Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print

Christian Large Print Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print

Unplanned is a heart-stopping personal drama of life-and-death encounters, a courtroom battle, and a spiritual transformation that speaks hope and compassion into the political controversy that surrounds this issue. Telling Abby's story from both sides of the abortion clinic property line, this book is a must-read for anyone who cares about the life versus rights debate and helping women who face crisis pregnancies. Large Print Edition.
Average Customer Rating:
4.84 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
50 out of 50100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Review 1 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
This review is fromUnplanned - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

heartfelt story

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
zonia
Location:Houston, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Abby Johnson is an inspiration! Her testimony and courage shines new light on those undecided on the subject, a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read.

Date:August 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Location:Maysville, Ky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story shows how easy it is to get caught up on the wrong side even if you have been raised in a Christian home. It also shows how God can use these negative experiences for His glory. It shows a lot about God's grace & mercy in the world of abortion. The author Abby was recruited as a college student to Volunteer for Planned Parenthood on the pretense of helping women & decreasing abortions. Eventually, it leads her to a paid position & a director of a clinic that indeeds help women with family planning & health issue but also does abortions. Eventually she is told that abortions must increase to help increase revenue for Planned Parenthood. Abby must then choose between right & wrong. She must face a legal battle when she leaves & faces betrayal from trusted friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Balanced, compassionate view of topic

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
suzy
Location:WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Abby weaves bio info into discussion of abortion and Planned Parenthood. She shows the value of people who look at the individuals involved in all sides of the battle, not the normal political anger.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye-opening!

Date:April 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
susan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book really opened my eyes to the point where I called my local pro-life clinic, and signed up as a volunteer. I even participated in a March for Life, and I used to be pro-choice.
Everyone should read this book. There are so many lies and half truths out there, and we can't rely on the media to tell us what is really going on with abortion clinics. Thanks, Abby
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good book

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shawna
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. It has helped me in my own life. I have not had an abortion but am very pro-life. I think this is a must read for anyone. If you take the principles of what Abby went through and apply them to your life it will help you through a tough time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
ATN3
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. Very interesting!! Great to hear her journey!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kris
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great read! I had a hard time putting it down. It made me realize that I am quick to judge other people who have differing opinions, and that God can accomplish so much more through you when you have a loving spirit. A friend recommended this book to me and I will definitely pass it on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Burlington, ON
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a must read for everyone! It reaffirmed my beliefs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:Rochester, MN
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book. Well written. Highly recommend! Thanks for taking the time to inform us about Planned Parenthood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is educational.

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
quilting
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product helped me realize how Planned Parenthood really works, & the evil it brings.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intriguing Biography

Date:March 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
pengillymom
Location:Nashwauk, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an awesome witness to God's wonderful power to change hearts. It also opens eyes to the deceptive ways of Planned Parenthood. I wish everyone could see a 3-D ultrasound before deciding to have an abortion, so that they can see that what they are aborting is not just "tissue."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:March 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
snowman
Location:Winfield,Al
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good book because it is very informative but it also lets us see the compassion in other people. I am letting as many people borrow this book as I can. A great read!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story of a life changed!

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stewalden
Location:Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't finished it yet but the story is compelling. How a simple ultrasound changed Abby Johnson's view of abortion. She also offers counsel on how to better minister to the" pro-death (aka choice)" community.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a powerful book!!

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marpax
Location:Grass Valley, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Abby Johnson has great courage and has truthfully told the purpose of Planned Parenthood. I pray that this expose will open the eyes and hearts of many who do not realize the awful truth of abortion, and the hurt that is inflicted on the women who choose this solution for their crisis pregnancy, as well as taking the life of their unborn baby.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
This review is fromUnplanned - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I enjoyed this quick read book. :)

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
dani d
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a quick read book. Parts of this book are heart breaking and hard to read but important to her story. It is so beautiful and amazing how God truely did work in her life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everyone should read this book

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
D Haak
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put it down. Decided I would send it around to my church members. I believe many will learn and have their eyes open to what Planned Parenthood is all about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Testimony!

