Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print

Christian Large Print Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print

Plain Wisdom is a compilation of heartwarming joys and teary-eyed trials of two women - one Amish and one modern Georgian - who live over a century apart by custom, but share community, family, and Christ as a common denominator. Plain Wisdom offers insights and encouragement for Christian women from all walks of life, plus shares facts and details about Old Order Amish communities from a unique insider perspective. Large Print Edition.
Average Customer Rating:
4.554 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
63 out of 6597%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Review 1 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoyed this book / great subject material.

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anthony Garrett
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think that all topics they wrote about are good material for a women's group discussion or for women's retreat. Every area they talked about was interesting and applicable to the lives of families of today. I enjoyed it very much.
Jean Garrett
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great read - Lovely Book

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
A Restful Place
Location:Missouri
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I really enjoyed reading through Plain Wisdom by: Cindy Woodsmall & Miriam Flaud. It was especially neat to read how these two women from totally different lifestyles were able to come together and become friends and learn from each other. This book is loaded with practical wisdom on being a mother to many or a few children as well as so many other things. There are several Amish recipes mixed in as well that look pretty good. There are a few I'm going to try someday, hopefully! :) One of my favorite quotes from this book is:
Finding peace with our imperfect world and its imperfect people isn’t always easy, but if we don’t find a way to let go of our stringent ideals of how things should be, we’ll never be free to enjoy the greatest gifts life gives us. ~ Cindy Woodsmall
Cindy is a novel writer (written many other books), wife and mother, Miriam is an Old Order Amish wife & mother. In this book they share stories from their lives - their own childhoods, raising their children, homemaking, farming (for Miriam), and being wives. They bring their stories back to the scriptures many times and share the things they learned from the things they did or didn't do. I loved the easy read and it was a blessing to learn from this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An easy, and heart warming read

Date:June 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
aneternalpoet
Location:LaGrande, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found this to be a wonderful bit of insight into Old World Amish life versus the Englischer life . I felt like I was taken back to life's basics, including homemaking, homeschooling, and other areas of life that women today are interested in.
Plain Wisdom, by Cindy Woodsmall and Miriam FLaud turned out to be a very simple read for me. I enjoyed getting to know both the authors ,as well the Amish way of life thru the pages of this book .
Miriam is " Old Order Amish "whle Cindy is an Englischer . I think the success of this book is key to how they've enjoyed a close friendship for a number of years. Their lives, though different in beliefs, and customs are drawn into the readers heart as they deal with the same topics we all face in life, though they are handled differently. The same cares of life, the same worries, the same joys - but because of two customs, they are experienced in a different ' flavor' in the respective lifestyles.
Each chapter deals with an individual topic and both Cindy and Miriam wrote their own thoughts about the topics. This book is well written ,and gives good, solid advice, plus the unexpected thrill for me in yummy sounding recipes. A book that anyone would find helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Packed with ideas and inspiration

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lori Lynn Lydell
Location:Newport, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Several months ago, I got an advanced copy of the book Plain Wisdom through Blogging for Books. This book was like siting on a porch with an older mother gaining insight and advice. I have gleaned so many great ideas from this book. Some of the ideas are inspirational, some were practical, and I even got some gift ideas! I highly recommend this book, even if you're not an Amish Fiction reader. This is not fiction, but just what the title says, "Plain Wisdom."
I received an advanced copy of Plain Wisdom through the Bloggin for Books program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wisdom, Amish Style

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have long been fascinated by the Amish culture. Their lack of conformity to the general American population intrigues me. Some of this fascination and intrigue has come from living close to a Mennonite community (think "liberal Amish," if you can) and some of it is a result of a report I wrote on the Amish community for my Cultural Anthropology class my senior year in high school.
It's written in "partnership" style; within each chapter, you will find an anecdote or moral from Cindy, an "Englischer" (the Amish term for a non-Amish person), and from Miriam, an Amish woman. It's neat to see how often they have learned similar lessons through very different circumstances. God is sovereign over all! And remember - I typically shy away from fiction books, so real life anecdotes keep my attention much longer. It was like sitting down to coffee/tea with two new friends.
My favorite aspect of this book was the recipes! Many Amish favorites are spread throughout the book, and I can't wait to try them! Overnight Blueberry French Toast made me especially hungry when I read it.
As I read through the book, I desired to be discerning. There were only two instances that I definitely disagreed with what was said (both times written by Cindy). On page 182, Cindy writes, "The problem with lies is that there's always a smidgen of truth inside them. Our challenge is to disbelieve the lies, and if we can't do that, we must choose to believe God more than we believe the lies." I disagree, because Satan is the father of lies and God is Truth. You cannot walk the line between the two; you must choose one or the other. The other statement I disagreed with was on page 195: "Parents are simply grown-up children." While this may be true of some (0r even "many"), it is not God's plan. Childhood should end and adulthood begin. "Grown-up children" is an often-heard lie the world believes and propagates.
All in all though, I enjoyed the book. I recommend it to you, if this is anywhere near your preferred style of reading. On a scale of 5 stars, I'd give it 4.
In the garden of life, being successful isn't just about hoeing your own row but also about slowing down enough to help your brother hoe his row until he is caught up, then hoeing the rest of the field together. -Miriam (p. 22)
I received this book for free via WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. The perspectives above (not quoted from the book) are entirely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A VIEW OF BOTH WORLDS!

