Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print For Every Season, Large Print

Christian Large Print For Every Season, Large Print

Average Customer Rating:
4.379 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
27 out of 2993%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for For Every Season, Large Print
Review 1 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For Every season is the third book in Cindy Woodsmall’s Amish Vines and Orchards series. It picks up where book two leaves off and as with her other books there is a short summary in the beginning to help the reader get caught up.
Rhoda Byler along with her brother Stephan, his wife Pheobe, and their two children, the King siblings Samuel, Jacob, Leah and Rhonda English long-time friend Landon have come to Unity Maine to begin a new Amish community. A late frost that threatens the newborn apple blossoms is just one of the many trials that face this struggling community.
I am so very glad that Rhoda and Jacob issue is finally resolved. For me it was dragging out a little too long. We get to meet Iva who comes to the new community looking for work and who brings her own set of problems. Stephan and Phoebe have difficulties of their own and Samuel still battles to do the right thing.
I was really on the fence with this whole Rhoda seeing her dead sister thing. I’m not sure what this thing is really all about and I know that it is troubling because for a Christian book it seem so out of place and that the author is walking on shaky ground. However in finishing the book, I can begin to somewhat understand how guilt, along with other unresolved feeling could have our minds playing tricks on us. I can only hope that the author doesn’t continues along the whole “second sight” issue. I enjoy her writing and her storytelling and I would hate to give that up.
The only other problem that I had with this book is that it didn’t really move the plot along. What took place in this book could have happened in half the time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Continuing Series!

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had very mixed feelings about this latest novel in the Amish Vines and Orchards series! I didn't dislike it, but I also felt slightly lost due to the ending circumstances! My feelings for Jacob and Samuel did a 360 because I now found myself cheering for the opposite man of who I cheered for at the end of book 2. Yet when the man I wanted to truly have claim to Rhoda's heart, I was heartbroken for the other. I felt the same agony Rhoda did in watching the other man walk away!
As I did in the second novel it was still interesting to see Rhoda's gift and the way it affected her neighbor Camilla! I'm so glad that she finally came to peace with her unique gift even if frightened her at times! Also it was awesome to see Samuel encourage her to embrace it rather then avoid it because that's what she did growing up.
I really enjoyed Leah in book 2 and I am so glad that Cindy gave her and her relationship with Landon a big part! I enjoy Landon's mature insight while being a perfect gentlemen to Leah! I'm looking forward to reading more of their future, but I have a feeling that things might get a little more complicated in the upcoming novel!
Overall I enjoyed this third novel even if it left me in a whirlwind of emotions! I'm looking forward to reading book 4 to see where the latest character Iva will end up and the future concerning this new Amish community!
I give "For Every Season" a 4.5 out of 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rhoda Byler, along with her friends and family that traveled with her to Maine are hard at work in the new Amish Community. A reckless decision on Rhoda's part leaves her relationship with Jacob on shaky ground, and she has no idea how to fix it. Samuel is just as much to blame for his part in the fiasco, but how can a man change his feelings for the sake of preserving the integrity of the budding community of Unity?
Rhoda feels like the settlement is home already. Despite of the mounting tension and ill will between brothers, she feels that she truly has a chance for new beginnings. Not everyone understands her "gift" and the people of her old community feared the insight that has prevented many a catastrophe. Will she and her new community be able to fight against the odds and succeed to build a new life? And will her ability to see the future aid her in deciding which man truly belongs to her heart?
The second book left me in such suspense, I actually have been counting down the days till the third one was released! While the topic matter can be a little iffy for some people, Woodsmall has woven a story that transcends what we have come to expect from this genre. She has given us food for thought along with a wonderful story that becomes part of the new normal no matter what you believe. She has created something different than any other Amish novels, and she explores the possibility of insight while giving us what we have come to expect; romance, adventure, of course, Amish life. Recommended even if you haven't read the first two yet, although if you haven't, you will want to catch up asap.
This book was provided by WaterBrook Press for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Series

