Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Fiction In the Shadow of Evil - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

B&H Fiction In the Shadow of Evil - eBook

Just outside of Lake Charles, Louisiana, Detective Sergeant Maddox Bishop works iun the Criminal Investigative Department, Homicide Division. When the dead body of a building inspector is found in a burnt "Homes of Hope" house, Maddox gets the case. The trail of evidence will lead him into exposing one of the biggest scams of modern day.

Layla Taylor is a contractor in Calcasieu parish, who loves God, her family, and what she does. When Detective Bishop's investigation leads him to her sister's drug-rehab retreat, every defense in her rises to the surface. To prove her sister's business isn't involved with anything illegal or immoral, she joins forces with the man who is against everything she believes in.

Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Review 1 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exciting

Date:September 16, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed "In the Shadow of Evil" immensely. Just enough love story to keep this romance addict enjoying all the suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Caroll Suspense!

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book is Maddox’ story. We met Maddox in Fear No Evil and I was looking forward to get to know him better.
When Maddox was a teenager he found his mother stabbed in her bedroom, after he was late for curfew. She died in his arms. His father blamed Maddox for her death, while he was away for his job and not much at home himself. Maddox never had a good relationship with his father.
Layla is a constructor with her own business. She just won a prize with a Hope for Homes project, but soon that house burns down and a body was found inside. The man in the house was shot before the house burned down. That is where Maddox and his partner come in. They are investigators and good at their jobs.
Many awful things are happening around Layla and with the people she loves. Who is after her? And why?
Maddox had sworn he didn’t need a woman. They only meant trouble. Last time he was dating his mother got murdered. But when he meets Layla something is happening inside of him. She’s different and he likes that. But Layla isn’t looking for a man. After the break up with her last boyfriend she has built a wall around her heart. And then there’s another issue – Layla is a believer, but Maddox doesn’t believe in God. Can Maddox take Layla’s walls down? And will Maddox find healing and love with the One he needs the most?
This book is full twists and turns. Little by little we get more glimpses of the bad guy, but it’s not easy to figure out who he is. That’s what I like in a suspense story, that makes me flip the pages faster and faster. In the Shadow of Evil is a fantastic read with a satisfying end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steph
Location:Perth, Western Australia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Robin Caroll has once again weaved a brilliant story together, keeping the reader in suspense until the very end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Awesome Mix of Mystery and CF

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: In the Shadow of Evil - Robin Caroll- March 2011
Are you a fan of the edgy Christian Fiction, love a bit of murder and mystery chucked into your Christian mix ? In the Shadow of Evil has just that and in a way for me personally it touched a bit closer to home than other christian murder mysteries , though not of the case of the Murder but one of the charities involved in the novel. The novel starts Eighteen Years ago , where we discovered Maddox's mother stabbed and murdered. The novel the fast-forwards to the present. Maddox is now a lead Detective up for a promotion to Commander and his mother's murder still goes unsolved, though in the last chapter we find out who killed his mother and trust me -it was a surprise. The main storyline of the novel though focuses on sisters Layla and Alana Taylor - Layla owns a construction company and her sister Alana owns a rehabilitation centre called Second Chances and together they combine their jobs for a charity called Homes for Hope . Homes for Hope is like Habitat for Humanity and they build houses for those families who otherwise would not be able to afford one and then it can become a rent to buy. This part touched me as we live in what used to be a Habitat for Humanity House and with the option of purchasing after 5yrs , my parents purchased our house. When their latest house goes up in flames and a body is discovered burnt and murdered , it seems that the top of the suspect list is Layla and Alana. Detective Maddox Bishop is on the case and he feels that the sisters are hiding something. Can he discover and get to the bottom of what is going on before more people start to die and when people from Layla and Alana's church start to get mysteriously sick - this tightens Maddox's suspicions . Are the sisters involved in something dark and dangerous or is somebody trying their hardest to set the girls up?
Find out in "In the Shadow of Evil" - An Edgy CF by Robin Caroll.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

