Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print

Christian Large Print Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print

Emily Detweiler's family abruptly moved to Colorado after tragedy struck in Ohio. But Emily can't get far enough to escape what happened there.

David Stoltzfus is not happy when his family relocates from Pennsylvania to Colorado. Nevermind that they haven't told him why. David struggles not only with this unwelcome move, but also with the fear that a health condition could keep him from living his life in full.

Emily and David each come to terms with a past that follows them, testing their faith and resolve. Will they overcome adversity and step onto the path God has chosen for them?

Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 30100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Review 1 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Seek me with all your heart

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sherma
Location:Mississauga, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful story. This story is about finding love, hope and trust. Once again you fall in love with all the characters. I was especially delighted to see Lillian again in this story. I fell in love with her in Plain Perfect and enjoy following her family's journey. The new characters introduced were equally as delightful. I was saddened by Emily's tragedy but happy that she and David found each other. Another masterpiece by Beth Wiseman. Very highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Surprise!

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa Michele
Location:Pacific Northwest
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't start reading this book with high expectations. A couple of weeks ago I read Beth Wiseman's first novel, Plain Perfect, and I didn't like it at all. Still, I saw this book at the library and decided to give this author another chance. I am so glad that I did!! Beth Wiseman really hit it out of the park with this one. Seek Me With All Your Heart had none of the problems that Beth's other novel did. Unlike Plain Perfect, everything felt realistic and believable, especially the Amish culture. The storyline was captivating, and I was pulled in right from the first scene with David and Emily. I could hardly put this book down! I'm so impressed with how much Beth Wiseman grew as a writer and storyteller between her debut novel and this one, and I'm going to go back and read more from her first series. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must-read!

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jacqueline D Fallucco
Location:Ocala, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I strongly suggest this series, especially if a person or family has to move a great distance, suddenly. The series is very heart warming...I'm always a little sad to see a good series end....I always want one more book, or a series extended...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Moonstar
Location:Missouri Ozarks
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was more than expected. Another great Amish fiction that is worth the read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Celebrates the Amish of Colorado!

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh Mrs. Wiseman! I am so glad you brought your wonderful writing skills to the Colorado Amish scene. I am particularly loving that this setting is practically right around the corner from where I love in Western Colorado! That just about covers my thoughts on the setting.
In comes the plot and the rainbow of characters introduced (and moved in from the Daughters of the Promise series) and you have a book that is not to be missed!
I couldn't put this one down. Worst part of it was that it came to an end. Thank goodness it is only the first in the series ... something to look forward to!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is wonderful!

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lady Khaye
Location:Republic of the Philippines, RP
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seek Me With all Your Heart has totally captured my heart. I don’t think I’ve ever cried over a book so hard ever before than I did to this book. The first chapter has already choked me into tears.
The story does not only revolved over Emily, the main character, but also with those people who surrounds her. There was something in her past that keeps her from trusting guys. But Daniel seems to be an exception. Daniel’s rude attitude on Emily at their first meeting has triggered the fear in Emily’s heart that led her into shedding tears, leaving Daniel feeling so guilty. On the other hand, Daniel has also the reason why he keeps his distance from girls. And this is what’s stopping them and has actually made it hard for them to fully express their feelings for each other.
What’s fascinating is that you don’t only get so curious about Emily’s past (and also Daniel’s) and what might happen in the future, but the author has that power to get you captivated on the people in the couple’s lives as well. I love Emily’s personality. Maybe because at first, I can relate with her fear through relating with and trusting boys. I’m also amused at how Amish people are living their life the simple way!!! Ahh! There’s just too much to say about the book! It’s beautifully written! I highly recommend this to every girl out there especially those who doesn’t have a good past! Emily’s story will teach you how to confront a painful past and live the future with high expectations for the best! The best things in life comes after we completely trust Jesus in leading our future.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Seek Me With All Your Heart

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is the first in Wiseman's Land of Canaan series, but the Stoltzfus family is familiar from her Daughters of the Promise series. Emily and David are both convinced that they will never marry, for different reasons, but are still drawn to each other. They both fight their attraction, which felt realistic to me. I know a lot of people who are attracted to people they shouldn't be. Emily's situation is handled very well, in a realistic yet positive manner, unlike Cindy Woodsmall's Amish fiction title When The Heart Cries. There were plenty of laugh-out-loud moments sprinkled throughout the story, though I was a bit taken aback at the funeral for the parrot. I'm an animal lover, but even that was a bit much, grin. I am excited to see what happens with Katie Ann, Martha, and the others in the next book in the series, which releases next Autumn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
AyReen
Location:CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Seek Me with All Your Heart by Beth Wiseman is an Amish story about Emily and David's families. They recently moved to a new community across the country from everything they have ever known. Both have hurts and secrets that cloud their judgement and make walls form. The story cuts into different family members thoughts and lives, but still doesn't interfere with the main story of the growing love of Emily and David. They started openning their hearts and learn to live in a new place with new people.
I bet everyone will learn something and get something from this sweet story of love, heartache and growth.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. This review is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
angelartistok
Location:Norman OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very good story and perfect for enjoying a few moments of relaxing while reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Story!

