Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Angel's Den: A Novel - eBook

B&H Books Angel's Den: A Novel - eBook

In 1808, when Emma meets and marries Eric Montclaire (the famed "most handsome man west of the Appalachians"), this young daughter of prominent St. Louis citizens believes a fairy tale has just begun. Instead, her husband's angelic looks quickly prove only to mask a monstrous soul all too capable of possessive emotions and physical abuse. Praying for mercy, she is devastated when Eric insists on her joining his yearlong group expedition to the Pacific Ocean, following the trail Lewis and Clark blazed just a few years earlier. By the time cartographer Luke Bowen realizes Emma's plight, it's too late to easily untangle what has become an epic web of lies, theft, murder, courtroom drama, and a deep longing for love. Only God can show them the way out.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Angel's Den: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Angel's Den: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromAngel's Den.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A testament of how God's divine love shapes pain!

Date:March 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having read, 'Snow Angel', The Duchess and the Dragon and now Angel's Den, it's quite possibly my favorite and best novel from Jamie Carie! She covers a lot of ground concerning the touchy subject of violence amongst women back in Pioneer 1800's. I learned much, and she explained it beautifully and wisely. The heroine, Emma, doesn't see herself as much as a hero, for she is always hard on herself and her clumsy manners. But in my opinion her faults make her so sweet, an utterly adorable at times, I just want to give her a big hug! She marries the most gorgeous man Eric, hence the title 'Angel', only to find out she married the Devil! Her tender nature is no match for the fickle Eric, and he quickly abuses her no matter what she does to please him, he's never satisfied. All hope, love and life is drained from her heart, and to make matters worse, he drags her along the Pacific on a dangerous expedition. By God's mercy, he leads young Luke a cartographer along the journey, both God and Luke are Emma's unforeseen Saviors! I couldn't stop reading until the end, redemption, hope, survival, strength I took from the ending! Brilliant!
Thank you so much to the Publisher for giving me a copy in exchange for a non-profit, unbiased, honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Angel's Den: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromAngel's Den.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awsome book!

