Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel

Christian Large Print The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 27100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
Review 1 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
This review is fromThe Brotherhood - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Brotherhood Jerry B. Jenkins

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an excellent police story. I really love how Jerry has Boone go through feelings and questions that I think I would face in this tragedy. I also really like how he uses God in Boone's unsaved partner to help him through this rough time. I'm definitely going to read the next book in this series and am looking forward to it. Thank you for such a well written book Jerry B. Jenkins.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
This review is fromThe Brotherhood, Precinct 11 Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read!

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is the first in a series of books by Jerry Jenkins. Jerry Jenkins is one of my favorite authors. His books always keep my attention and this one is no different. I couldn't put this book down...it's a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable read

Date:October 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
amazingbookreviewsbystarr
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rating: Enjoyed but slightly disappointed.
Boone Drake has spent most of his life working toward the goal of the Organized Crime Division for the Chicago Police Department. He is a young police officer who is working hard and plays it by the books. He is happy with his beautiful wife and adorable. Everything seems to be going according to plan until one day when Drake loses everything he loves the most and his career is now in jeopardy. He is not sure how to recover or he ever will. But a path that brings him face to face with the most dangerous gang leader also brings him face to face with a faith that he now questions and must redefine.
I was given the second book in this series to review, so I had to go out and get the first one. I enjoyed this book, there were parts that I felt could have gone deeper or have been less predictable. But it was still good writing. I think that Drake has a faith but like most people there are other things that he has to focus on so it’s not a priority. The event that emphasizes is devastating, but I am not sure if anyone –regardless of the strength of their faith-could recover so quickly from. I guess that’s what’s disappointing- time does pass to show the process of grieving and healing but it still felt like it was happening too fast.
But that’s really all of my complaints for this book. I like the struggle with faith and questioning God. I like the fact that, though it is mild, Drake turns to drinking. It’s not something common that you see in Christian fiction; alternative methods of dealing with stress and unwanted tragedies. But it’s a real response. So I appreciate that. I like the connection that develops between Drake and the gang leader. There is even the fluttering of a romance that is nicely done.
The ending was a lot less predictable than Drake’s faith struggle. And though I wasn’t gung-ho over this book, I am glad that I read it and I am looking forward to reading the next one. This was a different glance at cops behind the scenes and it was believable and refreshing.
Recommendation: Fans of Jerry Jenkins, police drama, adult fiction
Always Shine,
Starr K
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting & attention keeping

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lucille Cole
Location:IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was hard to put down so read it in a couple days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You won't be able to put it down!

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elder Wiggins
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started this book and could not put it down until I was finished. It draws you in with the story of a successful young man who is living the life he’s always planned -the career, the wife, the kid, the house…until tragedy strikes. I’ve read some of Jerry B. Jenkins other books, but it was something about this one that reverberated deep in my soul.
Now, I’m not usually an emotional person, but the climax of the book made me flat out heave with sobs. You might not think that’s a good thing, but not only is it good to cry, but it lets you know some things about yourself that you may not have realized. The life lessons for me was three-fold.
1. Life is precious, so value every moment spent with your loved ones, especially those you live with.
2. Success in our own eyes pales in comparison to that of the Father. (He knows the thoughts He thinks towards you, thoughts of good, not of evil, to bring you to an expected end ~Jeremiah 29:11)
3. We can have no other gods before Him, so be careful who you give your worship and adoration. Our spouse and children can quickly become idols IF we are not committed to Christ. This is true whether you are a new believer or have been going to church since you were a child.
We never know when tragedy is going to strike in our lives, but regardless what we go through, God can turn it around for our good. I want to emphasize that God is not the author of confusion, but He does allow our choices to ultimately bring us closer to Him.
Restoration is the underlying theme in this book. Whether you are familiar with law enforcement, gang wars, or any other type of criminal activity, this novel offers a refreshing look at God revealing Himself to His children. As the end draws near, you begin to see that God really does offer us second chances to get it right. In all truth, it’s a fulfillment of Proverbs 22:6 “Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old, he will not depart from it”.
You may know the author from the famous Left Behind series novels. This book is the first in Jerry B. Jenkins new police trilogy. It’s a great reminder of the cost of sin, but the greater cost that Christ paid to take away our sins. I can’t wait to read the next in the series from this very gifted evangelistic novelist.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes from Tyndale House. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here is strictly my own views of the book. Please visit www.tyndale.com for more information on this book or author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
This review is fromThe Brotherhood, Precinct 11 Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific Book!