Date:March 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Athena
Location:West Jordan, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the pleasure of reviewing 'Seek Me with all your Heart' by Beth Wiseman, and it was a treat! This book is the first in a new series, 'A Land of Canaan' novels. The Canaan referred to in this book is Canaan, Colorado. The Detweiler and Stoltzfus families have moved from their lives and families in Ohio and Pennsylvania to make new lives in Colorado, where there is a small community of Amish settling there. Emily Detweiler and her family moved to escape a horrible crime that changed their lives forever, and Emily believes she will never heal from the emotional pain inflicted on her by this crime. Her heart has hardened toward God, and she does not trust people anymore. David Stoltzfus is dealing with his own secret, and does not want to stay in Colorado. The two families come together and begin to help each other. They also begin connecting with people in the community, notably Martha, a tough, lonely older woman who is seeking meaning and purpose in her life, as well as the comfort of friends. Emily and David have romantic feelings for each other, but neither of them thinks they can have a normal future with a spouse and family. This book had some great twists and turns in it, and I enjoyed the storyline very much. It was refreshing to read an Amish story in a completely different setting than they normally are! I will definitely be reading the next book in the series when it comes out in the Fall this year.
Disclaimer: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Booksneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:March 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
cindy
Seek Me with All Your Heart, the first book in the Land of Canaan Novel, written by Beth Wiseman looks at Emily Detweiler and her family as they move from Ohio to Canaan, Colorado. In addition to the Detweiler family, the family of David Stoltzfus moves to Colorado from their home in Pennsylvania. Throughout this move, David faces health difficulties and Emily must face her past. Although they would both rather ignore their pasts, they begin to heal by leaning on one another. Through facing these difficulties, David and Emily find themselves drawn to one another and beginning to form a relationship.
I really enjoyed this book and liked the fact that it wasn’t a typical Amish story, in that it wasn’t based in Pennsylvania and it delved into the sensitive topic of rape and the way different people and families deal with difficulties in their lives. I liked learning about all of the different characters and cannot wait to read the future books in the Land of Canaan Series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended!

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
An Avid Reader
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seek Me With All Your Heart is a gem of a novel by Beth Wiseman. Whether you love Amish fiction or not, I think you will enjoy this book. It is a heartfelt and heartstring-tugging story that takes place in the brand new Amish settlement in Canaan, Colorado. Emily Detweiler and her family are trying to escape from the memory of a tragedy that took place in their old hometown in Ohio. David Stoltzfus and his family have also moved to Canaan for a fresh start, though David would much rather be back home in Paradise, Pennsylvania. What will happen if these two hurting souls can move past their own pain and find friendship? Well, that's for you to find out when you read this book!
I have found that most of the time when I read stories about the Amish, I cannot connect with the characters in the story. Their lives are just too different and too perfect. But Seek Me With All Your Heart is so much different-- and better. The characters are human and face struggles in their daily lives and in their faith. You find yourself being drawn deep into the story (and reading late into the night).
As David and Emily's story progresses, their faith is strengthened and they make new friends along the way. But this is not just the story of David and Emily. You will also meet and follow their families.
I would highly recommend this inspirational journey to Canaan. But be warned! When you reach the end, you will be longing for the next book in the series. Please hurry, Beth Wiseman, and write another story about Canaan, Colorado!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully written

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
dolodd
Location:Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first in the A Land of Canaan series, Seek Me with all your Heart is a story about three Amish families who moved from Ohio and Pennsylvania to settle in Colorado. Each family had a reason for the move that they preferred to keep secret. However, as they spent time together and began to interact with an English member of the area, all the secrets come to light and they experience a new freedom in their lives.
Beth Wiseman deals with very real issues (bitterness, illness, financial issues, unforgiveness and loneliness) that many families face in today’s world, each issue particular to various members of the families. She brings them through heartache and tears into a life that is much better than they had ever thought possible.
I found this book very refreshing and dealing with more of today's issues than many of the other Amish fiction books that I have read. I look forward to reading more of the books in this series as they become available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book Review: Seek Me With All Your Heart by Beth W

