Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print Here Burns My Candle, Large Print

Christian Large Print Here Burns My Candle, Large Print

Lady Elisabeth Kerr is a keeper of secrets. A Highlander by birth and a Lowlander by marriage, she honors the auld ways, even as doubts and fears stir deep within her. Her husband, Lord Donald, has secrets of his own, well hidden from the household, yet whispered among the town gossips. His mother, the dowager Lady Marjory, hides gold beneath her floor and guilt inside her heart. Though her two abiding passions are maintaining her place in society and coddling her grown sons, Marjory's many regrets, buried in Greyfriars Churchyard, continue to plague her. One by one the Kerr family secrets begin to surface, even as bonny Prince Charlie and his rebel army ride into Edinburgh in September 1745, intent on capturing the crown. A timeless story of love and betrayal, loss and redemption, flickering against the vivid backdrop of eighteenth-century Scotland, Here Burns My Candle illumines the dark side of human nature, even as hope, the brightest of tapers, lights the way home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.394 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
18
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
1
30 out of 30100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
Review 1 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE FLAME WILL BURN FOREVER IN YOUR HEART

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having been a devoted fan follower of Liz Curtis Higgs and reading almost every single book she's ever written! My favorite being the Scottish series. I eagerly couldn't wait to read this new series bringing back the beloved Scottish drama! From the first page, your captivated until the very last one! The story of Ruth and Naomi is stunning and you feel and relate to these characters, unlike other authors, which is extremely hard to do! Liz, breathes life into these every day, yet extraordinary people! This one begins with tears, suspense, mystery, drama, you name it Liz has it! It's such a Blessing and joy to review this book! I Highly recommend it to everyone of all ages!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved loved loved! :)

Date:December 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Liz Curtis Higgs has done it again! She made the story come alive with each character and the surroundings! I like how the story is based on Ruth in the Bible, but has a Scottish twist to it! I cannot wait to read Mine is the Night! This book will surely not leave you disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Here Burns My Candle - A must read!

Date:December 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eighteenth-century Scotland. Elisabeth was a born Highlander she went away to school and learned what it took to be a refined lady and returned to Edinburgh to work for friends of the family to learn the trade of seamstress. She falls in love and marries a Lowlander, Lord Donald Kerr. Lord Kerr's dowager mother Lady Marjory does not think Elisabeth is suitable for her son. Lady Marjory hides gold and guilt from her family. Love and betrayal,loss and redemption are many of things this family goes through. Will this family remain loyal to one another and their King? You can tell God continuously is trying to lead them if only they submit to his will.
This was an intense book. It must have taken a lot of research by the author because it was full of history of Scotland and it's people, Highlanders and Lowlanders. The images she was able to put in writing was beyond anything I could imagine on my own. It gives you a true feeling of being there.
Praises to all involved in creating this book. When I finished reading this book I was able to pick up book two in this series starting right where book one had left off.
I highly recommend this book to any one that has a passion got reading.
I rate this book a five out of five.
I purchased this book for my own personal reading. In no way was I compensated by anyone for this review. This is my own honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Here Burns My Candle

Date:November 5, 2011
If you are a lover of history, Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs is the book for you!!! Liz fills the pages of this book with so many details that it seems you are there with the characters.
This story of Lady Elizabeth Kerr begins in the year 1745 in Edinburgh, Scotland. You experience all her losses during this crazy period of history yet you also experience the awakening of her soul to an awesome God.
It took some time to journey through these 454 pages but I am more than ready to continue this story in Mine is the Night!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
April Carroll
Location:Goose Creek, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story is a re-telling of the Biblical story of Naomi and Ruth set in 1745 Edinburgh, Scotland during a highly charged Jacobite rebellion. Marjory is the mother of two married adult sons, Donald and Andrew who are married to Elizabeth and Janet respectively. The history of the time period is fascinating and adds to the drama. Marjory doesn't want to let go of her sons and let them live their own lives. One wife (Janet) she chose and the other (Elizabeth) her eldest son chose. This creates some tension and some twists in the story line. The characters are well developed and the story well written - with one exception: there were a few chapters in the middle that were boring and difficult to wade through, but I'm glad I did! The story has drama, romance, betrayal and heartbreak. I'm looking forward to reading the sequel! This copy was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full Scottish experience - real historical fiction

