Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print

Christian Large Print The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print

Average Customer Rating:
4.963 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 27100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Review 1 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Struggle With Forgiveness!

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Wanda's books and especially I have loved her Kentucky Brother series. The Struggle did not disappoint me. I picked up this book yesterday to read and finished it early this evening. I read it every chance that I got. My interest was captured from page one.
Timothy Fisher plans to move his family to Pembroke Kentucky to get his wife Hannah away from depending on her Mother so much. Hannah has been spending too much time with her Mother instead of being a wife to him. Timothy has two brothers already living in Pembroke, his twin brother Titus and brother Samuel. Samuel has already said that Timothy's family could stay with him until they can either build or buy a place of their own.
Hannah Fisher is not happy with Timothy for forcing her to move to Kentucky. She doesn't want to leave her home and her parents in Paradise Pennsylvania. She vows to never like Kentucky and is bitter toward Timothy for making her move there. Hannah ends up being bitter about a lot of things.
Can Hannah ever forgive Timothy for uprooting her from Pennsylvania to move to Kentucky? Can she ever forgive him for the horrible accident that happens in their family?
This is a wonderful story about family relationships, learning to forgive one another and putting your faith and trust in God. Thank you Wanda Brunstetter for a wonderful story. This is definitely a five star book. I hope you all will get a chance to read this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely Worth Reading!

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading "The Struggle" and I loved it. It was very aptly named because the characters in the book faced alot of struggles along the way. I laughed and cried with them. I felt like I was apart of their families. It was a story of unending love and forgiveness. The writing was excellent and I look forward to reading more of her books!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
gabby
Very good story line. Love reading her book. A very good writer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE LOVE LOVE

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janice
Location:Union City, MI
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanda Brunstetter is an amazing author!! Her stories are attention grabbing, addicting to read, and uplifting. Highly recommend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
rogie
Location:OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Helpful for those struggling in a new area. Letting God into ones life can change ones attitude about ones surroundings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God Does Miracles in People's Hearts

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
LinDawn
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Timothy decides to move from Pennsylvania to Christian County but Hannah, his wife can not seem to adjust. Her mother was very possessive and overbearing with her and now Hannah is also being possessive and overprotective with her daughter, Mindy. Hannah cannot stand being away from her mother. So when Mindy falls from a window and dies she blames Timothy for not putting screens in, but she wasn't watching her daughter good enough and was not giving her the attetion she needed and so is also to blame. She leaves Timothy after one comforting night with him, for she is yet bitter against him. She returns to Timothy many months later after God talks to Hannah and Timothy seperately through a dream and changes there hearts...with also another miracle, inspite of Timothy falling from the barn roof while mending the roof.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
SusieQ
Location:Mt. Orab, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book very much. I like reading all of her books. I have them all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
janie
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a perfect follow-up book. I enjoyed reading this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great story

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peggy
Location:Berkshires, Mass.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great story had a hard time putting it down...hopefully there will be a book 4 soon.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

book is great as always

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
manarider50
Location:baton rouge, la
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanda continues to amaze me in her writings about the Amish, history and life itself. I never tire from her wisdom and strength she gives in her books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Stuggle

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michekke
Location:North Richland Hills Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started reading Wanda Burnsetter while I was recovering form a major knee surgery almost two years ago and have never sotopped. The Stuggle was a wonderful book that used storytelling in such a way that you felt as though you could reach out and touch the people and places and feel like you know them. The stuggle is a great reminder of the fact that God does not promise that you will never struggle in life as a Christian, but that as a Christian God promises to be with us though the struggles. This book is a must read but have tissues ready, you will cry , but dont worry you will laugh, smile and jump for joy all at the same time.
I am going to keep myself entertainded with one of the older seires until the new one gets here!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Second Chances

Date:September 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
annieoak
Location:York, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was based close to an area that I live in. This is a Lancaster County story where the man moves his wife and child to , which is a christian county. The wife did'nt really want to go but the husband had brothers who lived there also, so they end up going to Lancaster. He does his best but when something tragic happens he doesnt know if this will end his marriage or not . Will it or wont it. Read to find out what happens.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The continuation story is absolutely fantastic!!!

