Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print

Christian Large Print The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print

Christians and non-Christians alike often overlook the fierceness of the Savior. They prefer to see Jesus as meek and mild, or politically correct. However, Jesus and His revolutionary teaching was far from tame. In The Jesus You Can't Ignore, John MacArthur reintroduces the compelling and somewhat unsettling passion of Jesus' ministry. Large Print Edition.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
Review 1 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

His material is simply about Christ...no tricks.

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
JD2507
Location:Seguin, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always enjoyed anything written by John MacArthur. I value the truth and depth of his explaination of God's word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The tool to combat postmodern thought in theology.

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rische B
Location:Lubbock, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In a post modern world that has all but eliminated the concept of immutable truth and where churches are more concerned about being socially relevant than scripturally accurate, MacArthur's work stands out as a clarion call for teaching after the pattern of Jesus. This is a balanced approach to standing for the truth and the Gospel essentials. I would recommend it to any who seek to know what Jesus did, how He handled confrontation, and His stand regarding false teachings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great book for study

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shellieb
Location:Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Jesus You Can't Ignore is a non-fiction book which aids in your walk as a Christian, by examining the life of Christ and the way He taught, preached, and lived. The book goes through the life of Christ and His ministry and the situations in which Christ was involved. John MacArthur explains parts of the Scripture and shows us that Jesus always stood up tall and bold in his teachings.
Excerpt from book:
Jesus always ministered to them with remarkable benevolence--without delivering any scolding lectures or sharp rebukes. Invariably, when such people came to Him, they were already broken, humbled, and fed up with the life of sin. He eagerly granted such people forgiveness, healing, and full fellowship with Him on the basis of their faith alone (cf. Luke 7:50; 17:19).
My personal opinion of the book is that its a good addition to your study in the Christian walk. There are some excellent points made in the book about acting more Christ-like in our daily lives. I did find the book to be slow and points repeated, but overall there were some interesting examples shown. This book will not be for everyone, but if your looking to get a better grasp on how Jesus handled situations based on a Biblical view then I do recommend you pick up a copy for your collection.
John MacArthur is a pastor, author and speaker. He has been a pastor at Grace Community Church in Sun Valley, CA since 1969. He runs Grace To You Ministries and is often heard on many Christian Radio Stations. He is a multi-published author. Some other titles include the ESV MacArthur Study Bible, Slave, A Tale of Two Sons and Twelve Extraordinary Women. For more information be sure to go to his website http://www.gty.org/
**Book was received as part of the Booksneeze Book Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions are my own.**
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Refreshing Look

Date:January 10, 2011
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In The Jesus You Can’t Ignore, Mr. MacArthur, wants to challenge our thoughts on how we view Jesus. So often He is portrayed as meek and mild, a great teacher and politically correct. We see a Jesus that has been waterdowned so that we get a warm fuzzy feeling.
We often choose to not see the fierceness of the Savior and His passion for bringing people to the Gospel. Mr. MacArthur uses Scripture to show us this side of Jesus. And as you see this passion and fierceness of Jesus, MacArthur invites the reader to join in that passion.
MacArthur wants the reader to see that Jesus was not afraid of confrontation, of speaking the truth even when it wasn’t pleasing to the ear. Today we are so worried about offending and being nice, that we water down the Truth that was Jesus.
I have not previously read any books by Mr. MacArthur and I had a difficult time getting through this book. MacArthur did an excellent job of using Scripture and I agree that Jesus is mis-represented too often. I have tried to understand why it was a challenging read for me and I think it comes down to MacArthur’s writing style. However, take time to check it out for yourself and take a moment to think of how you see the Savior.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting and backed up by Scriputre

