Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Fierce Beauty - eBook

Multnomah Books Fierce Beauty - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 out of 2190%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Review 1 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Finding True Beauty in Christ

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
BJJ18
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fierce Beauty by Kim Meeder is a wonderful picture of a strong woman encouraging other sisters in Christ to stand firm in the Lord and challenge what it means to beautiful in the eyes of the world. I was really excited to review this book, but honestly, it just did not reach me. I think this would be a perfect book for an animal lover or someone who really identifies with the outdoors and especially out West.
Even though Fierce Beauty was not my favorite, Kim still has amazing truths sprinkled throughout her book. I loved when she said, "Only when we truly understand who our King is does our self-importance fade away. Once freed from pride, we can see how our purpose in this life is simple: to know Him. Our God is not passive in His care for us. He is a consuming fire. His love for each of us is both fierce and beautiful(p. 2)."
If you are looking for a collection of personal stories about the West, animals, and troubled youth in the context of finding true worth in Christ, I highly recommend this book to you. The discussion questions in the back are very helpful and well-written. They would make a great foundation for a discussion with my high school small group girls.
I received this book for free from Water Brook Multnomah.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I WILL BE READING THIS BOOK OVER MANY TIMES.

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
TOAD
Location:NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE AUTHOR DOES A BEAUTIFUL JOB OF TAKING HER LIFE'S
EXPERIENCES, AND THOSE OF OTHERS AND SHARING SPIRITUAL TRUES AND THE LESSONS GOD IS TEACHING HER IN THE DIFFERENT EXPERIENCES SHE ENCOUNTERS. IT IS A BOOK EVERYONE CAN IDENTIFY WITH AND LEARN FROM THE LESSONS GOD HAS TAUGHT HER.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gody beauty is not what the world thinks.

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
SmileyMommy
Location:Bowling Green, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fierce Beauty, by Kim Meedor is a book about true beauty. "True beauty is not about how you look but how you live." God does call us to be beautiful, just not in the way the world tries to tell us. Righteous beauty is described as a sunset, nothing can stop it from happening. What a wonderful insight to God's plan for us. My goal is to attain this righteous beauty! Meedor gives many examples from her adventurous life in this book. She makes real life connections of forgiveness, trust and a purpose for living.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Powerful & convicting!

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
a girl with a smile
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first received a copy of Kim Meeder's Fierce Beauty, I seriously thought that it would be another book on how to believe you're a beautiful person because you're a believer of Christ. However, I was glad to be mistaken. By the introduction I was already in tears, heavily reflecting if my life was really reflecting Jesus. I was profoundly convicted by the mesmerizing way of poetic & authentic writing.
Meeder compiles short stories of her life that ultimately piece together a beautiful message of surrender, strength, glory & relentless love. I don't mean to sound cliché when I say that God used this book to bring me closer to Him; He really did.
I learned that living for Christ will never be glamorous, painless or easy. Well, I knew the theory but Kim Meeder showed me what the practice & application really looks like. And because of this book, I'm choosing to stand for what matters the most.
"We might lose sight of Jesus, but He never loses sight of us." —Kim Meeder, Fierce Beauty, pg.111
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is SO good!

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Smoothie71
Location:Alabama
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking for some books that have little depth, but also tell a story. You know, the ones that you simply can't put down because it's just that good. Well, I found one!
Kim Meeder... oh my! I want to meet this woman! She writes so beautifully but more than that she tells a wonderful story of how our King revealed Himself to her in many, many ways. Some of the stories are ordinary, some are extraordinary, all are beautiful.
I've found while reading this book that God has shown me His great love for me and His faithfulness. He has shown me that He doesn't want me living in a gold bird cage (if you read the book you'll know what I'm talking about;) and that He wants me to have freedom. In fact, He has shown me I do have freedom but have rather chosen not to accept it.
This book will probably make you laugh here and there (I know I sure did) and it will probably hit you gut a time or two (yep, been there, done that!) but it will definitely touch your heart and draw you closer to our Lord. I really encourage you to read this book! Blessings!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Her stories keep you on the edge of your seat.