Date:September 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diane
Location:New Springfield, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read every book that Wanda has written and have not been disappointed once. Such wonderful stories and I have a hard time waiting for the next one! This 3 book story is one I couldn't wait so I bought all of them. I even share them with my 97 year old mother. I have also found short stories Wanda has written with other authors. Can't wait until the next series! Please Wanda!!!!!! Once you read the first book of this series you feel you know each and every character and have your picture of them in your mind and truly understand where they are coming from. You won't be disappointed. Even in their darkest moments they turn to God and he heals their hearts'
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read

Date:September 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tracey
Location:West Coxsackie, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You cannot miss this book! Once again, Ms. Brustetter has gone beyone my expectations. This story will touch your heart such a way that you won't soon forget.
Hannah and Timothy's marriage faces so many tragedies and reaches a point where Hannah can't continue on. But Hannah's love for her husband, her belief in her marriage and mainly, her faith in God gives her what she needs to face it all.
You may shed some tears but in the end they'll be tears of joy and love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kentucky Brothers Series #3

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
csdavis
Location:Wake Forest NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read the 1 and 2 series and this book was "in the making" with the public library having 6 on the waiting list in front of me. It was nice not to have to wait and get it from ChristianBook.com. Recommended for Christian fiction. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shirl
Location:Cynthiana Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished reading The Struggle the 3rd in the Kentucky Brothers series and it was absolutely the most powerful of all of the books. Wanda touches the heart with this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart warming story.

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barbara Atwell
Location:Silver Springs, New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These books on the Amish really help your own faith. Everyone should read Wanda Brunstetters' .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story and characters. Sad and happy>

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
TGR56
Location:Cooper, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my third book. It had a great plot and real to life characters and story. I was not happy when I finished reading because it was like leaving old friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book 3 in the Kentucky Brother's Series! Wonderful

Date:August 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Whatever your simple pleasures may be, enjoy them and share them with someone else. We sometimes take for granted the everyday things that give us a sense of joy and well-being. These simple things are often forgotten when problems occur in our lives." This is the moral of the novel, The Struggle by Wanda Brunstetter which is the third book in the Kentucky Brothers Series.
This time it's Timothy Fisher who feels compelled to leave his childhood home in Paradise, Pennsylvania to move to Christian County, Kentucky and follow in his brothers footsteps who have gone before him. First his twin brother Titus and then his half-brother Samuel left to find cheaper land and more of it than is available in Pennsylvania, but it's not the reason for Timothy. He's hoping that by moving to Kentucky, he can separate Hannah, his wife from her mother. Since they have been married, Timothy feels as though his marriage has been in jeopardy just because Hannah hasn't taken on the responsibilities he feels a wife should. She spends more time with her mother than with him and he's hoping a change in location might help.
Only Hannah isn't going to make it easy on him. She isn't the slightest bit willing to make this move and being an only child, her and her mother share a very close bond. She understands that she needs to be there for her husband but doesn't feel that moving them is the answer. Not only that but their only daughter, Mindy will also have to find new friends. So Hannah resolves to dig herself in and find ways to show Timothy that Kentucky isn't going to make her any happier and is crossing her fingers it will only be a matter of time before she's home again with her parents.
Since they are moving there in hopes of finding a home, they will have to live with Samuel and his children. Timothy is hoping that Hannah can find some friends through the women in his brothers lives, starting with Esther who Samuel is courting and is taking care of his home and children during the day while he works and in the evening hours, works part time at a Bed and Breakfast owned by an English women named Bonnie. Hannah feels that since she is staying there, she should assume the responsibilities of caring for the children and the upkeep of the house, but all it does is isolate her further from not only Samuel and Timothy but from Esther and the other women as well.
I received The Struggle by Wanda Brunstetter compliments of Barbour Publishing and Net Galley for my honest review and really enjoyed this Amish novel. In it we see that the more tightly we attempt to hold on to things and refuse to trust God, the harder it will be to deal with things when they are suddenly taken away. In this one, each set of characters is challenged with their own personal struggles, Timothy and Hannah are at odds in not only how to put their marriage back together but also how to deal with raising a family; Bonnie and her soon to be husband Allen, are dealing with some secrets from Bonnie's past that make wreck the opportunity to be married before she can accept his proposal and an unexpected English visitor to the B & B on Christmas Eve, throws a wrench into some Christmas plans with her own past.
In it all we can see the consequences of what happens when we fail to trust God and instead try to handle things ourselves. Sometimes it has tragic circumstances and often times it can simply be a matter of working things out by letting go, and letting God heal our past wounds, yet the message is simple, as believers we are never far from some kind of struggle and watching each of these characters deal with them, shows us that the best answer is faith in God, not matter how difficult it may be. I easily rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars! If you love Amish Fiction, then you definitely want to pick this one up!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Struggle, Kentucky Brothers Series #3, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Maija
Location:St. Johns, Mi.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I havn't completed the book yet, only 1/2 way through but I'm enjoying it as well as the 2 in the series before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>