Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT

Christian Large Print The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT

The tornado that devastated Kings' Orchard pushed Rhoda, Samuel, and Jacob to make a new start in Maine. Are they strong enough to withstand the challenges of establishing an Amish community-and brave enough to face the secrets that move with them?

On the eve of their departure to begin a new Old Order Amish community outside of Unity, Maine, Rhoda Byler is shocked to discover that choices made by her business partner and friend, Samuel King, have placed her and her unusual gifts directly into the path of her district's bishop and preachers. She is furious with Samuel and is fearful that the Kings will be influenced by the way her leaders see her, and not what they know to be true-that Rhoda's intuition is a gift from God.

Average Customer Rating:
4.694 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 out of 3697%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Review 1 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spectacular

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Winnowing Season is the second book in Cindy Woodsmall’s series Amish Vines and Orchards. It picks up right where book number one ends, with Samuel, Rhoda, Jacob and Leah making plans to begin a new settlement in Maine. One thing that I appreciated was in the beginning of the book the author gave a short summary of book one so it catches the reader up.
In book two Rhoda, her brother Stephen and his family, and the Kings along with Rhoda’s English friend Landon set out to start their new lives, but things don’t go as planned. There are new crisis and challenges as the two families fight to revive the abandoned orchard which is the center of their new settlement.
Winnowing by definition means: “to examine something in order to remove the bad, unusable, or undesirable parts”. This is a wonderful title for this book because all the main characters struggle to rid themselves of something that is part of them.
Jacob’s past comes back to haunt him, putting his budding relationship with Rhoda in jeopardy. We get to find out what great secrets haunt him from his time among the English. We get to see him struggle between his past and his future. I honestly think that this was some of my favorite parts of the book.
Rhoda fights to let go of the guilt over her sisters’ death, and her story continues to intrigue me as her it unfolds. I love learning more about her. Samuel on the other hand didn’t seem to really start to look inward until almost the end of the book so I’m looking forword to reading what’s next for him in book three.
Leah begins to explore the English world that may lead her to leave her Amish upbringing, but also along the way she takes her first steps into adult maturity. For me Leah showed the most growth as a character. She admitted to her mistakes and begins to make choices that are based on logic rather than girlish emotions.
This second book does not disappoint its reader. While it is not a up-all-night book, it is a great story that keeps your attention.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rhoda Byler and her business partners, Samuel and Jacob King, have finally come to an agreement on what to do after the devastating tornado that destroys King's Orchard. With no way to restore the orchard to it's productive state, Rhoda's friend Landon, offers them a solution and new start in Unity, Maine where his grandmother lives. Finding an apple orchard to restore is no easy task however; and with plans to leave young Eli King in charge of the dying orchard in Pennsylvania, they are ready to start a new life in Maine.
Their intentions to start a new Amish community where there are none is daunting, but they are determined to succeed as they have no other choice except to turn back. Steven Byler, his wife Phoebe, and their two children are the only complete family coming along. Leah King is tagging along to help with as much as she possibly can. Landon is there as their English liaison and guide. But the evening before their scheduled departure finds Rhoda and Samuel under the inquisition of her church leaders. Will her uncanny ability to perceive things before they happen cause the church to not allow her to leave for Maine as planned? And what secrets do the King brothers have to hide?
This was a long-anticipated sequel to Woodsmall's first book in the Amish Vines and Orchard Series. Amish novel are a dime a dozen, but I couldn't help but get sucked into this series. While I think Rhoda tends to get upset very easily towards the King brothers - to the point of unnecessary drama; her character has been second guessed all her life, feared, and disrespected at every turn, so I can understand why she reacts to authority the way she does. All in all a wonderful novel, and I can't wait to find out how everything turns out!
This book was provided for free by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Sequel

