Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print A Plain and Simple Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #2 LGPT

Christian Large Print A Plain and Simple Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #2 LGPT

Amish romance meets Wild West adventure! It's been four years since Rebecca Switzer saw Jesse Montgomery, her one true love. But now her rumspringa frees her to find him. When she's arrested, can she convince sheriff Colin Maddox that she's no trouble---she's Amish? And will he persuade her to marry him when they've just met?
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Plain and Simple Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #2 LGPT
Review 1 for A Plain and Simple Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Learn About the Love of Father God.

Date:March 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In "Heart's Frontier" we followed the romance of Amish Emma and cowboy Luke. "A Plain and Simple Heart" follows the story of Rebecca, Emma's younger sister, who goes in search of childhood sweetheart, Jess, and ends up glad her plans were changed. I won't spoil it for you by telling you how it ends! I thought it was slower to develop than the first in the series, and perhaps not as rich, although it was interesting to see 'up close and personal' the early days of the Women's Christian Temperance Union in Kansas. Possibly my favorite character was Jonas Switzer, Rebecca's Papa - such wisdom, such depth, such control, such unconditional love - such a picture of our Heavenly Father when he says "the choices you have made are not the ones I hoped for, but you will never be a disappointment." I am looking forward to Part 3 in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Plain and Simple Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spunky Amish? You bet!!!

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Delia Latham
Location:Okmulgee, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
1884—A young Amish girl sets out on rumspringa to track down the man she loves and give him her lovelorn heart. But love has ever been known to be unpredictable... What sweet, innocent Rebecca Switzer actually finds could be something quite different than what she had in mind.
Once again, Copeland and Smith have crafted a wonderful, heartwarming tale of young love that is NOT your typical Amish romance. What could possibly make an innocent young Amish woman set off on her own, under cover of night, in pursuit of a man who may or may not return her affection? What stretch of imagination could place that same young lady behind bars in a handsome cowboy sheriff's jailhouse? And what possible good could come of an Amish rumspringa gone so far off the intended path?
The first book in The Amish of Apple Grove series set a high standard for a rousingly different kind of Amish tale. A PLAIN & SIMPLE HEART raises the banner even higher, and does not—for even an instant—disappoint. Can't imagine what the authors will come up with next for Apple Grove, but this reader can't wait to find out. A highly recommended, joy of a read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Plain and Simple Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Two Romances, Adventure, Historical event, more

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jane Squires
Location:Wasola, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rebecca has held a love Jesse every since meeting him during a cattle drive. The cowboys had helped her family when they were robbed. Rebecca is Amish. Yet her sister, Emma, married Luke the cowboy who was in charge of the cattle drive.
So Rebecca leaves at night to set out to find who she thinks is her true love. She is arrested and put in jail. Colin, the sheriff, has a time with this spit fire of a young woman taking over the jail.
Rebecca gets caught up in the Temperance Movement by accident. Yet through it all she makes friend with the Englishers.
Amos comes to bail her out of jail with money from the Amish Community. He cannot believe the outside world. He falls for Sassy - Sarah, who had worked in a Saloon. She returns to the Amish Community.
I could not put the book down. I read it in two days.
Rebecca's love for Jesse turns out to be the love for a friend. He is not what she thought he would be. She finds out he is not her true love.
Yet on this adventure she finds her true love.
I await the next book Lori and Virginia write together. God has gifted them both.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Plain and Simple Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Amish Western Historical Romance