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joan Patterson
Location:Rocky Mount, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is well written and inspiring! Keeps things in perspective in light of the current political atmosphere!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an eye-opener from both sides of the fence

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annie Kate
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Abby Johnson, committed director of a Planned Parenthood clinic, participated in her first abortion after eight years with the organization. Watching the baby struggle and then be sucked up into a tube changed Abby’s life forever. Nauseated and disillusioned, she decided to quit.
Unplanned follows Abby, a Christian university student, as she entered the work force. It shows how idealism and manipulation got her involved with Planned Parenthood “to prevent abortions” and “to help women.” It also mentions what else in Abby’s life influenced that decision.
At first Abby was happy to be using her counseling skills to support women in crisis pregnancies. She felt that she was making a difference, and was happiest of all when a client chose adoption instead of abortion. However, she was disillusioned when Planned Parenthood policies turned out differently than she had expected. When Abby got to know the protesters on the other side of the fence, she was surprised to realize that they, too, wanted to help women. She thought their approach was wrong… until that fateful day when she was called into the exam room to help with an ultrasound-guided abortion.
Soon after that, Abby fled to the Coalition for Life office for help.
When Abby quit her job, Planned Parenthood’s response catapulted her into the news, spreading the graphic horror of that one abortion, as well as the policies of Planned Parenthood, across the USA.
Now Abby supports women and their babies. At her former clinic, she works with the Coalition for Life on the other side of the fence. Online, she ministers through her website.
Having grown up in a strongly pro-life family, I knew the details of abortion procedures as well as the deep emotional conflicts workers in an abortuary may face. Someone who has been more sheltered will find Abby’s story both shocking and illuminating.
It’s time that more people become aware of what actually goes on, daily, in most large cities, at the rate of one US baby killed every 24 seconds. I highly recommend Unplanned as an insightful peek into the abortion industry from both points of view. It will help you understand the wide range of motives that galvanize people, and thus equip you to do your part, whatever that may be (prayer, fundraising, education, activism, politics, counseling, adoption, or simply caring for the little ones God has given you).
Disclosure: Tyndale House provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beve
Location:Easton, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This should be a must read for all parents, singles, teens - male & female. It could very easily become Bible Study material for churches. It's been my experience that most people hide their heads in the sand where abortions (both early and late term) are concerned. Abby was very honest about herself, her experiences, and the propaganda attached to Planned Parenthood. I was really impressed with the content/information presented and the fact that her compassion for others was so very evident. God can use everyone and everything for His Glory. Praise His Name!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chris
The book cover describes unPlanned by Abby Johnson as, "The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line". The book is prefaced with a note from Abby where she admits her story is not a comfortable one to read. She's right about that. I found that is was uncomfortable not only because of the insider's view of Planned Parenthood that she provides, including her detailed description of the ultrasound-assisted abortion that she assisted that that ultimately served as the catalyst for her leaving her position, "crossing the life line", and joining forces with the Coalition for Life. But, I also found it uncomfortable because there were so many times where I had to put the book down and thought, "you've got to be kidding me". This was mostly during the times where she shared her thought processes that helped her to justify her work at Planned Parenthood while at the same time, professing to be a Bible-believing Christian. As frustrated as I found myself at times, I was able to take solace in her willingness to be transparent and vulnerable in sharing her very personal process of having the scales removed from her eyes and allowing the truth to set her free. And in that regard, this really is a story of personal redemption.
unPlanned was a relatively quick and easy read and provides a rather compelling look into the business and philosophy of Planned Parenthood. Although I am glad that Abby Johnson was able to see the light, step down from her position, and is now an active pro-life crusader, the real hero of this story (at least for me) is not Abby. For me, the real heroes are the individuals that faithfully showed up on the other side of the fence at her clinic in Bryan, Texas every day and prayed for the individual patients arriving at the clinic as well as for all of the workers (including Abby) at the clinic.
As I mentioned earlier, this book is about personal redemption. I don't know that it will do much to change the general tenor regarding Planned Parenthood or the federal funding that they receive, or abortion for that matter. But hopefully, as the faithful continue to pray, more and more people like Abby will step across the life line and contend for the rights of the unborn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.