Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print The Betrayal

Christian Large Print The Betrayal

Average Customer Rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 1995%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Betrayal
Review 1 for The Betrayal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great read!

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great read! Jerry Jenkins has written another series that is full of adventure and suspense. I read this book very quickly and had a hard time putting it down. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone. I can't wait to read #3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Betrayal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down!

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
JBBen
Location:Round Lake Beach, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm an avid reader. This has become one of my favorite novels. I literally could not put it down. I'm now on the third book in this series...you have to read it in order. The characters are authentic, the spiritual struggles are real and gripping, and it is so much fun since I live in the Chicago area and can pinpoint in my mind the locations mentioned in the book. It is a "good triumphing over evil" kind of book yet it is not a given how each turning point or even the ending will turn out. There is a great deal of suspense. Written with police procedural accuracy. You can tell Jenkins comes from a police family background. Highly recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Betrayal
This review is fromThe Betrayal - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Police Dept.intrigue in a modern day megatropolis

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy mystery but would highly recommend this book for male readers as it contains such excellent research on the inner workings of a huge city police department, munitions, forensics, etc.
The constancy of the Christian witness in varied lives from a pastor to true seekers and those on the fringe is an outstanding feature of this novel. It is amazingly true that the Lord can invade all levels of society and culture in the most unusual ways.
The book has all the intrigue, male bonding, compassion in friendship and love and light humor that you could ask for in this genre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Betrayal
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thumbs up

Date:August 21, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Detective Boone Drake is shot protecting a witness during a huge sting operation because someone leaked inside information to the mob. The initial information points to Drake's new girlfriend - a single parent and coworker; but Drake refuses to take things at face value and digs deeper, uncovering a thirty year conspiracy which shakes the Chicago Police to its core.
I enjoyed this novel. For a mystery/thriller novel there is very little violence. Most of the drama comes from analyzing the different characters' motivations. A lot of peril, but very little of it graphic. This might actually be enjoyed by teens as much as adults.
Thumbs up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Betrayal
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fast-paced crime drama of good vs evil

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book is definitely fast paced. The whole book takes place in about two weeks, so you're not given much time to connect with the characters before you're thrust into the drama. After starting the book I realized it was a sequel, and I felt a bit clueless and out of the loop for the first few chapters.
As the plot moves along, the main character, a cop named Boone Drake, faces betrayal and treachery in friendships, relationships and even amongst the "brotherhood" of the force. However, since I did not read the first book and was not familiar with the characters, it was really hard to distinguish whom I was supposed to trust and for whom I should be rooting. So I would definitely suggest reading the first book beforehand if you're interested in this story (I have not done it yet, but I'm sure it would've improved the book greatly if I had).
That being said, I did enjoy the fast-paced drama and it was definitely an enjoyable and entertaining read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Betrayal
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast Moving Police Drama

Date:July 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Boone Drake detective in the Gang Enforcement section of Chicago Police Department has always been self sufficient.
Haley finds herself in a tough situation. Will she be able to escape the trap that has been set?
When a sting operation set against a notorious gang goes down it is brother against brother. When the Chicago PD is betrayed by possibly one of their own it becomes apparent that the danger is more real than ever thought possible.
I really enjoyed this police action/drama with a touch of romance. A fast moving novel that will keep you reading and on the edge of your seat. Dialogue seemed realistic, character development was strong and I found it to be entertaining. The overall message was inspiring and I would recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Betrayal
This review is fromThe Betrayal - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2012
for not being a big fan of this type of story, I was pleasantly surprised! I haven't read a Jerry Jenkins book yet that I haven't totally enjoyed! Great Author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Betrayal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

action packed book that keeps you reading

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love police drama books! I love police drama shows and movies too, maybe it comes from having a big police family or maybe it's just that adrenaline rush you get while reading them. The Betrayal is a non stop, action packed edge of your seat book. I can tell you that you will not get much done or in my case not much sleep since your going to want to finish it so you know what happens. I love The Brotherhood and was not disappointed with the Betrayal! The plot line and characters are so believable. I can see some character traits from this book into my police officer friends and family. This book makes me reminisce about my police ride along days. Those were the days and man you get a new found respect for police officers and their job. Love action packed crime/police drama literature then add Jerry Jenkins to the list! I can't wait to read more by Mr Jenkins! I really wish this was a tv series! I mean yes I watch and dvr blue bloods but I'd love to dvr and watch Precinct 11 too :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Betrayal
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Police Drama