Date:March 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gina
Location:Coldwater, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I picked up this book Fierce Beauty the stories were so far from what I have experienced in my life. Kim Meeder loves the outdoors and there are so many close calls she has on her outdoor adventures it is almost humorous. Throughout all her exciting adventures she realized that the Lord was always with her. She shares her personal stories and struggles of where she stepped out in faith and the Lord was always there to see her through.
Kim Meeder encourages her readers to be bold warriors for Christ and live without reservations, trusting the Lord with all the areas of our lives. Meeder encourages putting on your full armour so that you will be able to stand against the evil one. I was encouraged by this book to become bolder in my faith and to seek Christ's will for my life on a deeper level. It was an easy read that keeps you on the edge of your seat.
I was given this book by Multnomah in exchange for an honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sher
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great thought- provoking life lessons she has learned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What Matters Most?

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
MyMrsO
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Choosing to Stand for What Matters Most is the topic Kim Meeder, author of "Fierce Beauty", shares with inspiring true stories from her own life of adventure, love, and loss.
Real beauty isn’t a look, it’s an action.
This is now one of my favorite books. Why? Kim has a way of writing that makes me feel as if she's sitting across the table from me and sharing each story she has written.
The story of sitting on the boulder "no matter how stable things in this life might seem nothing in this world is going to last - nothing" confirms that we each have a choice to make about our future with Christ. No amount of beauty, popularity, power, wealth, or anything the world can supply can keep us from crumbling or prevent us from dying. That's a pretty humbling statement.
Another chapter tells the story of the mama grizzly bear. "Why do you think the Lord allowed us to be charged by a bear?" Kim asked her friends traveling with her through Yellowstone National Park. Reflecting on their encounter, one of them replied, "I want to be just as ferocious as a charging bear toward anything that comes between me and God" You'll want to read the entire story to understand how light and darkness cannot live in the same place. So true.
I hope you'll take time to read this book filled with well-told gems of true stories.
Thanks to WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for sending me a free copy of this book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fierce Beauty

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
threelogans
Location:Morrisville, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
“Our calling is to let go of our crown of gems (our puny personal ambitions, desires, and agendas) in order to pursue our true identity: His crown of thorns (the will of our King). By doing so, we discover the value, joy, and fulfillment He always intended for those who call Him Lord” (pg. 19).
Kim Meeder writes a very poignant book on what it means to stand for what we truly are called for and to move away from what we may desire. We are challenged to avoid being “princesses of entitlement” and focus on being “warriors of encouragement”. I felt challenged as I read through this book because I was easily able to identify with her message. Throughout the book she provides one or two sentences facts under the subtitles in each chapter, each sentence was about God which provided essentially wrapped up why we need to follow God and why He deserves our love, faithfulness, and trust.
“Only God is worthy of our trust. Our King is forever faithful and unchanging”
“Little sins allowed in our lives, over time, will cause great damage”
“A warrior answers God’s call to give Him whatever she can, no matter how small”
This book is a great resource for women who want to be challenged to step outside their comfort zone. Who want to be challenged to live a radical life focused on serving God —fiercely.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review, all of the opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Stand Firm

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sonora Mama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fierce Beauty claims to challenge the lie that how we look is more important than who we are inside. I was expecting this book to be all about how society makes women focus on outward appearances. However, the author doesn't address this issue much at all. It is a mere mention. Instead, she uses her personal anecdotes and amazing life experiences to give examples of true beauty shown through one's actions.
The book is a quick and interesting read. Author Kim Meeder is a true adventurer and outdoorswoman, so her tales of mountain climbing, horse rescuing, swimming with sharks, and Arctic kayaking are fascinating and read like an adventure novel. After each of her adventures, she shares an encouragement from scripture or an attribute of God, and a call to action - to drive sin from our lives, trust in the Lord, give what we can to uplift others.
Kim Meeder suggests we trade in our crowns as "princesses of entitlement" for swords to fight for God's kingdom (spiritual fighting that is, with goodness and perseverence, not aggression). I agree that we should do good deeds and honor God. However, sometimes I did not relate to the author, as she seems to be against all things pretty, and believes that caring about external appearances is shallow and destructive. Sure, it can be if taken to the extreme. But wanting to be pretty is not the enemy here. Not all women (or all people) think of themselves as sword-wielding warriors. I know I don't! However, I can see why the author uses the analogies she does: she is a go-getter, an explorer, and quite the storyteller. She wants to help us drive out the sin in our own lives with the ferocity of a mother grizzly bear (she provides quite the visual for that one!)
"Choosing to stand for what matters most" is the key theme of this book. It's not about beauty at all, it's about choosing to stand firm and do what is right in service to God, no matter the circumstances.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing for this review.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting!

