Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Books KJV Concord Wide-Margin Reference Black Goatskin Leather

Baker Books KJV Concord Wide-Margin Reference Black Goatskin Leather

Generous wide-margins all around the text, a clear typeface and increased inter-line spacing are features that make this Bible very special.

  • Presentation Page
  • 8-point text
  • Double-column format
  • Center-column references
  • A Short Glossary of Biblical Usage
  • Concordance
  • Blank and lined note paper in the back
  • Map Index
  • 16 Full-color maps
  • 2 Ribbon Markers
  • Gold gilded edges
  • Genuine Goatskin leather black
  • 7 1/2" x 9 1/2" x 1 3/4"
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for KJV Concord Wide-Margin Reference Black Goatskin Leather
Review 1 for KJV Concord Wide-Margin Reference Black Goatskin Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Quality

Date:February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
prismflash
Location:Yakima, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I heard about Cambridge Bibles in the past, but they were really REALLY EXPENSIVE~!! My initial thoughts were, "Well, it's the word of God that Counts." However, I don’t want to replace my bibles over the periods of time whereas I could have purchased a ONE good bible.
Why buy the Goat-skin edition?:
Most bibles usually have End-sheets bonded to the leather, which cracks in the long run at the hinge, but the Black goat-skin edition has leather-on-leather. Also the goatskin has red/gold gild, instead of the traditional gold, or red gild around the sides.
Overall:
If you’re willing to spent over 120 to 150+ dollars on a higher quality bible that would last you a long time, just add $20 more and purchase this bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV Concord Wide-Margin Reference Black Goatskin Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good for personal Bible study

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Adrian
Location:Hershey, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The font is large enough to avoid squinting and the words are spaced perfectly. The wide margins allow for study notes while preserving the quality of the text. The extra pages in the back allow for more study notes without having to use additional note books. I would recommend a Bible sharpie to take notes.
This Bible allows for personal Bible study without all the commentary and comments.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV Concord Wide-Margin Reference Black Goatskin Leather
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kari Martin
I preface this review with, if you don't have problems with this Bible, then you have one published before Cambridge changed how/where they bind these. I'd love to know where to get an older one, as I adore this Bible, but it's unusable.Cambridge, at one time, offered the top of the line Bible. They have changed who does their binding and as such, this Bible with so many features and beautiful goatskin isn't worth the paper it was printed on. I bought two and both didn't lay flat, but stuck up in the air, which is a symptom of the bigger problem: when you gently pull on a page, it pops out of the Bible.I contacted the store that I bought it to return the second (which was worse than the first, by the way) and she said that their quality has gone way down and they have a lot of problems with the binding of this Bible also.It's so unfortunate, as this is the only wide margin Bible with lined paper in the back and with margins wider than 1" and it is unusable. Perhaps, they should look into paying more and do a Smyth sewn binding - this is NOT and it shows. They side sew the pages and they glue it to the spine--this I would expect from a $20 Bible. In fact, I have a $20 Bible that is made just this way. Even if the pages stayed in the Bible, it is not worth the price. The binding is stiff and the spine broke on my first one (which I had a week). If you want to write notes on the inner margin of this Bible, you'll be writing on a major arch, if you can write on it at all and have it be legible.I would have thought that Cambridge, with their reputation being what it ONCE was, would want to maintain it with quality binding. Wow, what a shame!
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV Concord Wide-Margin Reference Black Goatskin Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bro Harry Payne
I received my Cambridge WM KJV today. I was very impressed with it. I am certain I will enjoy it. I carried it to our friday night Prayer Meeting (five over Preachers) and they were all very impressed also. I have used Cambridge Bibles for years. My last Cambridge was a WMC 254. I have preached out of it since 1991. Still in very good shape inspite of the rough handling, I have submitted it to :D. I would recommend Cambridge WM to anyone. Thanks all.Bro. H. Andrew Payne
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV Concord Wide-Margin Reference Black Goatskin Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dr. Charles A. Barrier
This is by far the best Bible that I have ever owned. The cover is soft, durable, edge lined goatskin leather that is built to last for decades. The paper is bright, thick, strong, and shows no bleed through when using Sakura Micron 005 pens or Zebrite Bible Highlighters. As a matter of fact my notes are barely visible from the other side of the page. The print is sharp, clear, and bold, without any inconsitant printing anywhere. The margins are huge with plenty of room to write notes and references. The text is the TRUE Authorized KJV text without any of the word moderniztion or careless spelling, grammer, and punctuation found in many of the KJB's being published today. The glossary, concordance, and extra lined pages in the back are all great. If you are a serious Bible student looking for a Bible that will last a lifetime this is the one! Even though it is expensive, it is one of the few Bibles on the market today that is actually worht every penny! I give this Bible my highest recommendation!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV Concord Wide-Margin Reference Black Goatskin Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
mmarano
Breathtaking! This is the first bible I have ever owned that somewhat does justice to the beauty of God's word and I have been a Christian for close to 30 years. I have owned a Thompson chain reference bible in Premium calfskin leather and it in no way can rival this edition. I have to say it brought tears to my eyes to finally own a Bible that imparts a sense of grandeur. I am so pleased. I noticed the slightest imperfection (not even really) where the beautiful supple leather wraps around the front cover's corner edge but it only serves to accentuate the beauty of this edition even more. Cambridge should be commended for honoring God's word, by presenting it in a style worthy to carry the inscription . . , "HOLY BIBLE"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV Concord Wide-Margin Reference Black Goatskin Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jason Ricciardi
Hands down best Bible I own. I love God's Word in the King James Version and have over 50 Bibles total, at least. I don't really consider myself a 'collector,' but it's rather that I simply cannot get enough of 'em! Today is the 3-year 'anniversary' since I got this Bible and it has held up phenomenally, still has that heavenly leather smell, and is a monumental masterpiece as another review so aptly put it. If you're going to invest in a Bible - please...look no further!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV Concord Wide-Margin Reference Black Goatskin Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
dana sorli
This is by far the best edition of the KJV Bible I have ever seen.The quality of the binding and the leather is simply monumental.It has a beautiful typeface printed on high quality paper that allows nearly no bleed through of the text on the other side of the page.The margins are great for note taking as well.And lastly this edition and the standard KJV concord by Cambridge is to my knowledge the only way to get the 1769 text of the KJV with out any spelling or punctuation changes. So if your looking for a great edition of the KJV that will last more than a lifetime this is it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV Concord Wide-Margin Reference Black Goatskin Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mark A. Fischer
This is by far the best Bible I own. The quality of construction & materials of this Cambridge Bible is many times better than any of the other Bibles I own & I have many different publishers. I like the KJV & the intro. by the translators as well as the appointment by King James that is left out of the modern KJV Bibles. There is lots of room for notes around the text. It is a little pricey but if you want a Bible that will last more than a lifetime & to be passed down, this is the one!! God bless & I hope this is helpful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.