Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print

Christian Large Print Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print

Although Emily Covington has kicked the drug addiction through rehab, she knows she has a lot to prove. Her behavior through years on drugs makes it hard for her family to completely trust her. Then the police discover a home made bomb under Emily's car and she also discovers the wife of one of her friends was murdered that same morning, she knows things are deadly serious. But who wants Emily dead? And why?
Average Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 out of 35100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
Review 1 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
jose
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As always, Terri Blackstock catches my interest in the first pages and keeps it until the end! The topic is relavent for today and is played out in an exciting drama. Love Terri Blackstock!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A combination of thriller and romance. At some points, I wondered which weighed more heavily in the story line. Quick up, quick down, an easy read that has a decent ending to the Intervention Series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
This review is fromDownfall - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Story

Date:January 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
AntieM
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyable story. Good plot, liked the characters. Would recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Conclusion

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
All of Terri Blackstock's books are great from start to finish...doesn't matter which one I pick up. I know that every single time I read one, I'm going be riveted by the story and glued to every page.
Downfall was no exception. While I'm extremely disappointed that this was the last book in the Intervention series, I can honestly say that it was a great conclusion because truly, the Covington family's nerves are probably frayed to threads after all the ordeals they've been through!
The suspense was believable, too, especially the overall flow of events. Emily's part in the story blended well as she tried in her own way to solve the mystery. Lance's instincts proved true about his classmates from his new school, which also contributed to the suspense. And to top it all off, Kent was assigned to the case of figuring out who this weirdo was that was responsible for terrorizing everyone. Poor Barbara...it was all she could do to keep up!! She got a little hysterical a time or two, but honestly, who wouldn't?
I have so appreciated Terri's confidence in writing a series completely devoted to drug addiction, and how those addictions have a ripple effect on others. And to have it combined with her trademark Up All Night Suspense? What else could a reader want? :o)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great conclusion to an awesome series

Date:October 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do you love reading Edgy Christian fiction ? Find it more engrossing than your everyday sweet, inspirational, romantic or Amish christian fiction ? For me personally, I have always been a huge fan of this theme of genre as it excites me, it intrigues and draws me in as well as the fact it is fascinating to read about. Downfall is the third book in Terri Blackstock's Intervention series which follows the Covington family of Emily, Lance and their mother Barbara. Downfall is set two years later and Emily is now sober, clean and getting back on track with her life as she works part-time at a local rehab centre helping those get through what she has been through as well as studying at the local college. Downfall starts with a murder and the attempt to bomb Emily's car , soon the events flashback to a conversation that was held at the Rehab centre where Emily worked , when another woman is killed and evidence is found on the scene which points to Emily -is it all connected ? Due to her past, Emily is soon arrested and now it is left up to the rest of her family and her mum's new boyfriend Police Officer Kent to help find out who is setting Emily up and why ?
Will the killer succeed in making Emily look guilty and cause her to partake in old habits which will lead her to a downfall or will she in her dire strait rise from the ashes and show that it is she who is the better person ?
A great conclusion to an awesome series , I do however advise reading the series in order but if for some reason you can't get hold of Book #2 . Then please just read Book #1 as otherwise you will miss out on the understandings of the characters and the backstory that leads up to most of the events in Downfall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Typical Terri Blackstock Outstanding

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Harry
Location:Gaion OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kept me waiting to see what was going to happen next
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great suspense!

