Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print

Christian Large Print Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print

Cathy Cramer is a former lawyer and investigative blogger who writes commentary on local homicides. When she finds a threatening note warning her that she's about to experience the same kind of judgment and speculation that she dishes out in her blog, Cathy writes it off as mischief . until her brother is caught in the middle of a murder investigation---the victim is his ex-wife. As her brother is tried and convicted in the media, and bloggers and commentators like her have a field day, Cathy wonders if she should have taken the threat more seriously.Cathy and her two sisters, Holly and Juliet, moonlight as part-time private investigators, working to solve their brother's ex-wife's murder. Juliet, a stay-at-home mom of two boys, and Holly, a scattered ne'er-do-well who drives a taxi, put aside their fear and lack of confidence to learn the art of investigation.But will it be too late to save their brother from a murder conviction, or his five-year-old son who's the killer's next target?
Average Customer Rating:
4.679 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Review 1 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to read this story because I received the second book in this series from a publishing group to review. I don’t like to start in the middle of a series, so I backtracked and read book one. Boy, I’m so glad I did! What a thriller! The first book is set in Panama City, Florida, with the main characters consisting of three sisters, their brother and a close family friend.
Cathy Cramer is used to being threatened. In the course of her former job as a lawyer and her current job as an investigative blogger, she has received lots of threats and this latest one is just one among many, or is it? Cathy is just beginning to recover from the murder of her fiancé two years ago and now her brother, Jay, is the prime suspect in his ex-wife’s murder. Cathy with the help of her two sisters, Juliet and Holly, and her fiancé’s brother, Michael, that her brother is innocent. Her brother and his ex-wife had been in the middle of an ugly custody battle over their 5-year-old son, and soon evidence is discovered that points to Jay’s motive for her murder. Cathy and her siblings are also still trying to deal with their preacher father’s infidelity and abandonment years ago that had a huge impact on their family and faith. Cathy still believes in God, but wonders if he listens to her on the rare occasions she talks to Him.
As the investigation progresses, her nephew becomes critically ill and is then kidnapped. Cathy calls Michael, her friend, her encourager in faith, her constant supporter. After an attempt on her life, she realizes she has developed feelings for Michael and he has feelings for her. Will her guilty feelings keep her from a possible happy relationship with him? Should she even consider this?
I just loved how this family stuck together throughout all the traumatic events. They protected one another and did whatever was necessary to help their family. Cathy struggled with her faith, but came to realize that God was listening to her and that He wanted to hear from her. He did hear her prayers and answered them. The plot was exciting, the characters well-developed and likeable and the action and thrills nonstop. I highly recommend this suspense-filled story. You won’t be disappointed. I’ll be reviewing the next book in the series, Distortion, on this site in the next few weeks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Clown Did It- A Fantastic Start!

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Truth Stained Lies
Terri Blackstock
Book Summary: When truth doesn't make sense, will lies prevail? Cathy Cramer is a former lawyer and investigative blogger who writes commentary on high-profile homicides. When she finds a threatening note warning her that she's about to experience the same kind of judgment and speculation that she dishes out in her blog, Cathy writes it off as mischief . . . until her brother's wife is murdered and all the 'facts' point to him. The killer has staged the crime to make the truth too far-fetched to believe. Working to solve the murder and clear her brother's name, Cathy and her two sisters, Holly and Juliet, moonlight as part-time private investigators. Juliet, a stay-at-home mom of two boys, and Holly, a scattered ne'er-do-well who drives a taxi, put aside their fear to hunt down the real killer. Stakes rise when their brother's grieving five-year-old son is kidnapped. As police focus on the wrong set of clues, the three sisters and their battered detective friend are the only hope for solving this bizarre crime, saving the child, and freeing their brother.
Review: I really enjoyed this opening series. I liked that it was so clever of a plot - A clown shot Jay’s wife. Truly a twisted twist and immediately made this a must read. I liked all of the siblings and can not wait for the next book. The book did not really over use any of the new characters. I found that the mystery did not take up too much of the book and yet it was fast paced and the mystery filled my head with who did it. The only thing that I did not understand is the connection between the murderer and why he wrote to Cathy….. Overall a must read for me and a quick paced mystery.
I would like to thank Net Galley and Zondervan for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Always enjoy T. Blackstock's books.

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alice Bostater
Location:NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kept me in suspense. Like all other Blackstock's books, this was great,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could not put it down

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Notphyllis
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like Terri Blackstocks' writing style and story lines. Unlike many contemporary authors, she also uses correct grammar and punctuation. This book did not disappoint so I am looking forward to the next book in this series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Story from Teri Blackstock

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Henry McLaughlin
Location:Saginaw, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Another great read from Teri Blackstock. Three sisters become amateur detectives who find the real killer after their brother is accused of murdering his estranged wife. The characters are well-developed, the dialogue and action crisp, and the plot keeps you turning pages and staying up late.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved It

Date:June 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
SandraD
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent writing, as always by Terri Blackstock. I've read every book she's written (that I know of). I am never disappointed. This book was no exception. I read it in two weeks, and that is no easy task with my life schedule.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It is a pretty good book.