Date:December 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series is one that everyone would enjoy. I love at the end of the book that there is Glossary of the main characters so you can remember everyone from the previous books, plus a glossary of Amish dutch so you can follow when the characters speak it in the story. I find it neat how you start to learn it and can follow through with the sayings as you read this series. There is also great recipes that go along with the story .
This series is about a family of brothers plus Rhoda’s family that move to Maine to establish an Amish community and to work an apple orchard. Rhoda ends up dating the brother Jacob, when in book 1, I always thought she would end up with Samuel. In book 2 you see her relationship bloom with Jacob. In this story, Jacob is facing a decision to move away. Would Rhoda move again with him? Rhoda was introduced to the family b/c she cans and cooks with the apples, so she can help the family run the apple orchard by selling products with the apples. She has a gift with herbs and can usually feel is something is off. This is usually the intriguing part of the story for me. In this story it is interesting on how the Amish have relationships with their English neighbors. I would recommend this series to someone looking for a good story. Thank you to the waterbrook press for the opportunity to review this book for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An in-depth look as how relationships develop.

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I received a free copy of this book through a Goodreads, First Reads giveaway in exchange for my honest opinion.
A small group of Amish has moved to an orchard outside of Unity, Maine. They are trying to get a new Amish settlement going while also trying to rehabilitate an old orchard. Rhoda Byler is established as an expert in caring for plants and trees. Her business partner Samuel King grew up on the family orchard and has moved to Maine after the family orchard was nearly completely destroyed. They are both fully committed to making King Orchards Maine a success. But an impulsive decision has created an unexpected strain in the relationship with her beau, Samuel’s brother Jacob, threatening plans for the orchard. Yet amidst the mounting tension between the three of them, Rhoda finds that this fledging settlement feels like the home she has long hoped for and she begins to embrace the God-given, heightened intuition that has always felt like a burden to her. She longs for Jacob to fully be free of his past, so they can work toward the future together.
As Rhoda uses her gift to unpack an old secret with her Englisch neighbors, it is not her beau but the unlikely ally who cheers her on. With the orchard on shaky ground and Jacob’s plans in question, Rhoda is determined to see things through to harvest. But can she trust her insight to direct her path in matters of the heart?
This is the first book that I have ever read by Cindy Woodsmall. I enjoyed this book very much. One thing that she does that I really appreciated, since I had not read either of the previous books in this series, was the short synopsis she had at the beginning about each of the first 2 books. It helped me immensely in understanding what had happened previously.
Her characters were very well developed and learning each one’s personality was very enjoyable. There was a wide variety of people just as there are in real life. Each one had something in their life to deal with. This was very realistic yet in the bounds of a book, at times, I was having a little trouble keeping people and issues straight in my mind. This is the reason that I’m giving this book 4 instead of 5 stars.
I do want to go back and read books 1 and 2 for this series. Then I will re-read this one and see if knowing the backstory more fully will help with this. I do recommend this book for those who enjoy Amish fiction. I would suggest that you read the first two books before reading this one though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome books in this series

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gran
Location:Allentown,Pa
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book in one day, not much sleep. I couldn't put it down. Cindy Woodsmall is an excellent writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another good read from Cindy Woodsmall

Date:November 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the series, Cyndi Woodsmall has created complicated characters living complicated lives in a new community of Amish and she manages to keep the reader on his toes right up the final pages. While it is not necessary to read these books in order, it definitely does help to do so. I believe a 4th in the series is due out in Spring 2014. I look forward to reading it.
Now in book 3, For Every Season, our characters siblings Leah, Samuel & Jacob King, Rhoda Byler, gifted horticulturalist and possessor of a sense of second sight, and London Olsen continue to bring to life an orchard and establish a new Amish community in the Maine area.
Jacob remains a very complicated character whose past continues to intrude hindering his relationship with Rhoda. Samuel loves Rhoda and respects the relationship blossoming between Jacob and Rhoda – at least most of the time.
I look forward to seeing where life will take these hard working young Amish and with whom each of them will share their lives.
DISCLOSURE: I received a complimentary copy review to facilitate this review. No compensation was received for this review and I was not expected to provide a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love, Faith & Trust in an Amish World

