Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print A Wreath of Snow, Large Print

Christian Large Print A Wreath of Snow, Large Print

Reluctantly returning home for the holidays, Meg Campbell receives a frosty reception from her family and decides to leave for Edinburgh. Delayed by a snowstorm, she pours out her heart to a secretly hurting traveler named Gordon, who asks all the right questions. Can they find healing in each other---and perhaps something more?
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 out of 3297%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Review 1 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovely Christmas Reading

Date:March 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A quaint little story set on Christmas Eve in Stirling, Scotland in 1894, A Wreath of Snow is about forgiveness, healing and family dynamics. Meg Campbell is shocked to learn that her companion on the train to Edinburgh is none other than Gordon Shaw, the man who accidentally paralyzed her brother 12 years ago. A succession of dramatic twists and a startling revelation add interest to the story, and a very gentle romance tops off this pre-Christmas treat. So, spoil yourself this Christmas - evade the busyness by escaping to historic Scotland. You'll be glad you did!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Lovely Christmas Story-Quick Read

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
AJH
Location:CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our book club chose this for one of its Christmas specials and it was a nice quick read, which is always nice during the holidays too. Liz Curtis Higgs is a great writer and you don't have to worry about what she might write or having to preview it before reading. This is a nice story of forgiveness and starting new by letting go of the past.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wreath of Snow is a Gift of Mercy

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Wreath of Snow
by Liz Curtis Higgs
I just love the title of this book and the image A Wreath of Snow brings to mind. A Wreath of Snow takes place over just a few days, but deals with the consequences of a foolish mistake that took place 12 years before.
Meg Campbell is fleeing her family home on Christmas eve. Meg can't deal with her brother's accusations that she is selfish because she won't sell the home her aunt left her. Though she had looked forward to spending the holiday with her family she decides return to Edinburgh on the very day she had arrived home.
Gordon Shaw, the very man responsible for the accident that changed her brother's life, is traveling on the very train that Meg has taken. But when a snowstorm prevents them from reaching Edinburgh Meg and Gordon are given a unique chance. But can either find the peace that they seek when they are forced to return to Sterling?
Gordon seeks forgiveness for the pain that he had caused all those years ago. Meg wants to have the family she once had restored to her. But bitterness has ruled in her family for too many years as her parents yield to Alan's every wish. Can anything restore her relationship with her brother?
To protect her family Meg keeps Gordon's identity a secret and makes him promise to do so as well. But another secret simmers just below the surface, a secret that could change everything.
A Wreath of Snow is a lovely evening read with the heart of the story being forgiveness and mercy. Having never before read any books by Liz Curtis Higgs, I did not know what to expect and was given an enjoyable evening of reading and would highly recommend this book.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful Christmas Novella

Date:January 15, 2013
What a wonderful story! A Wreath of Snow was the first book I've read by Liz Curtis Higgs, and I was so impressed! Liz delivered a sweet yet emotional story with lessons of forgiveness and redemption woven throughout. Often, I find novellas a little lacking—too few pages to fully develop the story. However, I was pleasantly surprised that I felt like I got a complete story in this short, quick read. I still wanted more, but it was just because I enjoyed the story so much! While this technically is a Christmas story, it would be a wonderful read any time of the year. I will definitely be on the lookout for more stories like this from Liz Curtis Higgs in the future! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah's Blogging for Books Program in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth Savoring All Year Long!

Date:January 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dolly
Location:New Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I read this darling novella during the week of Christmas, the oh-so-lovely threads of forgiveness, redemption & hope would be welcome in any season! Liz starts out with a situation in which no happy ending seems possible. As the story evolves, the brokenness in each of the five main characters breaks your heart, too. Even more so as you realize that not one of them is capable of fixing what's wrong on their own. Only God’s divine intervention can bring change that heals, but how? Gordon started out looking like a bit of a villain, but Liz beautifully showcases the changes he’s made in the twelve years since the "incident." Courage, bravery & honesty fall as beautifully as the snowflakes in this lovely Scottish village. A must read for those who love Christmas, Victorian settings, or Godly romance. If your heart longs for an answer that only the Almighty can bring, this story is for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful

Date:December 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Sundin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Scotland, Christmas, and Liz Curtis Higgs - you just can't go wrong! A sweet romance, but the story also delves deep into what forgiveness means.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2012
It was Christmas Eve of 1894 and Margaret (Meg) Campbell was heading home to Edinburgh. She planned on spending Christmas with her family in Stirling but the bitterness of her younger brother, Alan, was too much to bear. Her brother was tangled in a web of unforgiveness and anger as he was involved in a terrible accident when he was younger. He also struggled with feelings of inadequacy as he felt he could never quite measure up to his sister. A conversation between him and Meg turned into an argument that was too much for Meg to bear. As much as Meg wanted to spend Christmas with her family she decided it was best to catch the next train home. During her travels she met a handsome man named Gordon. Gordon has secrets that will soon come light. How will Meg react to the news she is about to find out?
This is the first book I have read by this author and I must say that I enjoyed it. The book was well written and was not entirely predictable. It was great reading this during the holidays. I also enjoyed the Scottish Shortbread recipe at the back of the book, as well as, a Reader’s Guide. This is truly a wonderful story about the power of forgiveness and how one can be free from the past.
*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Cherished Christmas Novella