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
msh09
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kim Meeder is a riveting story-teller who writes about her passion for the beautiful outdoors, high-adventure, horses, and people. Each chapter of Fierce Beauty is a story from her life, be it one of her incredible adventures or a changed life at her ranch. Kim and her husband run the Crystal Peaks Youth Ranch, an organization that rescues abused horses and pairs them with children in need. She uses these anecdotes from her life to draw you in and then wraps up each one with a spiritual truth. I have never read any of Meeder’s other books, but I plan to head to the store tomorrow to buy another one. I loved the descriptions of her adventures. I was glued to the book, eager to read where the turn of a page would take me. Quite often, though, I would have to put the book down for several days after reading a couple of chapters because the spiritual truths hit me deep and I needed to spend time pondering them. “My unfaithfulness to Him did not change, hinder, or diminish His faithfulness to me. He has been and always will be the only immovable truth we will ever know.” (p. 83) “This world defines peace as the absence of conflict, but God’s peace is confident assurance in any circumstance.” (p. 90) “It’s an amazing truth that out of our King’s great mercy, He delivers us through our suffering so that our past hurts can heal others’ futures.” (p. 151)
I received this book from the publisher in order to provide a review. The above review is my honest opinion of Fierce Beauty by Kim Meeder.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Princess or Warrior

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes the truth is harsh and Kim Meeder doesn't back down when she tells us that we need to stop thinking about ourselves and start thinking about God. As women we need to stop buying into society's definition of beautiful and start listening to God's definition. Kim uses personal experiences to show us just how this flawed thinking can cause problems not only for us but for others. We're to glorify God, not ourselves.
Step up to the front-line and be a warrior for the Kingdom instead of a princess on the sidelines.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for an honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Read

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ihopeyoudance
Location:Kansas
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kim Meeder is the author to a new book called Fierce Beauty. This isn't the first book she has written but it is the first one of hers that I have read. I really enjoyed this book and Meeder's stories and her insights on God. The book is a collection of stories and adventures that Meeder has experienced and relates things to God. When I first got the book I thought it was mainly going to be about outer beauty but this book does not focus on physical appearance, it focuses on other things that matter like being a strong person and TRULY trusting in Christ. It was a very thought provoking enjoyable book and I would recommend it to any woman.
“I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not bad but a tad disapointing

Date:December 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
grace
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I recently had the chance to read and review Fierce Beauty by Kim Meeder through a service at Blogging for Books- WaterBrook Multnomah that gives people the chance to get books just giving a review, whether positive or negative.
This book was all about seeing yourself through God's eyes and laying down everything in order to become the courageous woman who seeks His face and righteousness over everything else.
She told stories about places she had been, things she had done, and situations she had been a part of, and how they each taught her how to become the person she knew she was meant to be.
She talked about how God allows everything for a specific reason, so if you're a witness to something, it was because He wanted you to see it.
For example, while out adventuring with other people, she came across a mother bear who charged- they got away fine. Lesson learned: like a mom attacking anything that comes between her and her babies, we need to attack any sin that comes between us and God.
Another example-she tells a story about while mountain climbing, she stopped to take rest on a boulder she'd stopped on numerous times before when it suddenly shifts and fall thousands of feet below and shatters. Again, she is fine. Lesson taken away: nothing in this world is permanent, and God is the only thing that will constantly faithful in life.
I get the point of this book, and I think it's a good one... and if you read this book in the right frame of mind I feel like anyone could get a good word out of it and learn a nugget of truth or two.
But, with that said, there were a couple of things that seemed off to me about this book.
First, I'm weary of authors who only tell story after story of things they've done. Regardless of how it was meant, if you read a book and all the author does is tell over and over things they've gotten to do, it looks like their showing off. I get a story or two might be needed to carry your book and make it flow better, and I understand that.. but when the book is basically nothing but a collection of one "One time I did this.." after another, it turns your reader off.
Completely unrelated, my other biggest "Huh!??" moment came when the author was explaining the eating disorder she dealt with as a young adult. She talked about her husband confronting her in a heated argument and saying "What you're doing isn't pretty, it's just selfish".
When I read this, I had to stop and go back make sure I had actually gotten it right. As someone who has struggled with this myself, I get what she was doing. On the flipside I also get where he was coming from as someone who has seen someone make horrible decisions right in front of me. BUT..... Is that really the way you address it? Is that really the only way he could convey what he was feeling? Yes, he had a right to be angry, but what about saying, "I'm mad and I hate what you're doing to yourself, but I love you more than anything and I'm gonna love you through this". And then showing her, with his love, how he could help her. Not with hurtful words. The last thing that someone with an ED needs to hear is how horrible they're being because more times than not, they already hate themselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