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lehrerin
Location:Roxboro, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lady Elisabeth Kerr has a secret - a secret practice that could get her ostracized by the entire capital city of Edinburgh. Her husband, Lord Donald, has a few secrets of his own, secrets that do not endear him to rest of titled society. Lord Donald's mother, Lady Marjory, is not fond of her Highlander daughter-in-law and struggles to protect the reputations of everyone living under her roof. When the Jacobite rebellion brings thousands of Highlanders to their doorsteps and the Kerr family loyalty to the throne is questioned, will their secrets be exposed? Will their relationships survive the war - and it's messy aftermath?
Here Burns My Candle will immerse the reader fully in the culture of Scotland in 1745. The attention to historical detail is amazing, making this book far superior to your average historical novel. Higgs weaves real characters and events into her plot in such a way that without doing a bit of your own research, the reader can't tell the history from the fiction.
A fictionalized version of Naomi and Ruth, Here Burns My Candle challenges the reader to rethink previously held views of these Biblical characters. This story continues in the recently released Mine is the Night. Forgiveness and faithfulness are both important themes in the book, asking the important questions, "To whom am I faithful? Do I forgive readily?"
Here Burns My Candle is a wonderful story of changing relationships and the focus on what is truly important. I will definitely be reading more of Liz Curtis Higgs' work. If history makes your heart race, don't miss this series.
I received a free copy of this book from the Blogging for Books program.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not quite what I expected

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
plasticmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love historical fiction, but I had a terrible time getting into this novel by Liz Curtis Higgs. Being unfamiliar with Scottish history probably made it a little more difficult for me to follow, but it felt like the story dragged on as well. I read several chapters and then ended up skimming to the end. It most definitely was not what I expected, or perhaps the summer heat has just affected my appreciation for good fiction.
This novel was provided to me free of charge by waterbrook Multnomah for review purposes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great reading also Mine Is The Night

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Libby Caudle
Location:Alleghany County N.C.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love all of Liz Curtis Higgs books, I could not put them
down. Here Burns My Candle was wonderful and the sequel
Mine Is The night was the best I have ever read. I love to
reas about Scotland. I have all her books and I just could
not put them down . Also try Thorn in My Heart series.
Libby Caudle, Glade Valley NC..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Oh, to be in Scotland!

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
abookandacuppa
Location:Prairie Village, KS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A retelling of the story of Ruth and Naomi, this novel is enthralling from the first page! Liz Curtis Higgs is an exceptional author who is able to adapt a Biblical story to another time and place, allowing the reader to obtain a different perspective. If you are seeking quality literature, read any of her titles set in Scotland. Highly recommended!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended to Historical Fiction Lovers!

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
SugarSpunPages
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"When the flame began to lick the edges, Elisabeth let his unsigned letter slip from her hands into the grate and watched Donald's sins turn to ash."
Lady Elisabeth Kerr wasn't born with the typical resolve of a young society-dweller to climb the proverbial ladder of titles. A Highlander by birth and a silent follower of the auld ways, she is misplaced in the city of Edinburgh among her husband's family. Despite conflict, she remains deeply and, seemingly, mutually entranced with her husband - someone with his own secrets to keep. Her mother-in-law, the dowager Lady Marjory, and her sister-in-law by way of her husband's brother, Mrs. Janet Kerr, dwell within the same household offering bracing personalities and passive disapproval. However, the pulsing vibration of coins beneath the dowager lady's floorboards beat into a grasping story of their own.
"Here Burns My Candle" holds a very special place in my heart for a number of reasons. However, the main point relevant to this review would be that it marked a newly ignited flame for audiobooks. I listened to Liz Curtis Higgs' voice on a long car trip to visit my parents and then on my (short) commute to and from work for several weeks after.
As a historical novel, "Here Burns My Candle" soars above others. I, purposely, do not have an extensive collection of Christian fiction, as it is not something I typically gravitate towards due to themes or their sometimes repetitive nature. "Here Burns My Candle" does not push an over-ambitious sermon into the reader's experience - pulling from the story. Instead, the religious elements of the book are woven into the fabric of what's presented, more as a plot point than an agenda, despite the out-rightly Biblical roots drawn from the story of Ruth and Naomi.
Through reading several reviews, I've gathered there has been some displeasure with Higgs' use of Scots terms. As I listened to the audiobook, I cannot comment on this as an issue with readability, but, for it's part in my experience, I felt these terms helped me to further immerse myself into the impeccably researched culture and atmosphere of Edinburgh in 1745.
Every detail was studied down to its marrow for purest accuracy, and it's something I proudly display on my shelf. If you enjoy the concept of 18th Century Scotland, this is a book for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Historical Fiction

