Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print The Crossing

Christian Large Print The Crossing

Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 978%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Crossing
Review 1 for The Crossing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read!

Date:November 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:california
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the 3 book series and I am glad I did... it would have been awful to have had to wait for book 2 and 3 if I had not purchased them together. (you just want to keep on reading and reading). The author weaves together our nation's history, romance and Godly principals. I laughed, cried and was reminded of how very much we have to be thankful to God for. Each character and their situation in life was a reminder of how gracious our Lord is and how much He cares for each of us. I very much enjoyed reading these books and then discussing what I had read with my husband.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Crossing
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not very Amish

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
anyamishbooks
Location:Pensacola, Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this series because it was listed under Amish Fiction, and because I have read Gilbert Morris's books before. I was disappointed with this book. It had only a small part that was Amish. Yancy's family keep saying they where proud of him. The Amish believe it is a sin to be proud, that is why they all dress the same. One other thing Yancy never joined the Church and they still Shunned him. That is very rare. I did read all three of the books in this series and the only book with any Amish was the first book. Except for the Last name of the main male character that is the only tie to each book. After the first book was done Yancy was not mentioned in the other two books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Crossing
This review is fromThe Crossing - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Historical Fiction Novel!

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gilbert Morris is one of my favorite authors and this book does not disappoint. Based on the history of the Civil War, the book takes a close look at Stonewall Jackson and a few of his aides. The main character is a courier by the name of Yancey Tremaine, whose background includes living with the Cheyenne and the Amish. The book takes you through the first few years of the Civil War, with Yancey searching for what God wants him to do with his life and how the war changes his life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Crossing
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a huge fan of Gilbert Morris, but this story left me unsatisfied. While its about different types of conflict, it seemed to only touch down on the issues. Heavy on detail, light on depth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Crossing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply the best

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
sherylc
Location:Haughton, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read everything written by Gilbert Morris. I am so impressed how Mr. Morris always intertwines history and the story.
This book is the best book that I have read. I cannot wait until August.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Crossing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Civil War Saga

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book, what a gift Gilbert Morris has, and I for one am glad he shares it.
I learned a lot about the Confederate side of the War, which I hadn't known. I have always lived in the North, but this book was making me root for the South.
I loved that included in this story was facts about the Indians...Cherokee, Amish, Virginia Military Institute, and the Civil War. There are also a few love stories intermingled with the Military.
There are things that happen that will make you chuckle and others that you will need tissues for. I loved the descriptions of the beautiful America...mostly in Virginia where this novel takes place.
I can't wait for the next two books in this Civil War Saga.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Crossing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lucinda Pruss
Location:Aurora, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a book that I could not put down. It was everything and more that you would expect from Gilbert Morris. A definate read to put on your to read list. Will definetly not disapoint!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Crossing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An informative read

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Trisha
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For those who appreicate an accurate and skillfully handled intermingling of civil war historical facts with fiction, this is a book for you! All characters, whether real or not, are carefully created to make what happens to them believeably real. Detailed scene description also adds to the overall affect of being there with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Crossing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mr O
Location:Levant, ME
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks like this could be another Gilbert Morris hot series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.