Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print Maid to Match, Large Print

Christian Large Print Maid to Match, Large Print

From the day she arrives at the Biltmore, Tillie Reese is dazzled--by the riches of the Vanderbilts and by Mack Danvers, a mountain man turned footman. When Tillie is enlisted to help tame Mack's rugged behavior by tutoring him in the ways of refined society, the resulting sparks threaten Tillie's efforts to be chosen as Edith Vanderbilt's lady's maid. But the stakes rise even higher when Mack and Tillie become entangled in a cover-up at the town orphanage. They could both lose their jobs...and their hearts.
Average Customer Rating:
4.744 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 out of 1694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Maid to Match, Large Print
Review 1 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting *Clean* Romance

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is set at one of my favorite places on earth: the Biltmore in Asheville, North Carolina. Having been there several times, I can attest to the accuracy of Mrs. Gist's description. She is not lying about the opulence and grandeur of the family's living quarters. She is not lying about the servants quarters either. Each room was furnished with a wrought iron framed bed. Their servants looked to be treated very well. The descriptions used throughout the book really make you feel like you're standing in the house or the mountains of Asheville.
Tillie Reese is in the running for the coveted lady's maid position. She gives her all to her job. After all, she's been training for it her whole life. She is kind, compassionate, and a little (ok, a lot) stubborn. She is a Christian, as well, and believes she is following God's will for her life. That is, until Mack Danver shows up. Mack is a ruggedly handsome mountain of a man (hehe) who falls in love with Tillie the moment he sees her. He is a smart, well-educated, God fearing (and did I say handsome) man. So, of course, Tillie is also attracted to him. But does he jeopardize the very thing Tillie wants the most?
The plot, along with the romance, is expertly written. Deeanne Gist knows how to build a story that sucks the reader in from the beginning and doesn't let them go until the end. In the midst of the romance (there are some "steamy" PG scenes), is a well-thought out and developed plot about the town orphanage. Her description of the orphanage makes you cringe along with Mack and Tillie. The Sloop's attitudes and actions make you angry, right along with Mack and Tillie. The story is not preachy; Mrs. Gist weaves in the spiritual element seamlessly and effortlessly. You root for Mack and Tillie in their struggles to do discern God's will for their lives and overcome their own desires and dreams.
Overall, I can't say enough good things about this book! I absolutely loved it! FIVE out of FIVE stars! Go read it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down!

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a wonderful piece of historical fiction and I read it in an afternoon. Like I said, I couldn't put it down! (although I rarely can when I get my hands on a good book :)
The more I read her books, the more Deeanne Gist is getting to be one of my new favorite authors. Her books have delightful characters and they're very well written and researched. Maid to Match was all this and more. I would highly recommend it to anyone who loves a great historical romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Maid to Match was Maid to Match You

Date:September 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
KenzieB
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Maid to Match. This was maid to match me. It was entertaining, enchanting, engaging, enlightening, and endearing (the alliterations were on purpose).
What really drew me to this story was the servant world that Tillie and Mack lived in. There has always been something very engaging about the servitude world. Deeanne Gist did a phenomenal job, making Tillie's world as a want-to-be-lady's-maid and Mack's short-term journey as a useful man come to life on every page.
Deeanne Gist did a phenomenal job about describing every setting I encountered in this book; from the cities with exhaust to the mountains with clean, fresh air, from the rich parlors of the Vanderbilts to the poverty-stricken corners of the orphanage. Everything about this book felt very authentic; the characters, plots, and dialogue.
Several times I wanted to rattle Tillie and open her eyes (I also wanted to tackle her demanding mother). But it would be a tough descision to make, the job your mother raised you to perform and the one you believe you love or the man you know you can not live a day without. Okay, so that's not tough at all. If it was me, I would pick the latter in a heartbeat. But I loved her determination to not be swayed in her beliefs and how she always was willing to help people in need.
I loved Mackenzie "Mack" Danver. Granted, it was a little weird reading a different alternative spelling to my name, but I really loved my name-sake. He always was looking out for the underdog, even when it got him into trouble. He was a great leading-man, and I loved that he had a twin (whoops! was I not supposed to say that?)
I have read this book several times and it just keeps getting better. The title, the cover, the summary, and the plot were enough to make me read it.
Anyways, a delightful read. I would recommend it to anyone over the age of fourteen who loves a great historical, fictional romance. I know that you will find that Maid to Match was maid to match you just as it matched me.
http://thereadingkorner.blogspot.com/2012/09/maid-to-match-deeanne-gist.html
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I very much enjoyed the rich history that accompanied this book as much as the story. The research that went into this book astounding. In my opinion is almost out-shined Tillie and Mack's story. Tillie a house maid, strives to become Lady Vanderbuilts ladies maid, one of the most prestigious positions at this time. But she is also helping the new handyman take off his rough edges. I enjoyed Tillie and Mack's story. They were funny, but not comical, romantic, but not sappy. It was a good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unnecessary sexual imagary.

