Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Before You Say I Do - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Before You Say I Do - eBook

Would you like to have a successful, joyful marriage? Do you want to know more about your loved one's dreams and goals for your union? Wright's book provides the perfect opportunity to gain greater insights into your future mate's expectations and time-tested principles for a satisfying lifelong partnership. Through interactive surveys, thoughtful questions, and real-life examples, your relationship will deepen as you uncover areas of harmony and potential areas of discord.
Average Customer Rating:
4.686 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Review 1 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
vchatman
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Break/Fix - Returned the paper trays to their correct settings
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robert
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent resource! I would recommend it to all who are planning to marry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Effective Tool in Premarital Pastoral Care

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pastor Ron
Location:New Hampshire
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While using this book to supplement premartial pastoral care I have found that the questions posed by the author provide great opportunities and open doors to uncovered potential problems that would likely be encountered once married.
By discussing these issues, the couple can constructively deal with the implications and impact on their relationship and learn how to handle adversity in their relationship.
In addition, the author firmly bases his guidance upon the Scriptures.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I learned so much about myself and fiance.

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
4given
Location:Okanagan, BC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great book and process. It was required for premarital counseling at my church for 1st or 2nd marriages. I'm so glad we "had" to do this work although it took longer than it first looked; we were able to continue doing it long distance when necessary. Interviewing each other about our pasts, and comparing expectations and goals turned out to be highlights. Previously, I postponed and eventually canceled a wedding to someone else when the exercises (surprisingly) revealed hidden issues part way through. I not only chose much wiser when I was ready to try dating again, but I had confidence that we were compatible day to day. I learned more from the exercises than from counseling. We are happily married in middle age for several years. We still have our notes from several years ago and when I read them, I'm reminded of why I promised to love unconditionally. Bought the set for my daughter who is getting married and completing it is a condition of our giving our permission. Figured the DVD would help the fiance for whom English is a second language. The course not only prevented a bad match for me, but it improved me in many ways so that I was ready for someone completely different and right. We recommend it to all engaged couples who have an openness to Christianity. We spoke so highly of it that our new pastor and his wife in our new town ordered some for the church. Only improvements recommended would be coiled notebook to lay flat and either more space for notes or several blank pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Lesson Plan for Counseling

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brian Chilton
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book to guide a counselor through a counseling session for a couple looking to get married. I highly recommend this workbook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful counselling help!

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jimbob
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful counselling help to use with a young couple I am very close to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

Date:April 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
historical
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Is a very good book. Very thought-provoking and challenging questions you dont normally think of day to day. It also helped us realizes how much we had already talked about and didnt talk about before marriage counseling. Really like the chapter about setting up goals in your marriage, and gives you fresh and new ideas to pursue. It gives your marriage a purpose. Good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Addresses so many issues on marriage

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
ladypreach
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In trying to prepare a couple for their life time commitment of marriage, I have found this book to be an excellent tool. I revised some of the questions and utilize certain parts for couple exercises. They have found it to be very helpful and it has opened their eyes to things that they were not aware of. I love the fact that it addresses the natural as well as the spiritual. I love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book was well thought out.

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Richard
Location:Des Moines, IA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
This book has been a tried and true resource for many years. I have used it a number of times in my marriage counseling and feel that it helps couples get to what matters most right away. If anything it is a great jumping off place to continue to deepen their marital relationship.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great information

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Lo
Location:Baldwin, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent resource. We have used this book for pre-marital counseling sessions. I recommend couples study together before entering into the marriage covenant.
Pastor Lois Rochford
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for marriage counseling

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joe Simmons
Location:Lewisburg, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this product for many years in marriage counseling. They now have a DVD to go along with it which makes it even better.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great tool for couples to be.

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jaay
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great book and it really helps you examine yourself and significant other to ask questions and really think about the commitment that you are about to embark upon together.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast Shipping

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
scotty
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not yet begun to go through this book with the young lady that God has promised me to, but after skimming through a few sections it appears that it is a very challenging book. It addresses questions and topics that are very intriguing and cause you to search the scriptures for what God really requires in a relationship that is to glorify Him.
The books that I ordered were also delivered faster than I expected them too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid, useful workbook

Date:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul Ratzlaff
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For years, I have used "Before You Say I Do" in pre-marital counseling. It is easy for the couple to understand and opens doors for counseling on many different areas that need to be discussed before marriage. I am glad that it remains in print and available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kingsford Bloomfield
solid information for those thinking of gettimg married and even for those who are already married
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Stillwell
I GOT THIS FOR MY SON, A SINGLE FATHER WHO IS PRAYING THAT THE LORD HELP HIM FIND A CHRISTIAN WIFE. I THOUGHT THIS WOULD BE A GREAT BOOK FOR THE LORD TO USE TO PAVE THE WAY FOR HIM. I AM CERTAIN IT WILL BE OF GREAT HELP. THANK GOD FOR CHRISTIAN AUTHORS & THANK GOD FOR CHRISTAINBOOK.COM!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Blanca Vergara
I got this book as a gift for my future daughter in law and my son, they just got engaged. well, I would of never thought what God did for my son and his fiance through this book,they were thinking of going to New York and finish their school plans after they got married well because of the both of them reading this book, my son came back a week later and said they were NOT going to NY. This book taught them to ask God and Seek for His direction in all they do,and apparently they discovered that God has other plans for the both of them here.Please...if you know of someone that's getting married...I highly recomemnd you give them this book, it will give them answers to sooo many questions they have about themselves,marriage and the so many descisions they will make later in life. It teaches them to First seek God! I'm going to order one for my self. What a Blessing this book was for my family, thank you CB. Blanca V. Whittier, ca.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laurie Mullen
My mom bought this workbook for me & my fiance to go through as we planned our wedding. We were both children of divorces. It really opened our eyes to what our expectations were and we discovered conversations we still neeeded to have before they became "issues" later. It made such a difference in our relationship & made us even more confident that we had found God's choice for us in a mate. We just celebrated our 21st wedding anniversary, and are still very much in love & going strong!! Over the years, people have asked us what's our secret for such a successful marriage. We tell them this book was a key element to helping us build our foundation. Thank you H. Norman Wright & Wes Roberts for writing such a thorough book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Allen Mcclellan
I'm thinking that this book is going to be very useful in couseling couples as they get ready to enter marriage. I would strongly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Before You Say I Do - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
James Quinn
As a pastor I find this particular workbook (Before you say "I do") a bighelp in preparing couples for pre-cana counseling and marriage. It isvery helpful in a situation where the couple are too far away to haveseveral meetings with them. I send them the workbook, they work on it together and call me if they need to while they are working on the book. Usually a day or two before the wedding we get together to talk about any questions they may have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>