Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT

Christian Large Print A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT

In a community where conformity flourishes, seeds of Rhoda's odd behavior were planted long ago. Can she cultivate her relationships with the same care and tenderness that she gives her beloved garden?

Old Order Amish Rhoda Byler's unusual gift and her remarkable abilities to grow herbs and berries have caused many to think her odd. As rumors mount that Rhoda's "gift" is a detriment to the community, she chooses isolation, spending her time in her fruit garden and on her thriving canning business.

Average Customer Rating:
4.617 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
43 out of 4791%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Review 1 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:January 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I finally have finished this Amish book, and I have to say I was rather disappointed. Yes, this is a clean Amish romance, and it can certainly be classified as Christian. There are some unique elements within the story, and I even found myself smiling over some of the interactions between the characters. It even deals with some non-traditional issues, and I did find myself impressed with how those issues played out.
Unfortunately, the author truly had me confused for much of the book. I was surprised that this was considered the first in the series because I repeatedly felt like I was missing something. I wish there had been some other volume to consult because it seemed like the author assumed that the reader would know certain things (that I did not know). I also believe that the story did a disservice to the gospel message. The author missed some perfect moments to share a strong gospel message. I have to admit that I would not read any other books in this series, and I do expect better from this author. But that is just my opinion.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the better Amish books

Date:December 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Season of Tending is the first book in Cindy Woodsmalls newest series.
Rhoda Byler is rumored to dabble in dark magic, thanks to her belief that she hears her dead sister’s voice and her uncanny ability to help people with different type of herbs. When her father is pressured into uprooting her herb garden, Rhoda throws herself into her tending her vast fruit garden and her canning business. With the help of her family and her English friend Landon, Rhoda manages to get through the days.
Samuel King has worked years to bring his apple orchard back from the brink of ruin, only to find that nature may have other plans. When in insect invasion threatens a third of his crop, Samuel is forces to look for alternate solutions to what to do with unsellable crop. When he is introduced to Rhoda an idea begins to form, but first Samuel must break through the wall that Rhoda has erected and show her that there are people whom she can trust.
Overall I really liked this book. It was engaging with a unique story line. This is the first book that I have read by this author and I found that I thoroughly appreciated the writing style. She seems to have brought back the idea that not all books need to be romance oriented, but a book can be a success based solely on friendships. I enjoyed watching Rhoda slowly break out of her shell and become friends with Samuel and his brothers, Jacob and Eli as well as her connection to the rebellious Leah, Samuel’s younger sister. This is one of the better Amish books that I have read and I honestly cannot wait to read the rest of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rhoda Byler runs her own canning business in her Old Order Amish community. Her odd ways and eccentric personality however, have caused many to choose to stay away from her as they do not understand her gift for tending plants and herbs long past their harvest seasons. In an effort to stay away from a community that looks down on her and sees her as a detriment, she keeps her distance as much as possible from the people who observe the Old Ways and nurse superstitious fears.
An accidental encounter with a girl from the neighboring town of Harvest Mills causes Rhoda to meet the family who own King's Orchard. Samuel is the eldest, and in charge of the orchard, along with brothers Jacob and Eli. A mistake on Eli's part costs them ten acres of good eating apples and leaves behind almost worthless cider apples. When King's Orchard meets Rhode Side Stands, the simple solution to all those cider apples is to can them into products to make a much bigger profit. But will working together really be the answer? Or has Samuel made a mistake that will cost him beloved orchard?
This is the first book I have read by this author, and I must say I was pleasantly surprised and impressed with this novel. There are so many Amish fiction writers these days, and Woodsmall brings something new, fresh and unexpected to the genre. While the idea of someone being able to see the future is often referred to as being "psychic", this author portrays it just as a simple feeling or emotion; not something that reeks of darker powers and New Age nonsense. A recommended read for anyone who likes something a little different.
This book was provided for free by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fantastic New Series!!

