Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Desert Breeze Orphaned Hearts - eBook

Desert Breeze Orphaned Hearts - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orphaned Hearts - eBook
Review 1 for Orphaned Hearts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hope for adoption

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shawna Williams has written a wonderful Christmas story about adoption that is set during the Great Depression, though the hopefulness of being adopted is a daily reality for children living in an orphanage, especially for those who are crippled.
Pastor David Langley’s childhood is a poignant reminder set within this story, making for a double-edged sword in the placement of Caleb when an original adoption falls through. Rules are broken in desperation, but are picked up on when those in charge of the orphanage find out the details.
Shawna’s story is one of love, warmth, care, and concern of the town spinster, Sadie Miller, for Caleb, which is set against the rigidity, rules, and criminal activities of certain parties in the orphanage. Since single parenting was forbidden, Sadie and Pastor David set out on a plan to work out the complications. For those wanting to adopt, this is a heart-warming story of the depths of persistence an adoptive parent is willing to forge through to overcome the regulations that hinder single parent involvement.
The camaraderie between Pastor David and Caleb bypasses outward appearances for personal reasons. And the hints of romance keep you intrigued about the relationship between the town spinster and the single Pastor, as tongues are wagging in their small town.
This eBook was provided free by the author, Shawna K. Williams, in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Orphaned Hearts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Easy read

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
cpaul
Location:Leesburg, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I considered the book a very light read. The characters were nicely developed but overall it was as very predictable story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Orphaned Hearts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sweet Depression-Era Novella

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
David Langley is pastor of a small-town church in the middle of the Great Depression, and he has a problem. A six-year-old boy is about to arrive on the train, but the family who promised to adopt him have changed their mind at the last minute. As a former orphan himself, David does not want to send the boy back to the orphanage, which leaves him with the problem of what to do with Caleb. To complicate matters, Caleb lost an arm in an accident, which makes it harder to find potential adoptive parents. This is a problem that David, horribly scarred in the fire that took his family, understands only too well.
Sadie Miller, the town spinster, has spent the last few years caring for her ailing father and hoping that Brother Langley will notice her. Now her father is dead and, at thirty-three, she feels she is too old for the husband and family she always dreamt of. When David brings Caleb to her to look after temporarily, she agrees to take him in and soon falls in love with the small damaged child. But there is no chance that the orphanage will approve a single woman as an adoptive parent, no matter how well she might be able to provide for the child, and Sadie and David will have to fight just to get the orphanage to approve her as a temporary foster parent.
I really enjoyed Orphaned Hearts. The writing was strong, the characters were likeable and realistic, the plot was excellent, the romance was sweet and while the novel has an underlying Christian theme, it was not overtly ‘preachy’. It also is the first novel I have read set during the Great Depression of the 1930's that has managed to not be depressing! The only problem was that it is really a novella rather than a full-length novel (43,000 words compared to 90,000 for a standard novel), and I would have liked it to be longer. Having said that, there was just enough plot for the length of the book, and to make it longer would have been adding words, not story.
Thanks to Shawna Williams and Desert Breeze Publishing for providing a free ebook to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Orphaned Hearts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read

Date:July 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becca
Location:Mississippi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I loved this book. The author did such a good job in sweeping you into the story and each of its characters! This was an excellent read and I loved reading it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Orphaned Hearts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet story

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Emrhem
Location:NH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a sweet story of trust, love and acceptance. Two imperfect people learn to accept who they are and to accept that God had brought them together. Their mutual love for the orphans is woven throughout the book and their love for each other is sweetly brought out at the end of the story. I'm glad there was an epilogue, it finishes the story of David & Sadie in a tender and sweet manner. I will look for more books by Shawna Williams.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Orphaned Hearts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Orphaned Hearts will grab your heart!

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwormjan
Location:Friendswood, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Get ready to fall in love! Ms. Williams characters will grip your heart and you’ll find yourself wanting to do anything you can to help.
David Langley is a minister who is especially drawn to orphaned children. He himself is an orphan, having lost his parents and a sister in a fire when he was 2 years old. David was left with horrible burns, now scars, from this fire. He hasn’t let anyone see them because he’s afraid of what people might say or think.
Sadie Miller has just recently lost her father. Her mother died years before. After the death of her mother, she devoted her time to taking care of her father. Sadie didn’t get out and didn’t have friends over. Her “social” circle was home and church. It’s pretty apparent that she has her eyes on Pastor Langley. She loves baking him cookies, pies, etc.
I really enjoy Shawna’s writing! She has the ability to take you right to the time periods, and the towns she writes about. Her characters are so real! I feel like I know them. Little Caleb is an orphan, with a physical disability, that was supposed to be adopted by a local family in Brady Hill. But shortly before he was due in town, the family changed their minds. The Sheldon’s found out they were expecting their own baby and didn’t feel they could take care of a little boy during Mrs. Sheldon’s pregnancy. I just wanted to reach into the book and pull Caleb out and take him home!
Sadie is asked if she can take care of Caleb until David can find a home for him. Of course she falls in love with little Caleb and wants him for her own. What will the orphanage have to say about a single lady taking charge of a child? Can Sadie and David overcome the barriers that keep them from opening up and loving?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Orphaned Hearts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Though I spent 10 days reading "No Other" by the same author and couldn't get into it, I am so glad I chose to try this book anyway. I finished it in 2 days. I enjoyed this Christmas story about a lonely spinster, a pastor, and the orphan they want so badly to help. It was understandable that no family wanted to adopt a boy with one arm during the Great Depression, but I still kept hoping the best for little Caleb. It was cute how Sadie and David had crushes on each other throughout the book. It kind of felt like Christmas was tossed in near the end of the book, but it helped resolve the story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Orphaned Hearts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet story with real heart.

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great novel by Shawna K. Williams. This one is a bit "sweeter" in overall style, but is just as powerful in regards to the heartfelt message it contains...just like her prior books. It's hard for me to pick a favorite because all three were so good. What I loved about this story was it had to do with a theme of loving others and seeing them for who they are inside, not what is supposedly "wrong" with them that people see on the outside.
I loved watching the characters grow to love each other and how both Sadie and David wanted what was best for the other person. The ever-growing trust and love slowly developing between Caleb and the adults in his life was beautiful to behold. I wanted David to overcome some of his self-image worries. I was cheering for Sadie all the way. I really identified with Sadie and her desire for a family of her own, but not being able to imagine it happening. When everything started coming together it was inspiring and heart-warming. There wasn't any contrived tension or overly dramatic scenes to distract from the power of the story. Everything felt natural in it's presentation.
I have a soft spot for orphan stories, so that made this one all the sweeter to me. I loved how the author showed that it was hard for David to even know for sure if his feelings were what love actually felt like, since he'd been orphaned at such a young age. It's so true that people who haven't felt security and love in their homes growing up struggle with understanding love, not to mention learning how to give and receive love in regards to others. This was very well done. Orphaned Hearts was sweet and tender, but it was also a story containing substance and powerful truths. I really enjoyed it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.