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lini536
Location:Cambridge, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Kings Orchard, Maine is on its way to being established. But the problems they face are not only with getting the apple trees prepared for unexpected frost.
There's also a cold front in the household. Rhoda Byler, dedicated horticulturist is still reeling from the kiss received from Samuel King - part owner of the farm. The other person to share ownership is Jacob, the one that the young Amish woman is seeing. And to make matters worse, Jacob and Samuel are brothers. What possessed Samuel to tell Jacob of the stolen kiss?
As tension builds between the three farm owners each must battle with their guilt, responsibilities to the farm and family as well as their own ambitions.
Moving out and living with their Englisher neighbors, Rhonda is forced to confront her gift - the heightened intuition that made her become a distrusted person in her Pennsylvania (Amish) community. Why can she sense that Camilla has a granddaughter despite the older woman saying no. Any why does her dead sister, Emma, always appear when Samuel is around?
With determination Rhonda will see things through to Harvest. But with so many obstacles in the way, will her God given gift help her see the way? And can she really make the difficult decision that Jacob has asked her to make?
The third installment of this series moves the story forward of the lives of Rhoda, her family and friends beautifully. Who would have imagined that she would find herself torn between her love of horticulture and the two Kings' brothers? Woodsmall's characters continue to develop and grow in a quiet and unassuming way yet still captivating and intriguing. Besides the main characters, the subplots of other family members creates an extra level of enjoyment.
Another excellent 'chapter' in the Vines and Orchard collection. It was exciting to find out what happened next in this complex love story. Along with questioning faith, loyalty and trust, the book explores the perhaps controversial issue of Rhoda's 'gift' from God. I'm sure there are many Christians that would say seeing ghosts/having second sight is not anything to do with God. But I find the author has handled this subject sensitively. The series isn't rushed and it moves along at a steady pace without losing any impact (or causing boredom!). Looking forward to Book 4! A highly recommended read.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from WaterBrook Press as part of the Blogging for Books program. The opinions expressed here are my own and I am not required to give a positive critique.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

For Every Season

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rhoda Byler has a heightened intuition causing her to have premonitions, visions and hearing the voice of her sister Emma, who was murdered a few years earlier. In a new chapter in her life helping restore an abandoned apple orchard and establish a new Amish community in Maine, Rhoda hopes to escape the ghosts of her past. Rhoda has had an ongoing relationship with Jacob King, who is drawn out of her life more often than into it due to serious troubles as a result of his past. His brother, Samuel, and Rhoda have trouble meeting eye to eye where business decisions regarding the orchard come into play, but Samuel's respect and admiration for Rhoda has turned his head, and as he succumbs to kissing Rhoda, Jacob appears once again. Jacob is infuriated with his brother for kissing Rhoda, and throughout the story the brothers are at odds with each other. When an Indiana Amish girl is hired to help with the paperwork at the farm Rhoda is forced to move in with an Englisch couple. Rhoda loves the peace and beauty of her surroundings in the orchard, and looks forward to canning the fruits of her labors, but her future there is threatened by Jacob's jealousy over the kiss that Samuel and Rhoda shared. His jealous accusations and insecurities cause continuing stress for Rhoda.
Numerous characters are involved in this book, the third in a series. I received the book without having the opportunity to read the two previous books in the series, and found it hard to sort out all of the characters at first. Cindy Woodsmall is an artist at depicting a beautiful portrait of the locale in this book, and I easily envisioned the beautiful countryside with the orchard developing throughout the spring and summer months as the story develops. The main characters are very well defined to the point that I was constantly frustrated with Jacob and his penchant for running off to "take care of his self-imposed issues" at Rhoda's expense. I became irritated with Rhoda for her indecisive and spineless nature in her relationship with Jacob, dropping everything at Jacob's insistence in order to please him. This book is well written, but I would not recommend it as a stand-alone novel. There is too much information based on the previous books in the series, and the story ends rather abruptly as a sequel is to follow. I would love to read the entire series of books in order to have the advantage of the long-range advancement of character development and evolving plot developments.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book, Many Questions

Date:October 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Burleson
Location:Arkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cindy Woodsmall did not disappoint with the third book of the Amish Vines and Orchards Series. Even though you thought you knew which way the end would go, something would happen to shake that thought. The continuing story of Rhoda is definitely a must for your reading list.
Who is the right person for Rhoda? Sometimes it is really hard to answer this question. You will find the answer at the end of book three, at least I think that will be the answer.
I will say, though, that there are still a lot of unanswered questions at the end of the book. But this is not a negative since the author has said that there will be a book four. I have my ideas and it will be great to see if they match the thinking of the author.
If you like a book with a little mystery along with some romance, you should read this series.
This book was furnished to me at no cost for the purpose of this review
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Series by Cindy again!!