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Wreath of Snow: A Victorian Christmas Novella
Liz Curtis Higgs
Editor Summary: This heartwarming novella invites readers to experience Christmas in Victorian Scotland, as the chill of a family misunderstanding gives way to the warmth of forgiveness.
On a reluctant visit home, an icy reception from her family in Stirling sends Meg Campbell fleeing for the train station, determined to spend the holidays alone in Edinburgh. When snow delays her departure, Meg pours out her heart to fellow traveler Gordon, an affable newspaperman who asks all the right questions, even as he keeps his own heartache under wraps. Then an unexpected turn of events finally points them both in the right direction: home. This stand-alone novella captures the unexpected gift of forgiveness and the hopeful stirrings of new love.
Review: This was a quick read and suspenseful. Even though there were a few hints of what was to come it was still suspenseful to see it unfold. I like the main characters and was quickly drawn to Meg. It felt very real and like being in the house when the conflict was finally revealed to the secondary characters. Everything about the story felt like a grand Christmas celebration. The snow, the church service and the presents. It was a pleasure to read this story and provide this review.
I would like to thank Waterbrook Press and Edelweiss for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming Yuletide Tale!

Date:December 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5


In A Wreath of Snow, Liz Curtis Higgs pens a tender, heartwarming yuletide novella set against the backdrop of 1800s Scotland, where blustery snowstorms and the smell of freshly cut evergreens hang heavily in the air.
Our lovely heroine, Margaret Campbell wishes only to return home to Stirling to enjoy a warm Christmas with her family, but is driven away by the bitterness and apathy of her younger brother, Alan. Alan has been confined to a wheelchair ever since an accident that occurred when he was a young lad has left him paralyzed, and his mean spirited ways drive Meg back to Edinburgh where she holds a teaching position.
As Meg boards the train to return to Edinburgh, she meets a handsome young newspaperman named Gordon Shaw, and as their lives intertwine her destiny is forever changed. Gordon struggles under a load of remorse and shame that he has born for years, and should Meg find out why -- what will become of the feelings she is beginning to develop for him? And as the heavy snowfall continues to build -- will the train make it to Edinburgh or will a disaster ensue, causing long buried, dark secrets to finally come to light?
Liz Curtis Higgs is a masterful storyteller, and this powerful story of forgiveness and redemption is a wonderful way to usher in the Christmas season. Heartwarming, with compelling and well developed characters, and a very strong spiritual thread throughout, this one is the perfect "sitting by a crackling fire with a cup of hot chocolate" read! Nicely done as always, Liz Curtis Higgs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a lovely short book to read on a winter afternoon

Date:November 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
vanessa walters
Location:Red Cloud, Neb.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I usually dont read romance books, most have a plot that is predictable before you get into the story very far. And....that is the case with this novella. I had not read any of Ms. Higg's books before. This IS a lovely, well written story set in victorian scotland, I did learn a great deal about scottish christmas' celebrations. I enjoyed the heroine, independent and in charge of her life. Both her and the 'main man' are dealing with past hurts, present hurts, from an awful incident involving both people. The ending of the book wasnt entirely predictable; but at least it wasnt 'happily ever after, we're married, with children'!! A good story for a winter afternoon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

delightful holiday read

Date:November 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The year in 1894 and the place is Stirling, Scotland. It is the day before Christmas. Margaret Campbell, a teacher in Edinburgh, has been home visiting her parents and brother. But it has not gone well. Her younger brother Alan had been injured when a youth, some twelve years ago, and is wheelchair bound. He has become a bitter man.
Meg has had enough of his tirades and escapes the house, anxious to take the train back to Edinburgh. The snow is heavy but the train finally leaves.
On the train she meets a handsome man she finds out is Gordon Shaw, the very man who, in a drunken state, injured Alan.
Gordon is attracted to Meg and she to him. And then the train is stopped by a drift of snow and the two are forced to walk back to Stirling – and to a very awkward situation.
I have come to really like the Christmas novellas. (I've read all of Anne Perry's.) And this is a good one. There are many issues dealt with in this story. How long is the past to direct the present? Should forgiveness ever be withheld? Is it ever right to lie when the truth would hurt so much?
An added plus is that you learn a great deal about the Victorian Christmas traditions and celebrations, and about curling.
The book was a little predictable, or was it just great foreshadowing by Liz? Nonetheless, a fine holiday read.
A Reader's Guide is included at the end of the novel. (So is a recipe for Scottish shortbread.)
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I think I have a new favorite author!