True to life ministry advice.

Date:December 13, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In many Christian novels marketed for pre-teen girls and young women, female Christians are often described as "royal princesses" with a royal mission to fulfill. Rather than employ this usual metaphor to reach out to young, Christian women, Kim Meeder's Fierce Beauty employs the images of a spiritual battleground where women must elect to fully fight on a daily basis.
Through personal stories of grief and triumph, Meeder takes her readers through the journey of a woman that pursues a fierce, Christ-like beauty. Perhaps most captivating is Meeder's own confession of her struggles with food and body image. Describing a time in her life where she chewed the same piece of gum for days or ate only an apple for a meal. Meeder states that these destructive habits worked to overtake her life. Comparing her idolatrous body image struggle to the power of sin, Meeder explains that the smallest of sins can overtake one's walk with the Lord Jesus.
In addition to warning her readers against sin and the spiritual warfare that surrounds Christian men and women alike, Meeder also dedicates a whole chapter to using one's gift for God. Instead of allowing a fruitless life to pass a young girl by, Meeder suggests that any young woman should employ her gifts for the Lord, whether it be through sending birthday cards or simply saying something encouraging. According to Meeder, there is nothing too small that can be used to serve Jesus.
Overall, Fierce Beauty offers young women the hope of an active faith, rather than the promise of passive princesses. Encouraging Christian women to use their gifts, to shun sin, and to actively work for the Kingdom of God, Fierce Beauty is an excellent book for the young woman in your life.
PS- A copy of this was given to be by the fine folks at Waterbrook/Multnomah's Blogging for Books program. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dalyn
Location:Yakima, Wa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As believers, we're called to reflect Him and become fierce and beautiful as well. We were created to serve an eternal purpose-not follow our mortal desires while wearing a crown of our making, but to follow the One who wears a crown of thorns. We were not made to live on the outskirts of a kingdom but to worship in awe at the throne of our King. We were not designed to be princesses of entitlement but warriors of encouragement, fighting to bring love and hope to the world." page 18 &19
This book started out really strong- the 1st chapter got me all fired up for a good Bible study, so I guess I was a little surprised to find it was really a series of short stories from Kims life- which is by no means boring! She hikes, snorkels in the sea, climbs mountains, rides horses and swims with sharks this woman. She leads an amazing life and the stories are grand adventures.
Each chapter tells a tale, usually illustrating a spiritual truth and application, which she points out and then ends with a few scriptures.
An enjoyable and inspiring book. It wasn't what I thought it was going to be...and I think there is huge potential with the 1st chapter; that could really be the introduction to a a powerful call to arms. She did have a call in the back of the book. Like I said, it was a good book, just not the power pack I had expected from the beginning.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for Christian women!

Date:August 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
ReviewsByErin
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Who are the truly beautiful people in the kingdom of God? Kim Meeder draws from her life to bring us picture after picture of what matters most in life: living a life wholly sold out to Jesus Christ.
To be honest with you, I've never been a fan of princesses. I enjoy a tea party and dressing up as much as the next girl, but being the prissy girl worried about keeping her crown straight did not appeal to me. I'm a doer. Give me the action, let me be around the people leading the charge, and I will be happy.
How does this translate in our Christian life? Is it the princesses who are truly beautiful? Or might it be the warriors, bloodied and bruised, who can point and say, "Here I won a victory in the name of the Lord." "Here I gave a piece of my life in order that someone else might live." "Here were words of encouragement spoken so that all of us could gain strength to keep going."
Meeder dives straight to the point in this books. She speaks of the burden of sin that can bring spiritual tumors and blindness to our lives. She encourages us to fight against sin with the ferocity of a grizzly bear. She tells of peace that can only be found when we remain firm in our relationship with God. She shares the truth: the really beautiful people are the ones who look like Jesus.
"Fierce Beauty" will be available in bookstores October 4. I would highly recommend this book for every woman wanting to cultivate a new depth in her life. I enjoyed it so much that I wish there was an accompanying study guide... do you hear me, Kim? I'd be lined up to get my hands on it. :-)
I received this book in exchange for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fierce Beauty