Date:June 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
David Boyle
Location:Palm Harbor, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been a fan of this author for several years and she has written several books that were a bit better than this one. While the story is compelling and good drama, the book just did not move me the way several of her other books have. Perhaps I am being unfair, in that this is the first book in a series and the spiritual forces will continue to build in the proceeding books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful intrigue

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
loveroflife
Location:Brandon, SD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the mystery and intrigue of the story. I was kept in suspense until the end. Good presentation of God's plan.....it's better than our own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As a fan of Terri Blackstock, this left me wanting more. There are a number of characters in the story line, all thinly developed. While you are following the lives of these people, its difficult to get a strong view of the character because there's just not enough depth. The plot is edgy and the second half of the book gets you spinning. But I wanted one more cycle...maybe two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truth-Stained Lies

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dede Palmer
Location:New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome book. Terri Blackstock never disappoints me when she writes a book. She is one of my favorite writers I have ever read. I look for her books every where. I find myself looking at all the book clubs for who is going to be the first to have her books out so I can order them and dive into reading. Awesome writer, I can not say enough or brag enough about her writing. This book kept you hooked. Kept you turning page after page. You where never board with the book. You where hook in the first chapter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wrongfully Accussed Murder & Sister's Investigatio

Date:May 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terri Blackstock in her new book, "Truth-Stained Lies" Book One in the Moonlighters Series published by Zondervan introduces us to Cathy Cramer and her family.
From the back cover: When truth doesn't make sense, will lies prevail?
Cathy Cramer is a former lawyer and investigative blogger who writes commentary on high-profile homicides. When she finds a threatening note warning her that she's about to experience the same kind of judgment and speculation that she dishes out in her blog, Cathy writes it off as mischief . . . until her brother's wife is murdered and all the `facts' point to him. The killer has staged the crime to make the truth too far-fetched to believe. Working to solve the murder and clear her brother's name, Cathy and her two sisters, Holly and Juliet, moonlight as part-time private investigators. Juliet, a stay-at-home mom of two boys, and Holly, a scattered ne'er-do-well who drives a taxi, put aside their fear to hunt down the real killer.
Stakes rise when their brother's grieving five-year-old son is kidnapped. As police focus on the wrong set of clues, the three sisters and their battered detective friend are the only hope for solving this bizarre crime, saving the child, and freeing their brother.
Who knew being a blogger could be dangerous? Now Cathy Cramer knows. Someone dressed in a clown suit murdered her brother's estranged wife. The police think the brother did it and arrested him as all the evidence seems to point to him. So Cathy and her sisters take up the investigation to prove who really did it and get the brother out of jail. Ms. Blackstock has provided us a first-rate mystery. "Truth-Stained Lies" is a wonderful way to begin a series and don't you just love the title? "Truth-Stained Lies" is a thriller in that the lives of Cathy and her sisters are put in deadly danger through the course of their investigations. I think this is Ms. Blackstocks best work yet and her characters are well-defined. Once the action gets going Ms. Blackstock revs up the thriller quotient considerably which will have you reading and flipping pages as fast as you can. Don't start this book late at night because it will be very difficult to put it down or stop thinking about it. I recommend this book highly and am greatly looking forward to the next book in the series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nan Isom
Location:Clovis, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ms. Blackstock has a way of keeping your interest from the first page to the last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandy C
Gender:female
This was an excellent book filled with interesting detailed events which had a twist to it. Very well thought out. I had a hard time putting it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rudy Lady
Location:Rudy, Arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked this book. Terry Blackstock books are always very good she is an excellent writer. This book kept you guessing until the end can't wait for the sequel to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Enjoyable but predictable

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When Jay is framed for the murder of his ex-wife by a man dressed like a clown, his sisters, Cathy, Juliet and Hope must work together to find the real murderer. With Jay’s unbelievable story, the police follow the wrong clues leaving the sisters to work as part-time private investigators to solve the crime.
Inevitably, as the sisters get closer to the truth, danger closes in on them. Can they convince the police that they have arrested the wrong man?
As “Truth Stained Lies” opens, we meet Cathy Cramer, a former lawyer turned blogger who writes commentary on high-profile homicide cases. She finds a threatening note on her car. When her former sister-in-law is murdered, her first thought is that the crimes are related. Though the letter is mentioned several times throughout the book, the issue is never resolved. Will there be a follow-up book, or will readers be left hanging? I am a reader who doesn’t like loose ends, so I’m hoping a future book will answer the question of who sent the threatening note to Cathy.
Somewhat predictable, Terri Blackstock tries to throw readers off unsuccessfully. It is relatively easy to solve the murder though the motive is at first ambiguous. Not light reading by any means but definitely a quick read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from BookSneeze, as part of Thomas Nelson Publishers’ blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Story Depth!

