Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print Shadow in Serenity, Large Print

Christian Large Print Shadow in Serenity, Large Print

Carny Sullivan grew up in the zany world of a traveling carnival. Quaint and peaceful Serenity, Texas, has given her a home, a life, and a child.

Logan Brisco is the smoothest, slickest, handsomest man Serenity, Texas has ever seen. But Carny Sullivan knows a con-artist when she sees one, and she's seen plenty, starting with her father. As far as Carny can tell, she's the only one in town who has his number. Because from his Italian shoes to his movie-actor smile, Logan has the rest of the town snowed.

Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 3090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
Review 1 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting story!

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All of Terri Blackstock's books that I have read are good, and Shadow in Serenity is no exception. The plot was interesting, and it held my attention. It also had a good theme about how God can change a person's life. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maggie
Location:Salisbury, NB Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kinda far fetched
How a lady could be so succusful with nothin to start?? Airplane, home, Harley?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not one of her best works.

Date:April 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
froggy
Location:Jefferson Ctiy, Mo
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Different than her usual writings. Usually, can't put her books down, this was had to keep interested in. Wouldn't buy again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

keeps your attention, hard to put down

Date:July 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
laughingwater
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kept me on the edge of my seat. Couldn't wait to see what happened next
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
snakerivernana
Location:Burley,Idaho
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a different take on what she usually writes about as she states. I did like it. Sure glad I read it in this version in places you could see where it would have went in another frame of mind. Happy she wrote it that way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Normally I can't put a Terri Blackstock down, but this one took me a week to get through. Overall the book wasn't bad, it was a different style of book then I'm used to from this author. The characters and the plot were decent, it just wasn't the page turner I'm used to from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reveals the change GOD can bring.

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
James Bisch
Location:urbana ,Ill
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God changes two people ,as He moves in their lives in opposite ways. Very goog read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a roller coaster of a read

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruth Ann Dell
Location:South Africa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Shadow in Serenity" by Terri Blackstock is a roller coaster of a read—it twists and turns through loops as you race along the words to find out what happens next. What else would you expect from the fascinating premise of a conman trying to deceive an ex-con artist who grew up in the craziness of a traveling carnival?
Charming Logan Brisco arrives in Serenity well prepared to relieve the unsuspecting inhabitants of their hard earned savings. He promises them an amusement park to revive their failing economy, but Carny Sullivan sees through him immediately. After all, her parents trained her to be a con artist and she knows all the tricks of the trade. The kindness of the Serenity folk has allowed her to build a happy secure life for her son, and she is determined to expose Logan and his destructive scheme in order to protect the town. But Logan endears himself to the town and no one believes her.
I enjoyed this book and a Ferris Wheel of questions filled my mind so that I had to keep reading. Would Logan change? Would he develop a conscience? Would he believe and trust in God? How could he be sure that God believed in him? Could a person have too much baggage to change? Would he destroy Serenity?
And what about Carny, the Harley-riding widow who flew planes for a living? Would she be able to stop Logan? Would she trust Logan? Should she trust him? Was he deceiving her?
These questions were answered at the end of the book in a most satisfying conclusion.
I highly recommend this well-written book. Although light hearted on the surface, it's underpinned by a strong Christian message.
Thank you to Shelton Interactive for a free review copy. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions expressed above are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Carny Meets the Con Man

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Con man Logan Brisco breezes into Serenity, Texas, with the aim of relieving it's good citizens of their cash. Carny Sullivan is a widowed single mom who grew up surrounded by con artists, and who is not about to let her friends get ripped off by Logan, despite his good looks and endless charm. Carny makes no secret of her desire to bring Logan down a peg or two, and her challenge both amuses and intrigues him, setting the scene for some colourful goings-on.
But trying to persuade a town full of honest people that Logan is running a con might be more than Carny can manage. Meanwhile, Logan is excited by the challenge Carny presents, and stays in town even though it is against the 'rules' of a good con. However, as Logan spends longer in Serenity, he develops relationships with more of the people, and his perceptions gradually begin to change. Meanwhile, Carny knows from her own life that God can change anyone, even a con artist, and begins to doubt her initial impressions of Logan.
Basically, this was a hoot. The scenes between Carny and Logan were consistently underpinned by an amusing combination of mistrust and attraction, the story was fun, and the book had the desired ending without in any way appearing predictable. I really enjoyed this as a fun read underpinned by a sound Christian message.
Terri Blackstock was published in the general market before she became a Christian, and this book was previously published with another title and under a pseudonym. Terri has now revised and updated it for the Christian market. The new and revised passages are well integrated into the overall story, and there is no sign that you are actually reading an updated book.
Thanks to Zondervan and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

