Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print Intervention #1: Large-print softcover

Christian Large Print Intervention #1: Large-print softcover

The intervention was supposed to help Barbara's family---not thrust them into a new nightmare. But when her 18-year-old daughter, Emily, is escorted to drug treatment, the therapist is murdered and Emily vanishes. Barbara and her 14-year-old son are frantic. The police think Emily's the killer---but what if they're wrong? And where is she now?
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 out of 2997%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
Review 1 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
V icki
Location:Rosendale Wi
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a good book . Kept my interest all the way through.
I also read the other two books in the series and they were great also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
JesusIsLord
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was excellent. A great kick off to the Intervention Series. I was up til 2am finishing this book so that should tell you something, lol. I have read most of Terri's novels and every one blows me away. She just gets better and better in her writing. Definitely a must have!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Natasha7
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Romance and action! It was unpredicting and never boring to read. I want to read the rest of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terri Blackstock has made it to my favorites list!

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are so many words of praise I could use to describe this novel. It was so real, and the message so powerful. Barbara Covington, a single mother, strives to provide for her two children Lance (14) and Emily (18). But to add to Barbara's daily strife, Emily is a strong addict. When Barbara finally bites the bullet and schedules an intervention, things go well. Emily willingly agrees to go. The flight goes well. But then the interventionist is murdered and Emily disappears.
Barbara skips town with Lance, abandoning the job that might save her financially, to find her missing daughter. Up until that point things seemed slow but then Ms. Blackstock takes us on a fast-paced roller coaster that thrills you until that last page.
This novel opened my eyes to how addicts affect their families. And in some cases it reveals why some may turn to drugs or alcohol. Once I started, I couldn't set the book down very easily.
To conclude this review I must note the message of God's unconditional love and forgiveness as well as why and who Jesus died for warmed my heart. I wish more people could know and understand what it all means. If you're seeking a thriller, this book is for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So realistic and transparent.

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy Dalton
Location:Morgantown, WV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A realistic and transparent look into a family struggling to save their loved one from addiction. With a "who done it" mystery involved it became hard to put down. I selected this book for our book club for this month's discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
PurpleRN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book! In my mailbox the same week. Loved the story line!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adventure, mystery, love story

Date:May 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
samuel
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed the "doggy" parts, and found I had been misled, as the author intended, about who done it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susie
Location:McAlester, Ok
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Really Enjoyed This Book It Helped Me Understand A Little Better About The Adiction. I Would Highly Reccomend This Book To Those That Have Children Caught Up In The Drug World
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Realistic Novel About the Struggles of Addiction

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This was one of those books that just slapped me in the face with it's stark reality. Sure, I watch the tv show Intervention. I know there are people in this world that struggle with addiction. Until this book, though, it never really sunk in how painful and difficult it really must be for people that struggle to get help for their family members.
In typical Terri Blackstock style, this was not just a novel that dealt with a major issue. She had to get her bad guy in their somewhere! In this story, though, she didn't hold out until the end of the book to reveal this crazy madman who was out to get revenge. I liked that I was able to get a better understanding of his character before he really went off the deep end.
I also thought her portrayal of Barbara, Emily's mom, was very realistic. I'm not a mother yet, but I know if I had a child that was in harm's way, I would be beating down the door to the police station every single day for them to get busy finding my child. Her struggle to do whatever she could was constantly at war with Detective Kent Harlan who just wanted her to stay out of the way.
And Lance!!! Barbara's young son almost stole the show! His inquistive personality was a lot of fun to read, as well as his desire to be the "man of the family" at 14 years old.
What more is there to say? I can't help but give 5 huge stars for this powerful novel. It was such a fast read, and worth every second to learn the things that I did. This book challenged my thinking about what goes on in neighborhoods I don't drive through, and in families that keep their struggles hidden. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Intervention, the newest stand-alone novel by Christian author Terri Blackstock. Her last hope is the beginning of a new nightmare, Intervention is about a Christian mum who has had her fair share of tragedy the last few years and all that seems to be holding her together is the love of her son Lance and the belief that no matter what obstacles she comes across God is always looking out for her. Her daughter, shortly after the death of the father decided to take the road of drugs and alcohol. Barbara is at her last hope and decides that it is time to get her 18yr old daughter Emily the help she needs and hires a professional interventionist, however along the way to the airport Trish (the interventionist) is found dead and Emily nowhere to be seen and becomes the only suspect in the murder of Trish. Barbara and Lance jump on a plane , to prove to the police that her daughter is not a killer , but as time goes by and the levels of panic intensify we are left with the decision of whether Emily's addiction with drugs led her to kill or is she another victim of the murderer . An excellent written book that will keep you guessing till the end, and in parts your heart will cry out for Barbara and once you've finished you will be thanking God for providing the family with the faith to go on and persuade a number of different leads that seemed impossible, but as the scripture says "With Go as my saviour, anything is possible". As with the majority of Christian books, Terri has provided us with a discussion section at the back of the book, a list of resources used and a special note from the author.
Excerpt from Acknowledgements:
"This book was a special labour of love, because I firmly believe that our culture is killing our kids. This story is fictional, but unfortunately, its truths apply to many families across the world today. To those who are trapped in the bondage of addiction, it's your story too. The hill you're climbing may look insurmountable, but Jesus came to set the captives free"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Was a great "read"!

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
LouE
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Intervention #1 was a very good book and brought to light many issues facing those with children with addictions. Since I have two granddaughters that are struggling with coming out of addiction, it was very helpful from the standpoint of understanding what their struggles are like. And, as always, the writing was excellent. The characters in the story were very believable, and the social issues it brought forward were real eye-openers, from the standpoint of the organizations that prey on this segment of our population.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
teachreading
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terri Blackstock will deeply touch the families who are dealing with people in their lives with drug addictions. Then to find out that she, herself, has lived it makes this book even more valuable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another -can't put the book down- read.

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Moody
Location:Nova Scotia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a story about a mother and son fighting for the life of their drug addicted daughter/sister. Terry Blackstock did not dissappoint me. Her books are always riveting and keep the reader on the edge wanting to know what happens. I will be getting the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
This review is fromIntervention - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
laurie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very good read enjoyed it begining to end. You get to know and really care what happens to the people in the book even though you know they are just charecthers of fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
This review is fromIntervention - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
uppercase d
Location:Austin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Intervention had a good story line, but towards the end you were able to guess the outcome. Fast-pased and a good Christian thread; it was worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
This review is fromIntervention - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An interesting book

Date:November 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janie
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I like mysteries and especially those written by Christians.
Terri Blackstock is an excellent writer and this book definitely keeps one's interest.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
This review is fromIntervention - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

e-book

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
slytree
Location:Elk River, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just started to read Intervention. The download process was quick and easy and I didn't incounter any problems transferring it to my ereader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
This review is fromIntervention - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
HomeschoolMom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book by a great author. I have read other books by this author and this one did not disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
This review is fromIntervention - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Charlene Ryan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first eBook, and readed it on my computer, wish I had a real ereader, but computer worked.
I love her books and this was is just as good as her others, keeps you reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Intervention #1: Large-print softcover
This review is fromIntervention - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product kept my interest from beginning to en

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
flpastor
Location:Central Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The writer skillfully kept the plot moving by creating a continous interest in what would be the next situation that would be faced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.