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Detective Boone Drake brought down a crime syndicate, but he was shot and needs shoulder surgery. As he deals with the pain of his injury and reviews the case, he realizes that someone in the police department is bad.
I thought the book was a well written police drama. The author's insider view of the police force (his father and brothers were policemen) made the book seem authentic. I don't know how Boone kept going with his shoulder injury, pain meds that made him sleepy, and late nights. Having to decide who he could trust and who he couldn't made the book interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Betrayal
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
mattparks35
Location:Joplin, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I did not have the privilege to read the first Boone Drake novel. I did, however, receive a free advance reader copy of the sequel from the publisher. If I had read the first novel, I might have appreciated the sequel. However, I was not particularly fond of this book. Having not read the author before, I kept an open mind. I have recently started to dabble in fiction so you can take my review for what it is worth. The story was mostly predictable and I found the characters a bit annoying. The dialogue was very elementary and including extraneous information that I felt did not add to the story. One good note about the book is that it was very easy to read. Though the dialogue could use some work, the short chapters made it easy to read in between slots in a schedule. If I had five minutes, I was confident to finish a chapter without being left hanging in the middle.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Betrayal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shellieb
Location:Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boon Drake is back in the second book of the Precinct 11 Series. It picks up right where The Brotherhood left off and takes you on a non-stop ride of mystery, action, heart and the hunt for the truth. Drake has taken down the heads of the biggest street gangs and organized crime units and barely escaped with his life. Now he is back and it soon becomes apparent something is not right. When his girlfriend Haeley is arrested, he has no choice but to put himself back into the game and find out the truth, even if it‘s not what he wanted to hear. He doesn’t know who he can trust and who he shouldn’t. He has to rely on his mind and his heart to lead him through and to stay alive. Enemies are friends and friends are enemies in this exciting story of a cop who has loved, lost and pressed on with his faith.
Jerry Jenkins has done a wonderful job with the sequel to The Brotherhood. It flowed from one book to the next perfectly and left me griping the edge of my seat the entire time. I couldn’t put the book down until I had devoured it from cover to cover.
The Betrayal is filled with action, heart and comfort.
*I received a free advance readers copy of this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are my own.*
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Betrayal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting police drama

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Actuary Lady
Location:Norcross, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Jerry Jenkins's "The Betrayal" continues the story of Boone Drake, the young cop protagonist in "The Brotherhood". Boone, while investigating to determine what went wrong in a gang take-down from which he is still recovering from serious wounds, discovers corruption in multiple layers of a Chicago Police Department that wants him dead, or permanently disabled and out of the force. It's a riveting read that includes faith questions and discussions, drama, close calls, romance, family dynamics, and for this former consultant to public safety retirement plans, details on some of the inner workings of police departments that we might not know.
Note: I was provided with an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Betrayal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Boone is back and he is on a mission!!

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Precinct 11 is not as it seems. There is someone on the inside causing havoc for Boone Drake. Okay, how cool is that name? Really, this character has blown me away again! In the first book of this series, The Brotherhood, we meet Boone Drake and see what life as a Chicago PD is all about. We see devestation happen in Boone's life that would make most of us curl up in the fetal position. But Boone perseveres in strength and finds the faith his wife has walked in.
In book two, The Betrayal, we now see Boone as he has just taken down the most destructive group of evil Chicago has known. So, that means, many are out to get him. Betrayal is everywhere and Boone is digging in his heals without fear. I love this book! I couldn't put it down. Those you trust are really not who you think they are and as each chapter leads to bringing a close to this case, it continues to get bigger.
This is a character movies are made about. He is strong and couragious. Fear is at his back and he is ready to face anything. Why? Because he knows God is on his side. He knows where this unknown strength comes from. I admire Boone Drake and all he stands for.
We too, through all this suspense, get to see love unfold. I enjoy seeing Boone move forward with life, without forgetting where he came from. He now knows what is important and he is willing to fight for what is right even if it costs him everything.
Jerry B. Jenkins hits this one out of the park! This is totally different from the Left Behind Series. Jenkins has a gift at bringing the reader into the pages and walking with the character before them. If you choose to pick up, The Betrayal, I would love to know your thoughts. So come back and share with me.
This book was a gift from Tyndale for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Betrayal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book! Page turner!