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
After reading some of the reviews, I must state that I think it is totally inappropriate for people to basically tell everyone what the book is about! My REVIEW is that it is a very emotional book with a terrific lesson about about God's purpose in our lives, especially in difficult times. Don't read in public, ladies!!! I had tears streaming down my face during certain parts of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Brotherhood (Precinct 11) my review

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The novel revolves around the lives of Boone Drake a young officer and wife Nikki with their son Josh and Jack Keller senior officer. Both officers in the Chicago beat partners on 2nd watch. Tragedy struck the life of Boone leaving him with his thoughts and struggles. Upon his return to the police force he aquired arother partner, Garrett Fox and life seemed to become better for Boone as he focused his attention on his job and not on his personal life. But when he got the assignment of a lifetime he found himself staring at the most dangerous face he has ever encountered in his career. But what happens when the fright becomes reality? Novel does drag a little in certain parts but overall an entertaining, enlightening and suspenseful read! Satisfying plot would recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense and Thought-Provoking

Date:June 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
KitKatDoe
Location:Cedar Rapids, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry Jenkins has another winner in his new ‘Precinct 11’ series debut. The main character, Boone Drake, is a young cop with a family, and faces some challenges and questions in life that any one of us could be facing: How real is my faith? What does God expect of me? What is forgiveness all about?
As Drake works through life’s trials, and gets put into tests as a cop, he begins to question himself, his partners, and God. He must finally find the ultimate answer to: Does God really give us new beginnings and second (third, fourth…) chances?
This was a book I reviewed for Tyndale House Publishers, it is one I highly recommend for those who enjoy suspense and thought-provoking reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good read

Date:May 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judith Holstein
Location:St Louis MO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though the main character experiences a great tragedy at the beginning, he finds a new beginning.
Very good story line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
This review is fromThe Brotherhood, Precinct 11 Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thought Provoking!

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
LVescape
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Jerry B. Jenkins has started a new police thriller series in the Precinct 11 novels. The first installment, The Brotherhood, introduces us to Boone Drake as a young go-getter cop who wants to impede gang activities on his beat. He and his partner, Jack Keller, work the night shift and put their lives on the line each and every night. When he’s moved to the day shift, he’s not home when a tragic accident hits his family.
Boone has to make the unimaginable decision to keep his wife alive or let her go. His guilt and sorrow so deeply affects him that he questions his life and faith. How can God allow such bad things happen to such good (and devoted) people? While he questions God’s actions, his bitterness grows. Jenkins asks the hard questions and makes the reader really think about their own faith—he doesn’t provide a cliché explanation like so many other Christian novels do. The lesson I took from this is to cherish each and every day with your loved ones because you never know when God will call them home.
Fast forward to a year later……Boone’s partner is up for promotion in the Organized Crime Unit and Boone wants to follow him to bring down the gangs, drug lords, and the “mob”. Why should these lowlifes live to kill while his faithful family is destroyed? Why should these criminals be rewarded for their evil ways? Again, Jenkins allows the reader to dig deep and reflect on their own beliefs without providing a pat answer.
The Brotherhood dives right in to gang and mob activities that are probably more real-life than we care to admit. Boone works with one of the high ranking gangbangers who has turned his life over to God and wants to atone for his sins. Seeing the change in this criminal helps lead Boone back to the Father he once knew. Although Boone is skeptical about God’s plans, he realizes there’s a reason for those plans and a reason that certain people come into your life. A second lesson I learned is that God knows what he’s doing and it’s not our job to question His plans for us.
The book has an interesting plot and Christian theme. I’ve never read any of Jenkins’ other works (Leave Behind series in particular) so I didn’t quite know what to expect. I liked the way he integrated Christian beliefs without being cheesy or preachy. It was also kind of an eye-opener to frightening organized crime activities that are out there.
That said, I did have a couple issues with the book. Not that I want to discount the tragedy with Boone’s family, but it took up the first 200 pages of the book. Personally I thought the organized crime case should have been more developed. Also, there was a jump in the time line that I thought should have been included—the year between the tragedy and the beginning of Boone’s move to the organized crime division is pretty well glossed over. However, even with those issues, the book was still interesting and unexpected (no spoiler here!). I couldn’t wait to get through the last few chapters just to see how it all ended!
I received this book free from Tyndale Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Book