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Season for Tending
Cindy Smallwood
Book Summary: In a community where conformity flourishes, seeds of Rhoda's odd behavior were planted long ago. Can she cultivate her relationships with the same care and tenderness that she gives her beloved garden? Old Order Amish Rhoda Byler's unusual gift and her remarkable abilities to grow herbs and berries have caused many to think her odd. As rumors mount that Rhoda's "gift" is a detriment to the community, she chooses isolation, spending her time in her fruit garden and on her thriving canning business.
Miles away in Harvest Mills, Samuel King struggles to keep his family's apple orchard profitable. As the eldest son, Samuel farms with his brothers, the irrepressible Jacob and brash Eli, while his longtime girlfriend Catherine remains hopeful that Samuel will marry her when he feels financially stable.
Meanwhile, Samuel's younger sister Leah is testing all the boundaries during her rumschpringe, and finds herself far from home in Rhoda's garden after a night of partying gone badly. But Leah's poor choices serve as a bridge between Rhoda and the King family when a tragic mistake in the orchard leaves Samuel searching for solutions.
Rhoda's expertise in canning could be the answer, but she struggles with guilt over the tragic death of her sister and doesn't trust herself outside her garden walls. As the lines between business, love, and family begin to blur, can Rhoda finally open up to a new life? And what effect will this odd, amazing woman have on the entire King family?
Review: I really like Cindy Smallwood’s writing style. While this book took me a little while to get into it was worth the effort. Once I got into the flow of it I was hooked! The characters were fresh and completely different from anything I have read by her. This was a well thought out series and I look forward to the next two. This story made me laugh, cry and realize that Rhoda was truly a fresh face for Amish readers. The Kings were fun and lively. While problems seem to plague all of them Rhoda, Landon and the Kings are realistic and fun. I knew what was coming at the end and I was still hanging on the edge of my seat when the events finally came about. Poor Rhoda really needed the Kings and they needed her. Her Daed was fantastic and truly a great addition to the entire story. I want to see more of him. There are so many different things going on at once that I wished I could read faster. I needed time to soak up everything too!
I would like to thank Edelweiss, Library Thing and Waterbrook Press for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Too Good To Put Down!

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
LoveMy2Dogs
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cindy Woodsmall has once again wrote another great book, she has never let me down. I am so glad that I chose that I chose A Season for Tending to read. This book kept my interest and all I could do was keep on reading and reading all day long.
This story is about Rhoda Byler who lost her younger sister in a freak accident when she left and went to the store alone and Rhoda had stayed behind to tend to her herbs and berries patches. These herb and berries have been her pride and joy from the time she was just a small child and a gift from her father every year, her berry patch had grown into an acre of bountiful fruit.
Rhoda blames herself for her sisters death feeling that she could have prevented it because she felt deep inside her that something bad was going to happen and tried to get there to save her, but was too late. Because of this, she buried herself into her work with her herbs and berries. She could tell everyone what any herb could cure and sometimes over stepped her bounds and gave her herbs to people to help cure what ailed them. She could also grow her berry bushes better than anyone around and produce more product off of them and this was what she had so much pride in doing. In doing things that she thinks that is helping others and with her talking to plants while gardening and the fact that she thought she could see what was going to happen to her sister Emma before it happened people of the community thought she was a bit strange and was doing mean things to her.
Then there is the drunk teenager that Rhoda finds asleep in her garden. Rhoda befriends her and helps her get home and covers things when her brother, Samuel King of King's Orchard, comes to pick her up. She even beats him down a little for being so rough on her for doing what she is doing during her rumschpringe and to give her a little credit and appreciation.
The bond that starts between them all in the cellar of Rhoda's parents house while Rhoda is canning her berries is an amazing relationship that blossoms. There's so much more that I could tell you but I don't want to spoil things for you.
I definitely give this book five stars! I can not wait to get my hands on the next book in the series; The Winnowing Season: Book Two in the Amish Vines and Orchards Series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
grandma5
Location:Star City AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a very good book cant wate for the next one to come out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is a good read!

