Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Me Project, The - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Me Project, The - eBook

Have you set your personal goals aside for your family or career? Trying to focus on goals while in the midst of a busy schedule is difficult, but not impossible. In Kathi Lipp's The Me Project, she coaches women to do one simple thing each day for three weeks toward achieving their goal. With warmth and humor, she encourages busy women to change the way they approach goals, gather a community of like-minded women, and bring back purpose and exhilaration into thir lives. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Me Project, The - eBook
Review 1 for Me Project, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Like having a dedicated coach...

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dineen Miller
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a big fan of all of Kathi Lipp's books. She takes these wonderful projects and breaks them down into doable pieces than anyone can do. The Me Project is like having your own personal coach to walk with you through each step to figure out what you want to do and change in your life. Sometimes just the thought of that can seem overwhelming, but Kathi breaks it down so beautifully and cheers you on page after page. God has a unique plan and design for all of us. If you're not sure what yours is, get this book. It will help you figure that out and so much more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Me Project, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What? ME??

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
ShooflyMama
Location:Fort Mill, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was super excited when I found out that Kathi Lipp, one of my favorite authors, is going to be speaking at MOPS Convention this year. As I was doing research for a talk I was doing using one of her other books, I came upon the information for her newest book, The Me Project - 21 Days to Living the Life You've Always Wanted. Whoa. That hit me really hard. I have worked on The Husband Project, and I am always doing special things with the children, but somehow in the daily doing I forget about myself. Kathi doesn't disappoint as she give Biblical ways to work yourself back into your own life. I recommend this book to any woman who loses herself in the daily life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Me Project, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get it, Read it, Do it!

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
purvabrown
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
If you have reservations about beginning Kathi Lipp’s new book The Me Project, let me tell you that you’re not alone. However, after you’re done with it, if you’re not filled with a desire to truly live the life God wants you to live – with all the gifts with which He has blessed you – then you’re going to be very lonely indeed. I, too, was apprehensive about starting because, really, I like Kathi. She has blessed my family with her earlier book The Husband Project; I was probably more terrified than her that I would not like this book. I worried that it would unwittingly follow in the ranks of “me time” and other popular culture ideals I have come to hate with a feeling bordering on vengeance.
So, let me be the first to assure you this: it’s not. Yes, that’s right. You can breathe. Whew! Okay, now that that’s out of the way…
What the book holds is so much more meaningful than platitudes about getting things right once and for all by following a five point program. As Kathi says herself,
I never want to buy (or waste time reading) another book that says, “I have done this perfectly. If you want to do it perfectly, do what I say.” Rarely, if ever, does life work out perfectly in a neat, three-point outline for the people I know who are living out the plans God has for them.
Kathi insists that “God has not made a mistake with the gifts and talents He has given specifically to us.” Our job then is to find out what to do with those gifts and talents – and the twenty-one exercises in this book (twenty-two if you count first making a list of fifty dreams) help you do just that. One step at a time. (Those of you doing The Fly Lady routine, would call these "Baby Steps.")
Personally, this book freed me from chains I didn’t even know I had around me. Kathi Lipp, with The Me Project has taken God out of the box in which we keep wanting to put Him. Her testimony through it ultimately becomes that He is big enough, capable enough, creative enough and, ultimately, patient enough to see us through. And when we do live the life He has called us to live, He feels genuine pleasure. Sometimes, I tend to forget that. I forget God is infinitely wise, unceasingly creative and eternally loving. I forget that God is not opposed to my desires. He only seeks to be glorified in them. This book reminded me of that very important detail.
The Me Project gave me the liberty to dream and desire things for myself while still placing them under the will of God. And that to me is true freedom.
Plus, as Kathi puts it, it’s just fun!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Me Project, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Trying to Reach a Goal?!?

Date:February 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
mom3ways
Location:Greenfield, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you have a goal you are trying to achieve?
Do you have no idea where to start?
Do you lack focus and direction?
Do you get easily distracted when working on a project?
If you can answer yes to any of these questions, I highly recommend Kathi Lipp's newest book, The Me Project. This handy guide coaches women to do one simple thing toward achieving our goals each day for three weeks. A woman experiencing the exhilaration of a rediscovered life offers more as a wife, mother, friend, volunteer, career woman. If you have a goal you want to achieve, get this book. If will give you a step by step plan on how to accomplish any goal.
What's my goal? I'm going to learn to knit...my first lesson is Tuesday!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Me Project, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fun Book for Energizing Your Life

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
HeatherIvester
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked up The Me Project at the perfect time. I've been needing some encouragement to set goals and make progress in several areas of my life, and this book was like sitting down with a Life Coach, one who's ready to cheer me on.
Kathi Lipp's writing style is fun and energetic, and she gave me all kinds of tips to help get me started on new paths. I enjoyed how the book is divided into 21 projects, with checklists, that are tangible reminders of how small steps can lead toward big dreams getting accomplished.
The Me Project would be a great resource for women's book clubs and church groups, since one of the main points Kathi Lipp makes is that friends can hold you accountable as you make progress toward your goals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Me Project, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All About Me? Yes--and No