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Winnowing Season
Cindy Woodsmall
Book Summary: The tornado that devastated Kings’ Orchard pushed Rhoda, Samuel, and Jacob to make a new start in Maine. Are they strong enough to withstand the challenges of establishing an Amish community—and brave enough to face the secrets that move with them? On the eve of their departure to begin a new Old Order Amish community outside of Unity, Maine, Rhoda Byler is shocked to discover that choices made by her business partner and friend, Samuel King, have placed her and her unusual gifts directly into the path of her district’s bishop and preachers. She is furious with Samuel and is fearful that the Kings will be influenced by the way her leaders see her, and not what they know to be true—that Rhoda’s intuition is a gift from God. Jacob King won’t be swayed by community speculation. He loves Rhoda, believes in her, and wants to build a future with her in Maine. But when the ghosts of his past come calling and require him to fulfill a great debt, can he shake their hold before it destroys what he has with Rhoda? Samuel has a secret of his own—one he’ll go to great lengths to keep hidden, even if it means alienating those closest to him. Throwing himself into rehabilitating the once-abandoned orchard, Samuel turns to a surprising new ally. Book 2 of the Amish Vines and Orchards series asks: can the three faithfully follow God’s leading and build a new home and orchard in Maine? Or will this new beginning lead to more ruin and heartbreak?
My Review: I was amazed at how quick a read this was. It was worth reading every minute of it. I loved how much more the characters grew and changed in such a short time. The plot grew greater with all the little details swirling around this book. I think that Rhoda and Samuel are the best of the book. It is very hard to pick which of the secondary characters I liked best. There was very little to complain about. I found between book 1 and book 2 a seamlessness that was like coming in out of the cold. I liked the move to Maine after all the stress of Rhoda going before her elders. I was disappointed that Jacob left and for so long. Jacob's situation from his past was getting a little old but seemed more controlled by the end of the book. This is just another fine example of Ms. Woodsmall's superb writing just enough to hook me into the 3rd even 4th book and look forward to each an every word!!
I would like to thank Blogging for Books and Waterbook Press for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeds my expectations!

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mudpies and Tiaras
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Both my mom and I really enjoy Cindy Woodsmalls books. We both pass them back and forth. I have truly enjoyed each of her books and The Winnowing Season was no exception. The Winnowing Season is the second book in her Amish Vines and Orchards series. I love reading Christian fiction books and especially those with the Amish theme, but sometimes they can be a bit…predictable. The Winnowing Season is anything but predictable! In this fictional book it weaves together the Amish, an orchard and even illegal activities and drugs! I was so into this book that the day I finished it I drove it over to my mom for her to read. We both loved it. The characters are SO flawed and imperfect and the way the plot moved…I just never knew what was coming. If you want an interesting read that will exceed your expectations then buy this book! I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can Rhonda ignore her gift or just accept it

Date:August 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Winnowing Season is book 2 of the Amish Vines and Orchards series. I had not read book 1 when I requested this book for review. So I hopped on to the library website so I could read it before. While it is not necessary to read book 1 before it does help out a lot and gives you all the background to the characters and their decisions/ actions in book 2.
The Winnowing Season picks up where book 1 left off. However if you would grab this one not knowing it's a book 2 there is a brief summary to catch you up some. Rhonda has a gift she was blessed with she can sense things. This scares the Amish community, they think it must be some kind of evil doing. They just don't get her gift. All Rhonda wants is a fresh clean start in Maine. She tries her hardest to ignore her gift. She feels alone and kinda abandoned in Maine, with Samuel being detached and distant and Jacob hiding from his past. Can this new run down orchard be the answer to all their prayers? Or the one thing that destroys every prayer for a new beginning the have?
Cindy Woodsmall does a great job at writing about the Amish and English world and has them mixing. Her writing is realistic and well written. She writes characters that continue to grow with each book and I can't wait to read more about the characters and the path she is leading them down in book 3.
Thank you blogging for books for allowing me to review The Winnowing Season.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another Great Amish Read!

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE WINNOWING SEASON by Cindy Woodsmall is an interesting Contemporary Amish Fiction set in Maine. #2 in "The Winnowing Season", while you can read this as a stand alone, I would recommend reading book 1 first, "A Season for Tending" to acquaint yourself with the characters. Join Jacob King, Samuel King, and Rhoda Byler on a journey of faith,secrets, heartbreak, healing,forgiveness,an usual gift and a love triangle. A cast of complex characters with compelling and complex problems. You do not want to miss this epic tale of disaster,alienation,the Amish community and wine orchards. Fast paced, with a compelling plot that is intriguing and as well as heartfelt. Another Amish great read for this author. Received for an honest review from the publisher,Waterbrook Press
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction andMore
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great author! Glad I discovered her.