Date:August 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
alymburner
Location:Dayton, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fierce Beauty by Kim Meeder focuses on the importance of women to become warriors for Christ instead of pampered princesses. She wants to encourage women that true beauty is an action and not merely a look. Those of you new to Kim Meeder will learn of her past in which she lost both of her parents as a young child. Her grandmother lovingly raised her and after recognizing her love for horses, bought Kim her first horse. Through her relationship with her horse, Kim dealt with her past and found the power of Jesus’ love. Today, she and her husband own and operate a ranch that rescues horses in distress and pairs them with children of all ages who are living through difficult life experiences. Throughout the book, Kim uses stories from the ranch and her life to introduce a topic and goes on to expand how these experiences demonstrate Biblical truths and Jesus’ love for us. This is a very encouraging book for those who are in the process of making the decision to serve themselves or Christ as well as for those that have chosen to serve Christ.
Thanks to WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing for providing me a free copy of this book to review in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved getting to preview this book!

Date:July 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
rasiheartart
Location:TN
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just recently finished reading a very good book. Recently means that I just finished it a few hours ago. The book is titled "Fierce Beauty: Choosing to stand for what matters most." As I already said, it was a very good book. Not only is it a book with a very strong message, it gives the message in a very compelling way. The author, Kim Meeder, uses stories from her life and the lives of others to prove her point as well as giving the audience (me in this case) a real desire to lay down my princess crown and take up my sword.
Fierce Beauty is all about how women struggle with the seemingly conflicting ideas of being princesses (daughters of the King) and being warriors (spiritual battle). Although I am an adopted daughter of the King of Kings, I am "not created to be a princess of entitlement but a warrior, fighting to bring love and hope to the world." So many times we are trapped in the belief that we should get our heavenly crown now and not have to bother going into battle. Although when it is stated so bluntly it seems obvious what we all should be doing, it is so easy to fall back into the same wrong way of thinking.
One of my favorite illustrations from the book is taken from a dream that Kim Meeder once had. It was about this absolutely beautiful bald eagle in a golden bejeweled cage. The bird had been there for a long time and the cage was clearly too small, despite it's gorgeous appearance. All of a sudden, the cage was broken by a blinding light and the bird was free to fly. It saw that it was free and looked up into the sky, clearly thinking hard. However, it was so attached to its pretty jail that it pieced it back together and stayed inside it.
Beauty of the spirit is so important, and yet we sometimes feel that we need to be outwardly beautiful for our inward beauty to count for anything. This lie will sometimes 'force' us back into our pretty prisons. I loved the illustration that Kim Meeder used, and she has many more in her book. Fierce Beauty brings home the importance of being soldiers for our Savior over worrying about appearances (of all kinds) and I would recommend it to all of my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fierce Beauty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
KatherineSophia
Location:midwest
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You were not created to be a princess of entitlement but a warrior, fighting to bring love and hope to the world. ~ Kim Meeder
I love Kim Meeder's books. Sure, sometimes she can be a little melodramatic, and okay, either she writes with a thesaurus open or she has a vocabulary the size of Texas. But she is one of the authors who writes directly to my heart.
This book is amazing.
It goes from tear-jerking to just plain funny, covering the whole range of human emotions and with stories from an incredible number of settings, all rolled into one book about faith, hope, love, joy, truth, beauty, and the grace of God.
Every chapter draws from the Word of God and His creation... and the life of a woman who is living for Him, and sees Him at work in everything that happens around her.
It's definitely worth reading, whether you read it as a daily devotional or all at once. It's both encouraging and inspiring... and a reminder of who we are called to be.
(I received this book for free to review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>