Date:October 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janus Tuttle
Location:Ft. Wayne, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best series of Amish Fiction I have read, and I believe I have read a great many. This one is truly fascinating and leaves you wondering what is going to happen between Samuel and Rhoda. I love all the Amish Fiction but some are better than others and this series is among the BEST!!!! I can hardly wait for the next one to come out in April of 2014.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love for every season

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rhoda has my heart torn....some moments, I want her with Jacob and some moments, I am sure she belongs with Samuel. Even Rhoda doesn't really seem to know her own heart. The two brothers are certainly at odds over the beautiful intuitive "seer". Can you imagine being given the gift of "seeing and knowing things" by God? Many in her own family and certainly her former community have rejected her because of this gift.
Can Rhoda ever see it as a true gift or calling from God, instead of the curse it seems to be for her? Can she ever reconcile her feelings for the men in her life? I agonized with her as I read, for I wanted her to be happy and to have the wonderful Amish husband, children, and home that she so desires.
So many people say that they value the Amish lifestyle because of its simplicity and peace. Rhoda, Samuel, and Jacob have everything except simplicity and peace in their daily dealings on the orchard and in their personal lives. And just as I get to the last page, I think with relief that all the problems will be resolved, and they are NOT!!! I find out that I have to wait for book 4 in the series to come out in 2014. Seriously, Cindy Woodsmall, you are going to make me WAIT to find out what happens for my favorite characters?? sigh, I guess I have no choice, do I, for I am hopelessly hooked!
I received a free copy of this book from bloggingforbooks and Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Waited so Long For This!!

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For Every Season: Book Three in the Amish Vines and Orchards Series
Cindy Woodsmall
Book Summary: Working hard to develop a new Amish community outside of Unity, Maine, Rhoda Byler is fully committed to rehabilitating an orchard with business partner Samuel King. But an impulsive decision has created an unexpected strain in her relationship with her beau, Samuel’s brother, Jacob, threatening plans for the orchard. Amidst mounting tension in matters of the heart and business, Rhoda finds that this fledging settlement feels like the home she has always longed for, and she begins to embrace the God-given, heightened intuition that has always felt like a burden to her. She longs for Jacob to fully be free of his past, so they can work towards the future together.
 
But as Rhoda uses her gift to unpack an old secret with her Englisch neighbors, it is not her beau but an unlikely ally that cheers her on. With the orchard on shaky ground and Jacob’s plans in question, Rhoda is determined to see things through to harvest. But can she trust her insight to direct her path in matters of the heart?
Review: I have grown to love this series more and more! There were so many great things about this particular book in the series. 1st More of the main characters Rhoda, Samuel and Jacob. 2nd Interesting twists with the characters and the story line. 3rd The secondary characters are a huge bonus to the books. I was so looking forward to the conclusion (even though I know there is another book coming). The reigning question who does Rhoda choose?! I just had to know. I know who I wanted but how would it look and how would it come about. It was all worth reading and waiting for! But the end seemed abrupt and disjointed. Like someone took the last 10-20 pages off and I would be left with hundreds of questions. I guess that is why there is now a 4th book…… I am glad with the results I just would like it to be happy. I felt deflated and out of sorts when the end came.
I would like to thank Library Thing and Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Is the end near?

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Danni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When you begin a book thinking your questions will be answered about the previous two books only to realize halfway through that there is a fourth in the series.... well it was a bit of a let down.
In my opinion there isn't enough story between Rhoda, Samuel and Jacob to have a fourth book. There was barely enough to finish the third. Woodsmall seemed to keep reminding us over and over again of what had happened in the previous books. It was getting very repetitive.
I like most of the characters and the chemistry between them all good for the first two books but this one just fell flat. I may still read the fourth but honestly I am not sure. I was really surprised by this because Woodsmall's standards are usually a bit higher.
I received this book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

How about some conclusions?