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
J Kramasz
Location:Mpls MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elisabeth Kerr enjoys a privileged life while carefully guarding secrets of her past. Having grown up as a Highlander she must hide her Jacobite pride and pagan moon worship from her Lowland husband and mother-in-law. Her husband, Lord Donald Kerr, has secrets of his own. When bonny Prince Charlie rides into Edinburgh during the 1745 Jacobite Rising, these secrets come to light and lives are transformed as the family discovers what is truly important.
This book was clearly very thoroughly researched. The details are very historically accurate, and there are even appearances from true historic figures in the story. I love the author’s careful attention to detail in the customs of both the Highlanders and the upper class Lowland society. The characters are vibrant and engaging, and the story moves along quickly.
This story has all the making of a great book – love, betrayal, war, unexpected loyalty, and a growing faith in the one true Lord. Its also based on the beginning of the Biblical account of Naomi and Ruth, with the story finishing in the sequel, Mine is the Night.
I must mention that I received a complimentary review copy from Waterbrook Multnomah for review purposes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
JanM
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book by Liz Curtis Higgs I’ve read, and it will definitely not be the last. Here Burns My Candle is the story of a Lowlander family, Lady Marjory Kerr, her two sons and their wives who all live together in 18th century Scotland.
The main characters, who enjoy a comfortable life at the top of Edinburg society, are incredibly well developed. It's interesting to watch them grow and develop through adversity. I found myself thinking about them during the day, and wondering how they would handle the betrayal, secrets and war they were to face. The love, loss and fears they face are familiar to today’s readers.
Here Burns My Candle is classified as Christian Historical Fiction. I feel this book would appeal to all readers, Christian or not, as it is a great historical read that happens to have similarities to the Biblical story of Ruth. The Christian message of the book is gentle, and not at all preachy. This is ultimately a story of redemption and forgiveness.
The characters’ speech represents the local dialect, which I found to increase the authenticity of the text, rather than distract from it. An occasional word not easily recognized from the text can be found in the brief Scottish glossary at the end of the book. Reader’s Guide questions make this a perfect read for a book club. I’m anxious to read the sequel, Mine Is the Night.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read - Couldn't put it down