Date:August 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“The Betrayal” by Jerry B. Jenkins is the second book about the Chicago Police Department Precinct 11. In the first book, “The Brotherhood”, we met Detective Boone Drake. Boone helped pull off a massive sting and brought down the heads of the biggest street gangs in Chicago. While moving their key witness, Boone was shot. Now in “The Betrayal” Boone learns there is a rat within the Chicago Police Department. When his girlfriend Haeley is arrested, Boone starts investigating to see who is framing her and who is really behind the leak. As Boone and Jack Keller, his boss and good friend, start getting closer to the truth, Boone’s life becomes in great danger. Not only does he have the real conspirator after him but also the gang members that are still on the streets. They are also after Pascual Candelario, the key witness. Boone and Keller know Candelario and his family are at risk because the conspirator knows where they are being kept. Will Boone be able to keep Candelario safe and keep Haeley out of prison?
“The Betrayal” is an amazing follow up to “The Brotherhood”. We not only have the suspense of who actually did it and why they are framing Haeley, but we also see that no matter how bad it gets for Boone and Haeley they rely on God to see them through. I highly recommend both of these books and can’t wait for the next one. I received a complimentary copy of this book to review from Tyndale House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Betrayal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Christian Suspense

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miss Lynn
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Betrayal (Precinct 11 Series-Book 2)
Jerry B. Jenkins
Tyndale Publishers
Sept 1,2011
Christian Suspense
5 Stars
Book Description.:
Detective Boone Drake has just masterminded the most massive sting in Chicago history, bringing down the heads of not only the biggest street gangs in the city but also the old crime syndicate. The story is the biggest in decades, and the Chicago Police Department must protect the key witness at all costs. Despite top secret plans to transfer the witness ahead of his testimony before the grand jury, an attempt is made on his life. And the person suspected of leaking this information may be one of the CPD's own.
After reading book 1 , The Brotherhood, I couldn’t wait for the second book to be out. When book 1 ended Pascual Canselario had turned state witness against the crime syndicate and in the opening pages of The Betrayal, Canselario is being escorted to a safe house, a bullet meant for PC strikes Boone instead. After waking up in the hospital Boone can only summarize one thing. Only 4 others besides himself knew when they were moving Boone and to where. Somewhere in Chicago’s finest is a traitor. Now they are after Haeley, Boones new love. Jailed as a suspect , the allegations are that she left information on the desk as to when and where they were taking PC .Someone has set her up to make everything believable. Now with the help of some friends, his Pastor and the lawyer he hired for Haeley, Boone is out to prove she is innocent. With the Betrayer knowing everything he is doing who can he trust among his peers. As a Christian, Boone leans to let go of the past start anew and with the help of his Pastor, his family, his doctors and the love he now has for Haeley he is set out to find the truth and bring down the traitor.
Once again Jerry Jenkins has penned a book that is so very hard to put down. His characters seem to come alive on the pages. As a Christian you can expect his books to be well written without being overly preachy, but yet containing a Christian attitude with no sexual scenes or coarse language. If you are a fan of the Left Behind Series then you will be familiar Jerry Jenkins’s name.
I received this free ARC complimentary copy from the publisher through their readers blogging program. A positive review was not required and all thoughts and opinions expressed above are my own views of the book. No compensation was received by me from the publisher other than the review book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Betrayal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Determination and Gumption

Date:August 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reader Writer Barb
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
The Betrayal by Jerry B. Jenkins is 37 chapters and an epilogue of police intrigue published by Tyndale House Publishers, copyright 2011. A massive sting involves a higher-up in the Chicago Police Department and the main character Boone is critically wounded and hospitalized in the line of duty as he tries to protect the star witness at all costs. He literally puts his life on the line. Trusting the wrong person could be a fatal mistake, one he can't afford if he's going to survive. How can he keep the witness and his family safe when it's an officer on the inside, sworn to protect and serve, whom they have to fear? A unique plan is put into action, but can it succeed? Between the officers of the law that can't be trusted and the gangbangers it looks like a hopeless situation when Boone and his new interest are both victims of a department they thought they could trust. Jerry B. Jenkins's novels have sold over 70 million copies, and twenty of his books made the New York Times Best Seller List. Books such as Riven, The Brotherhood, and The Left Behind Series will live in your mind long after you've closed them. If you're a fan of crime or police procedures, you'll love this novel. I'm more of a romantic suspense lover, but I never turn down a Jerry B. Jenkins's novel. I did think the pizza guy a bit cliché, and the transport unique.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Betrayal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast Paced and Full of Action

