Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print Cast of Characters, Large Print

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Christian Large Print Cast of Characters, Large Print

Some of the most powerful stories from the Bible come alive for today's readers through these inspiring selections from the writings of Max Lucado. Max provides a compelling look at the most high-impact moments in the biblical narrative, drawn from his previous twenty-plus years of writing. At the end of each chapter are study guide questions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.477 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cast of Characters, Large Print
Review 1 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Josie
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book was wonderfully insightful. Hence the positive ratings. However, I don't just look at the content of the book as the product. I also look at how user friendly it is for visually impaired people, since I am. I have not been able to figure out a way to make the print larger on my iPad so that the entire page is visible on the screen, no matter the size font. Hence, the satisfactory rating reviews. One cannot read a book very well/with ease if it is not accessible. Food for thought and hopefully for future considerations. Otherwise, I may not be ordering from CBD (electronically). Thank you for your time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynda Young
This book is a collection of Lucados stories taken from many of his best selling books. Its about the people of the bible, made real and relevant. Its about Gods power in these peoples lives. And its written in a way that makes it relatable and appealing.At the end of each chapter is a list of questions that can be used for reflection and discussion. So this book can be used as a mini bible study in small groups or on your own.This book comes across as a Best of album and, while it works for music, Im not convinced it works in a book. I found it a little disjointed at times and the lack of flow between chapters meant I couldnt read large chunks of the book at a time, regardless of the attempt of an overall theme.If youve read two or three of his books from the list these stories were taken from, then I think youll still enjoy it. I previously read five of the twelve books so the feeling of dj vu popped up somewhat frequently for me which I found a tad disappointing.Regardless, I found myself reading through the chapters with a smile. Lucado has a knack for bringing the bible stories alive. Through the simplicity of skilled storytelling, he makes great points and teaches Gods word in a way that touches the heart. This book makes a good read, and a good mini study.I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a plethora of personal detail, insight and wisdom

Date:October 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
KC @ Average: More or Less
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first Max Lucado book and I don't think I could have chosen a better one to start with. Mr. Lucado wove together a plethora of personal detail, insight and wisdom for his readers' enjoyment and enlightenment. I will read his offerings again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anupama Kalangi
The book is a collection of short stories of several characters from the Bible.The author ponders upon their human side,their frailties and how God moulded something extraordinary of their ordinary lives.The story of Ester,Abigail,Peter and David are my personal favourites.As one reads along the stories,at one point or the other,you realize that our stories are kind of similar to theirs.As their lives have been rebuilt,faith rewarded...one can not miss out to listen the note of hope.The book is a source of inspiration,encouragement and hope...there by calling out for a life committed to the master potter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
McKenna
Cast of Characters by Max LucadoIts the smallest situations in the life of Jesus that often speaks the most to us. And it is the biggest and smallest of biblical heroes that show that God can accomplish extraordinary things. In Cast of Characters, Max Lucado takes ordinary biblical people, to show how God can accomplish anything through all kinds of people. The book contains 22 studies of biblical heroes who were loved God, and allowed God to work in their lives. Max Lucado explores how God accomplished more through their failures than their successes. Lucado reveals how these ancient biblical characters are relevant to modern concerns among people such as doubt, rejection, insignificance, purpose, humility, suffering, risk, and consequences.An easy read, and will catch the attention of any reader, as Lucado is able to relate to every person who picks up this book. Cast of Characters kept my attention and challenged my thought process to see the power of God in any situations. Lucado has a way with words, allowing the reader to describe the setting perfectly in their minds. He also accurately represented biblical truth, even as he addressed history in modern lingo. I would recommend this book to any reader who is interested in learning more about the abilities of God. This book would also be well suited for a bible study as it provides questions and discussion topics at the end. This book was provided by Book Sneeze
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Snyder