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
AFthfulJrney
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the moment this story starts, it is filled with emotion and grabs your attention without any plans of letting go. Boone Drake is faced with an unimaginable tragedy. It threatens to destroy him and a career title that he has worked so hard for. When daily he is reminded of his loss, where will he turn? Family? Friends? His faith? God? Where do we often turn when life just doesn't go as we planned?
This story raises some tough points and answers some great questions as to just why we run from God when times get tough instead of running towards Him for the comfort and advice we need. We are so quick to blame God instead of seeking out His perfect plan in the midst of something tragic.
This story has it all; loss, healing, love, redemption, and grace! I highly recommend this book. It was a blessing to me and though the story is fiction, it rings through with so many truths.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
This review is fromThe Brotherhood, Precinct 11 Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It sucked me in

Date:February 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeff LeMaster
Location:Glens Falls, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At times, I can play “hard-to-get” with a book, daring it to suck me in after only the first few pages. The Brotherhood succeeded. Before I knew it, I was on page 50.
SUMMARY
Set in modern Chicago, The Brotherhood follows the career of a young, idealistic, talented cop named Drake Boone.
At first, I thought that the title of the book referred to the espirit de corps among police officers; then when the author introduced the gang subplot, I began to see “the brotherhood” in a new light. But it wasn’t until the midway through the book when the real meaning came to light: the bond that Christian brothers have through their faith and relationship with Jesus Christ. What else could so tightly yoke a cop and a gang lord?
The book is well-paced with alternating moments of tension and release. You almost get the feeling that you are riding along in the patrol car with some of our fine men in uniform.
The romantic subplot was a little predictable (this tongue-in-cheek criticism from a typical, romantically-challenged male).
SO WHAT?
God’s grace shines brightest in our darkest times. Initially, I was upset with the author for introducing tragedy as soon as he had endeared the reader to his protagonist. I almost felt as if I were moving through denial, anger, depression, and acceptance along with Boone.
Boone is your Everyman. No, we don’t all have his six-pack or chiseled face, but we all ultimately struggle with realizing how little control we actually have over our lives, and how dependent we are on God every moment of life.
If I can be reminded of that truth from a book, then it is a good read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers as part of their blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Brotherhood

Date:February 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
aliya
Location:Orange County, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I saw that I had an opportunity to read a book by Jerry B. Jenkins for review, I jumped at the chance. I’m pleased to say that the Brotherhood did not disappoint.
In the beginning of the story, Boone Drake, a rookie cop with the Chicago Police Department, loses his young wife and son in a tragic fire. I found it hard to get through the first five chapters without tears streaming down my cheeks. With his family gone and his home damaged by the fire, Boone is left virtually alone. His parents and in-laws are sharing in his grief, his partner from the PD opens his home to him, and his pastor reaches out to him, only to be met with resistance.
Boone is in a state of limbo for a while. On leave from work, separated from friends both socially and emotionally, he begins to throw himself into the one thing he still loves- his work. His desire to work with the OCD (Organized Crime Division) eventually comes to fruition, and he has the opportunity to make a major impact in the city’s gang problem. Through all this time, his Pastor has stayed at arms length and has kept in contact through text messages containing scriptures for Boone to look up.
Boone is faced with decisions – will he move on with his life? Will he allow God’s love to penetrate his suffering heart? Will he allow God to use him, and if so, how? When I started this book, I thought that I had the end all figured out from the beginning. Fortunately, The book did not fit into my preconceived notion of how it would play out.
Note: I received a complimentary copy of the book for review purposes from the publisher.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
This review is fromThe Brotherhood, Precinct 11 Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book!