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wini
Location:Eastern Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I especially enjoyed the character development of the main characters and liked each one. I started with Book 2 and enjoyed it without the previous Book 1. The weaving of the Amish world with the English world was more pronounced with an English main character who becomes involved with the Amish. How this can end happily for all characters is hard to imagine, so I look forward to Book 3. I will look forward to reading other books in the future by the author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2013
One of the many things that I appreciate about Cindy Woodsmall’s series is that they seem to come out in pretty quick succession. Even with that it is still sometimes hard to immediately remember what happened in the last book and where we are at in the story. At the beginning of each of her subsequent books is a short synopsis of what has occurred in the story up to this point. I really wish more authors and publishers would adopt this practice.
This installment picks up where the first book left off. Samuel is still smitten with Rhoda but he can’t act on those feelings because his younger brother Jacob is actively pursuing her. Samuel and Rhoda are amazing business partners but could they be life partners as well?
Samuel makes decisions out of his passionate nature and does so in the pursuit of truth and justice. The problem is that in that quest he winds up hurting the very one he meant to protect. I find myself so frustrated with his stubbornness. He always thinks he’s right!
Jacob makes me crazy too. If he would just tell the truth about things it would not only allow others to help him, but it would give him the freedom to begin to set things right.
Rhoda is such an interesting and complex personality. I admire her ability to stand up to constant ridicule from those around her. One of the things that has me scratching my head is her willingness to cover up for Jacob. When will she realize that she’s not helping by allowing him to continually escape detection and repeatedly shirk his responsibilities to the group?
I have to say that I had the same exact reaction to the ending of this book as I had to the first one and many of Cindy’s other books as well. It went something like this, “What . . . that can’t be the end!” I would then frantically flip a few pages just to see if I had missed something. Nope . . . another cliffhanger! It is a very good thing that the next book in the series, For Every Season, is scheduled to release in August 2013. I can hardly wait!
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Amish read!!!

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an excellent sequel! I absolutely LOVED IT!!! From the beginning I though Rhoda was with the wrong brother. Don't get me wrong I love Jacob but I loved Samuel first! LOL! That said I was on the edge of my seat ready to read this sequel because of the way the first one ended! In The Winnowing Season feelings fly and who will end up still together by the end? This can be a stand alone book because there is a catch up in the beginning. So if you missed A Season for Tending (I suggest you get it and catch up!) but you don't have to because Cindy will tell you the highlights of what you missed before taking you forward. I love the relationships in this story with Landon, Leah, Phoebe and Steven thrown into this mix I grew to love each character for there own right. From the beginning I was surprised by the events happening; after we left them in Maine in the first book I had in my head how I thought things where gonna go. I was a bit wrong! LOL! Actually Cindy comes up with scenes that I NEVER saw coming and I LOVED THEM!!! With trouble lurking around nearly every corner The Winnowing Season really shows the ups and downs people can have in this life. But it also holds the message that if you trust and have faith in God's will and timing everything will turn out okay, and of how there are different paths for all of us. God has His plan for us and others and we need to learn that we can't always control what those paths or plans are. (A lesson some of us {ME!} have had to learn the hard way) I have my suspicions of how certain things will tie together and I can't wait to see if I'm right! :D Mystery, stress, joy, love, pain, surprise, lies, faith, friends, family, choices, and excitement are all swirled into a wonderful story! I can't WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE!!!
I must compliment Cindy on having a glossary of Pennsylvania Dutch in the back of her book. While those of us that have read enough Amish books to translate Pen. Dutch as we read, I always love when I see the courtesy of a glossary. New Amish readers will be greatly helped with the translations and it never hurts to double check and make sure you really know what they just said! :D
Songs that go with this book and are taken right from the pages are: "Stand by Your Man" Tammy Wynette, "You Raise Me Up" by Sung Ji Song, "Rockin' Around The Christmas Tree" by Amy Grant
Exodus 14:14
~ASC
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wanted resolution at the end, but to be continued!

