Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print

Christian Large Print The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print

Curtis Carson heads up his first cattle drive, not planning on being the answer to anyone's prayers, but it looks as though God has something else in mind for this kind and gentle man.

On a trip to visit relatives, Emma Switzer's Amish family is robbed of all their possessions, leaving them destitute and stranded on the prairie. Walking into the nearest trading settlement, they pray to the Lord for someone to help. When a man lands in the dust at her feet, Emma looks down at him and thinks, The Lord might have cleaned him up first. Plain and rugged-do the two mix? And what happens when a dedicated Amish woman and a stubborn trail boss prove to be each other's match?

Average Customer Rating:
4.739 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Review 1 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this story!

Date:November 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm not much of an Amish fiction fan, though I have enjoyed a few over the years. But I love love love historical fiction. So when the opportunity to read a combination of both came, I thought, why not give it a try? Well, I ended up loving it. The story was so heartfelt, and rather than making it sound like religion was the answer (the Plain life) it focused on Love being the answer. All in all, it was a warm, heart-felt novel. I had a warm glow in my chest at the end. We give up a lot of things for love, but the truth is without love, many of the things we used to care about mean nothing anyway. I loved that message in this story. It was loaded with adorable humor and distinct characters. The grandmother was a hoot, and honestly, there wasn't a character I didn't like...well, other than the bad guys. I'd highly recommend this book for people who want a feel-good read, but one that has a bit of spiritual depth to it as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

TEN THUMBS UP

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Columbus, MS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great read. I do have to admit I was a bit leary about reading this book since I grew up in the area the story is taking place. However, most of the stories I heard as a kid was the same as how these authors told the story. I then passed the book on to my 90 year old mother and she loved it too. So job well done! You will not be disappointed in this great read, go out and get it today!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A nice easy fast read.

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Location:New Paris, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed the Amish in a western setting. Totally unexpected. It is the first that I have read of Amish actually leaving the faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sweet Story

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
scw1217
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I was asked to read this book by one of the authors, Virginia Smith, whose work I greatly admire. Not being familiar with the Amish or having read any Amish fiction, I was unsure how I'd react. However, I have to say with my entire heart that I loved this story. It's so sweet with such likeable characters. The aspect of two different faiths is handled carefully and respectfully. The setting places you in the old west, sweeping you out onto wide open horizons. It has a nicely handled plot and a wonderful romance. If you love a clean western romance with a Christian message, this is a great book to pick up. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun, exciting and thought provoking!

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
TonyaTells
Location:Goldendale, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How can you NOT love this book? Or any book by these 2 wonderful authors.
We start out with 2 COMPLETELY different people. Luke, a cowboy trying to prove something to himself but mostly his father, that he can do anything, including being a trail boss for cattle drives. Then we have Emma, who is from an Amish community and is traveling with her grandmother, father and younger sister to go live with an aunt for awhile.
While on the journey, Emma and her family are robbed and left with nothing. They run into Luke and God seems to have something better in store for everyone.
This book says so many different things, but my takeaway is that we all seem to know what is best for our lives, only for God to poke us in another direction, the direction He wants us to go, even when we drag our feet. We don't always listen and sometimes He has to really get our attention.
Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith made it feel as if I was traveling with everyone on the wagon and I hated for this book to end. Way too soon, but I can't wait to get my hands on A Plain and Simple Heart due out Sept 1st of 2012!!!
I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lynn
Location:Tawas City, Mi
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really liked this book. It holds your interest and you want to keep reading. Can't wait for the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was well written and held the reader's attentio

Date:May 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katie
Location:Riva Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. In fact--I cannot wait until the next book comes out. I thought both authors were very thorough in their research and the story really held the reader's attention and interest to see what was on the next page. I thought it was great for the price as well.
Please keep up the good work---
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish Meets the Wild and Woolly West