Date:December 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
dgallagher
Location:Salem, NH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Jesus you can't Ignore by John MacArthur
I found this book to be interesting yet challenging for me to say that I thoroughly enjoyed it. John MacArthur certainly provided adequate biblical references to backup the arguments about Jesus. This book looks at the side of Jesus that we often do not want to look at or perhaps would never think about to much extent, which is that side of Jesus as direct and stern as well as creating controversy with those that were considered the religious of the day. Although the author's aim is to show that Jesus was not without a backbone he also goes on to show that Jesus could stand His ground and at the same time show compassion when needed.
What I took from the book was a different side of Jesus than the one that is so often portrayed in western culture. John MacArthur shows Jesus with an all consuming focus and passion for what the Father wanted Him to do.
Ultimately the cost that Jesus paid for being controversial would be His very life, but at the same time He knew what the cost was and He knew what it would mean for those that would follow Him.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bubba
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the book, Always love John MacAuthor books, good reading
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cory McCaig
The Jesus You Cant Ignore by John MacArthur is an attempt to portray a fuller depiction of Jesus Christ. In the book MacArthur unpacks the bold confrontations between Jesus and the Pharisees. From these confrontations, MacArthur points out that a Christians understanding of how Jesus stood for truth should be how he stand for truth as well. Ultimately, Jesus never compromised or sought to find common ground with those who lived contrary to Scripture. MacArthur does a great job of catching the readers attention. While he does unpack a lot of biblical details, at the same time these details are helpful to the hungry student. I personally have gleaned a deeper appreciation and love for the life of the Savior. As I read through certain portions of the life of Christ, I was forced to take a second look at some important details that I had missed in previous readings of the Gospels. It is truly evident that MacArthur is a gifted Bible scholar due to his consistent flow with Scripture and his willingness to dive deeper in to some subjects in his footnotes. I would defiantly recommend this book to anyone who wants to broaden their understanding of who Jesus really is and what it means to follow His example. Disclosure: I did receive a free review copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers, but was not required to write a positive review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cassie Hale
I just completed the book by John MacArthur entitled, The Jesus You Cant Ignore. I chose it because I thought it would really address the false teachings prevalent in the Emergent Church movement, but it did otherwise, in my opinion. A great exposition on Christs character, it did little to refute the teachings being tossed here and there by leading Emergent Church teachers. The interesting thing to note is that every time Jesus is referenced as addressing a crowd sharply or in rebuke, it was addressing the pious Pharisees in the crowd. My thoughts, after reading this book, were that Jesus was confronting the legalistic believers who actually lead people astray because of their rituals and rules impossible for any man to follow perfectly. I didnt see anything directly related to his challenging other false religions or teachers of fringe sects. I thought the book pointed the finger right back at overly legalistic Christians rather than the false teachers in the Emergent Church. I was very disappointed in this book.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elaina Thompson
This book refutes the idea that Jesus was passive in His ministry on Earth. Sure, Jesus is love, but He didnt just lie down and take it from those who opposed Him. The Jesus You Cant Ignore takes you step by step through the Scriptures and describes how Jesus was passionate and unapologetic when it came to the Truth.First off, this book took me a while to read because there was SO much information in it. I love how the author refers to Scripture so often. I love how it challenged me to read my Bible even more. I think that if someone is looking to reignite his passion for the Jesus that seems to be forgotten, this is the book to read! I will most definitely recommend this book to many friends.My only suggestion is that when (not if) you read this book, let it be the only one. There is a large amount of information and Scripture to cover, so you will want it to be your primary focus. I look forward to reading The Jesus You Cant Ignore again and againand I know I will get something new out of it each time.I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea
John MacArthur's book The Jesus You Can't Ignore is a follow-up book to The Truth War. In this book MacArthur looks verse by verse into the conversations Jesus had with the religious leaders of His day in his fine expository manner. He shows that Jesus is not merely the meek and mild man who heals the sick and speaks of peace but spoke the truth and was not afraid to confront any who would twist or distort the truth. He wasn't worried about stepping on toes and would not compromise to appease the popular ideals. I enjoyed reading this book; I know I will read and reference again. It changed the way I look at Jesus and the false teachers in the world today. If there is any fault to the book it is that it seems to go too quickly and to really digest the information you would need to slow down with a Bible and maybe another commentary. I would also recommend reading The Truth War with it. These books will change the way you look at the world and the apostasy that is rampant in it. I received this book free from the publisher through the book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2010