Date:February 27, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth Wiseman is one of my favorite writers when it comes to books about the Amish community. She is such a good storyteller and writer. So when I found this on Booksneeze, I was excited and quickly chose this book to read and review.
If you like books on the Amish, then you should definitely read it. It will definitely not disappoint you. She deals with marriage issues, dating issues, forgiveness, abusive relationships, and in a way addictions. I was glad that she talked about all of these issues so as to remind us that they are all humans just like us and can be tempted by the same thing as those of us who are not in the Amish community.
In the book, Emily and David have to put behind their pasts and come to a place where they can finally love and forgive the horrible things that happened to them. Not only that but Katie Ann must forgive and come to terms with how her life is/has/will change.
_______________________________________________________
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An excellent story about Amish living in Colorado

Date:February 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joline Urban
Location:western PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saturday, February 26, 2011
Seek Me with all your Heart by Beth Wiseman
I received a copy of Seek Me with all your Heart by Beth Wiseman this week from Thomas Nelson Publishers. Using some of the same characters from her Daughters of the Promise series, she tells the story of a new Amish community that has begun in Canaan, Colorado. David Stolzfus's family has moved there from Lancaster County, PA and he doesn't know why. He doesn't like their new home and is trying to earn enough money so he can return to PA. Emily Detwiler's family has moved there from OH b/c of a tragedy they are trying to put behind them. However, Emily can't seem to forgive and forget. David and Emily both struggle with understanding God's will for their lives. I read this book in one day; I couldn't put it down! I liked that the characters were interconnected from Beth Wiseman's previous series. The setting was modern day and it was easy to become a part of the characters lives. I can see why it won the Women of Faith Novel of the Year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING!

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to start off saying How very much I love Amish fiction! Beth Wiseman is one of my very favorite authors in this genre (Her and Suzanne Fisher Woods are at the top of my list!!) her books are always thought provoking and heartfelt!
This book in no way disappointed me, the main character Emily and her family face a situation that is difficult in most regular settings, but in the Amish community its very nearly unheard of! The descriptions in the book of life in the Colorado mountains was both beautiful and though provoking! I was impressed with the details she (Beth Wiseman) thought to include in the book when describing it! (But again, this is common with Wiseman's books, to include beautiful descriptions and details that give it a very real feeling!).
I don't want to talk too much about the actual story line, its so focused around a certain event, that I don't want to ruin it for those that are looking to read it! However I will say that this is another great book by Beth Wiseman, and I KNOW you won't be disappointed in this story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Couldn't put it down

Date:February 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debra Brinkman
Location:Yoder, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great book. A bit confusing in the first chapter, what was going on did become clear pretty quickly. The characters felt real, and their reactions and responses seemed pretty realistic most of the time. And I found that I really cared about them.
I loved that this story takes place in Colorado. I'm positive I've never read any other Amish Fiction taking place in this state... and I hope there will be more coming.
Spoiler warning: As in evident from the description, Emily has some issues. From reading the first chapter, I knew that Emily had been raped, definitely by someone she knew, probably someone she liked. Honestly, had I known that was the big tragedy in the publisher's description, I probably would not have read the book, so I guess I'm glad I didn't know.
Wiseman does an amazing job of showing a variety of very real responses on the part of pretty much everyone in Emily's family. Emily is clearly fearful in chapter one, and her road to being able to trust again is fairly rocky, with progress being made only to be lost in an instant for no apparent reason. Anger, shame, guilt, paranoia, loss of faith... honestly, I broke down in tears more than once in the story. I really wanted to be able to take Emily into my arms and do something so she would stop feeling like damaged goods.
Emily was far from the only character I wanted to sit down and chat with. In a good way... I know with some books, I just want to slap the characters and tell them to get a grip. These characters were real people though, and mostly I wanted to be able to put an arm around them and help them see a different point of view.
I read this book in the space of about 12 hours... only taking that long because I had to sleep. And I started re-reading the book already.
Disclaimer: As Booksneeze Blogger, I did receive this book for free from Thomas Nelson. No other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jerryann Gaynes
Location:WV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seek Me With All Your Heart was very inspiring. It encouraged me to do just that! Although it was an Amish romance novel, it was also an inspirational novel. The combination was awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great series by Beth Wiseman!

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
pegleg
Location:Dumas, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is going to be another wonderful series by Beth Wiseman. Her Daughters of Promise is just as spellbinding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Seek Me with All Your Heart, Land of Canaan Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL

Date:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Aurora, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This is probably one of Beth's best books ever! My biggest mistake again, was starting to read at bedtime. Needless to say I set my alarm the next morning to continue reading when I should of been finishing my Christmas to do list. It takes place in Colorado & you will laugh & cry. Be prepared for a great read. This is a 10 thumbs up!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>