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Delia Latham
Location:Okmulgee, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When the Amish Switzer family is attacked by robbers on the prairie, Emma Switzer loses everything she owns. But in her family’s search for help, love lands right at her feet.
All tied up in a pretty little bow, right? Hardly.
Luke Carson is a cowboy. Emma is Plain. How can they possibly find a common path?
They have one week to find out.
The Heart’s Frontier is one of the most compelling western romances I’ve ever read. The authors wove fun and laughter into the storyline, along with all the ruggedness and dangers of the frontier—specifically, the famous Chisholm Trail.
Wonderfully well drawn and diverse characters make for a breathtaking ride on this unusual cattle drive. Emma’s acid-tongued grandmother, soft-spoken Papa, and lovesick little sister stand their ground with humorous aplomb amongst Luke’s collection of die-hard cowhands. Watching two proper Amish lasses learn to rope and ride ensures moments of thigh-slapping humor, but also delivers unexpected touches of heart-ripping angst. Getting a peek into the possible sacrifices their actions might set in motion forces the reader to wonder whether to root for Luke and Emma to be together…or pray they find love elsewhere.
This is Amish-meets-Wild West at its hoof-thundering, heart pounding, Plain old best.
Can’t wait for the next offering in The Amish of Apple Grove series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun Read!

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Emma is Amish and she is moving with her grandma to help some relatives. She is not overly happy about the move but wants to follow her fathers wishes and Gods plans for her life. On the trail her family is robbed and they meet Luke in a small town. At first Luke does not want to help the Amish but finds himself doing just that. As the cattle drive progresses feelings develop between Emma and Luke but can they find love with the differences between them?
When I saw what this book was about I got excited it take two of my favorite genera’s and puts them together. I was not sure how the two where going to mix but I was pleasantly surprised.
What I liked: This book was well written with a fun story line and great characters. I love when a book makes me laugh. I really liked Luke and Emma. Luke was a kind caring cowboy and Emma was a sweet yet determined Amish young lady. Her Grandma had me chuckling a lot as well. I liked the idea of the cattle drive as the back drop for this story and thought it was a neat twist.
What I did not like: The story was a little slow at the beginning but picked up pretty quickly. The only other thing that bothers me and this is more of a Amish issue then with the book itself is the fact its okay for others to use guns to protect the Amish but its not okay for them to use it. I know its their way but it always bugs me.
Over all this was a fun book and I really enjoyed it. I enjoyed the close relationship Emma had with her family and really felt like I got to know them. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series due out in September which deals with Emma’s sister and it should be really good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish + Cowboys = Great Reading!

Date:April 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Summary: This was a fun and entertaining book of the clashes between two very different worlds. The characters were fun and each played an important role in the story. This is one of the few Amish based stories I’ve read which I found several of the situations interesting. Likewise, it is the first story based in the 1800’s on the Chisholm Trail where cowboys drove cattle to the railheads. This story provided not only a sweet love story but it had humor and the main characters ended the story better people than when they began. (Not that either of them were bad)
Digging a Little Deeper: Widower Jonas Switzer wants to find a suitable husband for his daughter, Emma. So the decision is made that Emma and her grandmother, maummi, will live with an aunt in a bigger Amish district where a suitable husband can be found. Their journey is hits a rocky spot early on when they are robbed of all their possessions. Soon afterwards they meet Luke Carson who is retrieving one of his cow hands from a saloon. Luke can’t walk away and not help the Switzers.
As I got to know the characters I feel in love with almost all of them. Emma loves her Plain life, yet she finds herself questioning some of her teaching and loving the opportunity to ride a horse. Luke is one of those guys that is rugged and a hard worker, but has a tender heart for people and not just for the Amish. The no nonsense Maummi comes across as cranky but she has a heart for her family and isn’t afraid to go toe-to-toe with a certain cowboy or two.
What follows are mishaps and adventures that are both funny and at times a little intense. But the biggest part of this story was two very different worlds learning to understand, respect, and support one another.
As you can tell I really enjoyed this story. I enjoyed learning about the Amish, I loved the interactions between the characters and the story provided a variety of emotions.
I want to thank the publisher for the opportunity to read and review this book and look forward to future installments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish & Cowboy on cattle drive together

