Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print The Healing

Christian Large Print The Healing

Average Customer Rating:
4.655 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 out of 2997%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Healing
Review 1 for The Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a wonderful read.

Date:May 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Trout
Location:Duncannon, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though I live in Central PA and their are many Amish communities, I had not read Amish fiction before. It was a great read. It was a steady read and after the meals in the book I had to make them too. Now I'm reading the 2nd book in this series the Struggle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT STORY GREAT VALUE

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
KIMH
Location:galway, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great story and now I'm looking for the third book of this series, The Struggle. It appears you just have it in the audio version?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hard to put down.

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lyn S
Location:Ivey, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wanda Brunstetter continues to offer exceptional reads. Can't wait to get the third installment to Kentucky Brothers.
Next time, I can read all three back to back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
gabby
Was a very good book. Love reading her books. Good writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Healing
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy to understand for a foreigner

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
egilland
Location:Norway
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In this book we learn a lot about the Amish people and their way of living. I found the book worthwhile reading both because of this, and because I found the story interesting and thrilling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good read.Was interesting and inspiring

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda Adrian
Location:Rockledge Fl.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As always this author did not fail to meet my expectations and made it hard for me to put the book down !
Love the spiritual message in both of these books,and can not wait to read the others !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I have read the first volume

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
reads123
Location:Wayland,NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like to read books that follow the same story line. Read the first volume and waiting for volume 3
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Healing
This review is fromThe Healing - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good read.

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Librarian
Location:Langley, BC, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very enjoyable book. Good story line. Well written with a plot that makes you want to keep reading to find out how it ends. Would recommend for a relaxing entertaining read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Healing
This review is fromThe Healing - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All kinds

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda Landreth
Location:Corpus Christi, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are all kinds of healings,...emotional, spiritual, physical, relational. Even in the Amish plain life with their acceptance of God's will for unexpected and harsh happenings. God is still the Victor!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wanda Brunstetter does it again!

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sherrie
Location:Bridgeton, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Healing book #2 of the Kentucky Brothers Series was excellent. I have enjoyed this series very much and cannot wait for the next book to come out. The characters were interesting and the story kept moving. I never got bored reading this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Healing
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The story becomes tedious.

Date:December 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grammy
Location:Washington
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Brunstetter's stories are sweet and gentle, but it's becoming hard to slog through all the tedium to find out how the story finally turns out. So much paper is spent reviewing former books to bring you up to date that the current story takes a back seat. The characters are sometimes frustrating because it seems the mothers are overbearing, people misunderstand each other, etc. And I'm surprised that the grammar in the book is not corrected by the editor -- not the people's speech, but wrong word usage. I will not be buying another Brunstetter book -- I've discovered if you've read one, you've read them all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding Love

Date:November 21, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grieving widow Samuel Fisher moves his family from Pennsylvania to Kentucky. Samuel and his four young children temporarily move in with his soon-to-be married brother, Titus. Samuel's understandable grief makes him unbearable to everyone around him, especially his children.He doesn't do anything fun with them and just wants to be alone.
Allen Walters, a friend of Titus's gets Samuel a job fixing up Bonnie Taylor's house. She inherited it from her grandmother and is turning it into a Bed & Breakfast. Working helps Samuel keep his mind off of Elsie, his deceased wife. Esther Beiler starts caring for his children while he is working. Esther and Bonnie meet and become fast friends. Esther also works at the Bed & Breakfast after it opens.
Esther wonders if she'll ever get married and be a mother. She has fallen in love with Samuel's children and would like to be their mother. She even begins to dream of being Samuel's wife.
When a near tragedy happens in Samuel's family he sees that he needs to get out of his depression. He sees how much his children need him. He also realizes that he is ready to court Esther.
Titus ties the knot and everything starts to unravel for Samuel and Esther. At the wedding, something was said that reminds Samuel of a promise he made when he was younger. He tells Esther he can no longer court her and she can't care for the kids anymore. He decides to return to Pennsylvania. At the same time, Allen is trying to get Bonnie to date him. She feels she can't because of her past.
Both Samuel and Bonnie can't let go of their past and are destroying their future. What did Samuel promise? What happened to cause Bonnie to feel she can't love again? Does Samuel return to Pennsylvania? Read The Healing to find all these answers and more.
I would recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of Amish fiction. I found myself wishing for Samuel to get out of his depression. I felt sorry for his children because he couldn't be the father they needed. I really liked Esther, she was kind and sweet. The only that I wasn't sure of was how the Amish characters became very good friends with the English characters. In my own experience, I tried several times to talk to the Amish in the previous town where I lived and they just ignored me. I'm sure different districts have different rules of how to treat the English. I just can't see Amish having close relationships with the English no matter where they live.
The Healing continues the story of the Fisher family, who were introduced in The Storekeeper's Daughter. You don't have to read either book to understand the other. I would also recommend reading The Storekeeper's Daughter and the rest of the books that follow it because they are very good.
I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Healing
This review is fromThe Healing - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
nanof4
Location:Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Loved this book..another great by Wanda!! Recommend this online store to all!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Healing
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Standard Amish Romance