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
fluffy
Location:Montpelier In
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great series by Teri Blackstock. Enjoyed the whole book. Love the way she mixes in the biblical lessons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Thrilling Ride Through a Great Book

Date:September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Downfall
Terri Blackstock
Book Summary: Book 3 of the Intervention Series. Emily Covington has turned her life around after a drug addiction, but her family still has trouble trusting her. Though Emily has committed herself to a year-long treatment program and has been sober for almost a year beyond that, even her mother walks on eggshells around her, fearing she'll relapse. After her behavior during her drug years, Emily realizes she has a lot to prove. When police discover a homemade bomb under Emily's car, and she then learns the wife of one of her friends was murdered that same morning, she knows things are deadly serious. But who wants Emily dead? And why? A conversation she had with two men, an Alfred Hitchcock movie, and a plan for a double murder all conspire for one explosive ride ... and Emily is the only one who can identify the killer and save the life of the next potential victim. As she frantically works to solve this ever more complicated puzzle, Emily finds herself playing right into the killer's hands.
I read the first book in this series own the second one but have not read it yet. I did finish the third and loved it. It was a roller coaster ride with brief periods where you can catch your breath. I was able to make a correct attempt to figure out ‘who did it’ and yet nothing spoiled this story. This was easily a standalone and a series! It was great to read of people I had visited in the first book and yet they were fresh and exciting to hear how they have grown. The only question that came to mind on believability was if Emily did it ‘Where was the GUN!!! that she used????’ However that was hardly a sticking point for me. I can’t wait for Terri Blackstock’s next mystery! I want another ride on the mystery roller coaster.
I would like to thank Net Galley and Zondervan Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
This review is fromDownfall - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love all of Terri Blackstock's books.

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
htlpshuck
Location:Louisiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terri Blackstock is one of my favorite authors, she writes suspence with a bit of romance, but all are written in the Christian genre. There is no cursing or explicit sex, which I appreciate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fitting Conclusion

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
AshleyNoelle
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emily Covington knows the pain, the drama, the terrible problems her drug life cost her and her family. So why would anyone think she would go back to it? She hasn't returned to it, but someone is trying to make it look that way, and that is only the beginning.......
This is the set-up for the conclusion to the Intervention series, and it really ties it up well. The plot line is believable, the character's dialogue natural, and it's nice to see how the character's have grown from the previous novels. I felt sorry for Emily, trying her best to stay clean and turn her life around, only to almost have it all destroyed when someone begins tainting her new reputation, before making it look like she committed murder. Who would do this? Why? And not everything is what it seems.....
A fast paced read without losing you, Terri Blackstock does a great job of subtly bringing in the past novels while letting the conclusion play out. It fits with the rest of the series, and the ending nicely wrapped things up. A win for Terri Blackstock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Dramatic Terri Blackstock Adventure

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terri Blackstock's Downfall completes her Intervention series with more drama for the Covington family.
Emily Covington has successfully defeated her drug habit and turned her life around -- or at least that is the way things appear. However, earning trust -- even from her own mother -- continues to be a challenge for her, especially when evidence points toward her falling back into old, destructive ways. When murder comes into the picture, Emily is the only one who figures out what is going on, but she has trouble getting people to believe her theories and finds herself as the prime suspect in the crimes.
Once again, Terri Blackstock shares her gift for telling a story of intrigue and suspense, while including themes of God's work in the lives of her characters. This series carries special meaning to me because of Terri's writing from her own experience with her daughter's addictions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book by Terri Blackstock

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Coralene Peterman
Location:Bridgeport, WV
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book picks up the story from the other books in the Intervention series. I is suspenseful and a very good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book by a great author

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love any book by Terri Blackstock and found this book to be as well written as her others. She is superb at writing suspense filled stories that keep you guessing till the end.
This is book three in the Intervention Series and is just as good as the others in the series. This particular book follows Emily Covington. You will not be able to put this book down till you see if Emily remains safe. The twists and turns keep you turning the pages and make this a great mystery.
I will say that you do not have to read the others in the series to enjoy this one but it helps you to understand the family better if you do. I gave this book 5/5 stars because I liked the characters and the story line itself. The suspense is great and I look forward to reading more books by this author!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
nursey
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terry Blackstock never disappoints me Her books are wonderful and I have read them all
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Trusting Him