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I started reading this book I thought it was going to be an Amish fiction novel. When I saw it wasn’t, at first I was disappointed. As I continued reading it I was pleasantly surprised.
I have always been fascinated and admiring of the Amish and their way of life. This book gave me an even greater insight into not only their day to day living but a chance to peek inside the mind of an Amish woman and view life’s experiences through her eyes.
Cindy and Miriam had much in common in their lives as wives and mothers. At the same time there was such a contrast in their view points and how they handled what came their way. It was fun to read about their family customs and traditions. I could easily relate to Cindy’s modern life with all conveniences and technology. Then I would read Miriam’s account of a similar incident in her life had see a totally different point of view.
At times I could feel myself rushing around with Cindy in her busy schedule only to turn around and sit around Miriam’s kitchen table to visit and relax.
I like the book in other ways too. It was written in such a way that I could easily put it down and pick back up at any time.
Each chapter begins with a scripture is meaningful to both ladies and also that relates to the subject they are sharing.
I was very excited about all the Amish recipes in the book. I can’t wait to try them with my church and family. They were not only tasty but so simple! Just what I need!
The book was truly filled with just ‘plain wisdom’. Both ladies caused me to think and examine my life and similar incidents I have faced. Cindy is an author I always enjoy, but Miriam is a very talented writer herself. Thank you ladies for sharing your friendship, your lives and your hearts. Great job!
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Open the door to new friends

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heart and home embrace life in this honest, touching account of two women’s experiences—one Amish and one a modern American woman. Cindy Woodsmall and Miriam Flaud have woven their stories together even as their lives have become intertwined. What they share expresses both commonalities and differences, but provides opportunities for all to connect.
Everyone is part of a family, and that tie binds this book together. We get to peek into the lives of a bestselling novelist and a simple Plain woman. We read stories of their children and their parents, joys and hardships. Through it all, their faith rings true and brings encouragement to them and their readers.
This book can be read straight through or any short chapter can be chosen, perhaps what is most meaningful at the time. Authentic Amish recipes are included too. I was blessed by Plain Wisdom and feel like the authors have become my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is an inspiration to all who read it

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robbie
Location:Ozark, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutly loved this book and it is a keeper!!!! There is an undercurrent of understanding between Cindy and Miriam that carries over to the reader. There faith while different in many respects is so similar in the main respect. God the Father, God the Son, God the Holy Spirit, with the same end goal. It will stay in my small collection with The Shack next to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A glimpse into their hearts

Date:June 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Booklover21
Location:Gresham, OR
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just recently finished reading Plain Wisdom, a book written by Cindy Woodsmall, a popular Amish fiction writer, and her close friend Miriam Flaud, an Old Order Amish woman. From the moment that I began reading Plain Wisdom, this book touched my heart. The book is filled with glimpses of Amish life, recipes, and true-life stories. The cover states that the book is "an invitation into an Amish home and the hearts of two women", and I have to say that this statement is entirely true. I was absolutely fascinated by all the excerpts of Amish life, and was pulled in by the descriptions of the language they (the Amish) speak in, about their everyday life (cooking, baking and laundry) and how they do things without modern conveniences; about wedding celebrations and special holidays; about the home-businesses most of the women have, and about the games and activities that the Amish participate in. It was all truly fascinating and it made me yearn to experience a day in the life of an Amish woman.
The two women also included many stories about their everyday lives and the experiences that they have gone through, and I felt as if they had genuinely invited the reader into their hearts. They were honest and forthright, making me laugh at times, and also making me cry as well. And it also made me realize honest truths about myself, which in turn made me want to be a better person.
I highly, highly recommend this book. I would definitely encourage all women to read this book, because it will truly touch your heart.
Thank you Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group for supplying me with a free copy of the book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Would Highly Recommend This Book