Do you find you have a hard time connecting with the people we all know from our favorite Bible stories? Do you start seeing them in the same light you would a fairy tale character? People whose life begines and ends in that one story, people with few enothions, who were there only to fulfill their designated part in the story? People whose lives are really just a part of a play?This book will help you feel the things they felt, and you will see how very much like US they really were. We are all the same, after all. We all feel the same emotions and search after the same things, and we all have sinned and are in desperate need of a savior. I really liked this book. When I first got it I thought I might offer it as a giveaway on my blog... but I don't think I can part with it! I know I want to read it again, and if you are looking for some reading that tastes like a novel, but reaches out and touches your heart with the true love of Christ, this is it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shirley M. Corder
Who, or what, is the Goliath in your life?Is Jesus encouraging you to "stand up" where you could never stand before? How do you react to mistreatment and unfairness? Max Lucado uses David, the crippled man, Joseph and nineteen others to encourage you in this compilation of inspiring and thought-provoking articles. They each have a message (or three) for you and for me. In his usual inimitable style, Lucado brings his cast of characters to modern-day life. These people lived thousands of years ago, yet they faced similar challenges to those we deal with today. They are historical figures, yet they made the same mistakes we do. Lucado shows how God used their mistakes and failures to achieve great things. We all know about Mary and Martha and their dinner party. But do we know about the ministry of Lazarus? I enjoyed seeing the interaction of these siblings in a new way.I enjoyed having these characters as part of my daily readings. I worked through the study questions at the end of each chapter. This book is ideal for someone who needs encouragement in their relationship with the Lord. If God could use the weaknesses in these Bible greats, He can use even me. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julia Owings
The Cast of Characters in people from the Bible. Max Lucado does his magic and makes them come alive for us. He places them in our times with our troubles and worries. I not only found myself in this book but several of my friends. Well worth the reading, especially when you need to look at those of faith in the Bible outside their times.This would be a great book for someone that feels they cant measure up like those that did in the Bible.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Thanks to Thomas Nelson's Book Sneeze program, I was able to review the book Cast of Character: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God by Max Lucado. This book was full of Bible characters that may have been normal but God used them in wonderful ways to impact people. Some of the characters are very familiar (Peter) and others are not as familiar (Jairus). As usual, Max Lucado looks at these characters in ways that are unique. I really enjoyed this book. It made me think about some of these characters in a new light and reminded me how God can use me. I don't have to be a huge icon to be used by God. He prefers the common man. The only thing I would say about this book is it is exerts from other books of his. If you are an avid reader of Max Lucado's books, this may be material you have already read. Overall, this book made me think and was written in a way that had me wanting to read more. It was a great book that was easy to read and challenging. That is perfect for a mom of 2 young kids!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie
I was given Cast of Characters by Max Lucado to review by Book Sneeze. I have to say I LOVED this book. Each chapter highlights a scripture from the Bible about a "character" in the Bible. The chapter starts with the scripture and than Lucado relates it to "everyday" life in a story.I was excited about his book because I have looking for a book that I could read to learn about different people in the Bible. The characters or people that Lucado highlights are Mary, Peter, Matthew, Joseph, Nicodemus, Woman at the Well, David, Esther, Job, The Samaritan Woman, John, Rich Young Man.This book is excellent for a new Christian. I love how Lucado relates the stories in the Bible (which are typically hard to understand) to our live now. I highly recommend this book.This book was provided by the publisher as a review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dave
Everyone loves a good story, and the best story tellers are those who can take a familiar story that's been heard a hundred times over and tell it in such a way that it feels like it's the first time you've heard it. That's exactly what Max Lucado does in his newest release, Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God. As someone who has read most of Lucado's books, I was familiar with most of the selections in this work, yet I found that I still could not put the book down. The array of stories ranged from the shores of Galilee to the banks of the Nile. Criminals, kings, fishermen and pharisees all told the story of how God used them, and changed them. Woven throughout the book was a great unity of theme: God can and will use anyone to accomplish His purpose.If you have never read a book by Max Lucado, this would be an excellent start as it offers samples from a wide array of his previous writings. But even if you have read everything from the pen of this prolific author, you won't be disappointed by this collection. A definite 'must have' for the bookshelf!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brittany