3rd in Evil series is a thriller with romance

Date:March 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the Shadow of Evil by Robin Caroll is the third book in the Evil romantic suspense series. Maddox Bishop is investigating an arson/murder at a brand new house that brings him to question Layla Taylor, the contractor for the building. Sparks quickly fly between the two, but Maddox keeps finding connections between Layla and the crimes that are popping up all over town: three mysterious deaths that seem to be tied to her church, her office is robbed, and the rehabilitation center her sister, Alana, runs is bombed. But the crimes are all tied to Layla because the culprit is desperate to keep her from discovering his identity. Meanwhile Maddox is dealing with his prickly relationship with his father that stems from his mother's murder years earlier, and Layla hasn't seen her mother in eight years since her drug overdose left her with a permanent brain injury. The couple must deal with their pasts before they can build a future together, and that is threatened by a killer who will stop at nothing to hide his sins. Each book in this series is essentially a stand-alone with minimal reference to the characters from the previous book. Maddox was a cop in Fear No Evil, but you don't need to have read that to enjoy this novel. Caroll is very good at creating nail-biting suspense, and the scene where Layla faces the murderer is a heart-stopper. One flaw in the book is that by naming Maddox' partner Houston, a dramatic scene becomes unintentionally funny by the inclusion of the phrase, "Houston, we have a problem," This is a solid series sure to please fans of Christian fiction with plenty of romance and suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:March 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Evan
Location:United States
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the Shadow of Evil was my first book by Robin that I have read and I will most definitely be reading more from her! This book was enjoyable from start to finish; not one boring part in it.
The plot was definitely well thought out and original. I wasn’t able to tell who the killer was for some time. Actually, it took me until a few hundred words before the killer was revealed to figure it out.
The characters were believable, as was their feelings. Detective Maddox Bishop was my favorite character.
Robin definitely has a knack for writing compelling romantic tension. many times, I get bored of romance because it doesn’t feel genuine. Happily, the relationship between Layla (the main character) and Maddox felt completely real and actually enjoyed reading those parts.
I am glad that I read this book and I suggest you read it as well. Also, look for Robin’s other books she has. There are two other books in this series: Fear No Evil and Deliver Us From Evil. These can all be read as stand-alones, so don’t worry about reading them in the correct order.
I am looking forward to Robin’s next book, Injustice for All which will be released in January of next year!
Great job, Robin!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this book, this series and this author!

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robin Caroll has this amazing gift for suspense/thriller writing that is almost creepy. Why? Because she takes topics and scenarios that could happen right at home and then brings them to life and it has you looking over your shoulder and wondering if that very thing could be happening in your own neighborhood! Child trafficking rings, gang warfare and now scams and unethical practices in a Habitat for Humanity type business. It makes me wonder where she comes up with these stories, but scared to ask... all I know is that I absolutely love her books and her writing and this Evil series ("Deliver Us From Evil", "Fear No Evil" and "In The Shadow of Evil") is fantastic!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
Here's a good read: a mystery book with just the right touch of whodunit and romance. All loose ends are neatly tied up before the final chapter. Why, even a cold case is solved in a surprising twist!
Layla Taylor is a good role model for single Christian women. She's independent, hard worker, Christian, but when tempted to fall for a nonbeliever, she holds back. The tug on her heart strings while her world falls apart, makes for one compelling story.
Discussion questions are included.
Thank you to FirstWildCard and Julie Gwinn at BH Publishing Group for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amongst the Ashes