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lex0307
Location:Baraboo, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. The depth of the characters and the vivid descriptions of Edinburgh drew me in and transported me into their lives. I could relate to their struggles and celebrate with them in their victories. I was reminded of what a wonderful God we serve as I watched Him present Himself to the Lady Kerr and draw her near to Him. The transformation in Lady Marjory as her pride is slowly stripped from her, and she is brought to a point where her heart longs to return to her "first love" is heartbreaking and joyous all at the same time. As I reluctantly turned the last page, not wanting the book to end, I knew I would soon be reading the sequel, Mine is the Night.
This is the first book by Liz Curtis Higgs that I have had the pleasure of reading. I was quite impressed with the obvious research that she had done on the historical and geographical aspects of the book and her insight into how God can work in our lives. I began reading the book knowing that it was based on the story of Ruth and Naomi, even though that gave me some insight as to where the book was going, it did not lessen the intrigue of how we were going to get there. Here Burns My Candle covers the first 18 verses of the Book of Ruth. The Bible does not really give us a lot of insight into what the daily lives of Naomi and her family were like before they returned to Bethlehem, and while I am sure it cannot truly be compared to life in Edinburgh in 1745; it did cause me to stop and ponder what Naomi and Ruth's lives were like during their time in Moab.
The author does use a lot of local dialect in her characters speech. This did not really hinder the fluidity of the book for me. Most of the time I found it easily interpreted within the context, and on the rare occasion when it was not I just flipped to the Scottish glossary on the last page of the book. Another plus to the book are the Reader's Guide questions which encouraged me to take a look at my own life and how I would have handled the situations this family faced. In my opinion, this book would be an excellent choice for those involved in a book club.
I look forward to continuing the journey with Marjory and Elisabeth and can't wait to meet Boaz in Mine is the Night. I would highly recommend this book to my friends.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in return for my honest review. I was not required to give a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Blurb:
A mother who cannot face her future.
A daughter who cannot escape her past.
Lady Elisabeth Kerr is a keeper of secrets. A Highlander by birth and a Lowlander by marriage, she honors the auld ways, even as doubts and fears stir deep within her.
Her husband, Lord Donald, has secrets of his own, well hidden from the household, yet whispered among the town gossips.
His mother, the dowager Lady Marjory, hides gold beneath her floor and guilt inside her heart. Though her two abiding passions are maintaining her place in society and coddling her grown sons, Marjory’s many regrets, buried in Greyfriars Churchyard, continue to plague her.
One by one the Kerr family secrets begin to surface, even as bonny Prince Charlie and his rebel army ride into Edinburgh in September 1745, intent on capturing the crown.
A timeless story of love and betrayal, loss and redemption, flickering against the vivid backdrop of eighteenth-century Scotland, Here Burns My Candle illumines the dark side of human nature, even as hope, the brightest of tapers, lights the way home.
My Review:
This is the first book I have read by Liz Curtis Higgs, but it will not be my last. I was drawn into the story right away. The author's talent for description placed me in 1745 Edinburgh, Scotland; and the characters were real, with with strengths and weakness.
Using the the book of Ruth as her template, Liz Curtis Higgs weaves her story of of love, loss and redemption. A story that will endure this characters to your heart, as you turn each page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Here Burns My Candle a must read!!

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
emmylou585
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always loved reading the book of Ruth. I was excited to see that Liz Curtis Higgs was writing a novel based on the book of Ruth but based in Scottland. As I was looking through the books to review for Waterbrook Multnomah, I came across this book and new that I wanted to review it. I was very pleased that the author provided a glossary in the back of the book to help with the Scottish Terminology. I normally read right through a book but found myself having to read slower. I really didn't mind because it allowed me to enjoy the book even more. There are many characters in the book who have secrets that they are hiding from Lady Marjory and the gold hidden under her floor boards, to Lady Elizabeth and her ways of worship, to Elizabeth's husband Donald who had many secret rendevous with many mistresses. You feel for Lady Marjory who wants nothing more than to protect her family. She would do anything to make that possible. I don't want to give anymore of the story-line away but I promise you that she will have you hungry for the next book that is coming out this Spring "Mind is the Night". I would give this book 5 stars even though I thought I would never get to the end, I enjoyed reading each page. I can't wait to purchase "Mind is the Night" so that I can see how she depicts the rest of the story of Ruth and Naomi. I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah for free in exchange for an honest book review. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves to read Scottish Fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality Fiction