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A fantastic hook, great writing voice and quick pace through the entire book. I thought the suspense was right up there among a couple of my favorites of the genre.
To be critical, I thought the ending came a bit soon, or rather we found out who the killer was a bit soon, but as I read further, I thought it was tied up nicely without leaving me as though the ending was just extra words.
Loved the subplots and deeper characterization into the secondary characters. It gave the story depth that impressed me and kept me working harder towards the ending and the transformation of these character’s lives. This is obviously the first in a series that will remain consecutive. The book, of course, gave the happy ending the reader is craving, but left it open enough for coming titles.
The crime is not a complex plot. The true killer didn’t come as a huge surprise to me, but the characters really sold the novel. Being a blogger, I can certainly relate to opening my mouth up on line and then wanting to retract what I said. I thought the occupation of the characters was a break from the norm and cliché.
Overall, I’m pleased with my reading experience. Loved the characters and I’m eager to spend more time with them in soon to be released titles. A must read for suspense/mystery fans.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers through Booksneeze for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

riveting

Date:April 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diane Maurer
Location:Denver, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terri Blackstock is one of my favorite authors. She hooks the reader immediately and the story begins to unfold. I had difficulty knowing who the murderer was and didn't really know until almost when it was revealed. The story was woven tightly so it was difficult to know each character's part in the story. Can't wait for the next book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Truth Stained Lies is Terri Blackstock's newest offering. When their brother Jay is accused of murdering his soon to be ex-wife to gain custody of the couple young son, blogger Cathy Cramer and her sisters Holly and Juliet set out to clear him. However soon the sisters find themselves in over their heads, so they enlist Michael, a family friend and ex police detective who is now a P.I.
I loved all the characters and the fact that they were so dysfunctional. That just made it all the more real for me because with each character there were certain things that I could relate to.
Cathy is angry and bitter with God after the death of her fiancee Joe (who was also Michael's brother) has turned that anger inward and is totally focused on her work to the exclusion of almost everything else.
Michael is living with a mountain of regret,yet he tries his best to hang onto faith in God. After trying to shortcut the process to bring his brothers killer to justice he is dismissed from the police force and is now getting by as a PI.
Holly who seemed to take their fathers abandonment of the family the hardest is the hard core party girl and now harbors a secret. As she struggles to decide the right thing to do, she begins to realize that God has not left her at all. With the support of her family she begins to reconnect with them and God.
Juliet who has married and has two children and has found her healing within a new church. She seemed to be the most stable of the three girls, but she still had issues that she seemed to be working out. She just did it in a more productive "christian" way.
Maybe I read way to many mysteries, but I figured out who the killer was fairly early on, but that did not hinder me from staying up all night to finish the book. There was much more that I needed to find out because the book had several subplot going on as well.
I like all of this authors books, but I think that this is one of the best that this author has done in a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love these sisters!!

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
S Scales
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terri Blackstock is a favorite in our household, so being able to review one of her books is super exciting!
Truth Stained Lies is the first book of the Moonlighters Series. Three very different sisters end up moonlighting as private detectives...Cathy - a justice focused investigative blogger (because her fiancé was murdered and the murdered got off), Holly - a taxi driver for now but more of a party girl, and Juliet - a stay-at-home mom who’s husband is too busy in his career. They join together with Michael, a private detective, to find the truth for their brother, Jay, who is accused of killing his wife. However with the police so focused on what appears to make sense, can they find the truth? And soon enough for the life of Jay’s son?!
I was hooked from the beginning to the end! The characters were real, messed up, and easy to feel for. The story was interested and well written. And I love the faith - wether it was questioned or deeply held to; it was honest and beautiful.
I would highly recommend this book by Terri Blackstock! Actually both my husband and I would recommend all of her books.... so get reading!! :)
Disclosure: I received this ebook free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Truth-Stained Lies, Moonlighter Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truth Stained Lies ~ Terri Blackstock

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the story of Cathy Cramer who is a blog writer on murders that hit the media spotlight. Cathy's sister in-law is found dead in her house by her soon to be ex-husband (Jay) a.k.a. Cathy's brother. As Cathy is left with threatening messages on her car and wondering if she is going to be killed next, she also becomes her brother's lawyer.
The story has many character's along the way, with all their own with twists and turns. As Terri always does, she keeps you turning the pages. Each Chapter from beginning to the end, has that unusual story changes in every chapter.
If you enjoy a great murder mystery that keeps you guessing to the very end, then read this book! I loved this book, as I am an avid Terri fan and have read ALL her books. She always does a great story, that just makes the reader have to keep reading till the very end. I recommend this book to all those that love to just sit down and keep reading till you find out who did it..... I also recommend to those who want a great story that just makes you to keep wanting more. GREAT JOB AGAIN TERRI, can't wait for the next book!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>