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alana Taylor runs the Second Chances rehabilitation center in Eternal Springs, Louisiana. When the clients have reached a certain plateau of reliability, some are hired by the local construction companies to work on site.
Layla Taylor, Alana’s sister, runs Taylor Construction, the only female-owned construction company, which she opened when their father died. She had recently won the CotY award for constructing the latest Homes of Hope project. However, arson quickly takes it down, with a murdered man found inside the ruins.
Detectives Maddox Bishop and Houston Wallace of the Calcasieu Sheriff’s office were on call when the fire broke out in the Homes of Hope building, and were called in when an anonymous body was found in the ashes.
Since Layla knew the construction owners, electricians, plumbers, and suppliers, she takes on the responsibility of “helping” the detectives find the perpetrator, looking for anything/anyone out of the ordinary on their sites. This does not sit well with the person responsible, since she could connect this person to the incidences that occur.
In the opening pages of In the Shadow of Evil, Robin starts out with a heart-wrenching murder scene. From that opening, the action explodes fast and furious into additional scenes that demand your full attention to details. When you think you have it all down, she springs another scene that instantly pulls you in another direction. This continues from page one to very last page, fast and furious.
Interspersed within the scenes, possible suspects, and twisting plots, there blows the mild winds of romance. Neither party is open to another romantic relationship due to past hurts and betrayals, but Robin slowly winds them into the web of love. The only part I wasn’t so sure of was how much an officer can get involved with a suspect/client romantically while a case is still in progress. That could easily be my own views based on my legal background.
Although the bulk of the story revolves around the murders and love relationships, Robin deliberately opens the doors to deal with forgiveness and reconciliation in the lives of these two young loves. Bitterness keeps both from forming that relationship built on true love. Robin beautifully and thoughtfully brought both characters to the point of brokenness, bringing tears to my eyes on both accounts. Most importantly, their personal relationship with the Lord is dealt with as well.
I was amazed at how realistic the characters were; how well Robin developed each of the characters’ personalities. I could easily relate to each of the main characters, and would love to have friends like them in my life. Definitely a great read!
This book was provided by Jeane Wynn, President of Wynn-Wynn Media in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable romantic suspense

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"In the Shadow of Evil" is a Christian romantic suspense novel. It's the third in a series, but it's essentially a stand-alone novel. You don't need to read the previous novels to understand this one, and reading this novel first will spoil only the romantic outcome of the second novel.
The characters were likable, complex, and dealt with realistic struggles. The main theme was forgiveness. The suspense was created by physical danger to the main characters and conflict between the romantic pair. The setting details were sparse, but there were a fair amount of job details (for police, contractor, and "halfway house") woven into the story.
Some of the main characters were Christians. One main character believed in God, but he didn't believe God was good. There was some praying and some Scripture remembered by the characters.
There was no sex. I don't recall any bad language (but if it was there, it was in the "he cussed" style). Overall, I'd recommend this enjoyable, suspenseful novel to those who like romantic suspense.
I received this book as a review copy from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gripping drama and realistic characters

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
dliesner
Location:Racine, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't usually read suspense, but when I received a sample copy for review, thought I'd give it a go. Robin Caroll's talented writing was enough to convince me to retract former pre-conceived notions about suspense novels.
Realistic faith-based characters with inner struggles of their own are pitted against age-old spiraling results of temptation, entitlement and greed. This was definitely a what's next, can't put it down story. Between the hero and heroines attraction/angst, their varied personal battles, and the dangers to an entire community, it was a dramatic page turner. I'd definitely recommend anything written by Robin Caroll.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Murder, Mystery, Unsolved Crimes, Love and Forgive

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In this suspense/love novel unsolved murders and mysterious fires abound. Layla Taylor, a female contractor, finds herself in the middle of a mysterious chain of events - and she is one of the suspects of the crimes. As she tries to uncover the truth behind the terrible mysteries she finds herself the target of the criminal. She and her sister Alana must learn to face their greatest fears and Layla's faith is put to a test that she did not think she could pass. Thrown into her path is a rugged, rough edged detective with a tender heart, Maddox Bishop. Hiding his own secrets and held in the bondage of ineffectiveness and hurt his is driven to be the best detective. That is until his world is forever changed by the strong, independent yet soft Layla Taylor. Quickly she turns from a key suspect to the woman he loves and desires so much to protect. Both are forced to face the unforgiveness that keeps them shackled and to face and reconcile their face past. To win the heart and love of Layla Maddox is brought into the presence of God by her continual forgiveness and genuine concern for others. He must make a decision to surrender to God and accept His blessings or turn his back on what might be.
Truly a great novel.
Thank you B&H for the review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Murder, Mystery, Faith and Love