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jane Squires
Location:Wasola, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A blending of two author's work that will stir your heart. The Amish on a cattle drive is a delight to read about. The blending of two faiths different yet made stronger when bound together.
The faith of a father who loves his daughter so much he puts her needs before the Amish. He wants her to know true love in a marriage.
Humor abounds in the story of Luke and Emma. Rustlers, diversions and Amish herding cattle together is a site to imagine. I think it would make a good movie. You see a cattle drive in a whole new light.
I applaud Emma for not settling for a marriage without love. Her Gramma (Maummi) is a delight to behold.
One will never forget the hutch. God's plans bring two people together regardless of backgrounds.
The way Luke meets the Switzer's is a humerous situation. You will chuckle often and find fresh faith. Can hardly wait for the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Power of Faith, Hard work, and Family

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
CDaBell
Location:South Jordan, UT
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was impressed with how well this book was written and researched. I liked how the religious sentiments, prayers, and discussion of faith were so integral to the story and the lives of the characters. None of it felt forced or affected. The characters were believable and endearing. I especially liked the Amish grandmother. I understood and accepted her explanation to Rebecca and Emma of why she had married an Englischer, why she was happy with him, and yet why she didn't want her granddaughters to marry outside the Amish community and faith. The descriptions of the scenery and action were vivid and I often became lost in the story. The romance was sweet, innocent, and lovely. The characters' back stories and personalities were revealed expertly over the length of the story. I felt I was coming to know them all as naturally as if I were another character in the book. I definitely recommend this exciting, yet gentle story of the power of faith, hard work, and family in overcoming prejudice and evil.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I liked how the relationships developed

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story takes place in Kansas in the late 1800’s. Emma Switzer’s family is robbed of everything they are traveling with. They are on their way to visit family and find themselves stranded! They walk to the nearest settlement praying that they can find someone to help them.
Luke Carson is heading out on his first cattle drive. He can not believe he is the answer to the prayers of this intriguing Amish family. What is he to do about this strong connection he feels with Emma? Can they be together or are they just too different?
From robberies to cattle drives the story moves quickly. I enjoyed the book and thought the writing was excellent. The characters were interesting and the setting was definitely part of the story. I liked how the relationships developed and how the characters grew. You could see them changing as you read their story. I liked everything about this book and would recommend it to anyone who likes Amish fiction and even those who enjoy a fun Western. Another excellent Christian fiction story!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cowboy meets Amish Girl

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tami @ ThisMomsDelight.com
Location:Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn’t sure what I would think of “Cowboy Meets Amish Girl” simply because I didn’t think the two worlds could mix easily. It may have not been a smooth ride, but it was an enjoyable one as I encountered badly behaved cowboys, Amish sisters who contrasted in personalities and a grandmother {Maummi} who made her impression on everybody. There were some sad events in the book, but that made it even more believable – Who wants a unrealistic sappy story? I found myself admiring a few of the characters for various reasons – steadfast beliefs, love for family and hearts to help others in danger.
If you’ve never read any Amish Proverbs, you’ll get a good dose of them from Mrs. Switzer in this book!
***Special thanks to Karri | Marketing Assistant | Harvest House Publishers for sending me a review copy.***
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

East Meets West Amish Style

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy reading Amish stories. This one is as different as East meets West, or Amish meets the Old Wild West!
We are on the trail in Kansas, from one Amish Community to another, when the very unexpected happens. The family is robbed of their belonging, and left with nothing, but their lives. Emma Switzer's Father Jonas, Sister Rebecca, and Grandmother are traveling to Troyer, KS. Hoping that Emma will be able to find a husband, as there are a lot more Amish men available.
After they are left on the trail, they pray for God's help, and are provided with assistance from Luke Carson. He is on a cattle drive, and anxious to get to Hayes Ks with his animals.
You are going to love Grandmother Switzer...wait until you see what she does on the wagon ride!! To funny!!
This story has some really sweet moments, and some tense and terrifying times. I really enjoyed this, and hope you do to.
I received this book from the publisher, Harvest House, and was not required to give a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
BALSAM
Location:BEMIDJI, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT WAS A VERY GOOD BOOK, A NICE CHANGE, FROM THE USUAL AMISH STOIRES, I REALLY ENJOYED IT AND THE SURPRISE ENDING WAS GREAT.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unusual blend of Amish and historical fiction