Date:February 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Luke F.
Location:Indiana
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review:
Jerry Jenkins is one of my favorite authors, and he’s written some really great books. If you’re a fan of his books, then The Brotherhood will be a great addition to add to your collection. On the upside, it teaches us that God is not the author of death, but does allow people to die to bring glory to himself. Also, there’s some great action scenes if you like those types of books. On the downside, there are a number of references to mature themes that some parents may not want their younger children to see. There’s nothing explicit though. And if you don’t like reading sad things, you may not want to buy it. (SPOILER: Boone’s son in killed in a tragic fire and his wife dies later from severe burns. Boone struggles with their death and resorts to wine to help him sleep, but after a while he resolves to stay away from it.) Out of five stars, I’ll give this book 3½.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a cop drama full of tragedy and forgiveness

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Brotherhood is the first book I've ever read by Jerry Jenkins. I enjoyed this book since I'm a cop drama junkie, yep I love all kinds of cop tv shows. The Brotherhood was like reading a script for one of those shows. This book was full of tragedy and heartache. I can't go into full detail as I don't want to ruin the book. The main life lesson of this book is that no matter the tragedy God will always stand by you and guide you through it.
Jerry Jenkins owns the Christian Writers Guild which helps up and coming Christian Writers. Jerry has also been the author behind many books and even a comic strip.
thank you tyndale for allowing me to review this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Glad to see Jerry writing better books again

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
fictionbuyer
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dear Readers,
I belong to several different publisher blogsites where you can request a book in exchange for a review of their book. I do this because it forces me to read books that I would normally not read. The Brotherhood by Jerry Jenkins is one of these books that I received from Tyndale publishers.
Several years ago I fell in love with Jerry Jenkins' writing and it had nothing to do with the Left Behind series. (Which I thought were very well written, but I didn't really care to read that many of them.) It had to do with a little book called Though None Go With Me. If you haven't read it, it is worth tracking down a copy and reading it. Last I heard it was out of print, but I can check that out for you. Just let me know. He has also written a couple of other books I have enjoyed, but the last two of his I have read I haven't been overly impressed with, so I wasn't sure I was even going to read this one. I will admit one of them was a re-release of an older book of his, but still...
I am going to admit I liked this book in spite of myself. I kept thinking I wouldn't like it and yet I enjoyed the story. It is mostly a story of a man recovering from one of the most devestating things that could happen to him. The lost of his wife and child. The first 2/3's of the book are the story of Boone and how he is trying to put a life alone together without having anything else hurt him. He works hard to keep control of everything he can and yet work towards healing.
His faith is tested once again when he is brought up on brutality charges. He could lose the last thing important to him. It is a crisis of faith that forces his hand on deciding whom he will choose to serve.
The last 1/3 of the story is where I actually started really enjoying it. It is where the organized crime/gangs get involved. It is a bit more high suspense and what I actually hoped for from the book. Jerry is good at writing an emotional story, but he also can write a good action story. This book has both and even though that didn't really bother me and I enjoyed both storylines, I wish he had done one or the other. I felt like there were gaps in the story that we were left to conclude on our own. We jump ahead about a year and half with little warning. It just seemed to me that the story was forced to move quickly so we could get to the next storyline.
I do recommend this book, but go in knowing it isn't action packed from start to finish. It only took me two days to read so it isn't a long book or one that I wanted to slow down and enjoy.
Happy Reading
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is good

Date:February 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Evangeline Han
Location:Melaka, Malaysia
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Brotherhood is about Boone Drake, a cop in the Chicago Police Department. He has it all. A beautiful wife, adorable son, good working partner, and a career plan that is seeing him rise rapidly through the police ranks. Suddenly, horrible tragedy strikes and his secure world is destroyed. He has to learn how to return to the God who has been with him in the most difficult moment of his life. He also has to learn to love, hope, and have faith again.
I found this thriller novel an interesting read. The plot in the beginning and end of the book was a bit ‘bland’. They were what I thought it would be; just like other thriller novels I’ve read. I also didn’t like how the book ended. However, the middle part of the story compensated for all of that. The tragedy, which was one of the novel highlights, was unusual and captivated my attention. I couldn’t stop reading my electronic copy of this book until I had found out what was the end result of the tragedy.
The story also teaches readers life lessons about dealing with tragedy and how God never leaves us even though we sometimes go astray from Him.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received the electronic copy of this book free from the publisher through the Tyndale House Publishers <http://tyndale.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New Series by Jerry B. Jenkins