Date:November 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
tiinaj1
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Take a trip to Scotland with Liz Curtis Higgs in her new book A Wreath of Snow. I've always wanted to visit Scotland (even though I'm Irish) and so I tagged along. I found a wonderful story that drew me in and made me sympathize with Margaret, root for Gordon and hopeful that there will be a sequel so I can find out what happens next. (Hint Hint)
This is a wonderful story about 2 individuals hurt spiritually and emotionally by a terrible accident years before when Margaret's brother is injured in a Curling accident caused by Gordon. I could feel the emotion and the sorrow near the end of the book when Gordon does the right thing and confesses to what happened and loved the ending of the book. Sorta... I wasn't ready to end the story.
A Wreath of Snow would be a great Mother-Daughter or book club read but if you don't have anyone to read it with grab a hot chocolate, latte, a warm afghan and curl up by the fire. It's a great book to read during a blizzard.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to have a positive review and no money exchanged hands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Christmas story, but a bit to short

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
fictionbuyer
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I usually read one Christmas Novella every year. It is usually one that someone asks me to read. They are not my favorite genre mostly because they are not long enough. A Wreath of Snow by Liz Curtis Higgs has that problem. It is a delightful Christmas book that is just not long enough.
I love Liz’s books. Fiction, non- fiction it doesn't matter, I love her writing style. She has a beautiful way of delivering a punch that is given in such a gentle matter that you don’t always notice you have learned something.
Meg is heartbroken that she will not be spending Christmas Day with her parents, but her brother’s cruel treatment of her had become intolerable. She just wanted to get back to Edinburgh into her beloved townhouse and relax. A chance to have a peaceful Christmas instead of one filled with the tension of her parents’ home.
So starts this little book with a message of forgiveness. It doesn’t last long, but it was such a joy to read and put me in the Christmas spirit, which for early October that is not a good thing. This book is just a story of what the true meaning of Christmas is; the story of forgiveness, the story of family and the story of hope.
You can enjoy this book and get into the Christmas spirit early or you can wait until a lovely snow fall, wrap up in a quilt with a cup of hot chocolate and disappear for a little while into Scotland in 1894.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!!

Date:November 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gordon Shaw was drunk years ago, when he threw a curling stone and injured a young boy. A few years later he left home, shunned and alone.
Years later Gordon finds himself again in his hometown, Stirling, praying to get in and out before anyone recognized him. He almost made it. He is on the train bound for Edinburgh when he thinks the lady sitting across the aisle from him looks familiar. He finds out her brother is the one he injured.
He has been dying to make things right for this family. It’s Christmas Eve and he’s sure he has a God-given chance to accomplish that. He befriends the girl, Meg, but he can’t seem to get his full name out, a name that he is sure will make her turn her back on him.
I’m telling you one more thing about the book, except to say the author, Liz Curtis Higgs, has done it again! I tell you, I can’t get enough of her books. Liz is definitely one of those authors I just know I’ll love whatever book she pens.
A Wreath of Snow, by Liz Curtis Higgs, is a Victorian Christmas novella, set in 1894 Scotland. You can see in the graphic above that cover is stunning. The book is hardback, published by Waterbrook, Multnomah Press.
I can not think of a single thing I didn’t like about the book. I try and keep all “romancey” type books away from my 12 year old, I know she’s getting to that age, but I’m not wanting to open the door wide for her yet with the whole boy/girl meet/fall in love, scenario yet.
However! While this book is a romance story, the romance is so light as to almost not even be noticed, I would give this book to her to read and not have a second thought about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Short, cozy, wintery read!

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don’t usually read Christmas-themed books, but A Wreath of Snow's beautiful, wintery front cover and the teaser on the back made my decision!
With her brother’s bitterness overshadowing what should be a joyful time, Meg tries to cut her Christmas visit home short. Unfortunately, snow...and a stranger...change her plans. But secrets are hidden by more than just the not-so-stranger and will make this Christmas one to remember!
A Wreath of Snow is a short, quick read, but full of emotion. The characters struggle within themselves to extend mercy and forgiveness to those around them. With snow, Scottish brogues, and a little curling, A Wreath of Snow is the perfect story for a cozy-up kind of afternoon.
It’s only November, but after closing the book, I was in a Christmas-y mood! If my children had begged to put up the tree, they may have convinced me that day! ;-) Instead, using the recipe that Liz includes in the back of the book, I gathered up some butter, sugar, and flour and whipped up a batch of Scottish Shortbread. Mmmmm! You can find the recipe on my blog acookingbookworm DOT com.
*I was given a free copy in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emmy
Location:Quincy, MA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very much enjoyed "A Wreath of Snow" -- have read all of Liz Curtis Higgs Scottish books. The message in this Christmas novella of love and forgiveness was a great read. Look forward to reading all her books. This book would be a great Christmas gift!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful tale of Christmas, forgiveness, redempti