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Real Mobo
Location:Brandon, MS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a long-time reader of Amish fiction and have been since I wrote a report about the Amish in high school. The stories are wonderful, there is nothing immoral or explicit in them and they provide a relaxed escape from the stressful day-to-day lives we "Englishers" live. Cindy Woodsmall is one of my favorite Amish fiction authors to read, so I was so very pleased to see that she had written a non-fiction book for her fans.
Each chapter deals with an individual topic and both Cindy and Miriam wrote their own thoughts about the topics. However, it is very evident to the reader that the very faithful Amish are not really that different than a "modern" Christian. They may dress differently and live differently but they have the same worries and same stresses that we have - just maybe in a different way. Miriam and Cindy are friends, not just co-authors and visit with each other just as you and I would out in the English world.
This book is very well written and gives good, solid sound advice (and some really GOOD sounding recipes) that anyone would find helpful. I usually pass my books along or trade them for free books on a book swap website but I think that I will be hanging onto this one for my library.
Good job ladies - I look foward to your next collaboration!
NOTE: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Plain wisdom review

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
cathy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Though I enjoyed this book, Plain Wisdom by C. Woodsmall and M. Flaud, it was not what I was expecting. This book is described as an invitation into an Amish home and the hearts of two women, but I felt like I was invited over and treated very politely; however, only onto the porch instead of into the home. I felt that the ladies could have fleshed out their stories. This book is a group of short essays by two women, one Amish and one Protestant, on living their everyday life. This book shows the similarities and differences of living in a conservative, close-knit community and a conservative, modern community.
I liked the Amish recipes and to taste the food that is such a prominent part of Amish life. I also liked how we see that the worries and problems of raising children are mostly the same no matter what the religion. Both pray that God will protect and bless our home and family.
I received this book for free from waterbrook Multnomah Publishing group for this reveiw.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sheryl Webster
Location:newaygo michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good story told by very different women and their backgrounds and their beliefs. im very much enjoying this book. i like how it shows that we can be friends with people of different backgrounds and culture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A refreshing read!

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was intrigued by this book just by looking at the cover. In an age of increasing busyness and technology, there is something overwhelmingly appealing about a life that is simple and unassuming. I was struck by the contentment Flaud's life exuded, and it left me longing for more of that in my own life. Definitely worth the read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was an excellent book

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
suzmom
Location:Portland,Or
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plain Wisdom by Cindy Woodsmall and Miriam Flaud was the kind of book hard to put down,and I didn't want it to end.
I loved getting a look into these ladys lives. I loved hearing how their lives were so very different yet so very much the same. It was an inspiring book and I am anxious to reccomend it to friends.
I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah
Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Plain Wisdom

Date:May 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I opened my copy of Plain Wisdom I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. Having read Cindy Woodsmall’s Sisters of the Quilt series, I was anxious to know more about how she got inspiration for her stories. When I realized that this book was co-written by Cindy and Miriam Flaud, the Amish woman who welcomed Cindy into her home; I knew this would be an interesting book. These two women share how they became good friends as a result of their visits and some of how the Amish live and work. But that is just the beginning.
Divided into seven sections, Plain Wisdom draws the reader into the lives of both women and shows their hearts through the telling of their real life experiences, past and present. It is fascinating to view similar experiences through the eyes of two women with very different lifestyles. The format of the book reminds me of a journal of life lessons in story form. Some made me laugh, some made me cry, but each story covered a spiritual truth that touched my heart in a special way. I was also pleasantly surprised to find recipes scattered throughout the book. There are several I can’t wait to try. I love the style and layout of this book. It would make a nice devotional for an individual or a group. This is a volume that I will not only share with others but keep in my personal library to read again and again.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is great.