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Samuel Fisher has just lost his beloved wife, Elise, mother of their four small children. Living in their shared family home has too many reminders of their life together, so he decides to move from Pennsylvania to Kentucky, to the Amish community where his younger brother, Titus, now lives. Once there Samuel begins working as a painter and general handyman for an ‘English’ woman, Bonnie, who is opening a Bed-and-Breakfast in her grandmother’s old home. Samuel hires Esther, a local Amish woman, to look after his children while he works, and Esther rapidly forms an attachment with the grieving children who are being virtually ignored by their father. She develops feelings for Samuel as well, but will he heal from his loss and see what could be? And if he does, will he return Esther’s feelings, or will he form a bond with Bonnie despite her not being Amish?
The only Amish books I have read until now have been by Beverley Lewis, and have been exclusively set in the Old Order Amish communities of Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. This book was set in a less conservative Amish community, and there were a number of noticeable differences, particularly the way the Amish characters in this community appear to know and are able to quote appropriate Bible verses, so this was a pleasant change. (I find the rules of the Old Order Amish to be very restricting, similar to the Jewish law outlined in Leviticus).
The Healing is the second book in the Kentucky Brothers series, following The Journey. Although it is obvious that it is part of a series, it reads well as a stand-alone (although I suspect from the way further back-stories are hinted at that some of the minor characters are part of other Brunstetter books, and it is clear that the Timothy/Hannah sub-plot existed only to set the background to the next book in the series). I’m sure that fans of Wanda Brunstetter or Amish fiction in general will enjoy this book, but I found the constant German phrases annoying, the ending was a complete cliché, and the Timothy/Hannah subplot came across as an over-engineered conflict that could have been solved by an honest conversation between Timothy and his father-in-law. Of course, that would mean there couldn’t be a whole book dedicated to it… As you have no doubt guessed, I won’t be reading the sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Healing was EXCELLENT

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Mccue
Location:Toledo, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent read, one you could not put down, I read it very fast. Again Wanda B. takes you on a journey of her characters and never fails to get you feeling like you know the characters personally . I LOVED IT! I can't wait to read her next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
new pastor
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book, like all Wanda Brunstetter books, is absolutely excelent. You can reallyy put yourself into the novel and feal the pain and joyof the people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tiffany
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is another book that makes you feel like you have traveled to Amish Country. I love Wanda's books because it makes you feel like your really there. I can never put the book down. I am always content with Wanda's books and would recommend them all to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This series is very enjoyable.

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Big Mom
Location:Ingleside, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Samuel at first seems to be very withdrawn and stiff as if he has built a wall around himself. Was great to see him come "to life" in his relationship with Esther.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melinda Thomas
Location:Spring Hill, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sequel to to "Kentucky Brothers," Samuel Fisher has lost his beloved wife, Elsie as well as their unborn child in an accident. In despair and grief, he pulls away from his church, his family and his children. Seeking to make a change, he moves to Kentucky to live with his younger brother, Titus. He seeks and finds someone to care for his children while he works and finds Esther. Esther falls in love with Samuel's children as well as Samuel, but Samuel is still grieving for his beloved wife, Elsie. But we all know that when God closes a door, He always opens another, and God begins to "heal" Samuel's heart and allow him to love another.
I absolutely adore Wanda Brunstetter's books and characters and just cannot wait until the third book in this sequel...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Healing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Evelina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suspenseful reading of real life characters. I have found all the items ordered from Christian Books very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>