Date:September 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rebecca Switzer has a crush on Englischer Jesse Montgomery, but knows that her father will never permit another daughter to marry a non-Amish man. At seventeen, Rebecca hasn’t seen the cattle drover for four years, yet she still harbours a fantasy that he will return to Apple Grove, Kansas, join the Amish and marry her. She finds out the Jesse is living in Lawrence, Texas, so enlists the help of her sister and brother-in-law to travel alone to Lawrence, announce her love to Jesse and bring him back to Apple Grove.
This first impression of Rebecca is not good. She is wilful and naïve, not a good combination at any age but particularly not for a teenager who fancies herself in love with a virtual stranger than she hasn’t seen or heard from in years, especially one with a reputation for drinking and women. Her justification for this very un-Amish behaviour is that as she is on rumspringa, not yet baptised into the church, and therefore should be permitted an adventure before adopting a lifetime of obedience to the Ordnung.
Unfortunately for Rebecca, when she arrives in Lawrence, she finds herself arrested with the women of the local temperance movement, and jailed for ninety days under the supervision of town Sheriff Colin Maddox. We then get introduced to Amos Beiler, a widow with three children who is interested in marrying Rebecca, who, at thirteen years her senior, is closer in age to his daughter than to him. I think that's a bit creepy. It is creepy in real life (Michael Douglas, Rod Stewart, Paul McCartney) and it's creepy in fiction.
The story was well-written and I really liked Colin and the other Lawrence townsfolk. I just found it difficult to like Rebecca, and it’s really hard to like a book when, as a reader, you don’t like or can’t related to the main character. Overall, I found the temperance subplot much more interesting than the main romance plot, which was a more than a little unbelievable, both in terms of timing and a lack of romantic tension.
I read A Plain and Simple Heart because I wondered if an Amish romance would be better for being set in a time where the technological differences between the Amish and the Englisch were not so obvious. It wasn't. The writing was good, but it had the same vapid heroine as many of the contemporary equivalents. Maybe she reminds me of myself at that age; maybe she is a sign of what I hope my own daughter won't become; maybe she just makes me think of Bella from Twilight. Either way, I just couldn't relate to Rebecca.
This book is the second in The Amish of Apple Grove series, but can easily be read as a stand-alone. I think the first book dealt with the romance between Emma (Rebecca’s sister) and Luke. They seem to be nice characters, from what little we saw of them in A Plain and Simple Heart, so that may be worth reading. But unless you are a fan of teenage romance or Amish fiction, I wouldn’t recommend A Plain and Simple Heart.
Thanks to Harvest House and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Plain and Simple Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good follow up of book 1

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Location:New Paris, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just as interesting and enjoyable as the first book. It had a slightly different twist. This was a different sister and she was a differant person. But even though she left the Amish, she kept her faith in the Lord and God. The same as her sister did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Plain and Simple Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Second is as Good as the First

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The second installment of the Amish of Apple Grove series is as good as the first and maybe a little better. This story focuses on the younger Switzer daughter, Rebecca, who has never given up on the love of her life, Jesse Montgomery, that she met four years earlier. She is determined to find Jesse and prove they are meant to be together. What she finds is a whole lot of trouble as she travels to Lawrence in search of Jesse.
This story made me laugh several times as Rebecca found herself in more and more trouble. I loved how the authors pulled aspects from the first story into this one. However, you don’t have to read the first book to enjoy the second one.
The characters in this story are wonderful. Rebecca is stubborn and feisty while Colin is looking for the simpler life as a pastor. The secondary characters add so much to the story, especially Sassy. There was lots of fun watching the contrast between Rebecca and Sassy.
This is a great story for anyone who is looking for a relaxing, entertaining story with fun characters. It was one of those stories that I could guess how things would turn out, but it was a very enjoyable story. I can’t wait to see what happens next to the Amish of Apple Grove!
I’d like to thank Harvest House Publishers for the opportunity to read and review this story. I am under no obligation other than to give my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Plain and Simple Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great mix of Amish culture and Christian faith

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
scw1217
Age:35-44
Gender:female
The only off-putting part of this story for me is the cover because the characters as I grew to picture them look nothing like that. I simply loved this story, in many ways more than the first book. Rebecca's ability to get wrapped up in a big mess and yet hold her head high was endearing. The attention to detail in the city of Lawrence, Kansas and the use of historical figures added to the feel of the book. The plot moved along nicely, keeping my attention. It has great minor sub-characters to enhance the story.
I loved Colin Maddox's moral heart and found the romance of he and Rebecca so sweet. I was especially pleased that they finally found someone for Amos Bueller to love. I am not an Amish fiction fan. I think much of it is written by people who know nothing of Amish culture. That said, this book contains a pleasant mix of Amish culture and Christian faith that keeps the focus on making godly decisions and trusting Him for guidance. This is a great story both for adults and for teens. I recommend it highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Plain and Simple Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish Meets Wild West