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ivani
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Brotherhood is a police thriller set in Chicago. It’s a compelling story of a young police officer facing devastating life events. The message of faith and redemption is illustrated within the painful realities of an imperfect world filled with death, violence and disillusions. This new series by Jerry Jenkins will no doubt be another popular Christian Fiction success reaching mainstream audiences everywhere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought Provoking Thriller

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boone Drake has everything. Beautiful wife that he adores, adorable son, the perfect job. But he's got a problem ~ he thinks he's the one responsible for his perfect life. When that perfect life spins wildly out of control and he's faced with a lonely future, where will he find his comfort? To the God who has been patiently waiting for him, or will he blame God for taking everything away?
This was a difficult read for me, not because it's messy and ill-written. On the contrary, this is an extremely well written book. What else would someone expect from an author superstar like Mr. Jenkins? No, this novel is full of tragedy and heartbreak. (Two things I don't deal well with) Mr. Jenkins has the ability to navigate these complex emotions and make them believable and gut-wrenching.
If you're a fan of gritty police thrillers that have tragedy, this is probably the book for you. If you're more of the type of reader that likes to feel happy after you've finished a book, then you may want to pass.
"...sometimes God has to allow a person to come to the end of himself before he realizes his deep need."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Brotherhood: A Precinct 11 Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating Christian Police Series

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miss Lynn
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Brotherhood; A Precinct 11 Novel
Jerry B. Jenkins
Tyndale Publishers
5 Star Rating
Boone Drake has it made. A beautiful wife, a wonderful marriage, a young son and the house they always wanted. He is also fulfilling his dream of being a police officer and is fast rising up through the ranks in the Chicago Police Department. One moment Boone is enjoying life, his family and his career and next a devastating fire takes away his happiness in a split second. His wife , his son and his home , everything that is except his job and right now that is hanging in the balance. How can a God that is so loving take everything away from him in a matter of moments. With his own sanity and faith hanging by a thread its only by the close friendship and help of his partner Jack Kelly and his Pastor Francisco Sosa that Boone is finally able to return to his job and become a stronger person. Moving up into the thrones of the Organized Crime Unit, Boone soon learns to turn from his hatred for God and his faith grows daily when he meets Haeley ,a single mother with a young son and one of the toughest gang leaders there is, Pascual Candelario.
In the first book of his new Police series, Jerry Jenkins really knows how to get the reader involved from the very first page of the book. This is the first book that I have read of the authors outside of the Left Behind Series and now I cannot wait for future books in this series to be on the market. The Brotherhood is a novel that covers all aspects of the career of a police officer to the crisis of one’s faith. From the lowly drunk that disturbs the peace, domestic abuse, to the most callous offenses, drugs, gangs, murder for hire , organized crime cartels and the offices who put their lives on the line to protect the public to the unanswered question of: why does God allow tragedy to come into the lives of a Christian while those who do the crime seem to get by unpunished. It was so easy to get involved in the lives of the characters with an ending that leaves room for the next book. The book will leave one wondering about the strength of their own faith. Highly recommended.
What lesson did I learn from this book? Thinking back to the book of Job , sometimes God allows us to go through a real challenge in our life. One thing we all need is to learn to trust and see the importance in God’s purpose even if it is through the midst of suffering. Boone learned just as Job did that we may never know the purpose God had in mind when he allows us to go through a suffering period ,but we can always be assured that God is in control of the whole situation and we need to place our trust in him. We must always remember that our God is big enough to take it but still love us even when we shake our fist at Him and turn our back away for awhile.
Jerry Jenkins is best known for his Left behind Series that he authored along with Tim LaHaye. Author of over 175 books including many non-fiction Christian books. A former editor of Moody Magazine, vice president for publishing, and now on the board of trustees for the Moody Bible Institute he also owns Jenkins Entertainment (www.Jenkins-Entertainment.com), a filmmaking company in Los Angeles and The Christian Writers Guild (www.ChristianWritersGuild.com).
This book was provided by Tyndale through their Blogger Review program. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here is strictly my own view and thoughts of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>