Beautiful. Intriguing. Inspiring. Uplifting. I ordered this book a few weeks ago and am already inspired. Of course we all know how wonderful of an author Max Lucado is, so that would be one of the reasons why I am touched. Yet, another reason is the reality that the stories written in this book, are taken directly from the bible. They have been a part of our inspired word of God, and changed in a way that we can relate and grasp the reality these people faced every day of their lives many years ago. Cast of Characters is a book written about 22 individual lives we read about in the bible. Some of them would be Esther, Moses, Joseph, and even two criminals. I would totally recommend reading this book if you are looking for a light read, yet something that will also move in your heart. It's important for us to constantly gain a better understanding of how God has called us to live. Often, the best way to grasp these things, we can look at experiences of other people and see what they learned through out their lives. What a blessing it is to receive this book! Read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
LaTawnia Kintz
If you have ever read anything by Max Lucado, you will find this to be classic Max Lucado writing. I have always enjoyed reading anything he has written. It's easy to understand, easy to read. And his style makes you want to read his books over and over again. He writes like he is having a conversation with a good friend. In Cast of Characters, he has taken some various people in the bible and adds a little story with each one. One of my favorites is Mephibosheth. (I actually presented a teaching to a women group on him, some years ago.) I was pleased with the way he presented Mephibosheth. Because the story is about what is at the King's table for us. At the end of each chapter, Max gives us a little time for reflection and discussion, so this book could be used as a small bible study. I am not particularly crazy about the translation he uses for this book. Personally I am a New King James girl, King James without the hithers and thithers. Some people like the more modern translations, but I feel a lot tends to get lost. Other than that, the book is a real good book to read. It will encourage you, make you think and even cause you to do some more digging into the Bible to see what else is in there for you.I would recommend this as a good book to give as a gift, possibly use for a small group study for new believers, or just general reading.This book was provided to me by Thomas Nelson and I am not obligated to give any particular review of it. All that I have said is of my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bill Cahusac
Taken from the writings of Max Lucado "Cast of Characters" is a collection of some of his best writing.There's a bewildered Joseph on the night Jesus was born. A cripple invited to a banquet. A woman married so many times that her current partner won't let her carry his name. A religious zealot out to arrest followers of Jesus. A confused shepherd confronted by a burning bush that speaks. The beauty queen who saved a nation. A rich young ruler who can buy everything except the one thing we all long for. A giant slayer. A dead man, walking.All of them with a story.Each of them having an encounter with the Almighty.And in their stories we see our own. In each of their stories we see him. The master.God at work.And as we see him working we can find hope. That God is with us. That he loves us. That no-one is beyond his compassion. No one out of the reach of his grace.Reading the stories again in the one volume I was struck again by Max Lucado's ability to re-tell the encounters in a way that draws the reader right into the heart of the action. That both illuminates scripture and then sends you right back to the bible to be amazed by the love of God all over again.The book filled me with a fresh sense of wonder and encouraged me back to God in worship.If you haven't read Max Lucado before this is a great place to start. A fantastic storyteller, Lucado is always profound and yet has a common touch that makes his work so accessible. I highly recommend this book.(I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jamie
I have read previous books by Max Lucado, Minister of Writing and Preaching, Oak Hills Church in San Antonio, Texas and once again I was not disappointed. Max has taken 26 characters from the bible, some characters that are well-known and some that may not be known by most Christians.At the beginning of each chapter, Mr. Lucado brilliantly gives a pertinent bible verse to help remind readers who the character is or gives them a sense of who they were. We are challenged to learn from the character and the example or non-example that he/she gives about how to live life/not live life. It is through the characters struggles, scandals, stumbles and mystery that Max causes us to learn a little more about ourselves.The chapter on Mary, Martha and Lazarus , Your Place in God's Band, really spoke to me. As a former marching band member, his example of his life playing the tuba really got me stirred.The passage that really rallied with me in this chapter was:"God gave Martha a bass drum of service. God gave Mary a flute for praise. And God gave Lazarus a trumpet. And he stood on center stage and played it.God still gives trumpets. God still calls people from the pits. God still gives pinch-me-I'm-dreaming, too-good-to-be-true testimonies. But not everyone has a dramatic testimony. Who wants a band full of trumpets?" (page 62)Mr. Lucado has also included some very thought-provoking questions at the end of each chapter to really get our minds thinking about ways in which we all may act as the character just presented.All in all, this is another awesome book by Max Lucado. It would be great for a group bible study, to read straight-through cover to cover, or to read about the characters presented when we are reading his/her/their complete story during a personal devotional time. This is definitely a book that I will be keeping around and reading and reviewing over and over again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janet P.