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
RoseAmongThorns
Location:Washington
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I just finished reading this book, oh my goodness is really good! I loved it! I learned not to be blinded by a man's beauty or be fooled by his looks and charming ways, intead look deep in his heart and see the real him, before he puts a ring on it! And most of all trust God with all my heart and let him be in control, even thought its hard to wait and trust Him. But good always comes out of the bad, always. This book totally relates to my life and what Emma has gone through.... You should read it!!! It will encourage you and fill you with God's presence!peace.:)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Angel's Den: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromAngel's Den.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Really enjoyed this book. It is a fast read and really hard to put down. Emma's life should have been perfect, but things are not as they appear. This book starts in St Louis and then starts on the same trail that Lewis and Clark took. You can really see God leading in this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Angel's Den: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromAngel's Den.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah Muller
I loved this book. Jamie Carie just keeps getting better with each book. I couldn't put it down. It was suspenceful and unpredictable. A great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Angel's Den: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromAngel's Den.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Angel's Den by Jamie Carie is a historical romance set at the dawn of the 19th century. Emma believes she's marrying the man of her dreams in Eric Montclaire, but her illusions are quickly shattered when she discovers that his face of an angel hides a soul black as night. She withdraws from society and her family in order to hide the all too frequent bruising left from his angry tantrums, and she comes to fear for her very life when she discovers his history of murder and violence. Luke Bowen worked on the Lewis & Clark company until his father died unexpectedly, forcing him to give up his place as cartographer. Montclaire hires him for a new expedition out west, but Luke struggles with his feelings for the beautiful Emma, especially after witnessing her suffering. Carie is top notch at historicals, getting all the right details and language. Each era she tackles, she brings to brilliant life. The focus here is on Luke and Emma's growing but forbidden feelings for each other while they try to keep true to their Christian faith. The attempt to rouse sympathy for Montclaire falls a bit flat, and the epilogue is a tad too jolly for the mood of the rest of the book and it disregards both characters desire to see more of the world. I also wish that more time had been spent on the actual journey with Luke recording more detail about the birds and animals he saw. Those small flaws aside, it's a powerfully moving novel of a woman facing spousal abuse in an era that didn't recognize it as a crime. Emma's depression, anger, and fear makes the novel a must read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Angel's Den: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromAngel's Den.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2010
A Startling Romantic Adventure..Set in post Lewis and Clark America, Jamie Carr creates an intriguing story of Beauty and the Beast in reverse. Deception is the key ingredient and its effects are used with stunning success. Evil is portrayed in its most deceiving form. When truth becomes apparent, innocence is stolen, shattered, and broken. Faith, strength and courage rise to the occasion but who will prevail in the end?The writing was excellent. Stimulating the imagination with vivid pictures, bold characters and striking dialogue.A great read for a cold winters night.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Angel's Den: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromAngel's Den.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2010
Angel's Den is a historical set in the early days of the United States. The characters follow the Lewis and Clark trail in 1808, a couple years after the original trip. They trip was fascinating, written in a way that I felt like I was traveling the trail with them. But the real strength of this book is the characters. Emma finds herself married to the most handsome man west of the Appalachians. She can't believe her luck until the fairy tale turns into a nightmare. A mesmerizing story of grace is woven as Emma finds her way to eventual freedom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Angel's Den: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromAngel's Den.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christina T
On Emma's wedding day she thinks she is the luckiest woman alive because her incredibly handsome husband Eric chose her to be his bride. But as soon as the vows are said the nightmare of abuse begins. She thinks she will receive a reprieve when Eric plans a trip following the trail of Lewis and Clark but then Emma finds out that she must go too. Cartographer Luke Bowen can see that Emma is scared to death by her husband and he feels God has brought him to his new job to try to help her. How can he save Emma from the diabolical scheming of her husband? Eric will stop at nothing to get what he wants...This was a moving and nail-biting novel. At times I had to stop reading because it was so painful to read about Emma's suffering. In spite of all she goes through, Emma emerges as a strong young woman. Luke is a multifaceted hero and he also has struggles to deal with, such as realizing that it is God who will save Emma, not himself. Throughout the novel there are people who see what is happening to Emma and some like Luke want to help her but they don't know how. Judge Littleton who is investingating a murder comes across their traveling expedition and he brings comfort and wisdom to both Luke and Emma. The themes of father/child relationship echoes throughout the novel. Luke's relationship with his dad and his fear of disappointing him by choosing not to be a farmer, Emma's close relationship to her father, Eric's relationship to his father and its influence on his life, and the relationship between John Sumner and his "fallen" daughter Maggie all play an important part in the story and the journey of the characters. The resolution of the novel took me by surprise. Once again Jamie Carie has delivered a touching story of redemption and faith. Angel's Den is a story you won't soon forget.Disclaimer: I received an ARC of this title from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Angel's Den: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromAngel's Den.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Snodgrass
I have read all Jamie Carie's books and this one is her best ever. Astounding, top notch! I can't think of enough adjectives to describe this wonderful book. She gets you inside the characters' heads and you feel Emma's despair and heartache. The villian was such a good villian I even wanted to slap him myself! Emma Montclaire is rudely awakened when she marries the man of her dreams, Eric Montclaire. As soon as the afternoon of the wedding, he turns into a monster and brutalizes Emma every chance he gets. Emma wishes for death many times, but then help seems to appear. I won't give away anything else, but you must, must read this book. The spiritual element to it is explosive. There is one scene so powerful you feel as if the Holy Spirit Himself is in the room with you.Get the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Angel's Den: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromAngel's Den.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Theresa
Set in the Missouri Territory in 1808, Emma Daring marries the man of her dreams, Eric Montclair. Eric is a handsome and successful businessman who has offered Emma her a fairytale life. Like all fairy tales, there lurks a dark and sinister character, who to Emma's mortification, ends up being her most handsome husband, Eric. Emma's only hope of a better life is the upcoming expedition that her husband has arranged, as no man takes woman on an such a trip. Or so Emma thought....On Friday night, when I crawled into bed with this book, I had all intentions of only reading a chapter or two before going to sleep. I was exhausted and had an early morning ahead of me on Saturday. Almost 150 pages later, I reluctantly tucked "Angel's Den" away. As soon as everything was done on Saturday, I grabbed a cup of coffee and off I went to my favorite reading spot, where I sat reading until I finished the book. Yes, it was that captivating. Full of suspense and with a surprise twist I never saw coming, there was just no way to put it down!"Angel's Den" was my first exposure to Jamie Carie's work. With four books before this, I wondered how I had missed such a brilliant author. All of Jamie's characters were so real and so true to character. My favorite character was the main character, Emma. I adored her. She was sweet and innocent, and such a testament to finding hope and strength through the power of God's Word, when things seemed their darkest. Her coming from a point of hopelessness and darkness to finding hope and believing, should be a lesson for all of us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Angel's Den: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromAngel's Den.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2010
The sins that Emma Daring powdered over were those perpetrated upon her by an angel an angel straight from the pits of hell. Jamie Caries novel, Angels Den, is a journey into the darkness of human depravity. Jamie takes the reader into the nightmare of an abusive relationship, into the quiet place that an abused person escapes to from their horror, into a hopelessness and terror-filled life that will steal your breath away. Yetthere is still redemption to be found. Using Gods traits of mercy and long-suffering, Jamie introduces the character of Luke, and latter Judge Littleton. Through their faith and their unwavering trust in God, Jamie reminds the reader that even in lifes most horrific, dark moments, God has not left us alone. Emma lives for a time in this story as little more than a prisoner, although she is surrounded by people. As she is moved out West under the most unusual of circumstances, God begins to quietly work in her heart and life to prepare her for the trial of her faith that lies ahead. Angels Den has to be Jamie Caries most riveting work to date. She shares the gospel by exploring the broken lives of her main characters and then through the grace offered by those who are obedient to reach out to them despite the risk it might involve. There are unexpected twists and turns throughout the story that will keep you reading at a frantic pace, and there comes a point when the reader feels rather desperate for some relief from the tension-filled plot. Looking into the heart of a depraved sinner is no easy task, but the realization that Gods love has pierced that veil for each of His children, that we are offered grace when we are so undeserving well, this is a story that will stay with you long after the final scene. Angels Den. A story that defines grace. A story that will cause you to fall on your face before Holy God and Praise HIM for His son, Jesus!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.