Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print

Christian Large Print The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print

In Matthew 21, Jesus tells us, "If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer." However, most of the time we pray, we only ask for the small things. We're afraid to ask for what we really want, or to be passionate in our petitions. In The Circle Maker, Mark Batterson introduces you to the possibility of a deeper, more passionate, persistent, and more intimate prayer life. Sharing powerful insights from the the true legend of Honi the circle maker, a first-century Jewish sage whose bold prayer ended a drought and saved a generation, you'll learn a new way to pray. Discover the power of bold prayer and even bolder faith in God's promises. Large Print Edition.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
47 out of 5290%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Review 1 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pray Bold Prayers

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Terra Hangen
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Batterson shares examples of answered prayers and invites us to pray circles around our impossibly big dreams, problems and fears. He suggests we pray with the boldness of David in the Psalms, and has an interesting chapter on setting life goals. This book is relevant to all ages and especially to people in their 20s and 30s, since Batterson is an innovative pastor and ministers to many young people.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very readable and thought provoking book on prayer

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mort
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book on prayer. Hard to describe the motivation it provides. A MUST read.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unscriptural

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
CBD Customer
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I find it interesting that most of the positive reviews do not seem to acknowledge that this book is unscriptural. There is no need whatsoever to draw a circle and that concept alone clearly contradicts Scripture:
"As I urged you upon my departure for Macedonia, remain on at Ephesus so that you may instruct certain men not to teach strange doctrines, nor to pay attention to myths and endless genealogies, which give rise to mere speculation rather than furthering the administration of God which is by faith." 1 Timothy 1;4
"Have nothing to do with godless myths and old wives' tales; rather, train yourself to be godly." 1 Timothy 4:7
The Bible clearly defines the criteria needed for receiving answer to prayer: "If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you shall ask what you will, and it shall be done unto you." John 15:7
Are you abiding in Christ? Do you pray daily, lean on Him, seek Him, follow Him and love Him? Is God's Word in your heart? Do you read it, study it, meditate on it, strive to obey it daily? Do you love His Word? If you abide in the Lord Jesus Christ and His Word abides in you, you won't be looking to the world for fulfillment because you will find fulfillment in Christ and He promises that He will answer your prayers.
"This is the confidence which we have before Him, that, if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us." 1 John 5:14
If teaching is not scriptural that means it is unscriptural and it is in error.
+24points
34of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An incredable book on the theory of praying

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Bert
Location:Trevor, Wisconsin
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
circles around anything you can imagine. The concept of walking around Jerico is a perfect example of how God answers prayer. I have put God's promises into practice and found Mark's theory to be in perfect harmony with the art of circle making. Life changing experiences take place in your life. I highly recommend reading this profound little book.
Pastor Roberta Albrecht
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Changed my life

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lee S
Location:Warminster, PA
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This message in this book not only changed my life, but it also saved my life. For the first time ever, I have developed a consistent prayer life and an intimate relationship with God. I was so excited about this book, I bought extras for other people in my life, including my pastor. She loved the book as well. A few weeks ago, she was preaching on the importance and power of prayer, and she asked me to give a short testimony to lead off her sermon. I spoke about prayer and The Circle Maker, and my testimony was so well received, I bought twenty additional copies for others in the congregation. The message presented in The Circle Maker is spreading like wildfire in our congregation!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We are using this at church

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anja Leah
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this book at church to help us pray, I and 3 others bought this from you because you offered the best price.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
sewer59
Location:NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of the best books I had read this year! It was not only practical, but the author was very transparent. His amazing stories of God's faithfulness have increased my faith.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shay
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are struggling with how to pray, this is the book for you. It walks (no pun intended) you through what God desires from us in our communication with Him. Couldn't be more pleased with this book.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This book is not Scripture based, in the least

Date:July 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
BobbyJ
Location:Columbia, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The author says (in the church "Bible Study" videos as well) Quotes- "You're going to pray in a new way", "You can't just read the Bible, you need to start circling the promises." Oh really??? I bought the book and, unfortunately, read it. I don't need my graduate courses in Theology to know the author is way off base. The books premise is based on a mythical character named "Honi" who draws a circle in the sand, stands in it, then tells the Creator of the universe he will not leave until God makes it rain. The author says God gives in to the childish tantrum of "Honi" and makes it rain. First, God does not play "Let's Make A Deal". He is not our "Genie-In-A-Bottle" here. The author also says the bigger the prayer, the more God pays attention to it (a non-Biblical theme, to say the least). The book promotes the "Name It And Claim It", Prosperity-Gospel approach that is the pop-culture, fad- "religion" that some churches use today. This NY Times bestseller is just wrong, and I am far from a legalist. This is nothing less than heresy. Jesus teaches us how to pray and yes, the Bible is the basis of it. Batterson misses the message and misses it terribly. Don't waste your money, seriously.
+38points
47of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great on many levels

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
sjsolberg
Location:Seattle
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mark's book and Bible study set (guide and DVD) are excellent. The message of power of prayer with Mark's real life examples is proof positive of what can happen when we pray circles around every area of our lives. I especially like the Goal Setting section of the book. Very helpful.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

increases your perspectives

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Big Paulie
Location:Greeneville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy Mark Batterson's writing, his books inspire me.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth Reading Over and Over!

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
missyasche
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book! It is full of examples of anwered prayer and gives encouragement. I have already purchased 3 extra copies for friends going through difficult times and am getting ready to purchase more! You don't have to be going through a difficult time to read this, though. Anytime is a good time to be a circle maker :-)
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic book, very inspiring

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ernie
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book, showing the faithfulness of God as we come to Him in prayer. I would highly recommend this for anyone who wants a stronger prayer life.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good book

Date:March 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Morris
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This books inspires you to be more consistent in your prayer life.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book for all

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Garrett
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read reviews that had me worried that Mark was going to lead us down a formulaic path of spiritualism that is far from scripture. Please ignore those reviews, this coming from a conservative Church of Christ'er. Mark is not suggesting circles are a formula that makes prayer magic any more than the book of James is suggesting that anointing with oil is the only way for healing prayers to be effective. Instead Mark is calling us to be prayer warriors who work hard as if it all depends on us, but at the same time pray as if it all depends on God. Mark believes in prayer and has experienced its power and he encourages the same from the reader. This book will be a blessing to anyone at any level in their prayer life.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Misleading

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
FROG
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
To lift others is prayer is great, however, this book sounds good, but is very misleading and can misguide new Christians into opening doors of witchcraft circles. Very disappointed and concerned because of the emphasis on the pattern of praying in circles which is not Christ.
+11points
20of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
aperry
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book, and due to the great value that you all had it priced, i was able to purchase several of the books and give them out to friends!
Thank you!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is excellent reading

Date:February 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janice
Location:Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am absolutely delighted that I have purchased this product. It supersedes my expectation. I am interested in obtaining more copies of this product. I know that other family members and friends will enjoy this reading as much as I am enjoying it.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for praying your dreams and promises.

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunbonnet sue
Location:Lansing, Mi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book combining praying and your dreams.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gift

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
tnt8836
Location:Lees Summit, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book as a gift for a fellow minister. It arrived in perfect condition.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.