Date:May 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janice
Location:Greenville, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The setting at the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, NC was accurate. But the description of the lovers' encounters were suitable for a worldview audience, not a Christian one. I will not read this author again.
Janice
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved!!!!! This book was so good!ok

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
sundrop32
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, I lived in Asheville, seen the Biltmore Estate, so reading this was like seeing the Biltmore when it was really lived in come to life!
I loved the ending! There is a orphanage and I kept in visioning the main characters as being the care takers this orphanage needed....and well I was so happy that the author wrote that to my favor...at least I thought it was my idea. She does so well at building up things that make you just about want to fast forward to know exactly what is going to finally happen.
I have read 4 of Dianne's books. And I already know my next big read will be hers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:February 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
preachersilverswife
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Gist has didn it again!!! She is quickly became one of my favorite authors. As someone who lives near the Biltmore House I can see that she truly took in the house and described it very well, for this fact I really could not put this book down. And I would not say it was predictiable cause of the twists, but amazing how she writes with scriptures and can make you feel each charecters feelings.... I love it and will be reading it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reviewing MAID TO MATCH

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
BevK
Location:WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a thoroughly enjoyable book from beginning to end. The author did a good job of portraying a life that most of us would not be able to live in today's world, but still contained the same type of problems. I enjoyed the mix of clothing, servanthood, romance. And when the important choices were to be made, they were dealt with after much thought and consideration. Respect for 'elders' was great, and the feelings of the heart and emotions expressed well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book keeps you interested in reading

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
saidy
Location:Springfield, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book has a little bit of everything; poor, rich, abuse, selfishness, survival to make ends meet, deceit, pride, anger, and the list goes on. A book like this keeps me glued to the end. That is how life is today, a little bit of everything but to know that God is in control makes life worth living.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Trip to the Past

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Location:Tyler, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Bucket List contains a visit to the Biltmore. Reading Maid to Match helped to give me that pleasure. Gist opened doors and windows to give a glimpse into that home. Tillie was easy to relate because of her desire to meet the goals set by others. Often one misses the best God has to offer by trying to fit into the mold set by others. Inserting the segment concerning the orphanage contrasted the opulence of Biltmore to the reality of actual living. This is a cannot put down book that keeps one running up and down the stairs and peeking into closets of a setting few experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Well Written!!

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grab this one on a relaxing day, when you just want a good, fun story that keeps you hooked!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down!

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becki
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was the first I read from this author. It was a great read. Just the type of book I love. I read it in 2 days. I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice read

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
anitaslp
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just visited the Biltmore this summer so was drawn to the book. I especially enjoyed the excerpt telling what part of the story is true.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book

Date:July 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
tgrn
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really enjoyed the book and all of Deanne's books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Book in the World!!!

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
kaleo9
Location:Soap Lake, WA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Tillie Reese, a very determined young woman, finally has a chance at being Edith Vanderbilt's lady's maid she decides to work harder than ever. But when a irresistible Mack Danvers comes to work for the Vanderbilts she finds herself in a bit of a tangle. The question is, does she care for him enough to give up her job?
I absolutely loved this book! I could barely put it down! Deeanne Gist is one of my favorite authors and she did a fabulous job on this book! I have and would recommend this book to any and every friend of mine.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deeanne Gist Does It Again

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Keli Gwyn
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don’t like to fly but was en route from Orlando to Sacramento. My flight was delayed due to severe weather, and I didn’t have a book with me. When I found Gist’s latest title, MAID TO MATCH, in the airport bookstore, I was thrilled. Her tale transported me to the turn of the century at the breathtaking Biltmore Estate, and I forgot all else as I devoured her captivating story. I loved her characters. Neither the Vanderbilts’ parlor maid, Tillie, nor their newest footman, Mack, are perfect people, but both endeared themselves to me from the start, and I enjoyed watching them learn important life lessons. Gist is a gifted storyteller, and I savored her rich descriptions, her historical details so accurately portrayed, and her clever dialogue. I highly recommend this wonderfully written romance.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Copson
Loved the book. It was a good story with historic value. Definitely worth reading! Now I want to visit the Biltmore Estate in North Carolina.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alissabeth
Deanne Gist is a new favorite author of mine. Her books are amazing and draw you in to the story, in a sweet and funny way. I recently received a copy of Maid to Match.Per the back of the book:From the day she arrives at the Biltmore, Tillie Reese is dazzled--by the riches of the Vanderbilts and by Mack Danvers, a mountain man turned footman. When Tillie is enlisted to help tame Mack's rugged behavior by tutoring him in proper servant etiquette, the resulting sparks threaten Tillie's efforts to be chosen as Edith Vanderbilt's lady's maid. After all, the one rule of the house is no romance below stairs. But the stakes rise even higher when Mack and Tillie become entangled in a cover-up at the town orphanage. They could both lose their jobs, their aspirations ...and their hearts.I really enjoyed this book. It was your typical love story with some interesting twists. From the moment I began reading, I felt like I was living and following the whole story, at the Biltmore. I could envision the atmosphere and felt the emotions that were brought out in the characters.This book is a sweet, humorous, but touching book. I highly recommend this book, if you have the chance.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
Deanne has done it again. I truly enjoyed this book. The story was engaging and very entertaining. I appreciated the depth of the research for this book. I loved the characters and the plot. The ending was great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Maid to Match, Large Print
This review is fromMaid to Match.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Fancher
If you're waiting for Ms. Gists next book you won't be disappointed! Maid to Match like her other books is a "I can't put down Book" and at the end a long sigh because its over.You are in it It engulfs you as if you and Tilly are family! Fantastic book,Fantastic writer!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.