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GENRE: AMISH/HISTORICAL/ROMANCE
PUBLISHER: HARVEST HOUSE
PUBLICATION DATE: MARCH 01, 2012
RATING: 4 OUT OF 5 – VERY GOOD
PROS: Unusual blend of Amish culture in a wild-west historical setting; unconventional ending; amusing secondary characters
CONS: Romance is fairly predictable; heroine constantly gets into trouble and needs rescuing
Emma Switzer never wanted to leave Apple Grove to live with her aunt, but she wouldn’t have wished having their wagon stolen by thieves partway into their journey in order to prevent her from leaving. Stranded in the prairie with her father, grandmother and younger sister, Emma struggles to have the faith to believe that they will find a way out of this situation. When her family stumbles across a trading settlement and finds a rugged cowboy thrown at their feet, her father is convinced that God has sent this man to help them. Emma can’t help but think, “The Lord might have cleaned him up first.” But first impressions can be deceiving, and as Emma and her family travel along side Luke Carson’s cattle drive to the nearest town she finds herself increasingly drawn to the young cowboy. Her father disapproves of their growing relationship and is keen to get her back to their Amish settlement, where there are no such temptations. Could an Amish woman and a trail boss ever set aside their differences for the sake of love? Or are there too many aspects of their disparate lifestyles keeping them apart?
Sometimes, you just need a book that puts a smile on your face and makes you feel relaxed and content. The Heart’s Frontier was such a book. The novel also had the added bonus of being a mixture of Amish and historical fiction, two of my favourite genres, and a blend that is slowly becoming more popular. Anna Schmidt has written about an Amish boy who runs away with the circus in the 1920s, while Murray Pura has tackled the treatment of the Amish as conscientious objectors during WWI. Joining this sub-genre of Amish fiction, The Heart’s Frontier features an Amish family who are robbed of all their belongings while travelling across Kansas to stay with relatives, and end up relying on the help of a cowboy leading a cattle drive across the country. I wasn’t so much sceptical of a wild-west Amish novel, but rather intrigued. I do enjoy western historicals, but the difficulty with writing about the Amish in the late nineteenth century is that they don’t have the barriers of electricity and technology to set them apart from those around them. It was interesting to see how the authors tackled the less overt differences that made them stand out; namely, the modesty of the women’s clothing, their temperance and non-violence, and obviously, their commitment to God in all things.
Unlike some romance novels, I didn’t feel that The Heart’s Frontier had a plot with a distinct start, middle and end. As Emma’s family travelled across Kansas with the cattle drive the characters and their relationships with each other also went on a journey, and the novel depicted how their attitudes towards each other changed over the course of the novel. While there were a few distinct incidents throughout the novel that moved the plot in one way or another, it felt more character-driven than plot-driven. The secondary characters provided a lot of amusement, particularly with the clash of Amish culture against the attitudes of the men on the cattle drive. There were plenty of moments that almost made me laugh out loud, from Emma’s grandmother’s constant stream of proverbs to Emma learning to lasso a cow. All in all, it was a gentle, relaxing read, and although Emma and Luke didn’t have a lot of personal hurdles to overcome, I enjoyed witnessing how their friendship developed. Because of the conditions under which their romance blossomed – chaperoned by Emma’s father, grandmother and the entire cattle drive, as well as Emma being Amish and used to strict courtship traditions – the focus was more on the two of them getting to know each other and included far more wistful glances and gentle touches than passion and chemistry.
I did feel that their romance bordered on being of the “love at first sight” sort, which is not a favourite of mine. However, considering the circumstances in which the story is set and the genre nature of the romance, it did suit the novel. There are many variations of Christian romance novels, and there are some that are definitely aimed at more mature, married women. This is not one of those, and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend The Heart’s Frontier to a young teenage girl. It’s a very sweet romance and ridiculously squeaky clean; the hero and heroine don’t even kiss until the last chapter. And while I do prefer the edgier romances that dare to show the passion a couple can feel for each other, there are times when a sweet romance is entirely satisfying. Yes, The Heart’s Frontier was rather predictable, but the mesh of historical and Amish elements definitely made the well-used “forbidden love” storyline into something original. I didn’t mind the predictability of the romance so much as I did the fact that Emma was continually getting into trouble – being kidnapped or dragged away by a rampaging cow or trampled by a herd of cows – and needing to be rescued by Luke. Each time something happened to her, Luke would rescue her and they’d realise how much they cared about each other. I wouldn’t mind this so much, but it was used at least three times throughout the novel and I kind of wished the authors had used different ways of bringing Emma and Luke together. But the unexpected ending more than made up for the predictable elements in the story. Amish romances involving outsiders have a tendency to end the same way, so I was pleasantly surprised at the way Lori and Virginia chose to conclude The Heart’s Frontier.
The Heart’s Frontier takes a well-used romance of forbidden love and turns it into something new by having its Amish heroine fall for a rugged cowboy. The predictability of the plot is made up for in the unique period and setting of the story, as well as the amusing antics of various secondary characters. While I wouldn’t place the first book in the Amish of Apple Grove series among my favourite Amish or historical novels, it was a very enjoyable reading experience and I would definitely consider reading the next book in the series. I imagine that those who are fans of Amish fiction and western historicals would enjoy this mesh of the two genres.
Review title provided by Harvest House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

