Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Thunder in the Morning Calm - eBook

Zondervan Thunder in the Morning Calm - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thunder in the Morning Calm - eBook
Review 1 for Thunder in the Morning Calm - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
America, America God shed His grace on thee, and crown thy good with brotherhood from sea to shining sea! Perhaps the National Anthem touches your heart and soul deeply like it does mine. We must never forget those who have given their lives, their all for this great country. When reading novels like this one of Don Brown’s, there tends to well within my throat a lump that threatens to bring me to tears. Why? I would say that remembering the real heroes or those still missing in action strikes my heart every time. While having served in the Navy himself, our author writes a compelling tale that spans a couple of generations of one family.
Lt. McCormick has carried a worn photograph of his grandfather in his pocket for many years. Nicknamed “Gunner” McCormick, he is constantly called upon to bring intelligence information to high ranking officials so that the joined forces of America can make the best decisions. Now Gunner is about to risk his career, finances and most of all his life on a search for what many have denied existed. What has been mainly explained away as hearsay are the prisoner camps inside North Korea still holding captive aging military men.
On a bigger scale are the escalating tensions between the North Koreans and the United States on the high seas near China. The resources of the forces cannot help or even know the thoughts and plans of Gunner, but he has to be ready to report aboard the USS Truman if fighting begins. However, Gunner cannot be contacted or located by his commanding officer when he needs his expertise the most!
Just as many Americans said we will never forget 9/11, we cannot forget the many who served our country in the previous wars. The Bible tells us that there is no greater gift than a man lay down his life for a friend, which ran through my mind as I read this fictional tale. Another aspect to the tale is the underground church working in hostile lands, what courage and faith is shown in the characters. May God continue to strengthen and protect the many unknown soldiers of His army to us, but He knows everyone. I look forward to reading the sequel of the Pacific Rim Series titled, Fire of the Raging Dragon. This is more than just a military suspense-filled series, it reflects the difference that faith in God has when one feels forgotten in a foreign land.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Thunder in the Morning Calm - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy reading military fiction. I'm no expert in navy terminology and I found this book very understandable. It also provides maps of the places where Gunner and his team were going--this is very clarifying.
Gunner is a Luitenant Commander on a navy ship, stationed in the Yellow Sea nearby South and North Korea. He heard about the possibility that older American Marines are held captive in North Korea. Gunner's grandfather was captured during the Korean war 60 years ago and he's determined to find out where those older American Marines are imprisoned and to free them and bring them back to their families in the US.
Gunner asked for some time off to visit South Korea. He didn't tell the Admiral about his plans. He has contacted two retired warriors--an American living in South Korea nicknamed Jackrabbit and a South Korean Colonel named Jung Hoon. Both hate the communists and want to help Gunner on his mission to try to free the Americans.
They start planning the mission and soon they're on their way to North Korea. Of course you can't get into North Korea very easily and they run into some resistance.
Will they find the Americans? Will they all get out of North Korea alive?
The author did a great job writing this book. I literally found myself on the edge of my seat a good couple of times. This was my first book by Don Brown and I'm looking forward to read more of his books.
Great job, Don!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Thunder in the Morning Calm - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intriguing

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
TechyLady
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interesting perspective addressing mysteries of missing service men of the Korean War along with the challenges of the underground Christian believers in the orient. Well written. Loved the maps. Always appreciate a happy ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Thunder in the Morning Calm - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God Bless America!

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Noah Arsenault
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
If you are a fan of books full of military operations, incompetent hostiles, and navy battles, this is a worthy book in those regards. The fact that everything came from a Christian standpoint made it even better. The mechanics of war are examined in an interesting way, watching them play out as a possible war approaches. Brown develops his characters well, even if they appear for a meager two pages. Gunner, determined to find Americans still held captive and give them freedom at last, keeps in prayer with God all the time. From the start of his deployment to the conclusion of his mission, he shows us that a person can really serve both God and America. God bless America.
This book was provided free by Zondervan. I was not required to write a positive review, and the opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Thunder in the Morning Calm - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't put it down

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marguerette Shamburger
Location:Hendersonville, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love all of Don Brown's books but this might be the most tension filled of the bunch. It was hard to put it down because something was always on the verge of going either terribly wrong or terribly right. This book comes with a completely new cast of characters and you will like them all. Courage in the face of odds that were simply amazing. I think these heroes were beyond wonderful and a tribute to our older generation of heroes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Thunder in the Morning Calm - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joe S
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thunder in the Morning Calm, by Don Brown, is an incredible combination of fact and fiction. Fast paced and thought provoking, Don Brown binds the past and present together like no other author I've read. Anyone who has served or had family serve during the Korean War will appreciate the author's ability to describe in detail the geography and geopolitical climate of North Korea. Highly recommended reading for those who enjoy action packed thrillers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Thunder in the Morning Calm - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A superbly written novel by a skilled author!