book drags on

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Serenity, Texas is a town in decline. One of its citizens, is Carny Sullivan. She had grown up in the crazy world of the carnival and had survived a hurtful marriage. Now she and her son enjoy the quiet town, her flying service, and her relationship with the Lord.
Then a handsome fellow, Logan Brisco, comes into town. He has ideas of making the town alive again. Be plans to build an amusement park just outside of town. It would draw thousands and bring life back into the community. He says he has investors lined up. All he needs is the people of Serenity to buy into the project and invest some of their own money.
But Carny can spot a con artist when she sees one. She tries to warn the people of her beloved town, to no avail. And then she begins to fall for him.
Logan begins to have feelings for her. He knows he shouldn't let his emotions get in the way of his money making scheme.
Should Carny trust her head or her heart? Is she just one more conquest for this con artist?
This is certainly a character driven romance. The typical romance plot of boy and girl love each other but there is an “insurmountable” problem that needs to be conquered, is the major aspect of this novel. In fact, it repeats several times. For me, it was a bit too much. I thought the novel could have been shorter, say around the typical 300 pages. The plot did drag on. I would not rank this among one of Blackstock's best, and I have read most of her work. On a positive note, I did learn how carnival people make their money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Missed the Mystery

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
writerlyn
Location:Blaine,Wa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
The book was well written, but I prefer the mystery aspect of Terri's other books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Betsy Mcclendon
Location:Claremore, Ok
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read nearly all of her books and like them all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A smooth ride on a new carousel!

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carny Sullivan was named aptly for the world she grew up in. Her parents worked on a travelling carnival who taught her to see the world through very different eyes than most. She was raised to trick, con and steal almost anything. Which gave her an ability to read people far deeper than most could.
Now living in a quiet "Mayberry" types town in Texas she doesn't need to use that skill much, until Logan Brisco strolls into town. His slick and saavy ways are no match for her insight, until he finds a way past her head and into her heart. Then he has to pull off the greatest con ever in his life ... the truth.
This story held so many great elements for me. The best part was the intriguing relationship between Logan and Carny. The back and forth banter that ignited their interest in each other was fun to read and be a part of. Ms. Blackstock did a fantastic job of getting into the head of a swindler both present and past. It is like a ex-con trying to catch a con. Fun to read!
As for the plot, although it was not a suspenseful book it was definitely anything but predictable. For a 315 page story, I still didn't know how the author would finally unite the hero with his prize until page 310. (Don't peek if you haven't read it - you'll miss the best parts!)
I also appreciated the spiritual arc of the characters. In particular Logan 's journey felt real and authentic to me. This is an important element for books that I enjoy.
There were only two areas in the book that I would mention in my dislikes. (And they are quite small.) The first was in the form of dialogue. There is a young boy in the story who is age 7/8. He speaks with too much wisdom and understanding much of the time as well as seems like an informant at others (speaking info that the reader needed to know). I felt that his innocence needed to be more evident especially in light of the way his mother had chosen to raise him away from the world that taught her so much in the opposite.
The last comment I would make is that there is a decision that Carny, the heroine makes towards the end of the book. It is crucial to the plot and helps make the ending so satisfying. By the end of the story I knew exactly why Ms. Blackstock wrote it that way but I could not reject the notion that it seemed too out of character for Carny. From the way I got to know the woman in the story she wouldn't have done it that way. However perhaps you may find as you read the story that you do not agree with me. This particular 'flaw' does not reflect negatively on the outcome or satisfaction of the story. I still give the book two thumbs up. Way up!
I received a free copy of this title from Shelby Sledge representing Zondervan Publishers and Terri Blackstock in exchange for my honest review. I am not required to give a positive response.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can you con a con?