Date:August 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fictionista
Location:New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Jerry B. Jenkins has been entertaining readers worldwide for over a decade with action packed adventure stories. The Betrayal ranks right at the top with the rest of his novels.
Detective Boone Drake is a hero in the eyes of his peers and the residents of Chicago. After bringing down the 'bad guys', it should be time to celebrate, right? That couldn't be further from the truth as Boone finds himself in the hospital after being shot. Lies and deceit surround the case and nobody is giving him straight answers. Who can he trust? He is laying his life on the line to protect his witness while someone is trying to put an end to him. Can he trust the woman he loves when all the evidence is stacked against her? Can his fellow officers be trusted or is someone close to him the betrayer? Will he get in the way of the betrayer and become another casualty?
This book was a fabulous read. Full of action, adventure, and perfectly paced. Jerry B. Jenkins will have you guessing until the very end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Betrayal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truth will rock the Chicago Police Department

Date:August 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grandma Kaye
Location:Miami, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Chicago Detective Boone Drake wakes up two days later in the hospital. He had taken a bullet meant for Pascual Candelario, the critical informant/witness against a Chicago crime syndicate and street gangs.
Still facing surgery to repair extensive damage to his shoulder, the usually self-sufficient Boone needs help investigating the shooting. Only four others were supposed to know when and where Pascual would be moved. One is a traitor.
A Christian, Boone had been recovering spiritually and emotionally from losing his wife and son in a fire. His new physical and emotional distress require more help from Pastor Sosa as well as the mandatory police counseling.
Now Boone is stunned when his new love Haeley is jailed as a suspect. He must discover if allegations against her are true, who shot him, and whom he can trust among his peers and higher-ranking officers. He does find allies in his pastor and some in the judicial system, but the betrayer has secret spies who frustrate Boone’s investigation.
Boone, his parents, and his close friends work through their problems and learn to forgive past bad choices and make better new ones themselves
Receiving conflicting advice from family members, counselors, officers, and medical personnel, Boone still perseveres in finding the truth to bring down the traitor.
Jerry B. Jenkins’s characters are realistic, with strengths, flaws and the ability to change and surprise the reader. They show much ingenuity in solving their dilemmas. The Betrayal is a good example of his writing expertise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Betrayal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
MoJo
Location:Prior Lake, Mn
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Betrayal (Precinct 11) by Jerry B. Jenkins
When I read a story, I like to lose myself in it. I want to smell the air, hear the sounds and feel the heartbeat of the character. Having read the entire Left Behind Series and Riven (the novel he always wanted to write), I knew author Jenkins was capable of engrossing this reader deep into the story, I wondered if he could do it with the new Precinct 11 Series.
I will admit I have not read the first book in the Precinct 11 Series, The Brotherhood; crime drama is not my usual pick for a good read, until now…
After having read the Betrayal over the weekend I must declare - Jenkins passed the test – he grabbed this reader within the first few sentences-and he had me throughout the entire journey, hook line and sinker. My family enjoyed frozen pizza and cold cereal.
Boone Drake, the main character, a Chicago cop does what he is programmed to do; protect.
It nearly cost him everything.
A shot is fired and Boone instinctively protecting an oversized witness, a heavy hitter within the drug cartel in Chicago, who was being secretly transported to a safe house Boone is gravely injured, his lung collapsed and shoulder completely shattered, but even before he loses consciousness his mind begins to wander, who leaked our location?
The Betrayal takes the reader on a journey of a classic whodunit.
In the hospital as Boone begins to see through the fog of anesthesia and narcotics the conclusion creeps up on him quickly; only five people knew where and when he would be transporting PC and his family to the safe house. Five people who Boone Drake trusted with his life, until now.
Someone betrayed the mission. Who is it?
Is it the arrogant partner? The clerk, a beautiful girl he was falling in love with more each day? The beloved chief, who makes a decision to retire the day after the shooting, maybe it is the decorated officer, who is the epitome of honor and dignity? Or perhaps, Boone’s long time friend and mentor Jack?
One of these five is the betrayer.
Boone sets out to figure out who the betrayer is before he goes in for major surgery to attempt to rebuild his shoulder. The journey Jenkins takes us on is intense. We feel Boone’s passion, we feel his compassion and we feel his pain, literally. He forgoes his pain medication to stay alert and the description of moments when Boones shoulder is bumped made me literally wince with pain.
You will be as stunned as Boone Drake to find out who the Betrayer is.
Thanks to Jerry B Jenkins I am a now a fan of crime drama and recommend The Betrayal.
5 Stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.