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julianne
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a little apprehensive about reading this book. I usually struggle to get into books that have characters following the Amish lifestyle; however, this book was a great read. Cindy Woodsmall was able to introduce the characters in such a way that you instantly felt some emotional connection with each character. I found it a little odd that Rhoda would have such a special gift. It is understandable that others were unsure and uncomfortable around her. I am interested to see how Ms. Woodsmall continues writing about Rhoda and her gift. I will definitely be reading book 2 in this series.
This book was also a great love story about loving family, finding friendships, and supporting those you care about. Though there were some relationships hinted at in the book I found myself appreciating the connections between characters as their bond between each other grew. They were able to find comfort in each other for each of their “dark” secrets, as well as support each other through trials. It created a deeper connection between the reader and the characters in the book.
I would encourage you to check out this book. Read the first chapter of A Season for Tending here: http://www.scribd.com/doc/98995874/A-Season-for-Tending-by-Cindy-Woodsmall-Chapter-1-Excerpt.
"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Location:Summerfield, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rhoda Byler runs her own canning business in her Old Order Amish community. Her odd ways and eccentric personality however, have caused many to choose to stay away from her as they do not understand her gift for tending plants and herbs long past their harvest seasons. In an effort to stay away from a community that looks down on her and sees her as a detriment, she keeps her distance as much as possible from the people who observe the Old Ways and nurse superstitious fears.
An accidental encounter with a girl from the neighboring town of Harvest Mills causes Rhoda to meet the family who own King's Orchard. Samuel is the eldest, and in charge of the orchard, along with brothers Jacob and Eli. A mistake on Eli's part costs them ten acres of good eating apples and leaves behind almost worthless cider apples. When King's Orchard meets Rhode Side Stands, the simple solution to all those cider apples is to can them into products to make a much bigger profit. But will working together really be the answer? Or has Samuel made a mistake that will cost him beloved orchard?
This is the first book I have read by this author, and I must say I was pleasantly surprised and impressed with this novel. There are so many Amish fiction writers these days, and Woodsmall brings something new, fresh and unexpected to the genre. While the idea of someone being able to see the future is often referred to as being "psychic", this author portrays it just as a simple feeling or emotion; not something that reeks of darker powers and New Age nonsense. A recommended read for anyone who likes something a little different.
This book was provided for free by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laura
Location:New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I wasn't sure what to think of this book in the beginning as I'm not a believer in premonitions which are a large part of the storyline. In spite of my initial reservations, I found I couldn't put this book down and cannot wait to read the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great first book in the series

Date:December 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janet P
Location:El Cajon, CA
A Season for Tending is written by New York Times Best-Selling Author Cindy Woodsmall. This book is the first in a new series called Amish Vines and Orchards. I love Amish fiction so I was looking forward to reading this new novel by Ms. Woodsmall.
Rhoda Byler is a young Amish woman who has a gift for growing herbs and berries. This alienates her from others in the Amish community because they think her gift is strange. Samuel King is an Amish man living in another community who is struggling to keep his family's apple orchard profitable. Samuel eventually ends up meeting Rhoda through his sister Leah, and they realize that they both can help each other. But then tragedy strikes so Rhoda, Samuel and his family members make a decision to start over in Maine.
My thoughts: I really enjoyed reading this book and am a fan of Cindy Woodsmall. The plot was interesting to me and the characters realistic. There seems to be a love triangle starting between Samuel, Samuel's brother and Rhoda and I am looking forward to reading the 2nd book in the series to see who Rhoda ends up with! I would recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book, I couldn't put it down.

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nanc
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very informative, learn a ton about apples and gardening. Even got some recipes. But most of all Cindy draws you in close to God. There were lots of places of Amish language, but one thing I did notice was that it didn't have the strictness of Amish especially in regard to the relationships of Rhoda and her suitors. It was a great book and I finished it much to soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
simplysusan
Location:central Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will state up front–I am NOT a fan of Amish fiction and A Season for Tending is not the book that will change that. It was slow moving and a bit too soapy for me. Cindy Woodsmall is a fine writer, no doubt about it, but I simply did not enjoy the storyline at all. I would love to see her take a step away from the Amish fiction fad and write a Christian fiction book of a different genre.
Fans of Amish fiction will probably love A Season for Tending. The writing is good and if you enjoy this sort of story line, then I would say that you’d enjoy this one. As for me, I felt it was too slow and stilted. I just didn’t connect with the characters at all. If Woodsmall continues to write Amish fiction alone, this will be the last book of hers I read. But, I hope that at some point she steps away from this genre to write about a different subject. If you like Amish fiction, then give this one a try, but if you’re like me and don’t enjoy it, I’d say skip this one.
NOTICE:
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Library Thing in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Season fot Tending Heals the Heart