I've been a long-time fan of Max Lucado's books, so I was looking forward to reading this book titled Cast of Characters, Common People in the Hands of An Uncommon God. This book is a collection of some of Mr. Lucado's favorite biblical characters which he's covered in other books of his; people who were human and imperfect, just like us. Each chapter covers a bit about a certain character such as Matthew, Job or Esther and then a story follows (or as I look at it, a mini-sermon), then ends with questions for reflection and discussion. This book would be great for a study group as the questions at the end of the chapters are very thought-provoking and the chapters are short enough to cover quickly. It's also written in a way that's easy to read and understand.My favorite chapter in the book is probably the first, which is about Joseph. Mr. Lucado starts off by stating that one can hardly read Scripture without whispering "I wonder..." and it's so true. A lot of the questions that Mr. Lucado has is the same ones that me (and probably so many others) have had, such as "Whatever happened to the wise men?" or Whatever happened to Joseph?" or even "Did Eve ever eat more fruit?" Mr. Lucado concludes that there are many questions about the Bible that we won't be able to know the answer until we get home. But he does reassure us and gives us the answer to the questions that everyone asks - "Does God care? Do we matter to God? Does He still love His children?" And the answer is yes. I enjoyed reading this book and would highly recommend it to others. (I was given this book by Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
ML Michaels
"Cast of Characters" by Max Lucado is an interesting read of stories written from several of his other books. This compilation made into a new book is a thoughtful book about the characters we read in the bible. It is an excellent source for new Christians trying to get a broad picture of the people of the bible. It offers some indepth knowledge about characters and scenes from the bible. For mature Christians it is a gentle reminder of why we are Christians, where have come from and where we are going. Each chapter provides a short snippet about each character and overall is an easy read. With lots of bible verses and a section for questions and discussion, it is ideal for a comprehensive bible study group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Have you ever wondered about the people that God has worked through? Do you wonder what happened to them after their brief mention in the Bible? If so, then you need to read Cast of Characters by Max Lucado. I was so anxious to read this book; I borrowed a copy while I waited for the book to arrive in the mail. I am glad that I didnt wait. This book takes a look at the ordinary people that God uses to do His work on earth.This is a book that you do not need to read one chapter at a time. You can flip through and read about the people that you are interested in, or that you want to know more about. Each chapter focuses on a single person and their story. At the end of each chapter you will find study questions that you can look over by yourself or even in a small group setting.I really enjoyed reading this book as it opened up more of Gods Word to me as I learned more about the people that He has chosen to use. The subtitle tells it all: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2010
Cast of Characters has twenty-six Biblical characters that are common people used by God. From well-known characters, such as the Samaritan woman, Paul, and Moses, to those rarely mentioned in Sunday School, such as Mephibosheth and Abigail. Lucado introduces each chapter with a section of scripture and then jumps right into how the character was human and had failings just like us, but was indeed used by God for His purpose. At the end of each chapter are discussion questions that can be used by the individual or as part of a group discussion.I enjoyed reading this book and began to use it as my daily devotion. I am now passing it on to family members to read. Reading Cast of Characters refreshed my knowledge of these characters, as well as giving me a different way of viewing them. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cast of Characters, Large Print
This review is fromCast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie Dick
I have read and enjoyed other books by Max Lucado before, and Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God is no exception. It takes characters as famous as Paul and as unknown as Abigail and fleshs out what their stories might have been. It really helped me see Biblical characters as PEOPLE, and identify more with them.One of the most of the identifible chapters focused on Mary, Martha and Lazarus. It said that Marys tend to have "one foot in heaven and the other on a cloud." I feel like that a lot. It's hard for me to come down to earth and listen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.