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janet Albertson
Location:Johnstown, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Winnowing Season is book two in the Amish Vines and Orchards series. It starts out with a recap of A Season for Tending, which I appreciated since I would not have known what was going on without that help. The main characters are Rhoda Byler and the two brothers who love her, Samuel and Jacob King. In book one, the Kings’ apple orchard and their community was devastated by a tornado. Rhoda, her brother’s family, and the Kings are moving to Maine from Pennsylvania to start over in an abandoned orchard and begin a new Amish community as other relatives join them. Rhoda is in partnership with the Kings because of her horticulture experience and canning expertise. Jacob has many secrets from his past, which still have a grip on his life, causing him to be absent from the workload and his relationship with Rhoda every time she needs him. Samuel is always there, steady, interfering, and usually in conflict with Rhoda.
Rhoda has several issues in her life that cause her pain; she feels guilty that her sister was murdered and she had not kept it from happening. She has insights into people’s lives that have caused the Amish leaders to be suspicious of her. She is anxious to move far away from her church family because the treatment she has received has been painful. She is misunderstood and taken advantage of by non-Amish, as Jacob is, because of the naiveté of the sheltered lives they have lived.
The very sad part of this book to me is that the characters want to please God, but think pleasing God is all wrapped up in obeying the church leaders and the written and unwritten code of the Amish. I don’t get the sense that anyone has a personal relationship with Jesus as Savior.
At the end of the book, none of the conflicts have been resolved. Obviously, at least one more book is upcoming. I am a fan of Cindy Woodsmall on Facebook and this week, she asked what color of wedding dress Rhoda should have; so I assume the next book will resolve the triangle love situation in this one.
I received this e-book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Time Season of Testing & Growth

Date:June 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Winnowing Season
Amish Vines and Orchards Book 2
by Cindy Woodsmall
The Winnowing Season picks up where A Season for Tending leaves off. But the hope for a new beginning in Maine is clouded when on the eve of their move Rhoda is called to appear before the church elders and Jacob's past calls him away.
With such a start what does Maine hold for the King and Byler families?
As trouble follows them from Pennsylvania to Orchard Bend, Maine Rhoda begins to wonder why she seems to attract trouble wherever she goes. As Rhoda struggles with trying to ignore her gift she also has to deal with Jacob's absence and Samuel's distant behavior.
Samuel is keeping a secret that could destroy what they are trying to create and Jacob's past could destroy the growing relationship he and Rhoda are nurturing. Leah is planning to use this move as a chance spread her wings and to learn more about the English world and she wants Landon's help to do it. As the King siblings and Rhoda try to discover who they really are a new danger threatens to destroy them from the outside.
Can they be true to their promises or will they fall before their testing is completed? Only time will tell....
The Winnowing Season is a fabulous follow-up to A Season of Tending as the characters grow in their relationships with one another. One feels so much for Rhoda as she has to deal with the suspicions of those around her as well as Jacob's absences. Samuel's confusion about his partnership/friendship with Rhoda and his loyalty to his brother are both touching and at time exacerbating in the extreme.
I am looking forward to the third book in the Amish Vines and Gardens series and hope for a happier ending and also answers to Rhoda's intuitions that were plaguing her in regard to her new neighbors. I liked the struggles that these characters were wrestling with as it made them more relatable and sympathetic. Though Jacob really needed to get a backbone a little sooner, in my opinion, in his dealings with Sandra.
"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Winnowing Season

Date:June 10, 2013
Rhoda Byler looks forward to getting a fresh start. Her business partners, Samuel and Jacob King, and she have bought a run down orchard in Maine. They are going to get it up and running again. A few others from their community go with them to start an Amish community there.
Rhoda hopes that her sister’s death will no longer haunt her after the move. Or that her intuitions will follow her there. While she feels they are from God they have caused nothing but trouble for her. People fear that she is practising witchcraft.
Jacob has a past from being in the English world that he can’t escape. Even after the move, Jacob has to hide because of his past, which threatens to ruin his romantic relationship with Rhoda.
Samuel can’t fight what’s in his heart. He wants to be loyal to his brother and Rhoda. He’s doing his best to keep his feelings to himself, so much that he’s hurting his friendship with Rhoda.
The main characters have really changed since the series started. Rhoda is slowly letting Emma go and not even realizing it. Samuel has learned to relax, even if it’s only a little. And Jacob is letting his guard down and told Samuel and Rhoda about his time in the English world.
By the end of the book, the orchard is beginning to take shape. Rhoda, Jacob, and Samuel have taken steps to resolve their individual issues only to encounter more problems that have to be worked out. I once again have to patiently wait to read about them in the next book.
Cindy Woodsmall makes me feels like I know the characters in this book. They are all so likeable, even with their faults. I looked forward to reading this story and wasn’t disappointed. It is just as good as the first book. I can’t wait to find out how everything comes together in the last book of the series.
I received a free copy of this book from The Christian Manifesto and Multnomah/Waterbook in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Never disappointed!