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Season for Tending
Amish Vines and Orchards, Book 1
By Cindy Woodsmall
Rhoda Byler has a gift that has been misunderstood by those around her. She has been allowed to sense certain things so that she can help people, but because of skill with plants she is feared. Not only is she feared, but she is accused of dabbling in witchcraft.
But Rhoda is living with a guilt that burdens her soul, she blames herself for her younger sister's death. She was not able to stop it, and worse she feels that her work in the garden caused her to fail her sister. But no one understands her pain.
When Rhoda comes into contact with the King family from Harvest Mills their lives are about to be forever altered. Leah is trying to discover her worth and is determined to escape the Amish ways that seem to imprison her. Meanwhile her brother Jacob struggles to come to terms with what occurred while he was outside the community. His life is hidden by tragic secret. Oldest brother Samuel is in-charge of the family's orchards and he takes everything very seriously.
As Rhoda struggles against the rumors that threaten to destroy her gardens, the Kings struggle against a blight that could destroy their farm. Can Rhoda's skills save them all?
With secrets and fears ruling their lives can these young men and women learn to trust God and to lay their cares at His feet? As Rhoda gets to know this hurting family, God begins to heal them all. Can family, friendship, love, and business free them to live beyond what they thought possible? Or will disaster destroy everything they've worked for?
Cindy Woodsmall has embarked on yet another series that touches the heart and lets you see beyond the fences of your own garden. I look forward to book 2 The Winnowing Season in spring 2013!
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Soap Opera of the Amish

Date:November 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
HomeschoolChristianMom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cindy Woodsmall's A Season for Tending is the first novel in the "Amish Vines and Orchards Series". The main character, Rhoda, is somewhat an introvert with a bad reputation in the Amish communities after some unusual events surrounding the death of her little sister. The first couple chapters of the book seemed a bit disconnected, giving introductions to several key characters and planting seeds of intrigue that will make you wonder and keep you reading with a slight edge of suspense.
The plot thickens as the chapters continue and characters begin to interact and interweave. The primary focus of this (like most novels) is on interpersonal relationships, not on the Amish belief system or way of life. Readers are given detailed insight into the thoughts of all the characters, making them all easy to relate to in one sense or another. There are only a few "bad" guys and no one is presented as without flaw, in fact, a fair amount of text is devoted to telling how the characters reflected on and analyzed their own actions, rather than only reacting to others in the story line.
Despite being set primarily in an Amish community, there are still the tell-tale "soap-opera" scenarios such as teenagers drinking and having a pregnancy scare, a cheating boyfriend, multiple references to superstition, witchcraft, and supernatural "premonitions", a natural disaster to stir things up a bit, etc. Although most of the book implies that hard work and honesty are valued character traits, not all instances of wrongdoing receive consequence, and there is not single "good" character who is portrayed as without making a decision that would be labeled as questionable at best.
If you are looking for a wholesome, entertaining book that upholds Christian values, this one lands in the gray area. I would certainly recommend reading it before presenting it to a teen. One line in the book which really stuck with me was, "She hated pretending to worship a God who, at best, didn't like her any more than she liked herself." While I appreciate the honesty with which the characters emotions are presented, it didn't sit well with me that there was no further follow-up on this character's thoughts about God. We never find out if she knew God loved her or if she blows Him off as being a condemning-man-upstairs. The way the plot moves forward will keep your interest, and there is the infamous little taste of a big change/event in the last chapter (because this is the first of the series, so it can't possible end with an actual conclusion).
In the interest of full disclosure, I would like to mention that I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for the purpose of reviewing. I wasn't obligated to give a positive review, the opinions are mine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great story line!

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was the first time for me to read a book by Cindy Woodsmall. Knowing it was a series made me a little hesitant to go ahead and read since I like to have all of a series when I read so I don’t have to wait. I really enjoyed the book. It had good reading, and even though it left you wanting to know more of the story, enough of it was told to say it was a good book with a good story. Although I will have to keep my eye out for the 2nd book b/c I will want to see the next phase of this story. The plot kept you going at many different angles so it kept you interested throughout the entire book. I enjoyed the plot of Rhoda the best. Her world fascinated me on how well she gardened, canned, to moving past a tragic lost that she kept herself at fault, even though it wasn’t. There wasn’t much of a devotion to learn or bible verses that this writer concentrates on, but the Amish’s simple life was enough for me for this story. This book was given to me by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Left me hanging, but good overall

Date:October 30, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one is a little out of my usual preferred genre-romance. Though there is a touch of romance, it is not at the core of the book. I enjoyed the story despite this "flaw" (LOL).
As with all of Cindy's books, the characters are well thought-out. Her writing makes you look past the obvious and see into a person's hurts, fears, and insecurities.
I look forward to book 2 The Winnowing Season (schedule for Spring 2013). I need to find out what happens to Rhoda, Samuel, and Jacob, which was left open-ended in this story.
***I received this book from the publisher/author for purposes of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Welcome to Amish Vines and Orchards