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
myrtia
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Murder mysteries are not generally the genre I read, but I really enjoyed this book by Terri Blackstock.
It's not only a murder mystery you see, there's so much more going on.
First and foremost is the story of Emily trying to rebuild her life after overcoming a drug-addiction, and her also her mother's struggle with learning to trust her daughter and God. Then there is EMily's younger brother who is beginning to have to fight the same temptations his sister succumbed to years ago.
Then the murders begin to pile on and suspicion falls on Emily.
Now here is what I loved about this book.
Her mother and her brother may be struggling with everything that's going on, but Emily stands firm in her faith in God and in her belief that she is a new creature and He will take care of her.
How I envied her faith! Especially after all she had been thgrough. Or maybe it was because of all she had been through that she was able to trush the Lord so completely.
I took a lot from this book.
The mystery is also greatly written, after all Terri is a master in this genre, and kept me guessing until almost the last page. But, as I said before, the book has so much more to give than an edge-of-your-seat murder mystery.
It is about trusting God where nothing seems to be making any sense.
When even your life is on the line.
Rating: 4/5
I received this book for review from Zondervan.
blog: bookshelfstories dot blogspot dot com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
This review is fromDownfall - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Read

Date:April 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Personally, I prefer Ms Blackstock's earlier work. I did enjoy this final book in the Intervention series though. The plot kept me guessing the entire time. The action is constant, characters believable, and the suspense continuous. Anyone who reads this book should probably start with the first one in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
This review is fromDownfall - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

downfall review

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Downfall by Terri Blackstock is sthe final novel in the Addiction series. I have not read any of the previous books in the series, but come to find out that is not necessary. The reader is given a bit of a backstory, and can completely follow the plot without having read any of the other books in the series.
Downfall is about a recovering drug addict, Emily, who lives with her drama queen mother and her borderline ignored brother, Lance. Her mom's boyfriend, Kent is a detective on the police force, which comes in handy with this family since they are always doing something illegal (or being blamed for illegal activity). Emily, who works in a rehab center, gets caught in the crossfire of multiple murders and then framed for the murders. She and Kent have to solve the crime without driving Emily over the edge and back into using drugs.
This is a pretty good book. I like when I can pick up a book and not have to read the rest of the series. The mystery and plot was good. I didn't figure out who the murderer was until about the last 1/4 of the book. It was a quick read. Only fault I have is that the characters, though clear and detailed, where not easy to like. The women where kinda dumb and the mom was like a pit bull when it came to drama. If she could scream and cry, she would. The men tended to be chronic hero-wanna-bes. Though I don't think it's gonna be a classic, I will read Terri Blackstock again. She was a pretty good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful book

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
GeeGee
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the series is one filled with trials, but shows how God helps guide us through all the rough time. He alone knows what we need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting and mysterious

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doreen renewing strength
Location:Tampa Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
APR
5
DOWNFALL
I received this book free from Zondervan for the purpose of review. I received no compensation.
If you are looking for an exciting mystery that holds your attention and keeps you wanting to continue, look no further. Terri Blackstock has done it again in her latest Intervention Novel - DOWNFALL -.
Emily Covington has been clean for two years and things are beginning to look like new beginnings for her family. Emily is in college, they have moved to a new location and everything is going well until the Avenger decides it is time to take action. He starts with Emily's car by planting a bomb and that really is the most minimal of his acts.
Emily is put in a position to have her faith, actions and heart tested. Her integrity comes into question and only one thing will make that clear to the authorities who arrest her for two murders.
Don't miss this exciting book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Downfall, Intervention Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good 3rd book for the series

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kay Monroe
Location:Telford, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read all of Terri Blackstock's books and have seldom been disappointed. Often the 3rd or final book in a series can be a let down. This one is not. The subject matter is well handled and a good portrait of the pull of addictions. It would be a good deterrent for one thinking of delving into drugs or any substance abuse or to understand the pull. A good enjoyable suspenseful read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>