Date:October 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most authors write series is sets of three. Thus, I was expecting this book to finally answer some questions - not just keep leading the reader on to continue buying books. One minor answer is given at the end of book one, two, and three. REALLY? Plus, the answers are not satisfying in the least. My favorite character is Landon - the only truly honest person in this series - and he is English! Quite disappointing, from an author, who in the best has written with a beginning-middle-end for her books; while keeping anticipation high.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish Fiction at it's Best!

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie L
Location:Winterville, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story continues with Rhoda, Samuel, and Jacob. They have moved to Maine with some of their families and Landon, the Englisher, and are working hard to establish the run-down orchard before harvest. Working on the orchard is easy compared to working on their relationships though. Rhoda and Jacob are still in love and trying so hard to make their relationship work, but Jacob’s past still keeps getting in the way. He’s always running off to help Sandra and Casey. He’s finally getting smart and learning that he needs to give his all in working things out with Rhoda, but lies are still turning up.
Then there’s Leah, who takes it on herself to invite Iva, from another Amish community, to come join their community and give them the extra help they need with the household chores. When the brothers find out about what she’s done, they are not exactly what I would call “happy”. But as with all things, God has a plan and it seems like His hand was in this move. Iva had her own reasons for leaving her family and she’s trying very hard to fit in with the the new Orchard Bend Farm.
Meanwhile, more and more information is surfacing about Camilla and Bob, who Rhoda is living with, and she’s still hearing voices. She’s getting help from Landon to help her track down leads on what she’s learning and if you thought the last book was mysterious, then you’re in for more mystery! It’s hard to say more, because I don’t want to spoil this book by telling too much. All I will say is that some things are resolved and some things aren’t!
I’m so thankful that there will be a final book in this series, Seasons of Tomorrow, coming in April 2014. This has been a fantastic Amish series and I have enjoyed every book so much. Once I get started reading, it’s hard to put the book down. Ann has a way of drawing you into the story and getting you so involved with the characters you’ll find yourself being drawn into the book like you are one of the characters. I love these kinds of books, when I finally finish them I feel like I’ve lost some great friends and sometimes, gladly getting rid of some characters I don’t like!
You don’t want to miss this series...you have to start with A Season of Tending #1, then you will want to immediately pick up, The Winnowing Season #2, then hurry to read this book and then wait until April 2014 before we can finally discover all the mystery and discover all the characters true loves!
"I received a copy of this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for the purpose of this review and for my honest opinion and did not receive any compensation for a favorable review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

"For Every Season" by Cindy Woodsmall

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
tickmenot
Location:Kansas City
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For Every Season is book three in the Amish Vine and Orchards series. Before reading this book, I read book one and got the following background: This story is mainly about a beautiful Amish girl, Rhoda Byler. Rhoda loves to grow things. She had a wonderful garden at her parent's home that was also a good income source, but it was destroyed by another Amish man bent on causing her grief.
A chance meeting with Leah King introduces her brothers Samuel and Jacob to Rhoda. The brothers push hard for Rhoda to join them in business by canning and selling the apples from their orchard. No sooner does this new business start than a tornado strikes destroying the canning business and most of that year's crop.
Book three starts with a small group of Amish made up of Rhoda, her brother and family, the King siblings Leah, Samuel and Jacob and Rhoda's Englisch helper, Landon. They are attempting to start a new Amish community in an apple orchard in Maine. Rhoda and Jacob have become an item, but serious trouble Jacob had gotten into before knowing Rhoda causes him to leave for long lengths of time. While gone, situations Rhoda needs Jacob's help with are filled in by Samuel. Samuel falls in love with Rhoda, and kisses her right as Jacob returns from one of his trips.
Because of the kiss, tensions between Rhoda, Samuel and Jacob bring almost everything at the orchard to a crashing halt. Since the small Amish community there depends on the success of the orchard for all their livelihoods, this is a serious problem. Despite Rhoda and Samuel's assurance that nothing will happen between them again, much of this book is spent on Jacob's paranoia about Samuel and Rhoda. Jacob wants to marry Rhoda, and turn everything in her life upside down. He believes he must do this to feel confident about their love surviving.
I am glad I was able to read book one before I got this story, or I would have been really lost with all the characters and background stories. As it was, since I wasn't able to read book two, there are great gaps in the tale. The story holds interest--although the relationship difficulty with Rhoda, Samuel and Jacob was stretched out too far. I have a problem with Rhoda's "gift," which seems to be clairvoyance. Additionally, Rhoda often "sees"--and sometimes hears--her dead sister.
I felt giving this ability to Rhoda put her on very shaky ground as a Christian, and the rationalization the story tried to use for her having this "gift" never rang true. First Thessalonians 5:22 warns us to "stay away from every kind of evil." And it is written in Deuteronomy 18:9-12a:
“When you come into the land which the LORD your God is giving you, you shall not learn to follow the abominations of those nations. There shall not be found among you anyone who makes his son or his daughter pass through the fire, or one who practices witchcraft, or a soothsayer, or one who interprets omens, or a sorcerer, or one who conjures spells, or a medium, or a spiritist, or one who calls up the dead. For all who do these things are an abomination [detestable] to the LORD…”
The Bible tells us that some things are dangerous. The Lord does this to help us, not to be a kill joy. When I made a decision to be a follower of Christ, I also accepted the Bible as instructions to be followed. I cannot be happy with a Christian book that attempts to justify a Christian character with these attributes. The occult is a treacherous area to dabble in, it is real and not to be underestimated. Because of my strong feelings on this issue, I cannot give this book more than one star.
The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for the purpose of review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I have not been compensated in any other manner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For Every Season