Date:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra
Location:Sarasota, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A story of murder, mystery, faith and love. What a great combination. Maddox became a detective in hopes of one day solving his mother's murder. He has turned his back on God because of his mother's murder. Layla, a successful contractor has a great relationship with God. She will need to rely on her faith when a home she has built burns to the ground and a dead body is found inside. These two must work together as more of her projects are destroyed and she is threatened. This is a wonderful suspense filled story where we watch God work in lives and a romance blossom. This is a book full of God's messages in a non-preachy way. The suspense kept me turning pages. My mother borrowed it and finished it in two days, and she is a slow reader. This is a book I most definitely will recommend to all of my friends.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Southern Suspense

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the Shadow of Evil by Robin Caroll is fantastic southern suspense. It has all the elements I've come to expect from the author's books. Richly drawn characters. Twisting plots. And she kept me guessing. And all set in the Bayou region of Louisiana.
Maddox, who appeared in an earlier book, is back; this time he's tasked with solving a murder that was hidden by arson. Layla is also digging because it's a house her contracting firm built. The two clash as they each conduct investigations --- investigations that reveal more and more people who could have a motive. And more crimes that could be linked.
If that were all that happened, this book would be fairly straightforward. Instead, there are spiritual and family struggles for each of them. People are dying in seemingly unrelated events. And Layla is fighting for the reputation of the company she built. I can't say more without revealing the plot...let's just say it's a page-turner.
So if you haven't read any Robin Caroll books yet, this is a great one to start with. And the cover is stunning.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling suspense-filled book.

Date:November 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jackie
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Once again, Robin Carol has created a page-turning suspense-filled novel with a terrific story plot set in the rebuilding of New Orleans after the hurricane. We again meet Maddox Bishop, who as a teenager returning home after curfew found his mother dying after being attacked. His absent military career father blamed him for not being home. The fact that his mother's murderer has never been found inspired Maddox to go into law enforcement and hopefully to find the culprit at some time. Maddox has carried this guilt and grief for over 18 years and has determined to never become seriously involved with a woman again and turns away from God.
Layla Taylor is a young woman contractor who took over her father's business after his death. Layla and Maddox meet when a body is found in the burned rubble of a house her company had constructed. This incident was followed by a series of arson fires on homes she worked on. Also several persons have become mysteriously and critically ill who lived in or worked in buildings her company reconstructed.
Layla and Maddox both determine to find out who is responsible for the crimes--and someone doesn't want to be discovered and will do anything to prevent that from happening. As things escalate, Layla's life is threatened, and Maddox is determined to protect her. Sparks fly between the two of them as both battle their attraction to each other. Maddox is also dealing with his bitterness against God and his father who has had a great change of heart and desperately wants to reconcile with his son and see his son reconciled with God.
This is a terrific story with many twists, turns, and great surprises. It is a must have for those who enjoy Christian fiction at its finest.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A suspenseful mystery with a great message.

Date:November 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judy Glidden
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robin Caroll does an excellent job of writing suspenseful mysteries with a message. This was another good story that had you wondering "who did it". I would like to thank the author and B & H Publishing for giving me a copy for review. This was an advanced reader copy, as the actual book is not available yet, but will be soon.
Although there are numerous characters you will get to know in this story it is mainly about Layla, a lady who has fought hard to make a name for herself in the construction business, and Maddox, a detective who loves his job, but is leary of getting too close to any one woman.
When a house Layla has just built is burnt to the ground, and a dead body is found murdered in the rubble, Maddox and his partner are called in to investigate. Both Layla and Maddox want to figure out who did it and why, but neither one wants to work with each other or trust each other. Both Layla and Maddox also have a problem with forgiveness with things that have happened in their past. I appreciated the way they each had to deal with it in their life and the peace that forgiveness brought to them.
This story kept me turning the pages to see what would happen next. I liked the banter between Maddox and his partner, the love and loyalty Layla and Alana had as sisters and the slow but steady feelings Maddox and Layla grew to have for each other. I also liked trying to figure out who the "bad guy" was. Another good job Robin Caroll!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommended for Christian fiction book club