In The Jesus You Cant Ignore, John MacArthur gives a much-needed reminder to all of Christendom that Christ was not simply a loving, meek, and mild savior, but the God of Eternity and the Ruler of the Universe. He chastises the many Christians who have latched onto the unbiblical message of peace at any price, as well as those who focus solely on finding common ground with other groups, while ignoring all areas of disagreement. MacArthur straightforwardly denounces this practice, and backs up his advice with countless Biblical passages showing how Jesus went out of his way to confront the Pharisees and other false teachers, despite the fact that they shared many of His beliefs.This timely book is a must-read for every professing Christian who is serious about the advancement of the kingdom and the preservation of sound doctrine in an age of confusion. MacArthur does an excellent job making his point about Jesus hatred of false teaching and of sin, while not forgetting His immeasurable love of the sinner. MacArthur reminds the reader that Christians are not perfect, as Jesus certainly was, so they must focus on judging the outward expressions of false teaching, and not try to judge the inner thoughts of anothers mind. This book may anger some who have gotten used to following the doctrine of appeasement, but MacArthurs concise and brilliant exposition of Jesus unyielding confrontations with false teachers should definitely not be ignored.Disclosure: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
John S
Modern evangelical Christianity has done much to distort who Jesus was. Sadly, He has been softened into a Jesus that just loves everybody, is OK with various kinds of sins, and would never send anybody to hell. This distorted image of Jesus matches up quite well with the post-modern mindset of many evangelical Christians. Of course, this softened Jesus would never refer to somebody as a brood of vipers or a white-washed tomb...or would he?Jesus strongly opposed false teachers. Dr. MacArthur shows this by going scene by scene through the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. Time and time again, Jesus is shown to confront false teachers in ways that many would see as mean and divisive.I enjoyed this book and I recommend that you read it. As usual, Dr. MacArthur digs into the text of the bible to support everything he says. He paints a vivid picture of how Jesus vehemently opposed false teaching. Let this book be an encouragement to you to defend the truth.FYI: The publisher, Thomas Nelson, provided me with a complimentary copy of this book on the condition that I post a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Howson
Finally an author who re-awakens us back to the basic understanding that Jesus didnt tolerate sin, period. He didnt adjust His agenda to soften the message. Society would like us to believe that Jesus was accepting of all faiths. Parts of the evangelical world are more concerned about us getting along than about what the bible has to say. Sin is sin, Jesus never offered us a second way to heaven. He was and is the only way. Jesus wasnt always a nice guy. He didnt waste time with scolding the chief hypocrites of His day in private sessions. He boldly confronted them whenever and wherever He was. John MacArthur reminds us that Jesus wasnt a wimpy timid person. He was bold, He confronted sinners and He loved them through it all.I feel that every Christian from teens to adults should read The Jesus You Cant Ignore to be reminded, no re-awakened to the fact that we shouldnt be timid in our faith, we should not try to look for common ground between faiths. Since this was the first time I had ever read a book by John MacArthur, I was a bit leery because I was told repeatedly that it could be a dry read. At times I found John MacArthurs writing a challenge to read. But I wouldnt want Mr. MacArthur to simplify his text. His rich language compelled me to keep reading, learning and finally acknowledges that I too had been lulled to sleep by socialites desire that everyone would just get along. This book presents a strong, spiritual message which I wish was proclaimed from more pulpits which claim to share the good news. I now look forward to reading more books by John MacArthur.I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrew
John MacArthur presents a Jesus we dont often hear preached in church or taught in seminary. Focusing on the gospel accounts of Jesus interactions with the Jewish leaders, MacArthur shows that Jesus wasnt always so meek and mild, as the classic hymn goes.MacArthur presents a good summary of first century Judaism and explains the various issues that come up between the Pharisees and Jesus. His superb exposition of Scripture shows through as each chapter seems more like a mini-commentary on various passages from the gospels. I think my favorite chapter was A Midnight Interview, in which MacArthur unpacks the John 3 passage where Jesus speaks with Nicodemus and confronts him with the truth of his spiritual condition. Though I am quite familiar with the passage, I learned a couple new things looking at it from the standpoint of Nicodemus and the really hard and powerful statements Jesus was making.When I first started reading the introduction, I was afraid the book would point people towards the kind of arrogance and belligerence like people holding signs saying, God hates [fill in the blank] and screaming at people from the steps of city hall. Fortunately, I was mistaken. As I mentioned before, the majority of the book feels like a Bible commentary, and after reading the conclusion, any residual doubts about the direction this book was pointing people were cleared away. MacArthur calls on the Church to take a stand on doctrinal issues and to not allow heretics and unbelievers to attempt to move the Church away from her foundation, which is Christ and His apostles (Eph. 2:2).Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bryan
I reviewed The Jesus You Cant Ignore for the Thomas Nelson book review program. John MacArthur explains the behavior and differences of Jesus time on earth in contrast with the present. When Jesus lived on earth he never appeased the people who were against him. He stated the truth, and stood by it. Christians today are being led into believing that we should accept the ways of the world, and love our neighbors. They say its hypocritical to judge. However, if we are living according to Christ then we must live according to what Jesus preached. MacArthur does a great job of providing support on how Jesus spoke against sinners. This book would be great for anyone wanting to learn more about Jesus, and what he stood for. However, it is always beneficial to cross reference any Christian book with the actual bible. I think MacArthur was concise with his writing, and provided scripture to support his ideas.Disclosure: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their [...] book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Young Wife
