Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Experiencing Grief - eBook

B&H Books Experiencing Grief - eBook

Sooner or later, we all face a dark journey - the passage through grief. Written to encourage anybody who's recently endured a loss, this brief, powerful book leads readers through five essential stages: shock, rage, despair, release, and finally peace. A thoughtful gift in lieu of a sympathy card. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.903 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Experiencing Grief - eBook
Review 1 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Comfort

Date:April 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ziggy
Location:Somers, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 months ago I endured a significant loss and as you can imagine, I am having a hard time. I did not give the word "grief" to the process I am going through until recently and realized that what I was going through would occur over a protracted period of time. This book helps to let you know a few things; that you are normal and not loosing your mind, that this is a normal process given a loss, each person grieves in different ways and lengths of time and the characteristics of the process. While it's focus is the death of a loved one, the concepts apply to any loss. My advice to anyone grieving is to allow it to occur; don't put on a happy face or act like there is nothing wrong to make others around you comfortable. You will hurt and it will ebb and flow but over time it will become less intense and you will move toward wellness. God bless....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
LarryB
Location:Clayton,, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been leading a GriefShare group for several years and have found this book to be an excellent companion resource that I purchase and give to those attending. Norman Wright is a compassionate communicator of Biblical wisdom on grief. The chapters are short enough that someone in grief doesn't feel overwhelmed reading it while providing a tremendous amount of help. If you have lost someone you loved, this book will provide helpful Biblically based counsel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Goof overview of grief.

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kaely
Location:Lexington, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book deals with the Christian perspective of grief without being preachy. I have used Dr Wright's book on Crisis & Trauma counseling and "Experiencing Grief" is a good companion to it. I would highly recommend "Experiencing Grief" to anyone who has experienced a loss in their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouraging book!

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
KenR
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Norm Wright covers the grief process thoroughly. His approach to every angle of grief is refreshing in that 'someone does understand what I am going through,' and is able to shed the light of understanding and encouragement. This little book is written in a format where it could be used as a type of devotional or daily reading for someone who is experiencing grief. The chapters are short and to the point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janet
Location:Schertz, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for someone whose husband recently passed away. I did not give it a thorough read but I saw enough in it that I was satisfied it would be excellent material for a grieving young woman. I am hoping this book will draw her to the Savior, Jesus Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Small and yet so BIG!

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lady LoriMae
Location:Mississauga, ON, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was exceptionally helpful in detailing the complexities of journeying through grief. Wright clearly and gently explains what to expect throughout the grieving process and reminds us at every turn, to embrace the experience with the assurance that you're not alone or strange. I especially liked the occasional insertion of poems and prayers for those who are mourning. I was very impressed with this guide and I will recommend it to others in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Francine Denaro
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This small book was very informative and touched on almost all of the aspects of grief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
KClanton
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book helped me more than any other grief book after the loss of my brother. So much great info packed in this little book....I am buying a stack to have on my bookshelf for hurting friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joan Richards
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very helpful for people suffering the loss of a loved one. We give it to people in a grief group we have in my church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very heplful book

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
misslizz
Location:sc
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book helped me so much in giving me the permission to grieve and a tool to use i send this book instead of a sympathy card
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Betty
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I found this book and read it, I knew right away I wanted to share it with others who were experiencing significant losses in their lives. I do purchase and give this booklet now because it is easy to read, comforting and so very accurate in describing the grief process.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great summary of what to expect

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book gives you a nice summary of what you may expect to encounter/experience when you lose a loved one. It's clear and concise. It lets you know that what you're experiencing is a part of your own individual grief journey. The path of everyone's journey is different, but this book gives you some road signs to look for and some ideas for comfort and support. I found it so helpful that I give it to everyone that I know who is grieving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is exceptional

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
jimbo
Location:KCMO
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this booklet in my grief meetings and the feed back I get from those in need tells me that it is effictive. It covers the subject's using short chapters that are easly read as well as easly understandable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very helpful, comforting book

Date:December 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joanne Pickering
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I sometimes give this book to counselees or others I know who are grieving the death of a loved one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book for the grieving person.

Date:December 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melanie
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is written by one of the best grief counselors. It is small, therefore not overwhelming, with 25 short chapters. Just enough to read and think about. I buy in bulk to give when I know a person has experienced the death of someone close to them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Mickler
Location:Lakeland, Fl
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book about understanding grief. I have given it to a friend. Purchased several copies to give out when needed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
senior
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book to give for comfort and education to those experiencing grief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved the book it helped me alot

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
donut
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the last three books for friends who where having a difficult time. It is a good product and I have recommended it to several friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Hancock
Since my husband died last year, I have read at least ten books on grief and the grieving process. I would rate EXPERIENCING GRIEF by H. Norman Wright as the most helpful. It is a small book with short chapters but addresses topics in a way I have not encountered before. He gives a measuring stick for evaluating how you are progressing toward healing, and I found his insights both right on and hopeful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Experiencing Grief - eBook
This review is fromExperiencing Grief.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Fran Watts
It provided me a degree of comfort after the sudden death of my son. It validated what I was feeling and gave me insight in to the future. I ordered multiple copies and have already given out some to people who are grieving. It is just the right size to enclose in a large sympathy card.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>