Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print

Christian Large Print Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print

What would cause an eighteen-year-old old senior class president and homecoming queen from Nashville, Tennessee, to disappoint her family and friends all so she could move to Uganda, where she knew only one person but didn't know any of the language? A passion to make a difference. Katie Davis left over Christmas break her senior year for a short mission trip to Uganda and her life was turned completely inside out. She found herself so moved by the people and children of Uganda that she knew her calling was to return and care for them. Katie, a charismatic and articulate young woman, is in the process of adopting thirteen children in Uganda, and she completely trusts God for daily provision for her and her family.

To further her reach into the needs of Ugandans, Katie established Amazima Ministries. The ministry matches orphaned children with sponsors worldwide. Each sponsor's $300/year provides schooling, school supplies, three hot meals a day, minor medical care, and spiritual encouragement. Today it sponsors over 400.

Katie Davis is more than fascinating; she's inspiring, as she has wholeheartedly answered the call to serve. Large Print Edition. Softcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.981 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
53 out of 53100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Review 1 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pauls wife
Location:Twin Falls, Id.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book spoke mounds to my heart. I would love for EVERYONE to read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good for teens

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Junglejane
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Excellent story of her life and desire to walk with God, serving those we encounter each day, living one day at a time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME BOOK

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
customer1124
Location:Greenfield MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend this as a must read to youth, teens and adults. Very inspiring. Shows what God can do with a willing heart. Great for church youth groups and anyone considering being a missionary. Also good for anyone wanting something inspiring to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful, inspiring story

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
teacher
Location:Georgetown, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This young, modern-day Mother Theresa figure makes you want to do more than you ever imagined you would or could.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amazing Story of How Great God Is!

Date:December 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before reading this novel, God revealed to my family and I that were going to be "missionaries" to Cambodia. I can't say exactly how we will get there or when we will go, but I do know that God has placed this calling on my family's heart and we plan to answer it with a "yes" to our Lord and Savior. Through Katie's story it gave me hope in knowing that right now I don't have to know to answer to these questions and other questions that might come up, but like Katie, God will provide the way (and continue too!) for it to happen. I just have to trust Him.
Having experienced this calling prior to opening up the first page, I was so blessed to read Katie's story! She paints such a beautiful picture of her journey with Christ and how her calling came to be. She doesn't hesitate in explaining her love for her family in Uganda or hesitate in showing her human struggles. I really felt Katie's heart and love for the people of Uganda through each page, even if there were times that I was tearing up.
I want to say I was blown away by the stories that Katie tells, but I realized that like she said she is just a woman who said "yes" to God. All Christians have the potential to do things she is doing as well as see the miracles she has seen in our own backyards or even overseas. I was thoroughly inspired and encouraged to continue to say "yes" to God concerning the calling He has placed on my family's life.
"Kisses from Katie" isn't a "light" book, but it definitely tells a story of how great God is and truly how deep His love is for us. I highly recommend this novel to anyone who is struggling with thoughts of "How can a good God let bad things happen?," unsure if God has even placed a calling on their own life, and becoming inspired to step out in faith in one's own personal relationship with the Lord.
I give this novel a 5 out of 5 stars!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth your time

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lola
Age:55-65
Gender:female
We're really enjoying this book. It's an inspiration and challenge to look at our own priorities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully inspiring

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie is a true modern day heroine with an extraordinary call. Her life of faith and love is such a witness to Christians everywhere and although we aren't all called to move to Uganda to adopt fourteen children, it inspires us to strive to love just a little more, wherever we are, in whatever we do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practical summary of a true servant. Obedience!

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
paulman
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love God. Love people. Katie summarizes cleary the mission we are expected to follow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Story

Date:March 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bunny
Location:Peru, Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Could not put it down. Very inspirational and touching. Purchased two more books to give as gifts. One to granddaughter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic book, well worth the price.

Date:February 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Treble
Location:St. Louis, Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the most inspirational true stories I've ever read. What a remarkable young lady! I was given a copy and have already bought two more as gifts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was excellent

Date:February 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nita
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed Katie's story. Very inspiring. Would highly reccomend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
rose
Location:New York, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The moving story of a young woman who wants to follow God's call more than following what society says is important.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing young woman.

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amymomof2
Location:Maryland
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book. I have never been so challenged and humbled while reading a book. What a beautiful heart this young woman has. Just amazing !!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very touching book!

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
momof6
Location:Calgary,Ab
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a must read for all people living in North America. It really puts things into perspective from a christian stand point. Wonderful to see people still being called and giving their all to their Saviour Jesus Christ!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
L Porter
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic book/story. Makes a person want to stand up for orphans and widows no matter what country you are in!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book! Very inspiring!

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mommalawson
Location:Lagrange, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! What an inspiring young lady! This book really challenged mr to live totally dependent on GOD and to become more convinced that GOD is all that we need each day! We are never more blessed than when we are totally sold out to HIS will in our lives! What a GREAT book!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent read.

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lois
Location:Reading, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was not only a good read but was also a challenge to not forget about the needs of others. What an inspiration!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must- read for those with a serving heart

Date:January 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gerty
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent and inspirational. Found myself in tears with the courage and faith of such a young woman.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful story of love in action.

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grammy
Location:B.C., Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A wonderful story of a surrendered heart willing to do whatever the Lord wants to do through her. Loved it!!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring book!

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Laurie
Location:NW, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie's chronicals of her post highschool years challenge readers to think outside the college or vocation routes which seem to be a given for Americans after secondary schooling -even for Christians. I'm sure her experiences will enbolden others to allow the Holy Spirit to lead them into His purpose. It is an inspiring book!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.