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
joyful
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read the author's other books and she never disappoints. Can hardly wait for the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
daischop
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I picked this particular book because of the author, Cindy Woodsmall. Having just finished the series, Sisters of the Quilt, I was looking forward to another good series. However, I may have set my expectations too high. Just so you know, I still enjoyed this book, however I selected a book that was the second in the series. Unlike my previous luck, I found it difficult to truly understand what all I had missed in the previous book. The second, seemed more like a mish-mash of chatter. Found it a little harder to follow along, and realized that I desperately needed to read the first book in this particular series to understand exactly what was going on. Perhaps to understand the situation between her and her sister Emma.
Another thing I found a bit discerning, is that I kept getting confused about this being a story about Amish primarily. Yes, there were some Englishers mixed in, but not enough to have created such a turmoil in my reading. This was one book that I admit, I did some re-reading to try and understand what I may have missed.
I do look forward to reading the third book in this series, if anything to understand exactly what is going on and where the story is taking us. What Rhoda's situation is with her current insight into things. Her future romance. Those, created enough interest that I want to know what is happening. However, it is unlikely that I would return to this particular series and reread it or recommend to others.
WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group provided this book to me for free in exchange for this honest review as part of their Blogging for Books program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great read from Woodsmall

Date:May 29, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the first book in the series so much I couldn't wait to get back to these characters and Cindy did not disappoint.
She throws you right back into the drama of Rhoda and the King brothers. The book opens with Rhoda being summoned to meet with the bishop and she knows this can't go well. I won't tell you what happens, but know there is high drama and you want to speak up for her and tell them to just leave her alone.
Samuel is struggling with his feelings for Rhoda and I found myself wanting them to find a way to be together without hurting Jacob. Is it possible?
Jacob is thrown into his past and it makes me mad that he won't be honest with Rhoda, you know it all has to explode in his face, right?
Again, I won't give anything away, you'll just have to get your own copy to see what happens. I enjoyed this book as much, if not more than, the first. If you enjoy Amish fiction and some romance,pick up a copy and start reading, you won't be sorry.
An ebook of this book was given to me by the publisher, Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group, in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Internal conflict

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
ACS Book Finder
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Cindy Woodsmall's Book 2 of the Amish Vines and Orchards series, The Winnowing Season opens days before the group of Amish is moving to start a new community in the state of Maine. The main characters and their families have purchased a new Apple Orchard in Maine after the devastation of the one they owned in their current state and community.
Rhonda Byler is a gentle, caring young Amish lady who has a gift that lets her intuitively see what is about to happen. She has ended up being viewed suspiciously because of this gift which is not accepted within Amish communities. The two King brothers, Jacob and Samuel, are leaders both in the apple orchard business and spiritually. Both are emotionally drawn to the lovely Rhonda Byler. Jacob has a past to hide and come to terms with.
Though this is a stand alone story, it is best to first read book one in the series so that the characters are better understood. The internal conflict of characters over whether to stay or leave their faith community and go establish one less restrictive is interesting. Recommended for those who enjoy good clean reading and for the young-adult to adult reader. There is no bad language or behavior.
DISCLOSURE: A complimentary copy was provided by Blogging for Books on behalf of the author and publisher to facilitate our honest review. Opinions expressed are solely those of the reviewer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book Review of The Winnowing Season

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rhoda Byler, and Amish woman with the unusual gift of being able to foretell things, is preparing to join several others moving to Maine to start an Amish community there. Rhoda hopes that moving to Maine will give her a fresh start, but once the group gets there she discovers more trouble waiting and more secrets waiting to be uncovered.
I thought that some parts of this book were a little creepy, like Rhoda's gift and the scenes with her sister Emma, but other than that it was an interesting book and pretty well-written. I felt like I missed out on part of the story by not reading the first book, but I still liked it.
Thank you to WaterBrook Multnomah for sending me a free copy of The Winnowing Season in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Amish Series I Have Read!