Date:April 16, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I devoured this book in one evening! Higgs' historical detail and storytelling are impeccable. I loved the characters of Elizabeth and Marjory and I loved how they matured in Christian faith by the end of the book. I cannot wait to read the sequel to this spectacular epic!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed Here Burns My Candle. Lady Elisabeth Kerr is highlander by birth and lowlander by marriage. She is faithful to her husband, but not to his God. She still chooses to worship the nameless one of her ancestors. Once Prince Charles comes into Edinburgh and her family swears their allegiance to the rightful heir to the throne, life drastically changes. Soon, Lady Kerr has to face facts... does the nameless one truly care for her? And what about the Holy One she pretends to worship at the kirk each Sunday?
As Lady Kerr travels along her spiritual journey, she is forced to make choices that could change her life forever. Will this highlander learn to rely on the Holy One, God? Will she learn to trust Him and His plan for her life?
I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys historical fiction.
---------
I received this complimentary book from Waterbrook Press in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Here Burns My Candle review

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leigh Kramer
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was excited to receive my free copy of Here Burns My Candle from Waterbrook Multnomah Blogging for Books for a few reasons. The main reason being that I've read Liz Curtis Higgs' other historical series set in Scotland and loved it.
The novel follows the Kerr family in 1745, the story focusing on Lady Elisabeth Kerr and her mother-in-law, the dowager Lady Marjory Kerr. The bonny Prince Charlie and his army of Jacobites have ridden into town and are preparing to take back their land. The Rising has a profound effect on Elisabeth and her husband Lord Donald, his brother and sister-in-law Andrew and Janet, and Marjory. The family is initially mixed in their loyalties- do they throw their support to Prince Charlie or stay loyal to King George? Elisabeth worries her Highlander loyalties, and thus to the bonny Prince, will divide her against her family. Each character's reaction to the turmoil around them sets the course for our tale.
Higgs's historical novels trace a Biblical story. Take what you learned about any one story and throw it out the window. She has a way of turning familiar words on their heads, with the added effect that we then better understand the Bible. Such was true when I read her Lowlands of Scotland series, her take on Jacob, Leah, and Rachel. Did I ever expect I would take Leah's side? Definitely not. Growing up, I was always upset that she "stole" Jacob from Rachel. But we must remember that things are not always as they seem. I've never been able to read that portion of Genesis in the same way and the same will hold true with the Book of Ruth.
Here Burns My Candle is the first in a two-book series. This time around, our story is based on Ruth, Naomi, and Orpah. I always loved reading the books of Ruth and Esther, our primary examples of women in the Bible. I'm also familiar with the Jacobite Rising. The Rising provides an interesting backdrop but our prime concern is with the ladies Kerr. (If you're not as familiar with either- spoiler alert.) I knew all would not end well for Elisabeth and Marjory. However, this did not demean the novel in any way.
The plot primarily moved forward, for me, thanks to the dynamics between Elisabeth and Marjory. Marjory starts off as a snobby, critical, domineering mother-in-law. Watching her grow, seeing her reclaim her faith as Elisabeth comes to know who God is, was beautiful. I don't want to say much more than that. Suffice it to say, I was captivated from the start.
I'm very excited to dive into the sequel: Mine is the Night. A friend raved about it to me. I can't wait to see Higgs' rendition of Boaz! Be still my heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
BC52
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the way Liz subtely incorporates the story of Ruth using Scottish history. I didn't realize the story line until almost to the end of the book.
I will be anxious to read the follow up novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Here Burns My Candle, Large Print
This review is fromHere Burns My Candle.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I stayed up too late...reading this book...twice!

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura of Harvest Lane
Location:Carthage, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I stayed up too late...reading this book...twice! I was drawn into the story immediately. The characters were so deep, so likeable. I felt like I was actually in 1745 Scotland and actually part of the Kerr family. The history of the Jacobite Rebellion was so skillfuly woven into the story, I felt the tension as the characters had to determine which course was the right one for their lives. I felt the ache as secrets were kept and were revealed. I love it when fiction books make me forget there is a real world; because, the world of the book becomes the real world for a little while. Here Burns My Candle did that for me.
I was a little uncertain during the first couple of chapters. I don't like reading about intimacy... if you know what I mean. There was a certain amount that was tastefully described. It was not graphic in any way. However, I would not allow my teenager to read it. It's definitely for married women. Adultery, treason, war and finding a relationship with the true God are central themes.
I recommend this book for married women.
Five Stars
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.