through 2 children and still love it. We would read one "book" each night, then hang them on a little tree that I had in the children's rooms. Now, I am buying it for special friends with young children.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Story of Christmas: Story Book Set & Advent Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janice
I used this set for my kids from the time they were small for the Christmas count-down and to read the real Christmas story. Now that they're teens and adults, they have great memories of that tradition, and we still read the story out of the little books at Christmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Story of Christmas: Story Book Set & Advent Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michele Trosclair
This is a great addition to the Christmas traditions of our family. I used to get the Advent calendar that had a candy for everyday of Advent, but my children were not getting what Christmas is all about. With this calendar, everyday they hear a part of the Christmas story and know for whom we are really waiting. Jesus not Santa. Even I have learned a few things about that journey that I did not known or had misunderstood. This is a great way to bring the meaning of Christmas back into a world that has gotten sidetracked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Story of Christmas: Story Book Set & Advent Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jacquelyn Hansen
This Advent Calendar was a tradition for our girls when they were growing up. We would take turns reading the little books each day at the dinner table, year after year. Now, 23 & 26 years old and starting their own family, I am excited to give them each a calendar to continue with the tradition. They are small, easy to read books that ell the detailed story of Christ's birth.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Story of Christmas: Story Book Set & Advent Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sally Riman
This was for my grandaughter and she really likes it though it is hard for her to wait everyday to open the windows (she's three). We also gave her the nativity play set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Story of Christmas: Story Book Set & Advent Calendar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Laura
This is a great concept, but there is one thing I do not like about it. The stories in the little books are embellished with things not found in the biblical account. I am sure the intent was to make it more dramatic or interesting, but it is more like historical fiction. None of the content is really objectionable; I just want my kids to know what really happened vs. what was added in for effect. That said, my son absolutely loves it, even more than the one with chocolate in it! I am sure we will use it for years to come.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Story of Christmas: Story Book Set & Advent Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Taylor
My family has used this calendar to celebrate the Christmas story and the countdown to Christmas. Each booklet gets hung on the tree after we read it each night. It is a FABULOUS GIFT and even if you can't get one for this year, I would buy one as a gift to give for next year. It's a gift that keeps on giving. Kids LOVE IT!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.