I was disappointed with this book. Ive read one of his other books, Twelve Extraordinary Women, and I enjoyed it very much.MacArthurs message is a good one. Hes right: Jesus wasnt mild or politically correct. Christians should follow his example at times and be bold and take a stand for the truth. We should also turn the other cheek at times. I just felt he could have shortened this book into an essay. Several chapters felt redundant to me.MacArthur also makes it clear that most churches today are too concerned with not offending people, and not concerned enough with preaching the truth of the gospel. Its good stuff, it just wasnt a great book. If I had to give a one sentence summary of the book it would be, Jesus didnt like the Pharisees, and he publicly told them so.There was one small detail I appreciated and would like to point out. My husband suffers from debilitating arthritis, and as MacArthur expounds upon Jesus healing a crippled man in John 5, he mentions that not all illness is a direct result of sin. You just cant imagine how some people think and imply that illness and disabilities are only a sign of Gods wrath.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Trent cotton
I recently finished read John MacArthurs book The Jesus You Cant Ignore and must say it was a hard book to put down. In a world of political correctness and subject tap-dancing, it was a refreshing look at the subject most mainstream Christians tend to avoid: Christian Confrontation.The book does a great job of explaining the need for Christians to confront those in the world who need it. In many of my posts on this blog regarding confrontation, I have received the barrage of emails saying things like, Jesus was a pacifist or love the sinner hate the sin. MacArthur cuts right to the heart of the matter by looking solely at Christ example by looking at who he directly confronted in His ministry: the proud Pharisees and Sadducees.In addition to providing solid examples and Scriptural support, MacArthur also spends a great deal of time explaining a lot of the history surrounding the environment of Jesus day. After reading this book, I have a clearer understanding of the Rules of Engagement as well as a better understanding for the need for confrontation in some settings to provide growth.I would highly recommend reading this book. Get it today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Was Jesus always meek and mild? Did He try to please those around him? In MacArthur's book, The Jesus You Can't Ignore, the relationship between Jesus and the religious leaders is expounded upon. While Jesus was compassionate to those in need (the sick, the poor, etc.), he constantly confronted the Sadducees and Pharisees for their hypocritical approach to religion. This book explores all Jesus' encounters with the religious rulers of the day...from His public chastisement of them to His conversation with Nicodemus.The Jesus You Can't Ignore gave me a new view on how Jesus operated with the "religious". I came to an understanding that if we are to be like Jesus sometimes we have to stand up for what is right. We have to "turn over a few tables" so to speak. Which means that we won't always be welcomed or loved by those around us. I also came to the realization that Jesus was offensive to some...He didn't cater to them and therefore, they hated Him. If you want to see the side of Jesus that stands up for what is right I would recommend The Jesus You Can't Ignore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beth
MacArthur attacks the notion that Jesus was always the soft, meek, and mild Teacher we learned about as children and who is the face of evangelic Christianity today. MacArthur, a widely-read and respected Christian author and pastor, mines the four New Testament gospels for events from Jesus' life when he confronted sinners with strong words.MacArthur first spends time making clear that he is not calling for belligerent Christians to hector passers-by on the street. However, he does decry the tendency of "post-modern" evangelicals to offer soft words and accommodation to those who challenge fundamental doctrines of Christianity. MacArthur uses the examples of Jesus given in the Gospels: while he consorted with common sinners to speak of forgiveness and love with them, he confronted the religious leaders of his day to challenge their practices This practice of confrontation in defense of truth is a key part of Jesus' ministry, says MacArthur: "The struggle between truth and error is spiritual warfare, and truth has no way to defeat falsehood except by exposing and refuting lies and false teaching. That calls for candor and clarity, boldness and precision--and sometimes more severity than congeniality."The confrontations arose, and continue, because Jesus Christ as the God-man has always been the lightening rod of the Bible and Christianity. Christianity in the spiritual realm, not the denominational or "religious" realm, is a relationship with a man who claims to be God, who claims to be alive after death, who claims to be the one path of salvation. MacArthur says it this way: "There are only two possible conclusions we can make with regard to Christ: He is either God incarnate, or He is a blasphemer and a fraud. There is no middle ground, and that is precisely the situation Jesus was aiming for."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Jesus You Can't Ignore: What You Must Learn from the Bold Confrontations of Christ, Large Print
This review is fromThe Jesus You Can't Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christian Books for Men blog
Mild. Quiet. Non-threatening. Docile. Do you use these words to describe Jesus? In The Jesus You Cant Ignore, John MacArthur presents additional characteristics of Jesus bold, demonstrative, confrontational, and accusing. By describing Jesus running battle of words with the Pharisees, this book reminds us that our Lord met false teaching head-on, even in the face of rejection, threats, and attacks.MacArthurs chronological approach taps all four gospels to bring the reader to an understanding of Jesus confrontation with the Pharisees over their false teaching and burdensome laws and requirements. Examples from Jesus private and public ministries are used to define His personality from the one-on-one meeting with Nicodemus to the the Sermon on the Mount. MacArthur skillfully weaves Old Testament references and cultural explanations to bring the reader to an understanding of the subtleties behind Jesus statements to the Pharisees. Rather than tip the scale away from a description of a calm and loving savior, MacArthurs goal is to leave the reader with an accurate and balanced depiction of Jesus. Many times, MacArthur reminds readers that as Christians, we arent to seek arguments or violently react to the little things. But when faced with false teaching, we should be prepared to dispute the falsehood as Jesus did with the Pharisees good advice for our postmodern-thinking world.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>