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
dyand
Location:Lancaster, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For Every Season is book three in the Amish Vines and Orchards series. It continues a great series of story lines including establishing a new Amish community in Maine; rehabilitating an apple orchard; a character named Rhoda who has premonition type feelings and is not absolutely sure how to use them; two brothers (Samuel and Jacob) in love with the same woman; a young girl (Leah) trying to decide if she wants to remain Amish or go English; a young man (Landon) waiting for her to be ready to make that decision; Jacob dealing with the repercussions of bad decisions he made while he was working in the English world and became involved with some shady construction work and dealings; the addition of a new character from another community (Iva) whose father wants her to come back home and marry a wealthy man whom she is not in love with, so his wealth can benefit her family; the possibility of new families coming to live in the community – with the promise of lively characters to add to the whole scenario. I have loved the whole series and especially enjoyed this book. Although there are a lot of things going on, they all tie together and keep you glued to the pages wanting to see what will happen next. I can see this series going on for quite some time, which would be a good thing. There is a little of everything and you won’t be disappointed with the characters or the story lines. I highly recommend this series if you enjoy books involving the lives of the Amish.
I received this book for free from Water Brook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review, but that, in
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cindy Woodsmalls books never disapoint

Date:September 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tamila
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For Every Season is the third book in th Amish Vines and Orchard series and it continues the story of Rhoda Byler, a young Amish woman who has moved to Maine with few other Amish families to start a new community. As she works in an apple orchard with the King brothers, whose family owns the orchard, she finds herself in a love triangle when both brothers fall in love with her. She is alsmost engaged to Jacob, who has just recently returned from his time in the Englisch world, but there's also Samuel, the serious and responsible one. So which brother will she choose?
I just love Cindy Woodsmall books. Her characters become my best friends. I feel so connected to them as if they are real people in my life, and I never want to part with them. This series was no exception, and I just can't wait for the fourth book to come out.
I received this book from WaterBrook Multnomah for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for For Every Season, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Choices

Date:September 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great book by Cindy, and the third in this series. I loved spending time with these old dear friends. Note: If you have not yet read the other two books, there is information give so you can catch up. Don't deny yourself the pleasure of these great reads.
Samuel and Rhoda are working hard to getting the Orchard ready in Maine. We are with them them with their struggles and trials. Blending in with the families, and bring in some new people to help. I never wanted to leave, wanted to sit down with them at their meals!
Will Jacob and Rhoda finally be able to put the past behind them, and be married? Will their be someone special finally for Samuel? How about Leah, will she stay Amish and not want to go worldly?
Enjoy this next book in this series, you won't be able to put it down! I couldn't.
I received this book from Waterbook Press and their blogger program, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>