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barbara Bennett
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
We only read Christian fiction in our ladies' book club. I try to find varieties, including romance and suspense. "In the Shadow of Evil" had both. Layla wore her Christianity naturally, pausing to pray for a friend in need, without hesitation. The romance was sweet; yet, you were never sure how it would develop. I will say there are many surpises. A great read! I appreciate the opportunity to read and review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bookworm924
Location:Shreveport, LA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beginning a Robin Caroll novel should carry the same instructions as a ride on the Texas Giant at Six Flags….sit down, buckle in, and hang on especially in the curves! Caroll knows how to grab the reader from the first paragraph and not let go. Her suspense is first class and her view of the Christian life doesn’t beat a believer over the head if she or she doesn’t match up. Instead, Caroll paints a vividly clear portrait of striving for the prize in living for Jesus Christ.
In her latest novel set in Eternal Springs, LA, Caroll brings us the story of a Christian woman involved in the lives of those she loves while striving to live a life of integrity in the male-dominated and sometimes-corrupt world of contracting and construction. Layla Taylor followed in the footsteps of her late father then went one step further to begin her own business, Taylor Construction. Between her contracting, her family, and her church involvement, she’s a busy lady. But holding her back from living the completely abundant life in Christ is the unforgiving spirit she harbors toward her mother, a former drug addict and nursing home resident due to an overdose-induced brain injury.
Detective Maddox Bishop, introduced in Caroll’s second novel FEAR NO EVIL, has no use for a God who allowed his mother to be murdered. He’s content with his job as an investigator for the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office although he’d like to be the next commander. But investigating the murder victim found in a burned down house just finished by Taylor Construction, meeting Layla Taylor and her sister, Alana, and reconnecting with the father he’s avoided since his mother’s death show him how “in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. Romans 8:27-29
The main theme of IN THE SHADOW OF EVIL is forgiveness, both the loving forgiveness of the Father as well as the spirit of forgiveness which should be a hallmark of the believer’s life. It’s a tall benchmark and believers often allow life circumstances and the actions of others to preclude the success of reaching that benchmark. Caroll ably demonstrates the absolute necessity of forgiveness in the life of the believer as well as the necessity to view the world through the eyes of Christ. She makes the lifestyle of reaching out to an unbelieving world as natural as drawing one’s next breath.
Don’t miss IN THE SHADOW OF EVIL or its predecessors, DELIVER US FROM EVIL and FEAR NO EVIL. Caroll brings a uniquely gentle and loving voice to the Christian suspense genre while never missing the ability to challenge the believer to live a life devoted more fully to Christ. Hopefully, she will have many more novels to come.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great Christian mystery

Date:October 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book starts with the prologue eighteen years ago. Maddox was seventeen and late for curfew, when he comes in he finds his mom stabled and she died in his arms.
Present Day: Maddox has become a detective and with his partner Detective Houston they are always working on solving a case. One he really wants to solve is who killed his mother and why. The book also includes two sisters Layla and Alana. Layla was a building contractor just like their dad and Alana ran a retreat for cleaning up drug addicts. They both were Christian and Maddox had no use for God. There are so much going on with people dying that went to the same church, murder, places being burned and all of it linked back to Layla.
This is a great read and as Robin Caroll always does with her books, she keeps you on your toes. This book will be out in March 2011 so be sure to pick up a copy, you can pre-order it here and here.
Thanks to B&H Publishing for sending me this advanced reader's copy of this book to review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for In the Shadow of Evil - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a terrific read

Date:October 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
fhz48
Location:Pineview,Ga.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once I started reading this book I couldn't put it down, its a must read. You've got murder, mystery, humor and some great bible quotes and famous people quotes at the start of all chapters. It has to do with two sisters, one a building contractor and the other runs a reform house. It takes place in Louisiana and the characters will grab and hold you through out the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>