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this novel almost as much as the first one! It was really good and kept me on my toes!
My thoughts about Samuel changed so much in this novel! In the first novel, I could not stand him because I thought he was rude and then he left Catherine hanging so I thought even less of him (especially after writing a letter to the church leaders concerning Rhoda's garden)! However, I came to truly respect him because despite all the chances he had to make a move on Rhoda while Jacob was done he did not...that is until the very end! All the respect I had for him up until that point went slightly down after he told Rhoda how he felt for her only to leave her hanging when Jacob got back! I did love to read about his spiritual growth and how it affected his relationship with Leah in a positive way!
My respect for Jacob went down a little bit too because he wasn't there to truly support Rhoda, but I knew he really loved her and that definitely showed when he went to the lawyer. The ending however really disappointed me because I thought he would really stick by Rhoda despite what happened at the end! I did however feel bad for him since he was being manipulated by Sandra.
Rhoda is probably still my favorite character, but Leah is right up there too! She has changed so much throughout "The Winnowing Season" and I do believe it's for the better! I am really looking forward to reading more about her journey in whether she will stay Amish or not! She has got a good head on her shoulders!
Overall, I thought this novel was great! I liked how the author threw in some twists and turns that left me breathless! Cindy does such a great job of also declaring what a real relationship with Christ is and how ultimately each individual has to make their own choice of following Jesus.
I received this book for free from Waterbrook Press in exchange for an honest review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL SERIES !!!!!

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janus Tuttle
Location:Ft. Wayne, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series is simply one you do not want to miss. I have read book one and finished book two at 6 a.m. because I simply could not put it down. I cannot wait for the 3rd one to come out which your site states will be in August, not sure I can wait that long!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hats off to Cindy Woodsmall for this one. Yes, the 2nd one leaves you "hanging", so to speak but it is just a wonderful book!!!!!!!!!!!! I have about 170 Amish Fiction Books and this series ranks in the No. 1 category!! You will be sorry if you miss it!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Winnowing Season, Amish Vines and Orchards Series #2 LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Plain life is replete with harsh times

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Winnowing Season is book 2 in the series and follows A Season for Tending. The main female character is Rhoda Byler who has a gift of being able to intuitively know what is about to happen. Some call this a hunch. Some call it "second sight." But some deem it witchcraft or evil. But Rhoda has lived with this gift virtually her entire life and has learned to suppress and hide it from the people around her. Because, you see, the Amish deem it evil. But Rhoda is a woman of God and one who seeks His will in all she does.
Next we have Jacob and Samuel King, owners of the fabled King Apple Orchards and brothers. Both men have begun to love Rhoda but Jacob seems to be winning the courtship.
The story begins in book two on the heels of a devastating tornado that brought ruin to Kings Orchard. A group of Amish from the community have sought out new land in Maine and are leaving to begin a totally new Amish community in Maine. Rhoda is especially looking forward to a new life in a new community freed from the whispers and seeming hatred of her current Amish community. Before they can leave, though, Rhoda is called before the controlling and governing body of Amish pastors regarding her "gift."
It is difficult to understand the concept of church government and judging as is followed in the Amish communities unless one has been exposed personally to such. This meeting has strictly observed rules, regulations, and order peculiar to the Amish. It needs to be understood that there would be differences in communities of Amish believers so they would not all follow this plan. The matter for Rhoda is ultimately resolved and the group leaves for Maine.
This story line involves a lot of conflict between individuals and brings to light the possible harshness that can exist in the life of seemingly peaceful, plain folk.
As I have come to expect, Cindy Woodsmall has again produced a very good read that is clean and a joy to read. But then, we would expect such from a New York Times Best-Selling Author of Christian fiction. I am looking forward to the September 2013 release of book 3 in the Amish Vines and Orchards Series - Every Season.
DISCLOSURE: I received a complimentary copy of The Winnowing Season from Blogging for Books on behalf of Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group and the author in exchange for my honest opinion. No other goods were exchanged. Opinions expressed are solely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>