Date:September 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jo Bearsley
Location:New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don Brown has another winner with the first book in his Pacific Rim series, Thunder in the Morning Calm. Lieutenant Commander 'Gunner' McCormick, 'Jackrabbit' Davenport, and Colonel Jung-Hoon Sohn are on an unauthorized and dangerous mission deep in hostile North Korea. Gunner is searching for clues about the fate of his grandfather, who was MIA after the battle of Chosin Reservoir over sixty years earlier. He is risking his career, his fortune and his life for a mission he may not return from...
Thunder in the Morning Calm is a brilliant novel by one of my favorite authors. The theme "Do the right thing" is carried through the book as the characters encounter decisions that can mean the difference between life and death. Brown's background in the military is evident in the expert way he writes about missions, weapons and White House politics, and I appreciated the way that he 'sanitized' the language of hardened military men. Reading this book made me all the more grateful for the sacrifices made by those who serve and have served in the military, risking their lives to protect and defend the freedoms we enjoy.
Grab a copy and enjoy the read. You won't be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Thunder in the Morning Calm - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is excellent

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gree
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book greatly. I have passed it on to my reading group. When they are finished, it will be placed in our church library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Thunder in the Morning Calm - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story of integrity and courage

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave Jenkins
Location:Caldwell, Idaho
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thunder in the Morning Calm is written by Don Brown, a former JAG officer in the U.S. Navy. Thunder in the Morning Calm is the fictional story of Lieutenant Commander McCormick an intelligence officer serving on Carrier Strike Force 10 deplayed to the Yellow Sea at the invitation of South Korea for joint exercises with the US Navy. Before he is deployed LT. Commander McCormick learns that North Koreans are holding a handful of elderly Americans from the Korean War in secret prison camps.
Thunder in the Morning Calm is a story of integrity, love, compassion, and character that will grab at the reader's heart strings and hold the readers' attention. This is a well written book that will cause you to want to read the whole book in one sitting; however at 330 pages it will take some time to read. The story that this book tells is well developed with characters that the reader can identify with.
As I read this book I was reminded once again of the sacrifice that our men and women in the Armed Forces make. I encourage you to pick up Thunder in the Morning Calm and to pray for the men and women of the Armed Forces. This book will hold your attention throughout, warm your heart and challenge you to stand courageously in whatever circumstances you find yourself in.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Thunder in the Morning Calm - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action Packed!

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
elisha40
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not put this book down! It is a great story with awesome characters. It really keep me engaged the whole way through and at times holding my breath! I have enjoyed all of Don Brown's books but this was my favorite!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Thunder in the Morning Calm - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An outstanding read

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Lewis
Location:Flowery Branch, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great story lines. Human interest. One of the best books I have read this year. Very emotional as I know we lost a lot of Americans to their prison camps. Some POW's refused to come back to the US and chose to remain there. Shame, guilt, who knows. I just pray that they forgave themselves, I know God has forgiven them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Thunder in the Morning Calm - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Clear on faith, but not preachy. Read it!

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Upstate SC
Gender:female
Let's get the names sorted out first - no Molster, only McCormick. A much more suitable name for the guy. -
Next, I admit that I have been hoping and praying that the language would improve, (compare previous books). Euphemistic cursing is NEVER helpful in a book pointed mainly to the Christian market. (Leave that to Grisham and Clancy?) About 14 or 15 times! And in each instance I can supply forceful wording that is not offensive to anyone. These reviews probably won't get to Mr. Brown or the editors. Mr. B. praises them "born to be editors". O.K. Maybe so. But Who IS responsible for the totally, completely, absolutely, entirely superfluous and in a 'Christian' book unacceptable cussing? Are the editors persuading the author to include or is the author insisting the stuff stays? In the instances where cursing is referred to, the reader's imagination is well able to fill in the blanks - IF he wants to. My challenge: Try it and see if the LORD will not bless you more for a clean book!
The storyline, the people, everything is what I was hoping for - suspense and not wanting to put the book down. To me it's one of those start to finish reads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.