AMERICAN FRONTIER MEETS THE AMISH!!

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
THE HEART'S FRONTIER by Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith is an inspirational historical fiction set in 1881 Texas and Kansas. It is book 1 in the "The Amish of Apple Grove" series. A Wild West and Amish adventure. I liked the Maummi character,she stuck to what she believed in no matter what. I also like the ways the of Amish people.Their plain,simple life. I also,like the way they put God first in their lives, and how God Blessed them for doing that. I enjoyed how Emma, found her happiness outside of the Plain life. A good story! Received from Wynn-Wynn Media and the publisher for an honest review. Details can be found at Harvest House Publishers,the author's website,and My Book Addiction and More.
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVEWED BY: DorothyA,My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very pleasant surprise

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Redcurt
Location:Denver, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This book is like none other I have read of the Amish genre. It is very funny at times, surprisingly refreshing and I didn't want it to end. I loved the storyline and found it so very different in a very positive way. Ladies you hit this one out of the ballpark. I can't wait for the next in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Heart's Frontier, The Amish of Apple Grove Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the Lord could have cleaned him up first

Date:March 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bestselling authors Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith weave an entertaining and romantic tale for devoted fans and new readers.
The story begins with a typical Amish family group loading their wagon for a move and having an assist from family and friends in the community. The Amish are a tight knit community of believers.
Kansas is the stage for this story and it is 1881. The Amish family undertaking this move (involving a history making handmade hutch) consists of grand mama, son (father), and two daughters as they begin their trek to a new community. They set out alone. No wagon train, no guide, no protection.
Down the road away, they are accosted by a band of renegades who taunt them, steal their wagon and oxen, and all their food and possessions leaving them to manage on foot. They arrive in a small town penniless and in much need of help. Then a young cowboy (Luke) literally lands at their feet outside a saloon. Emma looks down and sees God's provision at her feet but thinks it would have been nice if "the Lord could have cleaned him up first."
Hence begins a tale that will tickle your funny bone in places, give you assurance of the guidance of the Lord in the lives of these characters, and reveal the inner workings of the beliefs and traditions of a not-so-typical Amish family.
Luke and his men and the four Amish help one another as rustlers try to steal the cowboy's herd that he is driving to market with his team of workers and as the Amish need to procure a means to get where they were going. And through their encounters with each other during this week-long cattle drive, an unlikely romance begins to bud. But that would be telling the story to you. When the wild and wooly west meets the calm, predictable, and traditional Amish, surely something interesting and unpredictable will happen.
New on your book sellers shelves March 2012. This book is sure to be an engaging and lighthearted read that will entertain.
I was provided a complimentary copy of The Heart's Frontier by Harvest House Publishers for the purpose of review. I was not required to render a favorable review. All opinions expressed are my own.
Published March 1st 2012, ISBN 0736947523 (ISBN 13: 9780736947527)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>