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patty Ann
Location:Berne, Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women - is a great book. I am not finished with it yet, but am really enjoying it. It is a very good book to learn both about the Amish life and the "English" life too. Both lives have their struggles, and ups and downs, as well as happiness, also both look to God for their comfort, answers, and help. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Amish stories. I am hoping the two authors, Cindy Smallwood and Miriam Flaud would write another book. I really enjoyed this one. God bless both authors for their talents and their lives too! Also, where I live there is an Amish community too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sharing wisdom and encouragement

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
S Scales
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cindy Woodsmall and Miriam Flaud are very different. Cindy is a New York Times best-selling author. Miriam Flaud is an Old Order Amish woman. And yet, they are both wives, and mothers with dreams and a love for the Lord. Cindy and Miriam have developed a friendship and have joined to write this book. In Plain Wisdom, they have invited the readers into their lives – what they have experienced, what they have learned, what they enjoy, how they have hurt.
Honestly, it was wonderful and wanting at the same time. I enjoyed learning about the Old Order Amish’s lifestyle. However, the true treasure of the book was the advice and words of wisdom that were shared by both women. That was truly a blessing! I am still adjusting from a move away from family and community of support, so it was great to have older, wiser women to “talk” to! Also, I look forward to trying some of the recipes. But somehow it didn’t feel complete, like there could have been more. Maybe that was just because I wanted more from them?! However, now I need to begin, as they said in the book, “asking God to open doors” for me to find an older, wiser woman that would like to be my friend.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Blogging for Books, Waterbrook Multnomah Publisher’s book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sweet and Enlightening Read

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Betsy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently completed the book Plain Wisdom by Cindy Woodsmall and Miram Fluad. This non-fiction work is a collaboration between an Englishcer, Woodsmall, and an Old Order Amish woman, Flaud. Over a period of several years, Woodsmall, has spent time visiting with and living in Flaud's world. The camaradarie between these two unlikely kindred spirits brings a gentle sweetness to the book. Throughout the book the authors recount various life experiences and how their faith impacted these experiences. The readings are broken down into short essays. The section headings are "The Rhythm of Life," "Timeless Blessings," "Challenges Great and Small," "Laughter in Odd Places," "Beauty, Ashes and Things Between," " In His Hands," and "The Shape of Tomorrow."
Having previously read most of Beverly Lewis' Amish-themed works and some of Woodsmall's I have always been fascinated by the details, especially the running of the home and kitchen, that make up this particular lifestyle. I have visited Lancaster, Pennslyvania and surrounding towns. While there I tasted recipes unique to their culture and got a small veiw into the Amish world. While I would never personally want to live under the seemingly rigid religeous/governmental order that they embrace, I find the simpler, "close to the earth," lifestyle fascinating. Therefore to have a birds-eye veiw into the thoughts of a modern day Old Order Amish woman's heart, was too exciting to pass up. I found this book easy to read and engaging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great tale of Two women.

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
gracefulmaiden
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plain Wisdom, written by Cindy Woodsmall and Miriam Flaud, takes you into the world of comparison and differences between the Amish and Englisher's. Their religion, actions, the way they live, how different but similar they are, and their family life. It's full of exciting tasks, adventure, and well known recipes to their family, and how, at the beginning of their first meeting they didn't know as if they would get along-- being they were so different. But that was what they thought; until they discovered something different; the love of being friends, no matter the circumstances.
Through life there is always hardship, but there is always enjoyment, and fun, along with more than one way to do something. Cindy found that out when she took her first trip into Miriam's world. A world so much different from her own. A world that allowed no vehicles, electricity, or computers. Would she survive this trip with the lack of everything she's never been without?
Discover how Miriam and Cindy face life together- two totally different people- struggling through life simply seeking plain wisdom, with their trust in God.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful glimpse into two lives

Date:May 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miss Lynn
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plain Wisdom
Cindy Woodsmall ; Miriam Flaud
Water Brook Press
Non-Fiction; Christian-Amish Life
4 Stars
You are invited into an Amish home and into the Hearts of two women. One Englischer and one Old Order Amish; Cindy Woodsmall best-selling author and Miriam Flaud, Old Order Amish who live seven hundred miles apart but separated by customs that are centuries apart. Becoming best of friends they get together for visits and the result of that friendship is this book Plain Wisdom.
The book consists of short chapters with each relating to a subject dealing with their lives, their faith, families , finding peace, their work ethics and their backgrounds along with many other differences between the two. One will find heartwarming stories, humor and some great recipes. The book just goes to show that everyone no matter what religion they are will still have problems, friendships and worship the same God.
Reading many Amish books one gets the feel of their life through the novels, but to read them in a book of this setting brings their life more into perspective. I wish the chapters would have been a little bit longer and maybe in some things a little more detail. I did find some things repeated over in other chapters but that did really not deter me from the book. Excellent book to just sit down on a cozy afternoon with a cup of hot chocolate and meditate on what you read.
I received this book through the publishers blogging program. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.