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shadow in Serenity by Terry Blackstock was an enjoyable way for me to pass the hours during a long ride back home from visiting family. This was not what I would call a typical Terry Blackstock book -- not the "stay-up-all-night" suspenseful page turner like so many of her others -- but it was a story well worth my time!
"You can't con a con" -- or can you? Logan Brisco smoothly works his way into the small town of Serenity, Texas, endearing himself to practically everyone in town as he lays the groundwork for his biggest con yet. What he doesn't expect, though, is to run into the likes of Carny Sullivan, a free-spirited woman who grew up as the daughter of carnival workers and learned the art of cheating unsuspecting marks. Carny appears to be the only one in town who can see through Logan's facade and tries to warn the friends she has made in her new hometown. Carny sees Logan as a threat to Serenity, and Logan sees Carny as a challenge to his well-honed skills. Will Carny be able to stand strong, or will Logan's scheming win her over?
My enjoyment of this story increased as I learned the "back story" of the book. This was a rewrite of one of the last books Terri Blackstock wrote on the secular market, before she was convicted to only write stories that honor God. By removing some elements and adding others, she was able to share a story that she loved in a way that (in Terri's own words) "more closely fit my worldview and my Christian conscience." As a Christian who enjoys and appreciates the work of talented writers who hold true to their faith, I say, "Thank you, Terri Blackstock, for sharing your gift." (Terri shares more about this story at her website: http://www.terriblackstock.com/journal/.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My trip to Serenity, Texas

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a fun read! Terry Blackstock is not an author I’m familiar with, but I did enjoy the story. This is a novel with enough punch to keep you entertained and enough depth to keep you thinking. Carny Sullivan is a woman who is going out of her way to prove that the newest guy in town is a con man. That she knows what they look like all too well is understood, but the town is not as interested in her suspicions as they are in the pipe dreams one Logan Brisco is selling.
Carny herself has been transformed by God’s grace, but is she intent on selling God short in his ability to transform others? Is Logan who he claims to be or will he hurt the entire town and care not at all? These are questions that propel the story along. I found myself rooting for Carny, Logan, and the town even though many times their activities were at cross-purposes. That is the beauty of good characters, they can turn you into a schizophrenic…sometimes you want all the guys to win, the good, the bad, and the neutral!
Punctuated with colorful stories of grifting, carnivals, and heartfelt emotion, this is a good book to read on a warm beach, or curled up next to a fire with a hot cocoa. Enjoy your trip to Serenity, Texas. I know I did.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely loved this story! It moved me to tears.

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shadow in Serenity is the type of story that sticks with you after you finish the book. Not only is it well-written, but it made me cry a few times. There were some precious, yet heart-wrenching scenes in this story that rang so true I forgot several times that I was reading fiction. The people in the story seemed real to me. I loved the characters' arcs as well. The theme about childhood always being with you and shaping who you are--but that didn't mean you couldn't change--was very inspirational and emotionally moving. There were a lot of things about this story that were powerful. It's hard to say much without spoiling it for the reader, but I will say that this is a beautiful and touching love story about learning to trust and discovering hope for the future.
I have always been a believer in change, but not many books show just how difficult and scary it is for people to really do that. The ability to trust is not possible when someone is continually guarding their heart and closing themselves off to others. Then to learn that change was possible and to desire that so much that you are willing to risk everything? That was so well done and so convincing that I couldn't help but fall for Logan myself. He really did want to experience love and not be lonely anymore. The story of his childhood that he shared with Jason was so touching that it was impossible not to cry. I felt a bit panicked toward the end along with Carny. The author did a very convincing job of setting everything up. This was the perfect romantic suspense and I'll still be thinking about the story days from now. Because of that and a number of other reasons it's making my best fiction list for this year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting Christian Romance Novel

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doreen renewing strength
Location:Tampa Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terri Blackstock-SHADOW in SERENITY
I received this book from Zondervan Publishing free for the purpose of a review. It can be a good or bad review.
Great story line and kept me reading reading reading from the beginning to the end. How does a former "carny" know a con man? Because she had learned the not so pleasant job of being a con artist very early in her life. Having been born to parents that are grifters Carny Sullivan wants more out of life than just traveling from one place to another as a carnival kid.
Serenity is everything Carny wants in a place to land, have a home and settle down. Having come to Serenity with her new husband.....she finds many things that she loves and makes the decision to change her life.
Enter Logan Brisco, good looking, smooth talking, and a dream or con as big as all outdoors and confusion begins to shake Serenity......Carny Sullivan sees thru him but.....can she convince her precious Serenity friends and family......
Very interesting twist of events.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy read!

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
samm
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy read! Just enough suspense and intrigue for bedtime reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not what I expected.

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carolinagirl
Location:Fuquay Varina, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I realize this was a re-write of an early book by Terri Blackstock. I must say I like her recent book better because I do enjoy the intrigue of them. It was still pretty good but I wouldn't strongly recommend it to a friend like I have more recent books. Still love to read her books and will continue to purchase them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Shadow in Serenity, Large Print
This review is fromShadow in Serenity.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this is a great book

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jackie
Location:Bartlesville OK
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book as I do all of Terri Blackstock's books. It let you get insight into the lifes of the carny people. It may me be more causious of others I don't know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>