Date:November 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
ACS Book Finder
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This delightful Victorian Christmas Novella is set in the Scottish town of Stirling during the Christmas of 1894. It is the story of Meg Campbell, a bright and independent young teacher who spends her Christmas break with her family, her parents and disabled brother Alan, in Stirling. Her few days at home were met with disagreements and quarreling as Alan has been very difficult to live with ever since an unfortunate accident that occurred when he was but 10 years old which left him unable to walk and unable to live in harmony with those around him.
Rather than continuing to endure the conflict, Meg chooses to leave and boards the train for Edinburgh in the midst of a blizzard hoping to put distance between herself and her family. On the train she meets the charming and kind Gordon Shaw, a newspaper man from Glasgow on his way to an assignment in Edinburgh. Upon Miss Campbell’s boarding the train, Mr. Shaw sees her and soon recognizes her as the sister of young Alan who, through his own carelessness while in a drunken state, Gordon had unintentionally injured some 12 years before.
The story relates an unfortunate train accident that leaves all on the train walking some 6 miles back to Stirling to find food, warmth and lodging. It is during this walk that Gordon Shaw reveals himself to Meg Campbell.
This wonderful story becomes a tale of truth, forgiveness, redemption, and restoration. Intertwined with the story is the message of the gospel, the leading of the Holy Spirit, and the miracle of forgiveness. Enjoy reading this heartwarming novella during the Christmas season or at any time of the year.
DISCLOSURE: A complimentary copy of A Wreath of Snow wa provided by Blogging for Books on behalf of the publisher, WaterBrookMultnomah and the author to facilitate an honest review. Opinions expressed are solely those of the reviewer and we were not obligated to render a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Christmas read

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Wreath of Snow: A Victorian Christmas Novella by Liz Curtis Higgs was my first Liz reading experience. I enjoyed this book about the healing power of our loving God. The book was a pleasant surprise for me and took a few twist that I did not except at the start of the book. I will be reading more books by Liz in the future. If you are looking for a short (it's a novella) and sweet read then, A Wreath of Snow is the Christmas read for you. I finished this one with a smile on my face.
I received this book from WaterBrook Multnomah (through Blogging for Books) for my honest review. I was not paid in any way for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A light holiday read

Date:November 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In A Wreath of Snow, Meg Campbell has returned to her family's home for Christmas, but finds her brother's bitterness and demanding nature unwelcoming, and she decides to spend the holiday alone in her cottage instead. However, the train she is traveling on becomes unable to reach its destination, and the passengers are forced to walk back through the snow to the station they originated from. During this time, Meg finds herself engaging a fellow male traveler and reveals some of her hurtful past in conversation, only to find out too late that the stranger knows more of her past than she realized. Gordon hasn't meant to hurt Meg, he only means to make up for the hurt he has caused her family in his youth. Can Meg and her family make room for his apologies and extend forgiveness? Can Meg trust the man who made her feel comfortable spilling her own secrets when she finds he's been hiding some of his own?
Although it's a bit early to be reading holiday stories for me, this one was a good story that just happened to take place at Christmas. Although gifts are exchanged, and the timing plays a part in the setting, it was an enjoyable read even now. The characters were charming, and the setting was believable. It was definitely a light, quick read that would make an enjoyable Christmas gift, or a lovely afternoon in a comfortable chair with a hot cup of tea.
The story was almost too quick for the depth of the hurt and betrayal and lies that were woven within it. The conclusions of healing and forgiveness came too quickly to really understand the characters' journeys to the place where they could understand what had brought them there and how it had changed them.
I give this book 3 stars - a light read where many will enjoy the quick conclusion, but that, for my tastes, I would have enjoyed getting deeper into the characters' lives and transformations.
I received a copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah as part of their Blogging for Books program, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Wreath of Snow, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quick read, nice story

Date:November 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A Wreath of Snow" is a Christian historical romance set in 1894 in Scotland. It's a novella, so it's a short, quick read and events move forward relatively quickly. It's a nice, sweet story where secrets and lies have brought deep hurt but there's a chance for the truth to bring healing.
The characters were complex and realistic, and I could sympathize with the main characters. Due to the shortness of the book, though, we don't get to know the characters really well. The romance "worked" for me, and there were enough historical and setting details to bring the story alive in my imagination.
There was a Christian element that was woven into the story about forgiveness and telling the truth. I didn't feel that it ever got "preachy," though. There was no sex and no bad language. Overall, I'd recommend this book to those looking for a short read that ends with hope and healing.
I received this book as a review copy from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>