Date:October 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are wanting a book where all the loose ends get tied up in a neat, story-book ending and everyone lives happily ever after . . . well, you might want to try something else. But, if you're looking for an engaging story filled with complex characters trying to find their way through joys and struggles to follow their dreams and God's direction . . . Cindy Woodsmall's A Season for Tending could be just the one!
Rhoda Byler is a young woman with a "gift" that causes her problems with others in her Old Order Amish community and with her Englisch neighbors. And she struggles with guilt over the death of her younger sister. Her only source of real joy is in the fruits and herbs she grows for her canning business, and she runs the risk of losing those.
Samuel King -- along with his brothers Jacob and Eli -- is running his family's apple orchard, and keeping it profitable has become a formidable challenge. Irresponsible actions, family secrets, and natural tragedies make the job grow more and more difficult.
Samuel's younger sister Leah is pushing all limits during her rumschpringe and trying the patience of her family members. When she wakes up in Rhoda's garden after a night of bad partying, one thing leads to another in forming a connection between Kings' Orchard and Rhode Side Stands.
As always, Cindy Woodsmall has written a great story. Taking her husband's family history with apple orchards as a setting for an intriguing Amish story was a perfect way to blend two things in which you can feel her passion. Her characters and plot keep you moving at a pace that is unpredictable and exciting. And there are many unanswered questions that make the wait well worthwhile for the next installment in the Amish Vines and Orchards series. I definitely give A Season for Tending a five star rating!
As a special bonus, there are a couple of recipes in the back of the book, courtesy of Sherry Gore, an author, editor and member of a Beachy Amish Mennonite church in Sarasota, Florida.
(This book was provided free of charge by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of Deep Characters

Date:October 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A Season for Tending" is the first book in a brand new series by Cindy Woodsmall. I loved the story; this may be her best yet! The characters, themselves, though, were my favorite feature:
Rhoda Byler is a young woman with a gift for growing things. She also has a gift for understanding people deeply. And sometimes, when people are in danger, she senses it. Unfortunately for Rhoda, instead of people being grateful for her warnings, they feel threatened by them. In their minds, premonitions plus growing things equals witchcraft.
Samuel King is the oldest of three sons working together to manage the struggling family apple orchard. Samuel not only carries the self-imposed burden for this orchard, but also for the behavior and needs of his younger siblings, girlfriend, and her younger brother.
Jacob King, slightly younger than Samuel, has just returned from a few years of living and working in the Englisch world. Though he seems to be doing well back among the Amish, he carries painful secrets from his time away.
Leah King, the oldest sister of the King family, yet younger than her brothers, struggles with the freedom of her rumschpringe. Determining to make wiser choices than some she has made, she still longs to leave the Amish, but does not know how.
Together, these four and their families must find a way to save two businesses: Rhoda’s Rhode Side Stands and the King Family Orchard. I enjoyed reading of their efforts and am looking forward to the next book in the "Amish Vines and Orchards" series.
Thank you, Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers, for sending a complimentary copy of this book for this honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Season for Tending by Cindy Woodsmall

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
ZacsBlog
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Season for Tending is about an Amish girl, Rhoda, who has a love for gardening and canning and who has an intuition that has the town in an uproar. One day, Rhoda finds an amish girl in her garden. This relationship blossoms into journeying to an apple orchard–where relationships are tested, some are ended, and others are started.
The Amish rumspringa is a time when the young Amish "experience the world." This is played out in the story through bad choices and past memories. Cindy Woodsmall's knowledge of the Amish shows throughout this story. One of my favorite quotes in this story is, "Pretty is what God does in the hearts and minds of people who are a mess–whether outwardly or inwardly or both." I think this is a great reminder that each one of us are a mess and it is because of Christ and God's grace that we are able to be "pretty" and accepted by God.
I really enjoyed reading A Season for Tending. It is full of emotion and I went on a wild journey as I felt the struggles and hurt of the characters. I liked how Cindy used the examples of the Amish rumspringa because it shows how many youth (Amish or not) want to escape the ways they were raised and get to experience the world. It showed the consequences of playing around with sin and the messes it can cause. I am anxiously awaiting the next book in the series, The Winnowing Season.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Season for Tending, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great characters!

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
jdreade
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent read! Hate having to wait so long for #2
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.