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emily Akin
Location:TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in the Amish of Apple Grove series. I have not read the first, but I found this one delightful. Who would have thought that the Western-Amish combination would work at all? I guess that's the genius of the two authors, both of whom have numerous books published.
It's a romance, but it is seasoned with just the right amount of humor. I didn't feel that the authors were making fun of the Amish, although some of the situations they found themselves in were downright hilarious. Rebecca Switzer just can't seem to stay out of trouble, although she's remorseful that she has embarrassed her Amish father and grandmother. It's clear she just cannot help herself. The sheriff has his hands full as he counts the days until his replacement arrives. And, the town just will not be quiet and peaceful until that day comes---especially with Rebecca in town. The characters are many and well-developed, as is the story. Just when you think you know what will happen next, the story takes an unexpected turn.
Both of the Apple Grove books offer several discussion questions at the end, ideal for use with a review club or study group.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Harvest House with the expectation that I write a review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Plain and Simple Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Plain and Simple Heart

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This is the second book in this series "The Amish of Apple Grove" and I did not read the first one, but this one alone is great. Two great Christian fiction authors got together and I want to thank Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith for their combined stories. Both are great author on their own.
This story is about Rebecca Switzer who is a seventeen Amish girl, but she thinks she is in love with a cowboy that she had met once. She stands around and day dreams and forgets what she is doing. None of the Amish boys that she knows just does not fit the bill to become her beau.
Her sister had married outside the Amish faith so she didn't see why she couldn't also. Her mother is dead and her grandmother had raised them and she was very strict.
This book will get you hooked within the first chapter and you will not want to put it down. It is a fun read just to see what Rebecca will come up with next.
I want to thank Harvest house and the two authors for sending me this book in order for me to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Plain and Simple Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

funny and witty--enjoyable reading

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katie
Location:Riva Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked this one very much. It was delightful. At the end of the story---it showed that God had a big part finding her the right partner--and not the one that she wanted in the beginning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Plain and Simple Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Hilarious Amish and Western Adventure!

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Hilarious, Sweet Love Story
Rebecca longs to find love, she has been infatuated with Jesse for years. And when she hears that he is back in Lawrence, she jumps at the chance to see him again. But love might not be as simple as Rebecca thinks.
Having already read the first book in the series I was very excited to read this one about the younger of the sisters, Rebecca. But what is so great about this book is that you wouldn't need to read the first book to fully enjoy this mix of Western and Amish genres.
Rebecca has some hilarious adventures including run-ins with the Lawrence Temperance League and some really pinchy-pointy shoes!
I loved the humor and how it was a sort of sweet love story. And how Rebecca grew and matured throughout and she opened her eyes to real love.
Overall, it can't get better than this! Amish and Western fiction combined together in one rolicking adventure. I liked the way that this book was well paced and there was always something happening, because not only were there many hilarious adventures, but there was a good old fashioned western mystery as well. I like how this book showed that sometimes love isn't what you think it willl be, and that things in God's time always work out better. Colin was a really great admirable hero, who always tried to do the right thing, and has a dream of becoming a preacher. This was a great read the really cheered me up and I just loved being able to be along for the ride. This is a book that I would happily recommend to anyone looking for a great adventure and a good laugh!
I received this ebook from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Plain and Simple Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Plenty of Fun!

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convinced she is of age to marry, Rebecca has her heart set on English cowboy Jesse, who still has some growing up to do. Although it has been four years since she has seen him she is determined to find him and win his heart.
Colin Maddox, sheriff finds that keeping peace and fairness in the small town of Lawrence, Kansas to be a challenging feat indeed.
When Rebecca arrives in Lawrence she is mistaken for another. Will she be convincing of her true identity? Can she find the one whose name has circled her heart or will another pierce it instead?
Romance, plenty of humorous moments, suspense, courtroom drama, fiesty outlaws and just plain old fun is what the reader can expect to find within the pages of this extremely hard to put down book. I loved the town of Lawrence, the descriptive scenery, easy to follow dialogue and smooth flowing plot with absolutely no dull parts, kept the story moving. I connected with the characters right away, well developed and believable. I really cannot name a fav character since all of them qualify for top spot. I was highly entertained by this faith inspiring novel. Although part of a series this book can be a stand alone novel as well. I highly recommend this book to others, you will not be disappointed! Thanks to Harvest House Publishers and Netgalley for the ARC for my review. 5 Stars!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.