Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print

Christian Large Print When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print

Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Review 1 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Devon
Location:Mount Vernon, New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book certainly helps to put the circumstances in our lives in an eternal perspective, and the author includes many anecdotes and meaningful examples to prove his point while using the playing of Monopoly as a metaphorical, and sometimes very realistic, backdrop.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
reader
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book. Some truths need to be repeated over and over. John Ortberg does this well, using personal stories and good humor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
bill
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommend this book for all who are caught up in the "rat race".
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well-written, well-presented and organized...

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruthe Fonfrias
Location:Sarasota, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well-written, well-presented and organized. Down to earth, life giving encouragement. The examples/stories given hit home. Very anointed.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ortberg; honest, thoughtful, serious, and fun.

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
James Dunker
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A reality check from John Ortberg in his usual honest, insightful, thoughtful, serious, witty and fun manner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book fits our "money/status" world today.

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marjorie A Smith
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised at how well this book presents how irrelevant today's money or status in the world is. What truly matters is not "things" but faith and belief in God and heaven.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gail
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this book, the dvd and study guide. I was so impressed with the book that I ordered it for our Sunday School class. John Ortberg writes in a way that keeps your attention and makes you think about your life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good practical christian life teaching.

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Karen Caridi
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our pastor read this and enjoyed it; and we have shared a couple copies with other people. The simplicity and practicality of the message is relevant today and always pertaining to the christian walk and life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Group Study

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cepac
Location:Deer Park, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Missed this book when it came out a few years ago. Makes for a great Group Study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A "must" read for every person over the age of 18.

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stef
Location:Regina, Sask. Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book had such an impact on me that I recommend it to everyone. I have gifted a number of copies as well. John Ortberg succinctly captures the essence of a life well-lived.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is a great read

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
EGK1
Location:Lakeland Fl
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"When the game is over, it all goes back in the box" is very interesting and thought provoking. It certainly is a worthwhile read and I recommend it highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Basic common sense

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
believe
Location:Sault Ste. Marie, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had already read this book and loved it. That is why I ordered 3 more for Christmas gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great message in a very readable format

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rich
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the way the author uses the game of monopoly to communicate biblical truths. He raises our awareness of how much we have bought into the American Dream and how far from reality that is in the context of the new testament and the words of Jesus. It is another in a series of wake-up calls to the church to change our thinking and to get engaged with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All I expected and more!

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bill Krouse
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rev. Ortberg has the mind of God! So many valuable lessons and guidance are found in these pages. It would make a wonderful Sunday School or small group study.
Measure your life by the yard stick of eternity and this book will point you in the heavenly direction: Straight to Jesus, Savior of the World and soon coming King! Thank you Lord for using John to reach me!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pam Holt
Very interesting book, good read, keeps you coming back for more. Great small group bible study. Your students will enjoy it and it really keeps them talking and involved with the class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brian Elmer
another great book in the Ortberg tradition --- takes a truth, paints a picture of present reality, and applies God's Word. Excellent resource to cause the listener to evalutate what they value in this life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bob White
This is a " toe stomping" book and a great small group study but the one problem that I have with it as a small group leader is that the leader's guide and the video do not align with the chapters of the book and that makes it difficult to coordinate the material per session.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Van Wettering
This is another great book by John Ortberg. This book powerfully illustrates the contrast between world riches and eternal glories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Advent Lutheran Church
The book is excellent..the DVD is not all that great. John does not speak to a gathered 'audience'--so it is not as effective as it should be. The book is GREAT though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for When the Game Is Over, It All Goes Back in the Box, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Arlene Danielsen
I ordered this book following the reading of Ortberg's "If You Want To Walk On Water You've Got To Get Out Of The Boat." I love his style of writing. If you like a little humor along with life's lessons, you will be enthralled with his books. I am just reading this one now, but, so far, it has me looking forward to each new chapter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>