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
M. Pieper
Location:Mount Dora, FL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
She had me at the title.
Wait a minute! What's a self-centered book like this doing in the Christian living section? It's not all about me, is it?
The short answer: Kathi Lipp's book is all about me (or you) because it helps readers explore the desires God's implanted in our hearts. And that makes it a great match for life as he intends it.
Author Lipp, a retreat and conference speaker already known for THE HUSBAND PROJECT and THE MARRIAGE PROJECT presents a warm blend of transparent humor, practical advice, and godly encouragement in a power-packed volume. As she explains it, THE ME PROJECT is the book she's always wanted to write, "a 21-day guide for dreaming some dreams about your life and then setting some goals to make one of those dreams a reality." Its existence, she says, flows from her desire to assist others in pursuing the specific plans God has for them.
I especially loved THE ME PROJECT's concentrated focus. The author's suggestion of what she calls a 50/50 journal allows readers to list multiple goals and pick one to achieve over the next twenty-one days or more. She encourages them to seek God about this goal and then pursue it with time hard work, imagination, and accountability.
Lipp lays out the twenty-one days as both chapters and "projects" with help ranging from a brief explanation to creative ideas to a brief prayer. I haven't had this book long enough to test it out, but I appreciate the fun way it helps readers break down goals or dreams into bite-sized, achievable pieces.
Do you have unfulfilled dreams or goals? Read THE ME PROJECT and look at yourself--and the plans for which God's designed you--in a new and achievable way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Me Project, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For Dream Seekers

Date:February 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Simone2011
Location:Beaverton, O
Age:45-54
I can always count on Kathi to deliver a book that hits me right in the heart. It is like sitting with a friend as we talk together about our dreams, goals, imperfections and desires.
I love her humorous, yet creative ways of making a Not-To-Do list. Nice way of being able to let go and let God give me the courage and make my dreams become reality. Looking forward to more from Kathi.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Me Project, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Time to get it done--- EASY

Date:February 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mountainpuddles
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book! I have always looked for a book like this. Getting it done and doing it! I love how it is broken up by weeks and projects. Little steps to completing the big goal. In the back of the book is a check off list. Love it....
Kathi is a great writer and her style feels like you are sitting at the coffee shop with her chatting about goals. Thanks Kathi for writing it!
Becky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Me Project, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Time to Take Your Dreams Seriously

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lara
Location:Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend has pointed out how often a book will show up with answers to questions you've been asking. This is one of those books. I began pursuing one of my lifelong dreams in earnest last Fall and had already done some of the things Kathi suggests in this book. Then came The Me Project. Reading and thinking through each of the projects outlined in The Me Project has been such an affirmation to me that I am on the right path. With each chapter I've felt a rallying cry of "Yes! I can do this!". Kathi balances her encouragement to take action toward pursuing our goals with a wide-eyed realism that actually makes attaining those goals seem not only possible, but probable.
If you're looking for practical, step-by-step advice on how to start living out the desires God has put on your heart, this book is for you. With a focus on following God's lead, Kathi asks just the right questions and prods in just the right manner to help any woman begin building "The Life You've Always Wanted".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Me Project, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for working through your desires!

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:Western Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you ever pick up a book on your way to bed and think "I'm so tired, I'll just read the first chapter and read more tomorrow", only to find yourself at midnight still reading the book?
That very thing happened to me with Kathi Lipp's newest book, The Me Project. Like Kathi's other two books, (The Husband Project and The Marriage Project) The Me Project is a 21-day guide to "Living the Life You've Always Wanted". In the book, Kathi encourages you to write down all your hopes and dreams and then pray asking God to help you bring those dreams to fruition and then in the same journal you write down all the ways God did just that.
Kathi has you pick one dream and spend some concentrated time in the next 3 weeks working to complete your dream along with a friend or two. Because I'm so not a "rule follower", I have thought of 4 friends and really who says I can't have more than a friend or two join me?
During the 3 weeks, you will be talking/emailing, chatting, texting your friends and letting them know how you're doing on your project and also encouraging her in her project because it isn't all about me.
I can't wait to get started on this. And I think you should do it too, so go get your book, grab some friends and watch God make your dreams a reality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Me Project, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just What I Needed!

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shannon Wheeler
Location:Maine
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is just what I needed! As a stay-at-home mom of three kids, I realized that somewhere along the line, I let the stuff "for me" slip to a certain extent. (Even owning a book with this title felt a little self-indulgent at first!) As a former business owner, I love plans, goals, concrete action steps. In the course of my previous "work days," I had very defined times for things - including my daily latte break! As a fulltime "housewife," it seems that the list of things to-do is really endless and doesn't leave time for my personal goals unless I build that in on purpose. Kathi's approach in this book weaves together the necessary ingredients for successfully chasing dreams and tackling goals: prayer and time in God's Word, permission to dream big (or small!), concrete action steps, and always a dose of humor!
God has made us with dreams and talents and hearts longing to express who He has designed each of us to be in Christ. There's nothing more energizing than giving yourself permission to be ALL of who God made you to be, and "The Me Project" will really bless you and guide you as you take daily steps in the direction of your heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Me Project, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My own personal "a-ha!" moment...

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
AdelleG
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathi's newest book has become my own personal tipping point toward a goal that, previously, I had thought just too difficult to attain.
I'm now well on my way. Her inspiring writing and personal anecdotes have made the seemingly impossible, possible. Step-by-step, day-by-day.
This book is for those of us living real lives, working, mothering, doing - but who still have a yearning to be and do something more.
The first line says it all: Is it possible to have a real life and pursue a dream at the same time? Yes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Me Project, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Completely Possible

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
AprilHightower
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What I love about this book is its pratical approach to discovering something so challenging to many of us (what is God's will and design for my life). This book had me laughing, crying, and reaching for a highlighter to take notes all at once. Kathi's transparency coupled with easy to-do steps leave you feeling empowered and equipped to pursue your dreams. It is completely possible! Must have for every believer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.